Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow So the rumour that KJ actually went to Anwar's house is true after all

So the rumour that KJ actually went to Anwar's house is true after all PDF Print
Thursday, 05 June 2008 10:17

Can you tell us the real story on how you joined Umno?

In Malaysia, 99% of the rumors end up to be the truth. 1% unsure but also likely to be the truth.

There is a huge difference with what is being said about me meeting Umno leaders before the recent general election and the one before the 2004 election on my decision to join Umno. In 1999, after I was arrested under ISA (Internal Security Act), there were no efforts to pull me back into Umno. Later, there were attempts to get me to leave PKR and join Umno. I reject it at that time. My principle was that I will not make a deal while I am still in prison.

I was released in 2003 and Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became prime minister. He is different from Dr Mahathir (Mohamad). Mahathir’s approach is to pressure where by the more you fight him, the more he will pressure you. But Abdullah’s approach is to pull. That is why during the 2004 election, there were attempts to pull me back to Umno.

I saw that as an opportunity then to deal for Anwar Ibrahim’s freedom, at least to allow him to seek medical treatment overseas. At that time, Anwar was in critical condition. After discussing with other party members, they felt that priority must be given to save Anwar’s life. So we decided to initiate discussions with Umno leaders.

Those I met included Dr Mohd Khir Toyo, Muhammad Muhd Taib (both former Selangor MBs) and Abdul Aziz Shamsuddin (former minister). This was carried out with Anwar’s knowledge. In my second meeting with Khir Toyo, Anwar told me to bring along PKR leaders to the discussion as witnesses - Kamarul Baharin Abbas, Abdul Rahman Osman and Johari Abdul. Four of us went to meet Khir Toyo and I led the discussions. This was all before the 2004 general election.

So we met at Khir Toyo’s house and our stand was any deal must start with freeing Anwar, at least to get him medical treatment. When Khir Toyo could not commit, we backed out. He told us to contest and join the party but we said no. We are not interested in what we will get. Our focus is clear.

Then we met with Aziz with 12 other people and the same thing happened. He could not commit so I ended the conversation there. Some friends carried on the negotiations and joined Umno but I can understand that those were tough days and they had financial problems. I could not stop them but we’re still friends. I see that as a form of betrayal.

After the 2004 election, Anwar’s health got worse. BN won big and Dr Wan Azizah (Wan Ismail) then asked me to work on getting Anwar out and to open negotiations. We tried all sorts of ways. I met with Rahmah Osman (former deputy minister) who was then close to Abdullah and who was sympathetic to us. We sent a group of people to see the Muslim muftis (clerics) and Umno leaders close to the PM but the message did not reach him.

One day, a foreign reporter told me, ‘if you want to get to the PM, you get Khairy (Jamaluddin)’. I didn’t know Khairy. I must put this on record since there are so many allegations about me and him. This was about May or June 2004. So I tried to find Khairy through contacts in London and in the end I got it and I met him. That’s where my relationship with Khairy started.

written by Rashid, June 05, 2008 10:23:36
So what's wrong with KJ going to Anwar's house to deliver the Diplomatic Passport that he was supposed to use after his release from prison in 2004? That's simply a non issue unless we are too cheap.
written by teo siew chin, June 05, 2008 10:30:49
"...to deliver the Diplomatic Passport..."
---------------------------------------------

hmmmm, "delivery boy" now have a whole new meaning?
written by JohnQ, June 05, 2008 11:05:20
make the 4th floor boy a office boy when PR ruled. Put him into good use after spent millions for his lavish lifestyle education in UK.
written by kavidibaku, June 05, 2008 11:08:33
Politicians put our life in misery.
written by aiyomanaboleh, June 05, 2008 11:30:39
That's the trouble with politics. You need to know and "kowtow" to people to do things that an ordinary human being will do without any question.

Prisons and police lock apparently operates in a vacumn answerable only to a few.

In Anwar's case, the doctor should be THE person to determine whether Anwar be sent for further treatment and not someone close to the top guy. Now by the look of it, Ezam is trying to paint a picture that Anwar, is forever in debt to them. If only everyone follow procedures, there is really no necessity for such things. How can a sick person be not given treatment accordingly and need to be connected to be treated? This is inhumane and corruption of the worst kind.

And you know what, the funny thing is Ezam was the head of Gerak, the NGO to combat corruption and from what I read, there was not a condemnation from him that the authorities are lacking in providing medical attention to those under their care.

written by ChickenRic, June 05, 2008 12:08:26
No matter what is being said out there, you cannot deny that Abdullah is a good person. If Mahathir is still Prime Minister, Brother Anwar would still be in prison today.

Still, a better government is needed and I hope Brother Anwar will quickly execute this change.

For a better Malaysia.
written by R Hum, June 05, 2008 13:28:56

Grading for this chap.

English D
Style of writing D
Grammar F
Hoping to get back
via UMNO F

Who would want to join UMNO now. Even the BN component parties in East Malaysia
are hopping real soon.

written by wargasetia, June 05, 2008 14:39:50
use this url to buy cheaper fuel. dont believe? try it.

http://excelgas.water4gas.hop.*****bank.net

so, who cares with the price? smilies/grin.gif
written by Mustapha Kamal, June 05, 2008 18:28:52
Why UMNO ? Reforms ? You must be joking ! AAB may be able to reform the whole of the country's institutions, but UMNO ? Impossible ! So why Ezam ? Your words stink to high heaven. I don't really like traitors. If there was trouble in PKR, why didn't you stay and fight your corner ? And if you lost, why didn't you accept it as part and parcel of the democratic process ? Methinks there is something else going on that we, the rakyat, don't know.
written by malgal, June 05, 2008 21:23:24
sounds very righteous. now about that 2 million pieces that bought you over....
written by nrni, June 05, 2008 21:51:44
SO WHAT ????
You are still a traitor to me.
written by liayeo, June 06, 2008 13:50:27
I saw that as an opportunity then to deal for Anwar Ibrahim’s freedom, at least to allow him to seek medical treatment overseas. At that time, Anwar was in critical condition. After discussing with other party members, they felt that priority must be given to save Anwar’s life. So we decided to initiate discussions with Umno leaders.

Those I met included Dr Mohd Khir Toyo, Muhammad Muhd Taib (both former Selangor MBs) and Abdul Aziz Shamsuddin (former minister). This was carried out with Anwar’s knowledge. In my second meeting with Khir Toyo, Anwar told me to bring along PKR leaders to the discussion as witnesses - Kamarul Baharin Abbas, Abdul Rahman Osman and Johari Abdul. Four of us went to meet Khir Toyo and I led the discussions. This was all before the 2004 general election.

It shows AMNO is above the law. If you join AMNO even guilty also can be settled
written by Toyolbuster, June 07, 2008 23:30:01
Two Million Ringgit KATAK