Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Fuel Price Increase Sparks Concern Over Spiralling Effect On Other Consumer Items

Fuel Price Increase Sparks Concern Over Spiralling Effect On Other Consumer Items PDF Print
Thursday, 05 June 2008 08:24

KUALA LUMPUR, June 4 - The increase in the prices of petrol and diesel -- by 78 sen and RM1 per litre respectively -- is an eye-opener to consumers in planning their expenditure more wisely in the wake of costlier commodity.

Malaysian Muslim Consumers Association Executive Secretary Datuk Nadzim Johan said the increase was beyond control and the consumers should now strive to spend within their means.

"The price increase is inevitable. What's important now is that the people should be thrifty and try to find additional income.

"What we are concerned of is the effect on other consumer goods. Normally, when the prices of fuel go up, the price of food items will similarly increase. We hope the government will put in place a mechanism to prevent such an increase because there bound to be people who take advantage of the situation," he told Bernama here.

Honorary Secretary of the Muslim Consumers' Association of Malaysia Mohammed Mosin Abdul Razak said the fuel price increase had not affected his business yet. "We shall see. If the price of food items increase, it will not be good for the food business. We hope to be able to hold on to the old price," he said.

In JOHOR BAHARU, the National Fishermen Association said the increase in the price of diesel for fishermen's use, from RM1 to RM1.43 per litre, was still low compared to the price in other countries.

Its president Mohd Dol Mat, however, reminded the fishermen to utilise the fuel wisely as the price increase would ultimately push up the cost of operation.

Mohd Dol who is also the Johor Fishermen Association chairman expressed concerns that the higher fuel price would result in many fishermen unable to break free from the clutches of poverty.

In SHAH ALAM, Consumer Association of Kapar Selangor President P. Govindasamay expressed his shock over the announcement as he had expected that the fuel subsidy would only be structured in August.

"I'm shock and I don't agree," he said, adding that the move would ultimately reduce the people's buying power.

In KUANTAN, Peninsular Malaysia Malay Bus Drivers Association described the price increase as burdening the people.

Its president Mohd Yasin Yakob said bus companies would not wait long to increase their fares.

He hoped that the government would review the quantum of increase which he said was "too drastic."

"Even before this latest increase, the fuel price is already high," he said.

In KOTA BAHARU, Kelantan Consumers Association President Ahmad Othman asked the public to remain calm.

He said the increase was inevitable because of the current situation in the global fuel market.

"There are ways to lighten the burden... like spending wisely, change our lifestyle and avoid making unnecessary purchase," he said.

"For those who smoke, it's time to reduce," he added.

Meanwhile, Deputy President of Bumiputera Manufacturers and Small Enterprise Association, Major (Rtd) Abdul Rahman Ibrahim, said the higher fuel price would make it more difficult for the small-and-medium industry entrepreneurs.

"The increase is too drastic but we will set up a committee to receive feedback from members on problems they face in the wake of the high fuel price," he said, adding that it would be particularly difficult for those earning RM700 a month.

The Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations adviser Datuk Hamdan Adnan said he had expected the price to increase.

"What is important now is for the consumers to accept the reality of the new fuel price, which is a global problem. Let's not resort to doing negative things in our effort to find additional source of income," he said.

The consumers should not be panicky in facing the situation, he said, adding that he was concerned over the possible actions by taxi and bus companies.

"I hope the government will monitor them so that they do not increase their fares indiscriminately," he said.

Meanwhile, Cuepacs President Omar Osman called for calm among civil servants.

"Don't sell your car just because the petrol price is high," he said.

In PENANG, Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng expressed "grave concern" over government's decision to increase fuel prices.

Lim, who is currently on a business trip to South Korea, said the fuel increase is both economically inefficient and socially unjust.

"It does not deal with the basic problems of increasing productivity and energy conservation as well as ensuring that fuel subsidy fulfils its intended objectives (to help) the poor instead of benefiting the rich," he said in a statement.

He said the prime minister "should ask the question whether this dramatic and drastic fuel increase would help to reduce the financial burden of the poor and also ensure that rich companies and individuals do not benefit equally with the poor." - BERNAMA

written by Robin Goodfellow, June 05, 2008 08:28:07
I ask the foolish consumer associations to keep their mouth shut if they have nothing substantive to add to the matter of rising oil prices.

HOW DO YOU EXPECT THE RAKYAT TO REMAIN CALM?

Oh, so we must be calm when the 'windfall' from rising oil prices in PETRONAS goes directly into the pockets of UMNO?

Ww should be 'calm' when Rakyat pay for the corrupt and lavish lifestyle of UMNO-ists (KJ in his SUVs, Madame Dotty shopping in Paris, Mr. RM12 million divorce man and plenty more) through the petrol pumps? MALAYSIANS, THAT IS WHAT THOSE FELLAS IN THE ABOVE ARTICLE IS ASKING YOU TO DO!!!

PETRONAS and its profits belongs to the Rakyat; not UMNO. AM I RIGHT, MALAYSIANS?

PROTES BARANG NAIK! SAY NO TO UMNO!
written by Sean E, June 05, 2008 08:40:46
Boycott BN (Barang Naik); say NO to UMNO.
written by technoboy, June 05, 2008 08:44:45
Let's see if any of the UMNO elites will show their thriftiness, CAKAP TAK SERUPAH BIKIN, ask the rakyat to be thrifty so that RM56 billions could be shared and spend lavishly by the wives of YB and UMNO elites, this is the type of idiotic government we have. DSAI, just throw BN out and Pakatan will have instant control of RM56 billions for establishing Pakatan government over the next 5 years, don't wait anymore before UMNO morons siphon away the money.
written by catypus, June 05, 2008 08:52:27
Those people in other than the 5 Pakatan states, don't wait till the next GE to throw the UMNO bangsat away..........
written by peacemaker, June 05, 2008 09:13:08
BN:Kita ucapkan terima kasih kepada pengundi BN kerana memberi peluang kami menaikkan harga minyak.
written by oknyua, June 05, 2008 09:15:31
“Malaysian Muslim Consumers Association Executive Secretary Datuk Nadzim Johan said the increase was beyond control and the consumers should now strive to spend within their means.

"The price increase is inevitable. What's important now is that the people should be thrifty and try to find additional income”

I am for this mister. But before you speak further, would you say the same for Abdullah, Najib, and all cabinet ministers? If it is something we sacrifice for, I am one to volunteer. But while the rakyat donated to the Johore Flood, Abdullah was sailing in Perth. Isn’t this the same thing?

Show example by:

1.Salary cut for Abdullah and all cabinet ministers.
2.Use Proton Wira for all government cars.
3.Use economy class when flying.
4.Sell the executive jets used by Abdullah. Going overseas, use economy.
written by Stormquest, June 05, 2008 09:16:23
The foot bone connected to the leg bone,
The leg bone connected to the knee bone,
The knee bone connected to the thigh bone,
The thigh bone connected to the back bone,
The back bone connected to the neck bone,
The neck bone connected to the head bone,
Oh, hear the word of the Lord

The fuel rates are connected to the electricity rates,
The electricity rates are connected to the water rates,
The water rates are connected to the manufacturing production rates,
The manufacturing production rates connected to the transportation rates,
The transportation rates connected to the toll rates,
The toll rates connected to the UMNO/BN boss rates,
Oh, hear the word of Bodohwi

Ayoyo, everthing increasing except salary!
written by Birdbrain, June 05, 2008 09:17:03
As I was driving to work this morning thinking about the fuel hike, two issues came into my mind.

1. Save Proton and and encourage high dependency on fuel.
2. Save the transportation system, check inflation.

But TWOG was quicker than me in his posting.

I have clerks buying Proton and MyVi cars with a salary less than RM2K and with the fuel hike, they have to dig deeper into their pockets. If the govt. wants to change the consumer habits, kill Proton! Less cars. less demand for fuel. Cleaner environment too!

BUT the public transportation sucks. I want to cycle but before I can reach my office, I'll probably be knocked down. In Europe, you get bicycle lanes. In Malaysia, the handicap has to fight for their rights. So what makes us think this BN govt. give a damn about us.

They just wants to make sure the cycle continues so that their pockets gets more money. So that UMNO can continue to hide more billions of the poor Rakyat's money.

We need a caring govt., like those in Perak, Selangor,Penang, Kelantan. But this hope will vanished if our beloved DSAI walks back to UMNO.

Are we the rugs for the politicians feet?
written by Nick Chong, June 05, 2008 09:28:49
this is the return from our goverment we voted, what a drastic move.
written by Arubin, June 05, 2008 09:52:43
I don't know why so many people voted TWOG down. He's absolutely correct. Its all Mahathir's fault we ended up in this situation.

Think about it...all the money that was spent trying to get a local automobile industry off the ground - it would have been far better of spent on public transport infrastructure.

Did you know Malaysia has an abnormally high rate of personal car ownership for a developing country? We're higher even than developed and richer countries. Why? Why is this country so dependent on petrol?

It all boils down to one word: Proton.

And who's fault was that? Mahathir.

Nice work, you so-called 'Bapa Pembangunan'.
written by fireduck, June 05, 2008 10:11:55
Dear Rakyat,

We can't wait for DSAI to take over the govt. He's taking his own sweet time, i.e. if he is still intending to do that. You know me, doubts are creeping into my mind. smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif

But what we can do for the immediate moment is to COLLECTIVELY make a demand for a pay raise that will help offset the increase in the cost of living. You MUST do it collectively, for there is strength in numbers. Don't be afraid, for if you think carefully, companies prosper because of its people. And likewise the opposite.

You know very well your company is going to pass on the increase in cost of production and marketing, etc., down the line whether it is the customers or consumers. They WILL do that. But what will you, as the employee, get? Demand now!

Ok, but do it fair for your company. Use an equitable formula. Don't just ask for 40% increase lah. Say, your fuel costs is normally about 30% of your monthly budget, Ask for 12% (40% x 30%) pay raise then. Fair mah, right? But wait, you also know that the mamaks and the 'chap fun' auntie will charge you more for that plate of rice during lunch time otherwise she cannot survive too. So, let's say she increases it by another 20% ... you ask for additional (40% x 20%) 8% increase in gaji. Still fair mah.

And don't forget, ESPECIALLY those who are in sales and marketing. Some companies still have the gall to pay only 0.50 per kilometer for your mileage claims. That was the market rate more than 10 years ago, when it was still RM1.10 at the pump. Now DEMAND at least RM1.00 per km. Otherwise, you actually have to (oh oh, here comes the big word....)SUBSIDIZE your company in the course of bringing in business for your company. Net effect is that the Govt cut subsidies, we the employees subsidize our employers. Is that fair? So, ask for a fair increase in the mileage compensation.

Don't laugh this off, people. Think about it. Get together and talk to your bosses about it. Just like the rakyat has spoken on March 8th, it's time we employees have a say in our own lives or we take our contributions somewhere else. Most of you probably work in multinationals and the big conglomerates. Who owns them? The Vincent Tans, the Jeffrey Cheahs, the Ananda Krishnans, Khazanah, huge global companies. These people don't get hurt by this price increase. They just pass it on. BUT YOU DO!

And listening to what our 'smart' Minister Shahrir said in the news about how the ban on foreigners buying fuel is no longer an issue, etc., with the new price increase, my blood boils ..... it just shows that the govt is trying to stem the foreigners buying cheap fuel problem by punishing the whole rakyat! To catch the mosquito you burn the bloody whole house down. What sort of warped mentality is that??
written by AndyY, June 05, 2008 10:12:26
This is a transition period for Malaysia. It is now or never for Malaysians to choose new government. Malaysians have the right to choose wisely to select capable party that can lead the country out of this mess and with main focus on the people's welfare...no more people like Badawi, Najib, KJ.
written by tino_chan1988, June 05, 2008 10:27:58
It's always "Malaysia will go bankrupt if we continue to subsidize fuel........".

I dare you to put in on papers the statistics and records of fuel-related (Petronas-linked) income and expenditure in Malaysia. Prove that whatever you have claimed is the truth and then perhaps, the rakyat will sympathize and agree with the government's action in this prce hike.

It seems that it is always words without concrete evidence to back up their claims.
written by panca, June 05, 2008 10:29:25
The man on the streets cry but the guys in putrajaya sail and flies!

Who cares, said the man in putrajaya, jayanya dia putar...."you have to change your lifestyle" said him. "Fcuked YOU, YOU, YOU, YOU, YOU and YOU"

Nasi Lemak and wantan mee is going to cause the price of two for one, change your lifestyle?!

Where is the money from PETRONAS?
written by schizonoid, June 06, 2008 04:00:10
Pengundi BN kena tipu oleh Barisan Niamah
Tak payah protes di jalanan.
Semua rakyat jangan pergi kerja.Jangan
jadi hamba pada pemerintah yang zalim.
All the rakyat just stay at home for 3 months and AAB will call for snap election and we'll finish them this time.Better to suffer 3 months than another 5 years or forever.We must sacrifice for the sake of our future generations.This country are runs by idiots cum robbers.
Adik aku naik, minyak pun naiklah.Tak faham ke.Setahun 2 kali sahaja.
JANGAN BELI MINYAK PETRONAS.