Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Uproar over ruling against prayer, statue

Uproar over ruling against prayer, statue PDF Print
Thursday, 05 June 2008 10:21
IPOH: At the beginning of every Bharatanatyam performance, artistes of this famous South Indian classical dance pay obeisance on stage to a statue of Lord Nadaraja.
The Bharatanatyam was performed at the Taman Budaya on condition prayers to Lord Nadarajah were not carried out on stage as is the common practice at the start of the performance. — NST picture by Ikhwan Munir

This common practice is also carried out to invoke the deity's blessings so that the dancers perform well without any obstacle.

However, on Monday night, a group of Bharatanatyam dancers performed before a full gallery at the Taman Budaya public auditorium without the customary on-stage pooja (prayer) to Lord Nadaraja.

This was because the owner of the venue, the state Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Department, permitted the dance on condition they did not install a statue or portrait of the deity and offer their prayers on stage.

For the record, this is not the first time that dancers from the three Bharatanatyam schools of Nrityakalanjali, Natyakalamandir and Anandanarthana Choodamani in the state had performed at the venue.

In the past, the dancers were allowed to offer their prayers on stage, said P. Sasikumar, who acted as the spokesman for the three dance schools.

"This time we were not allowed because the department imposed this condition.

"This is ridiculous. The pooja is an integral part of the performance and has been practised for hundreds of years," he said before the start of the Bharatanatyam performance at Taman Budaya.

He said the practice of paying obeisance to Lord Nadaraja was important because the deity was worshipped as the king of dance.

In defence, the department said the organisers were informed beforehand of the conditions and chose to go ahead with the performance.

The department's public relations officer, Shaliza Azlin, said the organisers had agreed that the prayers would be performed backstage to respect the sensitivities of the audience, who also comprised Chinese and Malays.

"We did not stop them from doing the pooja. We did not want them to do it in public."

Shaliza said the same conditions had been imposed on other cultural groups.

Perak state assembly speaker V. Sivakumar, who was at the performance, said: "The prayer is very much part of the cultural performance and should have been allowed on the stage."

He said he would bring the matter up with the state government as well as his party so that such "intolerant behaviour" could be nipped in the bud before it became widespread.

- nst

written by jeffrey3005, June 05, 2008 10:25:47
It just shows how tolerant we are about racial and religous issues. Qoute "The department's public relations officer, Shaliza Azlin, said the organisers had agreed that the prayers would be performed backstage to respect the sensitivities of the audience, who also comprised Chinese and Malays." What a load of crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by justice4all, June 05, 2008 10:35:35
The department's public relations officer, Shaliza Azlin, said the organisers had agreed that the prayers would be performed backstage to respect the sensitivities of the audience, who also comprised Chinese and Malays.

Just who the hell are they to "protect the sensitivities of the Chinese and Malays"?? This sort of narrow minded behaviour from these self appointed Ayatollahs must be nipped in the bud. Tell me - if a kompang group wanted to do their doa before a performance, do you think they will be prevented from doing so?? What sort of nonsense is this? Next, they will be calling for all temples to be surrounded by 30 foot walls so as not to be seen at all. No class mentality.
written by Dominic, June 05, 2008 10:40:34
Shaliza, what the heck ? Whether the offering is infront or back stage makes no difference. For those who cant accept to cast their eyes on such offerings,just turn to the other side ! Whats the big deal. Its like you are asking the Chinese to have the lion dance minus the musicians .You must be one of those who get his montly pay but got nothing else to do in office . Might as well just doze off and keep your bloddy mouth shut while still getting your pay at the end of the month !!
written by Concerned_Citizen, June 05, 2008 10:41:18
I tak rasa kalau diaorang buat puja kat stage itu menyinggung perasaan saya. Tambah lagi, saya lebih suka untuk menyaksikan seluruh persembahan tu.

Racist, cakap age racist, toksah bagi alasan yang stupid. Tak masuk akal langsung. Lain kali I rasa itu cina punya lion dance, pun toksak ada meja sembahyang dimana singa-singa tu akan tunduk. Sebab kata Shaliza Azlin, ia akan menyinggung perasaan kaum-kaum lain. Tapi I nampak banyak kaum melayu dan india yang menyaksikan singa tu sembahyang, takde pun diaorang complain tersinggung.

Satu lagi tabiat dari kerajaan Barisan Nasional, diatu mesti orang UM-NO!
written by Arubin, June 05, 2008 10:44:36
Erm, for once I'm not going to bash BN this time.

Oi PR! Perak is YOUR state. Do something about it! Don't get caught sleeping now.

I trust that you guys can work out an amicable solution, unlike in a BN state where we will be told to sit down and shut up (ok, maybe I lied about not bashing BN smilies/tongue.gif).
written by indianputra, June 05, 2008 11:01:21
BN has not learnt any lesson as yet..
written by wood, June 05, 2008 11:07:10
Where is religious tolerance ? Why are we like that ? What is happening to us and inside our skull ? We do not have such problems in the last 20-30 years where all the rakyat live happily together and now we have these issues !

IF WE DO NO WANT TO SEE THE SHOW , JUST GO HOME AND SLEEP !

Is this the so called progress towards a develop Malaysia in 2020 ?
Forget it ! This is not PROGRESS ! THIS IS STUPIDITY! MALAYSIA IS GOING BACKWARDS!

STILL WANT TO SAY MALAYSIA BOLEH !

smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by macakmy, June 05, 2008 11:34:42
So, thats why they demolished temples and surau... It is to "protect the sensitivities" of the BN fellas!! Don't worship in public, its offensive to the BN. They don't believe in freedom of religion, freedom of speech and basically anything with "freedom" in it will not be tolerated. "Freedomophobia"?
written by rayfire, June 05, 2008 12:09:23
Think about this for a moment, can I go to a state or federal function and say, don't baca doa selamat, because it is INSENSITIVE to others?
Will all of you be agreeable to that?
Why is it these litte napoleons must interpret things in their own accord and bring shame to the overall Malay community????
All of us have our OWN way of reaching GOD. Learn to ACCEPT THIS!
Don't regress back to stone age!
written by cheekhiaw, June 05, 2008 12:33:40
ONE SPECIAL RIGHT

You cannot pray in public but they can pray noisily in public 5 times a day and wake the whole town up...

written by petestop, June 05, 2008 12:36:38
Note that althought that department calls itself a "state" dept, it is actually
under Federal Govt control. Just like the State Tourism Action Council.
The Barang Naik govt wants to do a parallel government, versus the PR state govt.

Let put an end to these "sensitive" jokers.

On the same "sensitive" logic, can we have the Azan turned down in volume, as to protect the "sensitivity" of Indians and Chinese in the vicinity ?

Come on, don't practise double standard.

We should celebrate our multi-religious and multi-ethinicity, instead of
being forced by such narrow-minded individuals.

written by cheekhiaw, June 05, 2008 12:37:08
2ND SPECIAL RIGHT

He set the unreasonable condition that you cannot pray in public and you chose to agree to it. so you are unreasonable in complaining about his unreasonableness.

See the special reasonableness?

written by kavidibaku, June 05, 2008 12:56:17
MORONS!!!!!!

My house is just beside a surau and it's really annoying for 5 times a day. Where can i complain?
Only nons need to have religious tolerance and they do not have to?
So, all the hindus will go to hell simply because we do idol worship though we do good karma? I'd rather go to hell than praying in vacuum.

And Mr/Miss MAWI,
But you all can sembelih lembu dari sekolah sampailah parlimen. These two places are not masjid or surau. All the nons have to tolerate this coz we're minority? And you all can bully us as you like? EXCUSE MEEEE.
written by apa jadi, June 05, 2008 13:53:12
An act before us is worth a million good words telling us how good something is. This is an example.

How about grace before a dinner/ banquet opening? Should we ban that too?
written by hibiscus22, June 05, 2008 14:04:25
Macam mana kita orang Malaysia nak maju? Lagi lagi pantang sana sini, lagi baik buat satu pulau duduk seorang tak payah campur orang lain. Memang pemikiran katak bawah tempurung. We're now in globalisation era, competency is what determine where we are in this world. Wake up my dear Malaysian. smilies/sad.gif
written by myvoice, June 05, 2008 14:12:11
The department's public relations officer, Shaliza Azlin, said the organisers had agreed that the prayers would be performed backstage to respect the sensitivities of the audience, who also comprised Chinese and Malays."

We Chinese won't be so petty on the issue, what's the problem of performing the prayer before the dance, we shall always respect others believes! In short ...we don't be that KIASU or KIASI!
written by ultraman, June 05, 2008 16:45:43
"The department's public relations officer, Shaliza Azlin, said the organisers had agreed that the prayers would be performed backstage to respect the sensitivities of the audience, who also comprised Chinese and Malays".

Shaliza Azlin, I do not know where your brain is? In your stomach or you ????
I can safely say that 100% of the Chinese do not mind these performers praying on the stage. After all it is their believe and not ours. All we do is to respect their practices.

Shaliza, would you say the same thing to imam reciting Doa' in the public where Indians are Chinese are present? Would you stop them because the non-muslims sensitivities must be respected? Anyway, we do not mind whatever prayers perform in our presence as long as we are not asked to participate. We just watch and respect their practice. It is time that you wake up!! The world has already [assed us by and we are still bickering over stopping others practices!!!

written by apa jadi, June 05, 2008 18:03:49
Was there any speech by some VIP from somewhere. If there is, how long was the speech. How long will a prayer session take?

I am normally bored by some stupid speech from a VIP than a simple prayer session, in this kind of presentation. What's the fuss over a simple prayer.

No wonder I don't see some people attending a Hindu wedding. Now, I understand it. I go to any Hindu wedding as invited and not offended by the long and tiring prayer. Similarly, I join a Christain wedding sermon, a bersanding celebration, a buddhist wedding prayer even though I don't belong any of the said faith. The simple word is "RESPECT". I still cannot understand some zealots giving all sorts of excuses just to justify their ends.
written by Areyaar, June 05, 2008 20:32:13
"The department's public relations officer, Shaliza Azlin, said the organisers had agreed that the prayers would be performed backstage to respect the sensitivities of the audience, who also comprised Chinese and Malays.

""We did not stop them from doing the pooja. We did not want them to do it in public."

WHY?? Is this woman trying to say that Hindu prayers are so despised that it would greatly offend the sensitivities of the non-Hindus if they were to see these being performed?? I have never heard of such utter BS!! How about prayers by other communities then?? Can we all demand that no prayers whatsoever ever be performed in public because they might offend the sensitivities of others??

This is just another disgusting, DISGUSTING, example of the kind of religious intolerence that is promoted, endorsed and enforced by people in power. Is this an example of how Malaysia intends to become a developed country, by promoting, endorsing and enforcing this kind of hateful practice? SHAME ON THOSE WHO SUPPORT IT!

This Shaliza Azlin is totally useless as a public relations officer. If this is how she practices public relations, then she should bury her head in utter shame and never come up to see the sun until she realises that the only way, THE ONLY WAY, that Malaysia can truly progress and develop with maturity is to show complete respect TO ALL.

And, by the way, her including the Chinese in the audience as those whose sensitivities needed to be respected by "protecting" them from the offensive practice of seeing the prayers is such hogwash. The Chinese are made of more tolerant stuff. Ask around and see just how many Chinese would even be bothered by such a thing.
written by mikewang, June 05, 2008 23:04:27
Is this the stand of the PR state government ?
If it is so, what a shame !!!!

Why should anyone be offended by religious practices in a dance that is steep in religion ?
Let's have more grounds for religious and racial tolerance.
YAB MB, please tick off your officer !
written by Godfather, June 05, 2008 23:31:36
Come On Man!

We always do MULTI FAITH PRAYERS IN OUR TEMPLE eg Olympics; Myanmar; Peace etc. We have representatives of religious heads comprising Islam;Hindu;Christians;Sikhs; Buddhist. Check on Jinggo & TV Smith & Marina's Blog.

There were no Riots & everyone pray together & respect each other's faith.

We are Malaysians! Do Not Discriminate & Misjudge our Maturity!
written by Negarakuku, June 06, 2008 00:08:23

This kind of racial and religious discrimination can only happen in Malaysia. In Europe, this woman Shaliza Azlin and her department would be sued until Kingdom come. smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif

I don´t think the Chinese would mind who you want to pray to. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif