Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Teens' tales of casual sex come as a shocker

Teens' tales of casual sex come as a shocker PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 June 2008 08:49

FOR only RM5, a teenager gets to experience sex with his schoolmates. This was the shocking revelation recorded by counsellors who organised a youth camp for problematic secondary school students in Selangor recently.

In a front-page report in Metro Ahad, a 14-year-old student known as Andy admitted to paying RM5 'for a round of sex' with a senior at school. He said they would either 'do it' at his or her home.

He said both sets of parents were unaware of the activities as they thought the two were studying together and confessed that one of his friends would sometimes join them for a 'threesome'.

'I prefer to have group sex,' said the teenager, without any embarrassment.

He added: 'If I need sex, I only have to call or send her an SMS for an appointment.

'It all started when I began watching pornographic clips with my friend two years ago. Since then, my desire for sex had grown and when I knew that this girl in school did not mind doing it for a fee, I decided to try it with her.'

Another participant at the camp said she suffered from sex addiction after she was raped by her foster brother when she was 12.

The 14-year-old teenager, who wanted to be known only as Anita, said that she often had sex with her classmates and seniors.

'Last year, I had sex three times with two seniors from school. I wasn't afraid and I didn't care. What was important was that I enjoyed it and felt satisfied,' she said.

The last time she had sex was last month, when she had group sex with her friends.

Camp organising committee secretary Mahezan Baharom said the counsellors were shocked with how 'frank and candid' the students were about their sexual activities.

He said that apart from sex, the participants - aged between 13 and 15 - admitted to masturbating in a group, having multiple sex partners, consuming alcohol, glue sniffing, theft and smoking.

'Students who are involved in social ills or misfits do not only come from poor families,' he said.

'We have participants whose parents are well-to-do, VIPs and those whose mothers and fathers are religious people.'

THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by Watchdog, June 03, 2008 09:01:02
Probably parents from UMNO
written by temenggong, June 03, 2008 09:05:46
Welcome to the 'real malaysia' where islam is the official religion.

And where nearly 90% of youths have experienced party drugs one time or another.
written by devious17, June 03, 2008 09:15:35
Jabatan Agama Islam was too busy assuming the mat skodeng duty to anticipate and take precautionary measure to prevent this social ill from happening.

The more restrictive the religion is the more the people would want to rebel especially the younglings.

'We have participants whose parents are well-to-do, VIPs and those whose mothers and fathers are religious people.' - definalty umno/bn related, they were too busy robbing the people and the country to tend to their kids. Syok - mau! Besarkan anak - tak mau tau tapi tiap malam - harimau! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by frankenstein1, June 03, 2008 09:31:40
These youth are the future of Malaysia, the future of our country? Are these all we have? How could we rely on them in future? What has gone wrong? Anything wrong with the education system? How about the parents? In such a young age they have been so materialistic, if they are happen to be the core of our future government, do u think they will be corrupted? What a bright future we have for our country, MALAYSIA!
written by Old Man Jasin, June 03, 2008 09:31:46
The counsellors were shocked with 'frank & candid ' the students were about their sexual activities . How naive they are to be counsellors.

Visits any towns in the country in the evening , late at night or even in the wee hours of the morning , we see young girls & boys acting like married couples . You mean to say they are just holding hands in the dark ? Please wake up .

Why? As parents we failed to exsecute our full responsibility of child upbringing . Our failed religious obligation and our deteriorating education system .

But most of all we being the great pretender pretending that everything is alright when for miles away we can smell the rotting carcas. We could only accept praises and not comments nor critisism .
written by Tsunami08, June 03, 2008 09:51:07
Maybe it's time to stop paying salaries of these snoop squad members and spend the money educating their children instead. smilies/smiley.gif
written by uncleleow, June 03, 2008 09:54:29
Product of Malaysia Educational System. The rest of the world is studying how to use the brain, Malaysian is studying the power of Money and Sex.
written by sararaj, June 03, 2008 10:29:53
the more u delude them the more you'll end up facing these problems... educate of young... that's the only way... expose them to the world and u'll see how easily they mature and think rationally... kids are sponges... if we don't show them the truth they will hold it against us and at the end of the day our future leaders will be no more...
written by businessman, June 03, 2008 10:35:08
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WE ARE VERY PANDAI TO CURE THE SYMPTOM BUT NOT THE CAUSE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, we have a problem. Our kids is having sex like no tommorow and we manage to identity that thin Baju Kurung is one of the reason. Ok, start from tommorow all school uniform must be black with 3 layers of cloth.

If the problem still persists, then we separate boys and girls into different class and if that still havent solve the issue, we create only girl schools and boy schools. Not more co-ed school.

If that still havent solve the issue, we suggest girl to stay at home to study on their own. No more school for them. They can use internet as the long distance learning.

If that still havent solve the issue, then all girls must cover up whenever in public. They must always be accompanied by a male relatives whenever they go.

If that still havent solve the issue, then there is one last option. Place all the girls in one state and declare the state as non admission to all boys. All tresspassing will be shot on the spot.
written by krepot, June 03, 2008 11:23:16
Here is the million dollar question:

Now that you know reality, what are you going to do?

I bet you, some dickhead is going to say;

1. that report or study is UNTRUE and misleading and sweep it under the carpet.
2. let the religious department handle it, they need brainwashing!
3. change the school uniform!
4. promote more Islamic schools
5. give more moral lessons
6. charge them in court for statutory rape!

Problem solved?
written by Ken Liew, June 03, 2008 11:33:37
The TEACHING!!! the education of Malaysia are gaining more and more shit!!
Thanks to the Dagger kisser.

Beside Education, Family matter also play a critical role. Problem family comes problem generation.

The materialize, or Mata duitan, are getting more and more serious...... Thats the fault of umNO...... cos everyone know, even teenages, know, umNO onl talks about $$$$ and ofcos---- power (more power more money).

Meaning, umNO are polluting the next generation. What can we say more of them except, TAK-NAK~!!
written by densemy, June 03, 2008 11:36:00
More Islamic hypocricy!

Adolescents have been experimenting with sex ever since before Muhammad was a boy, and no amount of religious education or archaic moral standards will change the basic biological drive that young people have

What is needed is education... education not to prohibit sex... but education to make sex safe and consequence free

But once again Islam is living in the 6th century and are trying to impose their archaic standards on 21st century society... With disastrous results
written by Dog Sick, June 03, 2008 12:13:44
Shocking, yes. Immoral, perhaps. Illegal, I don't think so. In this new age and time where information travels at the blink of an idea (thank Najib for that phrase), we should realize that the children of today grow up much faster than during our time.

What is required is proper sex education among the youth. And this should not be an abstinence course (which has been proven not to work in the US). This should not also not be a religious course (where the Vatican still ban contraceptives until today). Neither should it be a moral course (what is morally wrong about doing the only thing that nature had created you for?).

The education should stress on the science and the psychology of sex. Participants should know that it has implications that reaches far beyond its fleeting orgasmic euphoria. Teens should be taught that it is a powerful force of nature and we respond not only physically but also psychologically to sex. They should also learn about the implications of sexual diseases and what they can do to prevent them.

Be honest here, how many of us have never experimented when we had raging hormones coursing through our veins when we were teenagers? From that experience, some of us had developed a greater understanding of its effects while others are still using their privates for brains.
written by Tan Tan, June 03, 2008 12:15:39
First I would like to blame the parents for not spending enough time with their children and being too strict with their children and cause them become rebelious.

Don't blame the teachers because when I was in Form 1 to Form 5, all my fellows classmate are better than student nowadays. We still engage into fights, video arcade and pre-maritial sex (normally among dating couples). However, I also noticed my juniors (4 years younger) are becoming more and more naughty with GANG fighting, triad activities, drugs and now sex for pay.

Sex between teenage students are common and it is not something news in Malaysia but pay for sex is really another whole issue. But I guess this is a rare case.

I think we need to look into the root of this problem as moral education start from home. Second, start sex education and safe sex campaign starting Form 1.
written by Saint, June 03, 2008 12:29:10
The problem are not the kids but the parents.
If our 14 year daughter is have sex and we as parents who are seeing them every day cannot even notice behavior changes, then something is very wrong with the mother and father.

As parents we have a responsibility to have "good" children. This not easy and if one cannot cope with it, they should no blame others also.
written by krepot, June 03, 2008 12:29:48
Since the parents and school teachers do not want to discuss sex, the students just HAVE SEX! Justified?

Go think about it......
written by budakindia, June 03, 2008 12:33:37
This is what happens when religion is politically controlled! See for yourself! And this is not just Islam here! smilies/angry.gif Thanks to 60 years of UMNO stupid political tactics! smilies/angry.gif
written by Hockchew, June 03, 2008 12:34:13
I am not surprised. For 22 years TDM have been brainwashing people with Ketuanan Melayu and the worship of money instead of the muslim God. TDM equate success to the accumulation of wealth instead of honest living and a God fearing person. TDM does not want the Malay to be farmer and fisherman, he wanted them to be "korporate" and this is what happened.

Blame it on Tun Dr Mahathir!
written by ellyna, June 03, 2008 12:45:47
All social ills begin at home whether the parents are well to do or religious. You need to spend time with your kids, from a young age, give them a sound religious background (not the fanatical kind). Teach them about substance and not forms (praying and fasting, etc..etc..) Talk to them, understand them. Acknowledge your mistakes to them. Tell them you learnt something from them. Tell them what the world is like. Encourage them to talk to you about anything and everything. Be their friend, know their friend, be friends with their friends. Do not be their critic only. It is sad to see such social ills amongst our kids. Parents have to do something, it is in their hands.
written by amoker, June 03, 2008 13:19:43
Eh, isn't this part of our sex education in Malaysia? Pretend sex does not exist and let the kids experiment themselves. Then lecture and blame when things go badly.
written by joeawk, June 03, 2008 13:20:23
Somebody is going to propose segregation at school. All boys' schools and all girls' schools.

Go to the newspaper stand and see how many malay lucah magazine covers there are. They stimulate the sense and what do you expect? Besides, why daddy married 4 wives? Just keep them in the cupboard? Iddaddy can screw 4 wives, sex can't be wrong to the young minds.
written by SocratesI, June 03, 2008 13:40:21

Actually, all boys schools and all girls schools is not such a bad idea for a start. Make it more difficult for this to happen casually. Proper sex education courses must be given to the school kids to inculcate a culture of sex with responsibility. They must be taught the values of love, and not the joys of sex alone, and the responsibilities that go with it, hand-in-hand.

It must cover topics on unwanted pregnancies, and sexually transmitted diseases. Kids are maturing physically much earlier these days, and we need to strive to educate them spiritually, mentally, and physically on how to deal with it.

written by ibabonma, June 03, 2008 14:07:25
I dare not comment for my only daughter is 9 years old!
written by adzera, June 03, 2008 15:00:10
This is the result of our muslim upbringing.....how you dress and empty rituals without understanding the meaning and reasons why. From young age we've been taught to sembahyang....in arabic without knowing what is it for and what we are uttering. we were sent to learn to read quran in arabic and make sure we pronounce correctly without understanding a single word....just like singing in a foreign language. The girls were told to wear tudung just because everyone else is wearing one. Just like asking our kids to wear seat belt....not for safety reasons but because takut kena saman polis. Nobody talks about values and the meaning of life...why we are here and what are we suppose to do. there is no place for these kids. Masjid is a place for selected 'good' people, its not open for public like church. You have to have certain 'look' before you can enter a masjid. Where will these kids go when they need someone to talk to? bottomline..its umno's fault.
written by veseti, June 03, 2008 15:22:17
All of u know what the only possible solution. The parents should play their role in guiding them abt stuff like this. If can help their kids close freind along the way. I got advise from other sources and my dad is very frank it comes to this. What u wan to know he will tell appropiately. Plus to all parents don be fakers la. Religous one side anak sendiri pun tak tahu. And more thing quiet guy is a moron. From his comments u can tell he is an idiot. Where on earth did he spend his teenager years? Arab? Pls wake up la times change trend.
written by veseti, June 03, 2008 15:23:04
sorry too many typo errors.
written by shiokguy, June 03, 2008 15:24:44
Action and Reaction
I always think teenage boy or girl be expose to proper sexual education.
When sex is not a taboo, and when it is an open affair like what is discuss openly in Stylo Mum Claptrap.

Link: http://stylomum.********.com/2008/06/welcome.html

The teenage will be well inform about how to protect themselves. I will teach my son and daughter how to use a condom, then teach them the moral of sex with someone you love and others. I don't want to have a unwanted pregnancy!

What do you prefer? Sex education or unwanted pregnancy plus AIDS?

Remove the taboo about sex.

http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by shiokguy, June 03, 2008 15:31:34
Anything Forbidden is Exciting

The most we try to hide them from sexuality, the more they want to explore.
Anything forbidden is exciting.

But open, be stylo....http://stylomum.********.com/2008/06/welcome.html

I remember when i first landed in NZ, we so curious about all those X Rated Movie, but after a few tape. NOT Interested anymore.

When I was young, smoking is No No..so we sneak out have a smoke and try to wash our mouth and hand with lime before going home. Now our mother doesn't stop us, she said go ahead and smoke.. BUT WE CHOOSE NOT TO SMOKE.

SO Anything Forbidden without proper education will create more excitement

written by reason, June 03, 2008 17:39:29
Ibabonma,

Have spoken to your 9-year-old about all this?

When my daughter was in primary school, she and I discovered that many of her friends became very interested in boys from as early as Year 3. The biggest shocker was when my girl was in Year 6 and she was asked by a junior in Year 2 whether she had a boyfriend. My daughter said no and the little girl replied that my daughter was such a loser as she had had six ex-boyfriends already.

At the age of 8, I don't think she was doing all that much with her so-called boyfriends but the fact is, she was learning to define herself as a "girlfriend". Young girls who feel validated only if they are part of a "couple" will offer up a great deal more in order to "keep" their "boyfriend".

It's so sad. If at 8, she already thinks in these terms, what will she be like by 14?
written by doggone, June 03, 2008 17:40:42
Cause of the problem = NEP

For the malays, they know they don't need much education to get far in this country.

For the non-malays, they know that they can't get far no matter how hard they study.

End results. Using the head that rest on our shoulders is not important. Might as well use the one that hangs between your thighs for some in-depth studies.
written by Windchime, June 03, 2008 20:32:24
IT MUST BE THE WHITE UNIFORM THAT THE SCHOOLGIRLS WEAR!!! THAT'S IT!! BLAME IT ON THE SCHOOL ATTIRE!
written by AsamLaksa, June 03, 2008 20:58:56
Kids having sex...

Don't blame NEP as it does not discriminate race or social class. Don't blame Islam as it happens all over the world, even pre-dating any religion. Don't blame TDM because he's really not up to task in dealing with kids having sex.

Who to blame? Parents? For how much? Where does the blame on parents stop? How much suspicion should the parents have on their children? How much restrictions should a parent place on their children?

No need blame anyone because the blame is not on one party you can single out. You are wasting time trying to find blame.

So what are you going to do about it?

Sex education in schools? Sounds good but is it enough?

Parents need to be open to discuss sex at home? Sounds great but be wary of generation gap.

What is it that we're missing here? What is it that is missing to gel the measures all together? We already have websites, helplines, forums, articles, sex education classes, why don't they work?

Because you also need to develop the maturity of the recipients. That why they fail. You need the kids to learn responsibilities for their actions, not just for sex actions. You need to teach the kids about social responsibilities so that they understand what social ills is all about. You need to teach them to drop the me me me idea and think of themselves as part of a larger circle affecting others requiring them to consider others. You need the kids to be able to judge values on their own so that they can tell what is right or wrong and why it is so. Drop rote learning in schools as it helps reinforce compliance and dependency. You want kids who can think constructively!

Until you make them mature in their thinking whatever you say it won't work. I do not expect 9 year olds to be as mature as a 30 year old, but some level of maturity is needed such as teaching responsibilities. Similarly a 14 year old should be mature enough to take responsibilites and tell what is right and what is wrong and justify it. Imagine a 14 year old mother who can't cope with responsibilites of a mother and wants more kids or continue unprotected sex. Not fun at all.
written by MasterBlaster, June 04, 2008 11:57:26
These are very isolated cases. You know the Malay newspapers & mags, most of the workforce are low-IQ types of people. Just to boost up their sales yet they'd sensationalised another sexual oriented articles & put it over the frontpage.

Without realising they are actually promoting these immoral acts. Well we as parents would definitely be more protectinve over how our kids socialize.

Have you ever thought that the children & and teenagers who just came to know about all this sensational news (worse still if their parents are unaware of this), the idea might start to lingers in their minds, - Well if they can do it, I can do it too.

Well let's pray that it doesn't happen to our loved ones & our future generations except for those whose sensationalise it just for a few dollars more...
written by badeklangbuana, June 04, 2008 13:55:17
AGREE WITH mASTERbLASTER.

All those wartawan in any malay publications (esp meja hiburan) memang IQ lower than a barbi doll.

and that person, that Camp organising committee secretary Mahezan Baharom (sounds like Bahalol) and all the "shocked" counsellors (or rather syiok counsellors), did they make any police reports? It was statutory rapes that were exposed to them!!!!! and all they did was to announce it to some wartawan bodoh than barbi doll.

I wonder if all these counsellors are from GPMS ? ABIM?
written by Wiseone, June 04, 2008 17:23:16
CANNOT BLAME THEM CHILDREN,, PUT THE BLAME ON US,

WE DID NOT DO ENUFF TO ADDRESS PRESING ISSUES SUCH AS: INCREASE IN BROKEN HOMES, DIVORCE RATES, SINGLE MUMS, EDUCATION, STANDARD AND HAVING MORE OF MATERIALISTIC AND CARRER MINDED WOMEN LEAVING NO TIME TO CARE FOR THEIR CHILDREN. ONLY EMPLOYING A KAKAK FROM INDONESIA OR BABY SITTERS TO CARE FOR THEIR CHILDREN.

A FATHER'S RESPONIBILITIES HAS BEEN DOWN TAKEN FOR GRANTED AND DOWN PLAYED BY ALL LEVELS. WE HAVE A MINISTRY ONLY FOR WOMEN LIKE AS THOUGH THEY HAVE BEEN NEGLECTED.. A TOTAL ABSURDITY... THAT'S WHY WE HAVE WIDESPREAD MORAL DECADENCE...
written by Wiseone, June 04, 2008 17:32:09
WOMEN GOT TO EMPOWER THEIR HUSBANDS(FATHERS) BACK AS HEAD IN THEIR IN FAMILIES.
written by True Tales, June 05, 2008 10:09:34
Why are we so tabooed about the subject of sex? Didnt we realise that it is part of human nature and without sex, we won't be here???
And, Sex Education does not necessarily lead to SEX! But it will definitely help to prevent lots of unwanted consequences...
According to a survey done by a condom company,
* Malaysians are the oldest receipient of sex education, aged 14.9 yo (the kids interviewed are aged 13-15 - most of them have not had any chance of receiving any SE)
* 11% of Malaysians have never heard of any of the most common STDs (incl. HIV/AIDS) - worrying!
These kids need to be educated!
So, far the govt's action can be termed "Denial" >> don't talk about it and it wont happen! In reality, it's happening!!! and spreading like an epidemic!
So, please wake up and do something! These kids are the future of our country!