Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow KL may extend territory by merging Middle Rocks

KL may extend territory by merging Middle Rocks PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Wednesday, 04 June 2008 08:57

Foreign Ministry looks at setting up research centre on the rock outcrops

'Whether the proposal will affect the eco-system in the area will have to be determined by a feasibility study.' 

The Straits Times 

MALAYSIA is considering a plan to merge a pair of rock outcrops called the Middle Rocks, to extend the territory that it was awarded recently by the International Court of Justice.

The proposal by the Foreign Ministry to develop the Middle Rocks includes the possibility of setting up a scientific research centre, Foreign Minister Rais Yatim said yesterday, adding that he will present the proposal to the Cabinet today.

'Both rock outcrops are very close and can be merged to make it longer and wider,' he told Malay-language daily Utusan Malaysia.

He stressed, however, that the proposal will have to be approved by the Cabinet and was just a suggestion for the government to consider.

'Whether the proposal will affect the eco-system in the area will have to be determined by a feasibility study...for now, we have to register our presence there through legal means,' he told The Star daily.

Made of granite, the Middle Rocks consist of two clusters of rocks lying 1.1km south of Pedra Branca. According to the ICJ, the two rock outcrops are about 250m apart and stand 0.6m to 1.2m high.

In its May 23 judgment on the 28-year dispute over the island and outcrops, the ICJ had awarded Pedra Branca to Singapore and the Middle Rocks to Malaysia.

A third rock outcrop, the South Ledge, is visible only at low tide, and was ruled by the ICJ to belong to whoever owns the territorial waters it sits in.

Mr Rais also stressed that while his ministry was looking at the idea to develop the Middle Rocks, Malaysia will ensure that the international shipping route in the Singapore Straits will not be affected. He added that both countries have agreed to avoid clashes while surveying their territories.

The plan to develop the Middle Rocks had come with a survey conducted by a Malaysian technical committee there. Mr Rais said the survey showed that there was potential for the rock outcrops to host a meteorological research centre and a maritime observatory.

'The visit by the Malaysian team, which is not objected to by Singapore, is to evaluate the area at closer proximity,' he told Utusan Malaysia. He also expressed optimism that the South Ledge would be shown to sit in Malaysian waters.

On Saturday, Mr Rais had said that Malaysia had renewed its search for evidence to stake its claim on Pedra Branca.

He told The Star that he has directed his officials to try again to trace a letter written by British governor William Butterworth to the temenggong and sultan of Johor seeking permission to build Horsburgh Lighthouse on the island.

He had claimed that although the ICJ's ruling on May 23 was final and not subject to appeal, there was a specific provision in the court's rules that allowed for a judicial review of a case within 10 years if new evidence was found.

However, Mr Rais conceded that the letter might not be sufficient to overturn the ICJ judgment.'But of course when you introduce (new) evidence, there could be other strong, compelling reasons under international law to rebut it,' he said.

'Which means although we find the letter, it might cease to be of operation if we are shown not to have been operating in the island for 100 years. It could be that way too.'

While the ICJ judgment had resulted in some unhappiness, especially in Malaysia, Malaysian High Commissioner N. Parameswaran has called on his countrymen to put the issue behind them.

'Definitely, the recent decision on the island will cause some fallout from some quarters, but with the issue closed, both countries should work towards improving ties, especially with regard to Iskandar Malaysia,' he told The Star.

Iskandar Malaysia is a development project which aims to turn southern Johor into an economic zone.

written by Robin Goodfellow, June 04, 2008 09:07:35
RAIS YATIM. WHAT ABOUT SELAT AMBALAT?

Are we going to let the Indons do as they please over there? Please answer! Isn't it true their navy ships are intruding and ailing like nobody's business on waters rightly awarded to Malaysia by the ICJ? Why aren't we exercising our sovereignty there?

NAJIB ANAK RAZAK. Defence Minister @ Mr. C4! Sleeping on the job dreaming of 'royal' commissions ah? Please, modernisation of armed forces not for show only in Merdeka Day. Eject those Indons out before we lose ketuanan over Selat Ambalat like we lost Pulau Batu Puteh! Even Tun Perak and Tunku had balls to take on the Indons during their time; unlike you constantly grovelling and say sorry to the Indons like a coward!

PERTAHANKAN SELAT AMBALAT! JANGANLAH PISANG BERBUAH DUA KALI!

http://www.antara.co.id/en/arc/2007/3/29/malaysia-admits-mistakes-by-offering-apology-over-ambalat/
Votes: +2
written by Sean E, June 04, 2008 09:08:08
Don't waste money on some uninhabitable rocks in the middle of nowhere.

Unless of course some Umnoputra is thinking of making some money out of the government - our taxpayers' money!
Votes: +1
written by malaysianohope, June 04, 2008 09:26:58
WTF, truly dimwit idea from a numbskull or is it the case of sore loser!
Why not reclaim the rocks all the way to mainland? Memang Dunggus!!!
Votes: +3
written by humanist, June 04, 2008 09:59:46
Research center ?
OOOoooooooh now I remember, there will be 8 lane highway leading to the bridge, there will be outpost for car to park. There will be one Biggest mosque on water, largest Buddha statue,largest Hindu temple build there. There will be longest airport runway build there. The highway will be build to block out some poor inland residential area so that they need to use TOLL to goto work everyday.

Right ? Mr Rais ?

Just stick a stainless steel flag there say that it's ours, and that's all and put police there to guard the metal so that it does not get stolen to be sold as scrapped metal.

Pls-lah.. running out of idea to help the ailing UMNOPutra contractors to loot our coffer ?
Votes: +2
written by FOLI, June 04, 2008 10:35:22
Sounds like a great idea for some real scientific research >>> send Mr & Mrs Najib there to test C4 sexplosions
Votes: +3
written by TWOG, June 04, 2008 10:45:53
Bravo!!! Clap, clap, clap. What a great idea! Singapore just can't wait for Malaysia to reclaim and merge the two rocks. That would be the best excuse and imprimatur for Singapore to reclaim Pedra Branca. Quick, somebody, pass me a calculator and let's see how many HDB housing estates can be built on the enlarged pedra Branca. Better still, build multi-million seaview bungalows with yachting facilities for the rich and famous like it is being done on Sentosa Island now.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif
Votes: -2
written by joeawk, June 04, 2008 12:12:57
Build bungalows for UMNO Supreme council members.
Votes: -1
written by eagle22, June 04, 2008 13:00:55
Hah.. Hah.. Hah... Aiyooo !!!!! You ll don't get it ahhh !!!! Now the gov will give the land reclaiming contract to some useless idiot .... then the cost of reclaiming land will shoot up sky high due to corruption... then this issue will be published in blog.. .. then the blogger will be arrested ..... then the gov. will appoint. a team of experts to re-study the project.... then the report will say that its not eco friendly and dangerous of sinking...... then MPs will screw BN gov for this mistake and wasting rakyats money in Parliment...... Aiyooo !!!!! Aiyooo !!!!! enough lah... enough lah...
written by apiapi, June 04, 2008 14:05:29
Yeah! Win win situation says Rais Yatim. Damm fool Minister. They got an Island and we got a rock and they he say win-win. Nak aje aku pukul kepala dia dengan batu tu.
written by bukitkuda, June 04, 2008 16:20:47
HAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHA......Umno ! Umno....they now want to expand their banglow at this two rock for those SABAH MP that complain that they have no place in UMNO BIG banglow....why now..after so many years..now only u care kah? Umno ? why want to waste Duit Rakyat Again....!!! it a no Brainer afterall
written by Guess, June 04, 2008 17:03:50
I have no understand why the gov always send out a non-confirmation message on sensitive issue to public?? Are you trying to tell people that you have brain and work hard? The MP should beware in mind that whatever info you send to public are clear without create misunderstanding and you're represent the country. Like a petrol, within one week..how many changes have been done, shame you. Rakyat don't want the MP with pig brain, like to talk cock. See, AB..you don't know how to teach your dog, Think first before you bite ok.
Votes: +0
written by Rozlan, June 04, 2008 17:07:21
Its not a waste of money.Its about national integrity.We had lost 2 hectar of land.A very unpleasant experience.But must stege claim to all our territories..Pulau Pisang bagaimana? Singapore had a light house over there.So they want to claim it as their territories as well?
written by prof, June 04, 2008 20:13:53
When it comes to great stupid ideas like this we know it comes Bodowi.
written by KKchan, June 04, 2008 21:39:16
Not a bad idea to build up Middle Rocks to some size.Then we can exile all the UMNOputras there. Are they holding their retreat there?

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.