Malaysia – The land of 1.15 million civil servants and 1.14 million taxpayers PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 June 2008 15:11

By Ramumenon

Recent comments on taxpayers and justice by RPK prompted a little digging on my part.

YB Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed asked a question about taxpayers and the size of the civil service just the other day in Parliament. 

In 2006, there were 1.14 million individual taxpayers and 1.15 million civil servants. Based on these numbers, Malaysia has one taxpayer for every civil servant.  That’s a huge civil service. 

As Datuk Nur Jazlan puts it, should individual taxpayers “..carry the burden of a bloated civil service.”   

Fair question.  At a time when the country is facing a financial crunch in terms subsidizing the price of petrol as well as food prices for the poor, this may be as good a time as any to examine what these civil servants do and the cost to the economy.   

We need our passport officials, licensing officials, tax collectors, teachers, police, judges, army and other bureaucrats to keep the country safe and secure.   That’s acceptable. 

But then, are there other functions of government that should be given up? 

As we all know, the Malaysian government spends time and resources looking for imagined crimes.  Take sedition for example.

- How many police came to RPK’s home recently?

- How many were involved in taking his statement or non-statement?

- How many were involved in “investigating” RPK’s alleged offence?

- How many lawyers and computer experts in the Attorney General’s office spent their time reviewing the evidence for the alleged crime? 

- How many officials in the court will be kept busy at his trial?

Civil servants were involved at every level of this effort to go after RPK.  This is also true for Karpal Singh and several others who were alleged to have committed seditious offenses.  Can Malaysia afford to have civil servants keep track of the Rakyat to ensure that government, which is comprised of representatives of the Rakyat, is NOT defamed? 

Lets look at other governmental activities.  Do we need to maintain detention facilities in Taiping to lock up individuals who have committed political offenses?  And just the other day, I read a complaint from Ku Li that the Special Branch was keeping track of him as he made his rounds of UMNO branches seeking support for his uphill bid for the party’s presidency.  And do we need “uncivil servants” on government payroll use explosives to dispose of a tourist  - you know what I mean! 

There are several other examples of the government monitoring the behaviors of the public.  Malaysia, it appears, has lots of civil servants doing economically unproductive activities. 

Can we afford that luxury anymore? 

So here’s my suggestion.  The subsidies on petrol are going to be withdrawn – a huge impact on the Rakyat. Why shouldn’t the government make some sacrifices too?  Stop hiring civil servants except for essential or critical services.  Retrain the civil servants monitoring public behavior (and morality) to do more productive activities such as in areas affecting public safety, public health and education.  Thousands of motorists are killed on our roads every year, thousands of new drug addicts and hundreds and of new AIDs cases every year, and we could do with better teachers and instructional methods in our schools and universities.  Focusing on these areas will not only be more productive economically, but also improve the safety and well being of the Rakyat. 

The PM has just invited civil servants to contribute ideas to help the government address the problem of increasing subsidies.

Well it’s about time he asked the Rakyat to contribute ideas on what to do with the bloated civil service.

Comments (57)Add Comment
written by sjs, June 04, 2008 15:19:41
The inefficient Malaysian civil service has more than 4% of its population employed in the service.
While the most efficient Singapore civil service has only about 1% of its population employed in this sector.

I can only presume the level of "gives and takes" in the Malaysian civil service.
written by malaysianohope, June 04, 2008 15:22:55
A better indicator is the ratio of civil servants to total population and I read somewhere Malaysia has one of the highest ratio, meaning that there are a lot of deadwoods being paid compliments of Malaysian hard earned Taxpayers. This has to to with Ketuanan & NEP being abused mainly for Umno members.
written by indianputra, June 04, 2008 15:22:57
If the Civil servants will reduce their coffee break time, gossiping time, medical leaves, disappearance from offices, women knitting time, women doing part tims sales time, flirting in office time, sleeping on the job time, executive golf time, having unnecessary meetings time.... believe me, you can reduce the civil service employees by 40% overnight!
written by badeklangbuana, June 04, 2008 15:23:13
1.15 million civil servants?

1 million of them tidur all the time. Like their Big Boss.
written by ksmaniam, June 04, 2008 15:27:08
This is a ridiculous situation. The civil service should be reduced. We the rakyaat are already on austerity drive. Even eating less. It is time the government does the same. These people can be diverted to essential services..police to curb crime, to education fields, to health services, create think tanks to assist ISIS etc etc.
written by montkiara, June 04, 2008 15:34:26
It is so evident the government of recent years has lost total focus on the Rakyat. Sad as it is, with continued in-fighting within the ruling parties, we will not see major things happening 'for' the Rakyat. So, friends we are more or less left to 'fend' for ourselves. Not necessarily good if we are to compare ourselves with other nations, but nevertheless a reality.

written by cheemengwong, June 04, 2008 15:36:10
I've been paying income tax since I came out to work in 1979. I have been paying for almost 30 years. Annualy on average I pay about 10-15k depending on income levels. That works out to be 360k.

A lot of money for nothing!!!

Can I pay Zakat? A non bumiputra and non Melayu?

written by sararaj, June 04, 2008 15:37:51
this is funny... we've got more civil servants than tax payers... this is really funny... i don't understand how this could happen... but i have to agree with mat... don't these people pay taxes too?? or they don't... if they don't then what the hell is going on?? no tax no pension lah... apa susah... bukan nyer buat kerja pun...
written by Arubin, June 04, 2008 15:43:59
written by mat, June 04, 2008 | 15:31:32
Hmmm... how can there be more taxpayers than civil servants? Civil servants pay taxes too. Who wrote this? Study some more lah.

Bingo! I knew there was something fishy about the article but couldn't put my finger on it until you pointed it out.

Maybe most of the civil servants just aren't earning enough to qualify them to pay taxes?
written by Old Man Jasin, June 04, 2008 15:54:44
Ask any businessman and you get the same reply. It is very difficult to do business nowaday . One has to pay above the table and under the table to get things done in most gomen dept.

At the end of the financial year , all profit will have to pay income-tax. Yesteryears' incentives and tax rebates are now withdrawn . More and more taxes are being created to milk the tax-payers bone dry just to support the over-size civil servants and the governing politicians
written by hemlock, June 04, 2008 15:58:32
Mat,

There CAN be more taxpayers than civil servants. I believe your question should be: how can there be more civil servants than taxpayers. Arubin is right. I'm sure many of these civil servants earn less than the minimum taxable income (of RM2,000 a month?).
written by wood, June 04, 2008 15:58:48
This is Malaysia Bolehland. So what also can do kah ?

Civil servants and rakyat can give ideas but who will want and dare to be different to lead ? It remains to be seen.

Malaysia memang Boleh ! Change must come from the TOP and lets see what happens next.
If the TOP cannot change then we are going to be further and further behind . Forget about 2020 !

After so many years, we are still debating whether teaching some subjects in English is good or not? We Malaysians memang pandai cakap ! Siapa nak? Wasting our time talking and debating.

Singapore is now ahead of us and are we still proud?
written by Thiru, June 04, 2008 16:02:02
I believe the author has broadly mentions about the bloated civil service.

There are in fact redundant workforce in the civil service.To name that I can remember includes Inspektor Kubur, file searcher, etc.

I too remember how the bosses of departments evade their responsiblity.They take in pembantu to do their work and they absolutely boss around without any work. Eventually the pembantu will take another pembantu to work and he bosses too.So mistakes are covered up and nobody gets removed.This is I believe is the working of the civil service in the country.

Simply it means NO WORK lah.
written by Saint, June 04, 2008 16:02:56
Hmmm... how can there be more taxpayers than civil servants? Civil servants pay taxes too. Who wrote this? Study some more lah.

Dear Mat, if I am not mistaken Muslims pay Zakat and need not pay income tax. Please correct me if I am wrong!
written by gctham, June 04, 2008 16:05:09
Not to worry the numbers are keep increasing. It start with LHDN recruiting all unemployed graduate to beat up its forces to go round all businesses to audit and collect the taxes.
written by Navigator, June 04, 2008 16:06:35
These civil servants are secured voters for UMNO. For the armed forces and police, they vote in advance and their votes can be sent to any candidate requiring help. If they have enough money, they will make every Malay a civil servant. They will stay in power for ever.
written by indianputra, June 04, 2008 16:15:07
Malaysia's total work force is in excess of 6.5 million. That includes Civil as well as Private sectors. I am not sure of the 1.14 million tax payers out of this 6.5 milion workers, as reported in the article above.. Should be more!
written by little dragon, June 04, 2008 16:18:32
n by mahathir's reckoning, 90% of those 1.14m taxpayers r chinese.

so, v hv abt 1m chinese paying almost 1m malays their salaries n at d same time fund all our education, health, road contruction etc etc etc n YET these "ketuanan" morons still hv d gall to complain abt non-malays getting more than 10% of our government scholarships!!!

in my younger days, i was warned d malays were lousy at math n arithmetic, but i didn't know it was so bad.
written by LACOBRA, June 04, 2008 16:20:30
Civil Servants have a lot of subsidies borne by the private taxpayers! With all the subsidies and Mat Mahathir's 80 million population vision. To fulfill these objectives is probably from the civil service itself as the private sector wouldn't have the luxury of bearing more than one offspring. The civil service would at the comfort of these subsidies and Dependants rebates end up not being a taxpayer after all.
written by eeyaw, June 04, 2008 16:23:57
One angle to explain the apparent discrepancy of having more civil servants than taxpayers perhaps all of them are taking advantage of the zakat contributions which can be used to reduce their tax payments. And if the non civil servants Muslims do the same, this would explain why 90% tax are collected from Chinese & others. Asoh! The 90% thing had been bugging me since first mentioned by Che Det during one of his ranting.
written by Rainforest, June 04, 2008 16:27:10
I understand that lots of local graduates are always trying to get into the civil service, jobs easy, no stress and long tea breaks!! What a life! And the most preferred Police department, I heard, is TRAFFIC, wonder why?
written by lynn, June 04, 2008 16:32:55
The gov't created most jobs for civil servants so that more will vote BN! Why else the gomen so kind-hearted? If you go country by country in the whole world, this ratio is only happening in bolehland. The civil servants' situation here is akin to 9 men holding the ladder while one climbed up to change the bulb.

In the near future, when the gomen runs out of oil income, how is it going to maintain the lifestyles of these 1.5 mil civil servants? Where is the gomen going to get money from? From the taxpayers? I don't think it is so easy to sack all these gomen servants. For a start, why the **** does bolehland has so many ministers? We can very well chop off 40% of them! Certainly WE DON'T NEED TWO FINANCE MINISTERS! Wastage, in every form. Bodoh sombong!
written by Democrats, June 04, 2008 16:42:04
Take the example below, (figures are debatable

Civil service is 80% bumi. 20% of them (of which 30% earns more than 2k a month) pay tax i.e. only 64,000 non bumi civil servants pay tax. 70% are malays, and maybe only 40% are taxable. That is 319,000 gomen staff. Many who instead of paying tax, pay zakat which means the need not pay tax. Fine give 20% of those earning more than 2k there really pay tax. that is just another 64000 to who pay tax.

The figures are very possible.....

Surprised? No....

Disturbing? Definitely.....

written by c53k, June 04, 2008 16:45:01
"Jangan pecahkan periuk nasi orang!"

Even though these periuks are held by idiots, cronies, nincompoops & most of all - umnoputras!

written by tcng, June 04, 2008 16:49:15
Are those 'Moral Police' who catch couple committing khalwat/Zina CIVIL SERVANT?
Are those in 'Islam Rahab' center also Civil Servants?

Would appreciate if somebody confirm this...
written by danchung, June 04, 2008 16:54:07
wahhhhhhhhhhhh i am so lucky..... smilies/shocked.gif but what happen here in malaysia is the civil servant is created for pos vote what a loser BN
written by cwy, June 04, 2008 16:56:10
Dear Saint,

Good Muslims pay Zakat, even their total incomes are not taxable.

Those who pay Zakat and Income Tax, Zakat can be subtracted from the Income Tax.

You just reason out how much the Muslims contribute to the Income Tax Dept compared to other Non-Muslim.
written by LTn, June 04, 2008 16:58:00
WELL WHAT TO DO?? WE HAVE A STUPID PM (BADAWI ADULLAH) WE HAVE A STUPID GOV (bn umno) WE HAVE STUPID MINISTER AND STUPID ETC.
written by cwy, June 04, 2008 17:02:58
The comparation btn the no. of civil servants and taxpayers could be true, in view of the Muslims'contribution to Zakat.

Our Bolehland is just having excessive civil servants, most of whom are unproductive and yet destructive to our national economy.
written by cwy, June 04, 2008 17:03:32
The comparison.....
written by krepot, June 04, 2008 17:04:22
I bet my bottom dollar, the 1.15 million civil servants will not be able to give ideas on how to tackle the current problems and economy because they are just deadwoods.

They were hired because no one else wanted to hire them - it is as simple as that!

Don't expect them to be efficient, don't expect them to contribute and don't expect them to reduce in numbers as our system is rotten to the core.

However, you can surly expect them to be corrupt, finding ways to fill their pockets through dishonest means. That you can be rest assured!
written by myke, June 04, 2008 17:05:45
Too late, former mamak did not emphasize quality rather than quantity so now we are left with bloated civil servants ready to do anything around (or rather not do anything).
written by peace, June 04, 2008 17:10:45
Banyak yang gaji buta dalam kerajaan. Inilah system baik untuk orang malas, bodoh dan sombong!
written by alanlee, June 04, 2008 17:15:28
Then Wawasan2020 is merely TUN's daydream only. We don't even have enough economy activities to sustain such a population of 80 millions.
written by malaysianohope, June 04, 2008 17:20:33
You see another Nincompoop idea from them!
"To pay cash for motorcyclists & small car owners" for doing away with the petrol subsidy!
Why can't they just retain the subsidy and increase road tax according to the capacity of the vehicles??? Poorah!
written by nana tanjung, June 04, 2008 17:32:43
Indeed, most Muslims pay zakat instead of income taxes. See, I deal a lot with oil companies like Petronas, Exxon etc. Most of the engineers and executives in these companies are already in the high income tax brackets after 8-10 yrs working.
I know most of the Muslims in those companies are paying zakat. The good thing is that most of them (a big majority) support PR and by paying zakat allows them to pay to their state of choice.
Same thing with me, I pay to Kedah.
written by fairnessforall, June 04, 2008 17:37:48
If civil servants stop taking 1/2 hour tea breaks every 2 hours, and they just work a little faster, the civil service can be reduced to half the number it is now. Even banks are the same, look at how slow the counter staff work, they spend more time chatting with each other rather than service customers, with the exception of public bank.
written by avaaz, June 04, 2008 18:02:34
Will someone kindly clarify.
Aren't Civil Servants/ Government Officers income taxable?
Actually come to think of it, mostly see Chinese and a few Indians paying tax.
What about Others??
written by New Frontier, June 04, 2008 19:07:09
With over 1 mil civil servants they still privatised govt. institutions/projects. Just go to their offices- they make the term "honest living" -a joke. Always scream/beg for pay rise. Gifts/hadiah/wang saku - for them is their birth right. Real bloodsuckers.I wonder who is the real servants - they or we the tax payers?
written by seek justice, June 04, 2008 20:07:35
In Malaysia, when our politicians get power, they become arrogant. When that happens, they don't work, they delegate.

Why can't our leaders get their hands dirty and do actual work instead of having others do their work for them.
written by Dreamlander, June 04, 2008 21:05:35
There must be some error somewhere.
If all civil servants are also individual (not corporate) taxpayers, then Malaysia have a NEGATIVE number for individual tax payers.
Do you mean civil servant need not pay tax ? All salaried persons, whether in government or private sector, need to declare their income and is therefore a tax payer.
written by kooiseng, June 04, 2008 21:07:48
80% of the taxpayers are non Malays. Yet they get very little back in terms of services e.g. education opportunities, jobs, promotion, perks etc. The non taxpayers are enjoying the good life without making any effort. This is why the country is in deep shit trouble. The Malays are having such a good life without working that they do not know how to govern any more. They are now looking for another colonial master. Looks like the Americans are coming soon.
written by mamakstail, June 04, 2008 21:12:15
Everything in this universe function on its natural course. Our Government do things in reverse order so now you can see the negative effects hitting them back!!!! In Malaysia we have these:
1. Our government works from top to bottom where everything should evolve from bottom to top. Our Pengarahs in the governments are mostly paper qualifier many lack experiences. Proton and other so call Malaysia Incorporate businesses with support from the government still suffer huge loses.why? poor governance by lack of commitments and determinations. Many BN created millionaires are either gone bankrupt or left the country as we can see!
2. No where on this earth governments has more civil servants than tax payers. After 50 years nothing done to arrest this problem.
3. Why should the government subsidy cooking oil and sugar? where proven our people have more sickness due to too much consumption that cause heart problems and diabetes. End of the day we have to pay more on medical costs and on doctors
4. Why increase price of petrol when we waste billions by paying to middlemen by the government policy of helping Bumi by issuing APs?
5. Why give special licenses to a few selected Taxi Companies for them to rack in huge potion of the fares we pay everyday and our taxi drivers get only crumbs.
6. Why must we build so many toll collecting highways where we can spend on improving on public transport and stop producing too many cars on the roads by closing down proton.
7. Why must Government impose hurdles and never assist the business sectors where these gooses lay eggs. When you suppress one race you got nothing to tax in return. Business will runs away. What got the country got to gain? stupid!
8. Why not impose more sin taxes again? for you now realize that you collect even less tax than before because people spend less and you collect less. Law of balance!
9. We have all the 5 years Malaysian plans and national budgets but we don't have saving and financial plan for the country. You people talk about how much to spend but you did not talk about how much you will earn in the next 5 or 10 years.
10 In Malaysia we talk and boast when we launch projects but never talk about it results and accomplishment after that.
11 In Malaysia there is no responsibility and accountability to bear by civil servants or the ministers. Any wrong doing they are invincible and protected.

In Conclusion, Malaysia is governed by a group of substandard and highly racist and politically inclined group of opportunists where they think of themselves and not the well being of this country!
written by Saint, June 04, 2008 22:18:32
I am getting a bit confused.
I was under the impression that Muslims need not pay income tax if they pay zakat.
I was also under the impression that zakat goes to the state and not to the federal.
Thus federal income tax is mainly money collected from non Muslims.
And zakat is used only for Muslim expenses.
Thus my notion for the above article was that 1.4 million non Malays are supporting 1.15 government servants, while about 1.15 million Zakat payment is used for their benefit only. Please do not read on racial or religious lines but purely economics and management.
written by joeawk, June 04, 2008 22:33:52
Oh shit, I earn so little but have to pay tax and that means I have to support one of the civil servants. Does that mean that I own one of them? I want a young and pretty thing. Since I pay only a small sum, I will take a young junior.

The next time I poay a visit to a govt dept, I anm going to take ownership of her.
written by apa jadi, June 04, 2008 22:36:29
Ramumenon,

Good that you posted this article. Never realised that one tax payer per civil servant.

Taking the population of 26 million, we have only 1.14 million tax payers. What happen to the remainder 25 million or ~96%?
written by Leon, June 04, 2008 22:41:36
Indeed, majority of civil servants belong to the 'rank and file' Kumpulan Sokongan that earns below RM2,500 a month. Although they do declare their incomes, they are not liable to pay income taxes. Do your maths, you'll realize that only a small percentage of civil servants actually earn 'enough' to be taxable.
written by cheekhiaw, June 04, 2008 23:09:13
Hitch hiking is just one of the many special rights...

written by Ben, June 04, 2008 23:13:25
Please don't make sweeping statements and generalize the situation.

Look at Penang, Kelantan and Perak, they are really very efficient and certainly the ratio is not 1:1 as many suggest. We can only hope that Selangor will catch up and show that they too can get rid of the culture that has been a wet blanket over our nation's economy and civil service.

Looking forward to their 100 days report card.
written by ngiuchap, June 04, 2008 23:32:15
We need one civil servant to keep track of one tax payer, so that they don't cheat the government of taxes. Well, you have civil servants who do nothing but just to stamp in coming mails. And this is because they must abide by or maintain their MS-ISO certificate. This is how ridiculous it has become!
written by Mana2boleh, June 04, 2008 23:34:09
The 5 states under Pakatan should lead the way to build efficient civil service. They should bring back 6-day working week to serve the public. Treat the Public as customers just like the private sectors do -treat customers well because they are the bosses and paymasters.
written by rainmanpj, June 05, 2008 00:41:32
Actually about 10 months back , the sinchew paper publish the official figure.
I kept the paper for almost 6 months , mostly probably to show my kids (eldest 15yo) the unproductive parts of the civil workforce.

I recall it say that for every 2.7 to 3 working person in private , there is 1 govn worker. So the ratio is about 3:1.
It did not mention how many is paying how much taxes.
It also mention the ratio of a few country.
If I am correct , Singapore is 7:1 , I don't remember the rest.

But I can confirm , we are the worst in that report , unless the report
miss out ( did not compare) the worst country.

I threw the paper away just 2 months ago.

written by mgeo, June 05, 2008 00:45:17
We are definitely world leaders in (a) size of civil service to population (b) absolute size of Cabinet.
written by mgeo, June 05, 2008 01:01:00
apa jadi,
Only 1.14 million of us are honest. Not all of the rest are poor or paying zakat.
written by bexe, June 05, 2008 07:50:09
1.14 million individual taxpayers and 1.15 million civil servants. More civil servants than tax payers.
You mean not all civil servants pay taxes? Then where are the rest of our tax payers? SUMTINLONG here
written by rayfire, June 05, 2008 08:15:24
This is indeed a very saddening affair!
My concern is , if at all they do save the money, what are they going to spend it on? If it on all those useless white elephant projects yet again, I am going to go to the streets!!!!!!
This kind of decision is ONLY and STRICTLY ONLY acceptable if it is going to be FULLY used to upgrade Public Transportation and ensure Food Supply Sustainance.
On top of it the government MUST drop all projects which does not benefit rakyat as a whole, reduce or send back ALL foreign workers who drain out our money, cancel pending orders and sell off all unnecessary defense purchase and STOP wasting public funds to hold lavish federal or state events and all the useless kenduri of departments whatsoever!
No more escort police for ministers, ask all of them to travel use the new saga or better still ,use kancil(self driven). Botton line, no more WASTAGE, on uniforms , on false propagation of BRANDED Islam (ie Hadhari or Ada Hari)!
All must stop, or alternately, PR , Anwar, are you ready!
Take over and do as promised to save the nation!
Let's take heed, and take action to ensure this!
Ask the ministers and gov servants to "Ubah Cara Hidup"

Please visit http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com