Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian leader asks civil servants for ideas on cutting subsidies

Malaysian leader asks civil servants for ideas on cutting subsidies PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Tuesday, 03 June 2008 09:53

Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Monday urged government employees to contribute ideas on how the government can cut food and fuel subsidies as global oil prices soar.

Abdullah, who is also finance minister, said if the government continued to provide subsidies for food and oil, the country would suffer big economic losses.

'If the subsidies we pay exceed operating expenses, it will cause big problems to us later. Although we think nothing of that sort will happen to us now, one day we may have to face serious problems if we don't reduce subsidies,' he told his department's staff early Monday.

Abdullah said the government hoped to continue providing subsidies to the poor while slashing subsidies for the higher earners.

'Various groups have given all sorts of ideas. I want you to do the same, try to think of constructive ideas and forward them to your department heads,' he was quoted as saying by the official Bernama news agency.

He also urged all government employees to come up with ideas on ways to tackle rising inflation.

Malaysia recently announced it would spend at least 725 million ringgit (213 million dollars) to subsidize foreign rice imports to ensure the staple food remains affordable for consumers, while subsidized fuel prices are expected to cost the government 14 billion dollars this year. - M&G

Comments (50)Add Comment
written by menowok, June 03, 2008 09:58:32
Does this means that our leader is stupid?
Votes: +22
written by glock17, June 03, 2008 10:00:10
Dear Omnoputras ....

Very easy lah...if you can discriminate your own minorities via systematic racist system such as buying house with special price, I am sure you will be able to use this discriminative NEP ideology against the pesky Thais and Singaporean.

Congratulation my racist-corruptive ultra ethno nationalist regime...u seem to rise up the ocassion again.

Glock17
Votes: +13
written by Mr Smith, June 03, 2008 10:06:48
How to cut government expenditure.
1. Control use of government vehicles for personal use.
2. Unnecessary building of structures, landscaping, lighting to beautify towns.
3. Cut down on seminars/conferences at hotels and gifts to VIPs.
4. Avoid buying office needs at cheapest possible prices.
5. Ministers travel economy class.
6. PM stop using jet for personal use.
7. Ministers return commission received to the government.
8. Wives of ministers stop asking foreign missions to pay for airport and other taxes.
9. Stop lunches and dinners at taxpayers expense.
Please add to this list.
Votes: +42
written by fellow, June 03, 2008 10:13:14
Breathtaking stupidity!
Votes: +11
written by temenggong, June 03, 2008 10:14:22
Yes, our PM is stupid, now bowing low to our inept bureaucracy for ideas on cutting subsidies.

Just cut the subsidies, let the prices rise, then increase salaries to cover these price rises, cut wasteful expenditure and programs, and cut the number of civil servants.
Votes: +6
written by uncleleow, June 03, 2008 10:15:03
Easy just "STOP CORRUPTION."
Votes: +31
written by toolan, June 03, 2008 10:18:00
The PM is the best example of the term "infinite stupidity".

If only these "traitors" will stop robbing the nation of its wealth - then there will be no subsidy problems.
Votes: +13
written by sampat, June 03, 2008 10:23:52
If corruption is stamped out there won;t even be a need to decrease subsidy...heck you can increase it!!
Votes: +6
written by little dragon, June 03, 2008 10:24:40
y resort to asking civil servants for ideas when d naswers r right in front of our eyes???

global inflation is beyond anyone's control. but our government can help reduce it effects by removing all d structural impediments in our economy dat adds to them.

STOP all rent-seeking n u will slow inflation!!! stupid!!!
Votes: +5
written by Delima25, June 03, 2008 10:24:41
Yes, ask others for ideas on cost savings etc for they are the people who will have to bear the brunt of any increase in prices. Oue leaders only know how to spend as much of our national treasure as they think willo bring material gain to their own kins and henchmen.
While we are asked to forego many of our needs or reduce our spendings, the federal and BN-led state governments are spending like there is no tomorrow. In hard times like the current situation, is it necessary to spend on planting of flowers, digging up existing palnts and planting other trees in their place. This is what I observed in the Malacca Hutan Rekreasi where they are spending huge sums of money to plant other shrubs etc after getti ng rid of many of the original plants. Removing the original plants involve money, replanting involve further amounts so it is a good way of handing out cash to whoever the government wants. Cut out on the wastage and resolve the misery of the rakyat before you even think of enriching whoever it is that the contracts have been awarded to. Even fishermen in Kuala Linggi are up in arms over the disruption of their livelihood due to rignts being given to some company to dredge for tin off the shores. This has caused a drastic drop in the earnings of these fishermen and they were only offered paltry compensation of less than RM2000 per year. When I was having a drink in Kuala Sg Baru I heard the fishermen saying they were cheated of their livelihood by an UMNOputra who granted the mining rights for a very lucrative sum. So who actually gets the money, the state or the man.
Votes: +9
written by cheekhiaw, June 03, 2008 10:33:23
NO SUBSIDY METHOD

There is one method that does not require the government to subsidise goods.

That is to strengthen the Ringgit.

Bu alas, that is the exact opposite of what the BN government had been doing the last 30 years where they systematically debase the currency resulting in the need to subsidise essentials to artificially make things appear normal while they steal the people's wealth by way of spending away the 'extra' money they print/issue.

That is the story of the people like Che Det behind the NEP which did not start 30 years by coincidence.

The money to give people special rights to riches has to come from somewhere if not by labour.

written by AndyY, June 03, 2008 10:34:50
As PM and finance minister of Malasyia, Badawi should not ask this kind of stupid question. by all means appoint an adviser who can work out the plan to counter such issue..why asking civil servants are they smarter than u? come on please don't act like a headless chicken! Malaysians need a capable leader who can articulate who can inspire in this difficult period and fortunately we have such person who can swiftly hand over the power to Pakatan Rakyat very soon...My views are oil subsidiaries never gonna solve the problems it only worsen Malaysia's economy independency and economy development..100 years behind Singapore inevitable..and Thailand? Vietnam?....
Votes: +1
written by eeyaw, June 03, 2008 10:38:25
Wrong people to ask to ideas coz they themselves have been abusing taxpayers money as if they are entitled to it. Just see how blatant they enjoy themselves having dubious seminars in posh hotels, free stays with family members, free breakfast, lunch and dinners especially during school holidays.
Votes: +10
written by Michael Pg, June 03, 2008 10:49:37
You want our suggestion to save cost to cut subsidy?

My suggestion is Change PM. are you dare?

All cost will be reduce after Pakatan PM take over. hahaha smilies/grin.gif
written by hemlock, June 03, 2008 10:59:25
Aiyo! The intelectually challenged asked to lead the morally bankrupt? Sorry lah, but - unlike Singapore - our civil service is not exactly filled with the cream of the crop in terms of intelligence. So sad and scary, the state of our so-called leaders... smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
Votes: +7
written by Michael Pg, June 03, 2008 11:00:32
reduce cost.

1. sack all your corrupted minister.
2. cancel national training.
3. cancel all VIP oversea trip for seminar and meeting.
4. cancel all the extra teacher send from Trengannu to penang and penang send to Johore. and Johore send back to trengganu. gov. have to pay extra allowance such a lousy MOE missmanagement of rakyat money.
5. cut the Government expenditure for Parallel State Tourism Department.

Cut the government expenditure first before you implement something to the rakyat.

example your minister salary by 20%.

PM and DPM salary reduce of 40% might justify that you try hard to take care for rakyat. right?

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
Votes: +11
written by Arubin, June 03, 2008 11:03:26
Here's an idea which will definitely not just save on food subsidy, but on educational resources as well.

Remember that guy in the news recently who wanted to marry a 4th wife? The one who was supporting 3 wives and over a dozen kids with a monthly income of RM1500?

Tell him to go jump in a lake, along with any other idiot who might be crazy enough to emulate him.

written by oknyua, June 03, 2008 11:03:27
This is the wrong question at the right (or wrong) people.

It should be “What are the ways we can pilfer more of government’s money and subsidies?”

I am not being cynical. Just look at the average government department. Clock in at 7.30 am, but disappeared for a drink until 9 am. Peon, clerks, officers – all the same.

In fact, the RM800,000 spent by the PM within 2 weeks for the executive jet prior to the election is a clear-cut example. Cut subsidies to the people BUT the leaders, PM and his cabinet, spend more money. Can the people be at fault for calling our leaders hypocrites?
written by Michael Pg, June 03, 2008 11:06:10
corrupted and bad decision making minister should not stay in office. They should resign immediately themself.

Because every action and bad decision cause rakyat money. which we don't allowed for such practise.

But with UMNO in the Government, those crony still stay much high up.

so don't tell me Bodowi don't know or act don't know?

Fire them lah if you dare to ask such a question but did not dare to fire them. you know who.

Votes: +3
written by billykbk, June 03, 2008 11:11:07
Excuse me Mr.PM, I'm not trying to be rude. You've your own Ministers to seek counsel from, why must you go back to civil servants? Are you suggesting that civil servants can say some magic words to enlighten your dim-witted Ministers? As I observe your words and actions these 2 months, I think you've gone bonkers. ....What you should do? STEP DOWN!!!!
written by fireduck, June 03, 2008 11:11:11
'Various groups have given all sorts of ideas. I want you to do the same, try to think of constructive ideas and forward them to your department heads,' he was quoted as saying by the official Bernama news agency.

What the heck does that mean?? So, the ideas from the 'various groups' are looked into or not? Or are they now good enough? Or are they so bad that you have to come down to the civil service for ideas? Do you have any qualified advisers as a PM? We told you not to listen to Jean and your SIL only. When things get tough, their experience are limited, and it starts to show real bad.

Ayoyo, dielah, with a PM like that!
written by Lipanbara, June 03, 2008 11:11:18
Temenggong wrote: Just cut the subsidies, let the prices rise, then increase salaries to cover these price rises, cut wasteful expenditure and programs, and cut the number of civil servants.
Cut the PM as well!
Votes: +4
written by Lipanbara, June 03, 2008 11:12:30
Abdullah, pls walk the talk! the above comments demand so..!!
Votes: +0
written by krising1, June 03, 2008 11:13:29
Many decades ago LKY said - " dont give fish. Teach him to fish". We are paying for ignoring that advice. You dont have to ask your civil servants. They all were brought up with the crutch mentality. No way they want susidies to go.

So as PM you make the hard decisions. No free fish. Teach the rakyat to fish.
Votes: +2
written by InEffective, June 03, 2008 11:14:55
Be Careful understanding how UMNO politicians defines 'SUBSIDY'

If the UMNO politicians owns the Oil, then current pump prices (relative to today's marked-to-market OilPrice ~ USD130/barrel) is classified as 'subsidy' (because of the opportunity cost for politicians to sell oil at intl market prices is lost).

If the Rakyat owns the Oil, then current pump prices is 'NOT A SUBSIDY' (since you produce it) - its your Oil and your money. (cost of production per barrel of oil has not changed - its still less than $15 at the last datapoint - someone please confirm). Why would you sell it to yourself at higher rates ? (you would sell ONLY the excess oil (quantum over malaysia's consumption) to overseas at marked-to-market prices ~ USD130/Barrel). The oil for domestic consumption can easily be the same - a few bucks over cost-of-production.

Since Malaysia is a net oil exporter, its foolish to think that what you get at the pump price as 'subsidy'. If you are a net oil importer like India, US etc, then it makes sense to think about subsidy.

Be careful when politicians use the word 'Subsidy' - its only a subsidy if the price which you have to pay to produce/acquire an item is more than what you have to sell it for to another 3rd party (ie the rakyat)

Another sneaky attempt by UMNO politicians to NOT release the OilFunds to the rakyat - clearly the way this has been framed is for the UMNO politicians benefit.

Now i hope its clear why UMNO desperately keeps Petronas accounts under OSA - they don't want to rakyat to know details of volumes produced, domestic vs export consumption requirements, prices-sold on spot & forward.

All other Net Oil-Producing countries are celebrating windfall profits - no Net-Oil-Producing country is raising the prices at their domestic pumps.
(btw - Indonesia is now net oil importing country, that's why they have to raise pump prices)

So Rakyat (all races) - ask yourself these questions:
- who owns the Oil ?
- and who owns the Revenue from Oil?
- and who decides what Rakyat requirements at the Pump for OilPrice ?

If you choose poorly, the windfall money will flow straight to UMNO politicians. (and you will never get it back again)

And Rakyat, The windfall amount (at stake) is not small - its HUGE.
Votes: +7
written by Everbright, June 03, 2008 11:16:51
Here are my suggestions:-
1) Collect summons more effectively by linking JPJ with PDRM and Insurance companies. Why are foreign car owners not paying their summonses?
2) Collect PTPTN instalments more effectively by linking EPF with Government loaners.
3) Sell off AAB's jetplane.
4) Get rid of the NS training and channel the funds to schools uniform societies.
5) Suspend all foreign jaunt-trips, fact-finding BS-trips, study-trips, field-trips unless necessary.
6) All G-to-G deal heanceforth do not need crony-owned companies for commisions.
7) Hire more staffs for ACA, more staffs to clear the 1 Mn back-log cases in the magistrate courts, more staffs for Auditor-General's office so that leakages and wastages can be highlighted and the culprits brought to book.
written by densemy, June 03, 2008 11:19:33
Of course those poor underpaid public servants will opt for continuation of the subsidies

... and you know that Malaysia has never adopted any worthwhile ideas from overseas... So while most other governments are facing reality and dumping subsidies, Malaysia rides blindly off into the setting sun with an agenda all of their own

written by astina, June 03, 2008 11:20:45
Menowok..our leaders are NOT stupid ..!!

They are finally decided to listen to the people (after Mar 08 i presume)..

So now listen leaders here are some methods to reduce subsidy..

1. Please resign en bloc !!
(that will save the gomen alot in unwaranted salary and perks given to u dickheads.)

2. Declare all your assets both here and overseas held by u and cronies.
(It will show us ur net worth against ur actual worth .)

3. Volunteer,u, ur spouse and ur future generations as well to work for minimal salary (doing hard labor) for the rest of your pathetic life at our discertion .(food and lodging at Sg Buloh will be provided FOC)

4. Finally ,..Drop dead or commit "harakiri" and put an end to taking up more space and air from "bolehland" .(u have stolen enough already)

I sincerely hope our leaders will listen to our request in earnest !!

written by fireduck, June 03, 2008 11:22:33
Civil servants are vested group in term of what policies the govt decides to adopt. So, any ideas coming out from them will be from a perspective of 'right pocket, left pocket' sort of reasoning. Sure, we have this great idea to help cut subsidies on this and on that. But at the same time, as govt servants, we want the govt to make sure our lifestyle and income is not affected by these price increases, so we want the govt to give us more raises to buffer the impact of these increases. That would be the typical response you will get when you ask this group of people.

What about the rest of the rakyat who have to work hard, depending on the market economy, where they are subject to the full force of any price increases. Remember, every ringgit...., no, every sen, of price increase in fuel prices equals many many more sen or ringgit worth of price increases as the effect trickle down the chain. Costs of production go up, transportation costs goes up, marketing up, ........ but gaji leh?

And our leaders always give us that same old over-used sh*t argument that we are still priced the lowest in the region. What about income? Yes, I know, still priced the lowest in the region!!
written by indianputra, June 03, 2008 11:23:26
Aiyaaahh Pak Lah.. Resign lah.. Hand over the Government to Pakatan Rakyat. As proven in Penang, Perak and Selangor the governance will improve, corruption will be wiped out, hi perks for Ministers and Government officals will be removed, tender system will be monitored etc. Do you know how much money can be saved by the above actions?? PR will still subsidize and the Government will not go bankrupt. So simple!!
written by oknyua, June 03, 2008 11:30:28
I just remember something.

Where was your consultant that you paid US10 m for for writing the stupid Sabah Corridor. Reappoint them again for US20m, I mean I need that US10m for suggesting this, don't I?
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 03, 2008 11:32:38
Why ask civil servants? Go and consult Mr. Lee Kuan Yew or our own sugar-king.
written by cheemengwong, June 03, 2008 11:53:07
Dear Mr. PM, Pak Lah,

You have asked the wrong people for suggestions. Don't ask the government servants!!!. They are the culprit lah!!!

Don't get the consultants involved either !. They will take Raayat's money and cause higher inflation. They will CON you first than INSULT you.

Who then should PaK Lah asks for advise?

The machik and pacik in the kampongs
The estate workers in our major estates
The factory workers working their buts out
The hawkers trying to earn 3 meals
The office workers getting 1500 RM or less in the private sectors
The employable but unemployed because of the slowing economy
The parents of school going children who holds 2 or more jobs
The elderly with no children to support them and without any pension or income.
The disabled due to health reasons.
The multitiudes who walk the streets day and night

My 2 cents worth of ways to cut down inflation and helping the Raayat!!!

a. Don't spend RM3.5 million on Philharmonic Symphony payroll with Raayat's money.

b. All ministers to travel economy air fare

c. PM, you should sell the jet away and travel economy too.

d. Don't simply built buildings of worship when it is only infrequently used.

e. No more sholarship for overseas studies...

d. No more long study leaves for government employees. Some of these lasts 5 years with wife, children, homes thrown in!. Imagine how many local school children these money can help!

e. No more bailing out of GLC and, link companies, or crony linked companies.

d. No more 30 years contract which affects the government, federal or state adversely. E.g look at Toyol and Selangor.

e. No more government cars for ministers and all.

f. No. more kenduris after every festival for government, BN, component parties. The last general election, MCA gave away dinner almost every night.

g. No more Putrajaya mansions for the ministers, government servants or ambassadors overseas....

h. No more spending on sports events where we always come out last!

i. NO MORE SENDING ANGKASAWAN TO THE SPACE. Get them to pass proper exams which are useful to the country.

j. No more working with toll concession companies who are out to rob the Raayat for 30 years.

the list goes on... Do I get paid for this?
Votes: +14
written by alpha100, June 03, 2008 12:05:17
wah, all his right left hand men r so unreliable and out of ideas that he has to go down to civil servant! Like that how to run the country! Better hand over to PR asap before BN destroy not only themself but the country as well!
written by ibnuaiz, June 03, 2008 12:15:52
Maknanya civil servant di malaysia memang bagus kerana PM minta pandangan mereka. Wahai kakitangan awam berbanggalah anda.....

Cadangan terbaik tingkatkan mutu dan kualiti pengangkutan awam. Sebagusnya masalah ini dapat diramal 7 tahun lalu. So maybe 7 tahun akan dtg ramallah apa akan berlaku dan rancang lah sekarang. Sejarah nabi dulu dah pernah berlaku.... so belajarlah dari sejarah..
written by binkah1, June 03, 2008 12:57:14
Easy AAB, to start off why dont you do away with all the mega projects like the corridors and get back to basic. It is high time the government think more in actually running the country rather than about lining their cronies pockets,
written by Milo, June 03, 2008 13:37:03
Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Monday urged government employees to contribute ideas on how the government can cut food and fuel subsidies as global oil prices soar.

----------------------------------

Simple, just cut out all forms the corruption immediately! Concurrently, give out vacant lands for those farmers who are interested to grow more food ourselves.
written by New Frontier, June 03, 2008 14:14:09
Ignore the Civil Servants all they only know how to beg for pay increase. For Pak Tidollah, here is one suggestion - RESIGN FROM OFFICE LET PR TAKE OVER SINCE YOU ARE OUT IDEA SINCE 2004.
written by shiokguy, June 03, 2008 14:54:48
How about asking the Rakyat?

Scrapped all unnecessary Mega project.
Let proton compete openly (remove import tax for car)
http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2...roton.html
Have only 9 ministers (Enough lah)
Open Tender
you want more?

After ask will you implement? If not ask for what? Lips service? Show?

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/
written by mgeo, June 03, 2008 14:58:15
The biggest areas of waste:
a. Petroleum, a secret.
b. Secret mega-projects. We found out that the double-tracking had gone up from RM 8 billion to RM 17 billion at a tiome of supposed austerity only because an MP asked in Parliament.
c. Truancy and over-staffing in the civil service.

By the way, what did our IGP learn about anti-curruption on his study trip to HK?
written by joemss, June 03, 2008 15:06:31
I think the best way to stop all this smuggling of fuel is by letting the price float similar to that in Thailand and the government subsidise by selling selected vehicles cheaper (by reducing the taxes on vehicles) to the rakyat. I believe this will solve the problem and reduce the manpower to conduct checks on all the petrol stations. The manpower can be utilise to do many more effective jobs. I believe with cheaper vehicles, the balance of cash/rebates can be used to buy fuel and last longer thus fuel consumption will be much lower in the long run. The rakyat will be more careful when planning a trip.

Quoting an example if a vehicle is cheaper by RM 20,000.00 from the current prices :-

Current Subsidised Petrol Price : RM 1.92
Estimated Current Unsubsidised Value of Petrol : RM 3.92
Inreased in Petrol Price : RM 2.00
RM 20,000.00 can be used to subsidise 10,000.00 Ltrs of fuel.
If an average uses 150 Ltrs of petrol monthly the RM 20K can last more than 60 months and without having to pay RM20K in advance for the expensive vehicles in Malaysia. The rakyat do not have to pay excessive loan finacing as well.

Think about this plan.
written by chebella, June 03, 2008 15:18:13
it is a well known fact in malaysian government projects

for every ringgit spent

30 cents goes into the project

and 70 cents into private pocket

go get from the 70 cent lah
written by Raisuri, June 03, 2008 15:22:35
I believe that we already have the worst Prime Minister in the world.Hard to believe that this happen to Malaysia.Please send someone to save this country.Dam.... (Bakun) scared what will happen next.
written by veseti, June 03, 2008 15:28:56
why not do what iran's PM does. His salary is only equivalent to middle class pluss he himself is middle class only since he took the job. He might have a wrong agenda but atleast he is honest to his people.
written by budakindia, June 03, 2008 15:30:45
well we are very sure the first to take down the beating will be Proton! No worries, the higher the fuel price, the sale of Proton will go down! That's just one effect, wait until all the foreign investors startig packing up and go elsewhere! I'll see where your Ketuanan Melayu will lead to! smilies/grin.gif
written by veseti, June 03, 2008 15:31:03
anyways have aall of u forgotten this dud failed economics at university? He failed that means he himself is useless in this matter. Maybe he thought ny doing this he shows he is humble. BODOH!
written by MatAwang, June 03, 2008 15:54:49
Jangan pulak nanti bila cadangan dilaksanakan timbul pulak kes lembu punya susu sapi yang dapat nama.

written by Michael Pg, June 03, 2008 16:01:11
If he raise fuel price by august, and when Pakatan take over in September, every rakyat will blame the Pakatan for not lowering it down as they promise. Pakatan will face alot of difficulty if they take over the Federal gov. Pakatan just prepare to be the scapegoat when you take over from BN. we trust you 110%
written by Motherchell, June 03, 2008 20:18:08
ye Bodohwi! take action after the horse has left the stable!what were the civil servants doing all the while???????? paklah what have you done with the budgets for the consultants you said were working on.

YOU imbeciles can easily run DONKEYLAND!!!!!!!!!!!
written by maverick, June 04, 2008 01:40:42
u bodoh fella just step down and let the capable to do it.

this will be the best solution
Votes: -1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.