"Expletive Deleted": A Response to Raja Petra Kamarudin PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 June 2008 04:45

The Muslim Youth Movement of Malaysia (ABIM) was recently assaulted by Raja Petra Kamarudin in his Malaysia Today column "No Holds Barred".

A response is in order, with the expletives he has resorted to not included. At threshold, one should note that Muslims and all civilized people are encouraged to rationally and responsibly discuss issues, and discouraged from using inappropriate language. ABIM believes in civilized resolution of conflict, not accusatory statements, especially those without substance and stated in sailor's language.

Firstly, RPK has associated ABIM with a political movement. He has no knowledge, and if he does he does not evince it, of ABIM's historic role as a leading Islamic NGO, which by definition is a non-political and non-partisan organization. By merely calling upon a political party or grouping, namely BN and UMNO, to explain its proposed percentage changes on a matter of importance to Malays and other ethnic groups in Malaysia is not to be part of that group, but to seek satisfactory explanation for its deviance from the accepted "social contract" of this country. It is fixed under Articles 153(2) and 153(3) of the Federal Constitution of this Country. The mere uphold of these provisions does not make one UMNO; it merely suggests a compliance with the normative rules of a democratic majority.

Furthermore, one need not look further than the other demographic segments of our society to see the overall reluctance of these groups to abandon ethnic identity and be treated as "Bangsa Malaysia". ABIM acknowledges and participates in our multi-ethnic, multi-religious society, not only for the benefit of Muslim youths but for the benefit of all in our society. To allege otherwise and identify this NGO with the political policies and agenda of one party is a serious accusation without any foundation. ABIM seeks to have government – meaning both the majority and the opposition - act ethically and legally, and seeks this for the benefit of all Malaysians regardless of the ethnic and religious backgrounds.

Secondly, by RPK calling us munafik and fasik has in effect equated us as non-Muslims. He has accused us of being "b…s…t" and hypocrites. In point of fact, ABIM has not objected to RPK's right to speak and argue his points, even though as individuals and as a group we may disagree with particulars. We feel, however, that the use of his media for the purpose of defamation of an Islamic organization is a breach of his responsibilities as a Muslim, a Malaysian citizen and as a journalist blogger. Our important duty as a Muslim is to engage in RESPECTFUL and APPROPRIATE discussion and debate. Using "b…s…t" as an adjective is neither of these requisite elements to discussion and presentation.

RPK has neglected some major facts:  Islam itself acknowledges and respects diversity and plurality in society. ABIM treasures this, and works in conjunction with friends from other non-Muslim groups and NGOs so that Islamic principles are given voice and taken into consideration along with other perspectives. Secondly, he fails to note that ABIM seeks to encourage inter-faith and inter-ethnic dialogue that continues and deepens current mutual understanding. The underlying assumption of the NEP is one matter in need of protracted and open discussion between the demographic groups, and is encouraged by ABIM. Factually, ABIM has no identity with any political party. If such an identity exists today, it would not be with the ruling party: previous leadership of the organization alone would lead to that assumption. But ABIM has always remained non-political, non-partisan and any assumption or argument to the contrary is faulty, misguided and used by the speaker or writer to further his own agenda.

RPK places emphasis on party loyalty. In fact, ABIM urges all to answer the higher call of being a servant of Allah before being loyal to any other. At no time in its history has ABIM confused its greatest loyalty, which is to our Creator, Allah the Almighty. If anything, ABIM asks our leaders and members to have the same dedication. While we sympathize with RPK's confused misunderstanding of Islam, we are appalled at how ironical it is that RPK in his vulgar-languaged polemic feels that some of the political leadership think that they are guaranteed paradise by their actions. To be guaranteed paradise is to only do acts for the pleasure of Allah. Apparently, politicians and certain political commentators do not follow this simple intention.

ABIM is always anxious and willing to engage in a REASONABLE, RESPECTFUL and APPROPRIATE opportunity to exchange views with all members of Malaysian society, its critics included. But attacks and baseless allegations do not encourage such dialogue; to the contrary, they impair and disable it. RPK has not only darkened his reputation as an observer and commentator, he has also sought to darken that of a viable, honest and valued Islamic NGO within Malaysian culture. He does himself, ABIM, and its objectives of dialogue between all of us a great disservice.

And Allah knows best.

Azril Mohd Amin

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by binkah1, June 03, 2008 05:21:52
To say that 'ABIM has no identity with any political party' is a gross understatement in itself. Yeah, look at history and the role that ABIM plays.
written by InEffective, June 03, 2008 05:39:40
It appears the above messages, linkages, and assertions don't reflect the actual behavior and actions undertaken by the above party. (ie what is said, and what is done - are not the same)

Nevertheless, if you believe that appropriate language and labels has not been applied and your sensitivities have been ruffled, i salute your call for an end to unsubstantiated name-calling etc (especially if its not helpful and does not resolve any issue).

However if the labels used have been logically assigned based on affiliation to behavior, positions or actions, and derived accordingly, then its a validated and substantiated assertion - and whereby you have the right to challenge and contest.

So if you wish reciprocal behavior, you better behave the same way you want to be treated - I trust that's a fair call.
written by bn haramjadah, June 03, 2008 05:45:14
Problem with Abim, is they demand people to lisen to their demands, but are not willing to listen. To abim I have this to say, whichever way you package a racist, in the end he/she will remain a racist. the malay rights are the malay rights nobody questions them, but what about the rights of the 'OTHERS', don't they have their rights too, who are the ones going around demolishing temples,places of worship?, who are those, in the name of Malay rights, allow corruption to flourish, THE OTHERS HAVE TO GIVE 30% SHAREHOLDINGS of their business to some greedy people who have basically nothing to offer or contribute, isn't this extortion?, the writer of this article above tried to say that ABIM is above political parties and it has very pure and altruist beliefs, but a question to ABIM, WHO PAYS YOUR BILLS, where does your funding come from, isn't it UMNO or the bn govt who funds you, if you really are altruist about your beliefs and philosophy why is it there is such poverty among the malays and on the other side of the coin you have multi millionaires in umno. If these millionaires had made an effort than all the malays would be living better lives instead of a huge majority of whom are the hardcore poor, why is that? don't you have the NEP, SCHOOLARSHIPS, ASN, GOVT JOBS, everything has been handed to the malays on a silver plater, why the disparity in the socio economic status? can abim answer this, please lah don't give us propoganda about ABIM BEING ABOVE POLITICS, WHAT PERCENTAGE OF ABIM ARE MEMbERS OF UMNO? WHAT PERCENTAGE ARE FROM PAS, KEADILAN and others. abim is part and parcel of the umno and bn corruption, nothing more and nothing less, a bunch of parasites who claim to champion Islam and the ketuanan melayu, but actually are looking for political patronage or using abim to climb up the hieracy of umno, the more racist the better. but shame on you for abusing islam for material gain. you will note I did not use profanity, lets see you start foaming at the mouth, rolling your eyes, waving kerises and making police reports. when you insult the intelligence of MALAYSIANS, you deserve what you get, you are a bunch of useless slugs who wouldn't deserve to kiss the feet of Raja Petra. WHY are all these people from abim, umno, mpmkk, jkr, or whaever initials so pissed off with RPK, IS IT BECAUSE HE SPEAKS THE TRUTH IN EXPoSING THE CORRUPT AND HYPOCRITES? WHAT SAY YOU abim- A BUNCH of IGNORANT(IMBECILLS) MORONS. and btw have a very good day too.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 165
written by bn haramjadah, June 03, 2008 05:47:13
typing error, but are not willing to listen. should read, but are not willing to listen to others. who raided the article 11 conferences?
written by Naha, June 03, 2008 05:53:17
And Allah knows best, Azril Mohd Amin, who, on Judgment Day, will bear a heavier sin:
Is it a man who speaks swears in between saying the truth,
Or is it a man who lies in between extolling Allah's name.

To all you naqibs and naqibahs of ABIM, and you beer drinking Muslims of Bangsar:
Who is it between you who is more worthy
Of being called the follower of Muhammad (pbuh)?

Let us all smirk, with our Malay religious supremacy:
Why not go ahead and mock the prophet we claim to follow
Because he once declared a prostitute a dweller of Paradise.

And Allah knows best.
written by Daryl, June 03, 2008 06:00:39
And Allah knows best.

Your ending said it all. If I am not mistaken your Allah said not to discriminate others based on race and religion. In this case which is what ABIM stand for. Yes Allah know best and he will sentence you to HELL for ethernity.

God Bless You. Hopefully, the hell fire doesn't hurt you too much when that time come along.
written by msiaman, June 03, 2008 07:07:00
After all the show of emotions and talking empty of non-partisan and serving higher calling, I do not see any concrete justification and explaination which reflects that ABIM is not what RPK acuses them of. In fact it further confirms that these people have ego bigger than anything else and only talks about Malay (under the UMNO's agenda) rather than serving the poor and deserving.

Why not ask the government what criteria they award the scholarship rather than asking them to explain why give non-malays 45%? Not that ABIM have championed the needs of poor Malays before or ever. Have they come up to ask why some of the benefits are given to the rich while the poor gets nothing even if they are Malays or more specific non-UMNO supporters?

Your letter only further strengthens RPK's assessment of ABIM and not rebuts the point brought up in the No Holds Barred.
written by islandjoe, June 03, 2008 07:08:32
Blah blah blah......It IS bullshit.
written by Negarakuku, June 03, 2008 07:20:28

Is ABIM racial and political organization???? smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by noblepath, June 03, 2008 07:27:34
WTF - all these pseudo-Muslims are pretending to be pious! I am not a Muslim, but I do know one fact right, Islam denounces categorizing humans (by race etc). So what kinda Muslims are UMNO and ABIM members belong to? Pseudo-Muslims?! Poseurs...
written by foresight, June 03, 2008 07:44:21
Why is it that the so called social contract only applies to the Malays when it comes to quota but totally ignored at a much wider perspective, that is the social contract between the people and the Government. The Government has a social contract (or rather, obligation)with the people to serve and care for ALL. By the way, one can say that social contract, whatever the Umno politicians may coin it, is an unwritten contract which by itself is very subjective. It is no different to giving a signed blank contract to someone. First it is NEP, next they will get rid of the word NEP and use social contract instead. I am sure most people don't know what are in the social contract the Umno people have been harping about. Probably anything in their favour.
written by chanatak, June 03, 2008 07:51:41
ABIM is non-political? The writer is either a joker, a liar or a dumb-ball. ABIM has been using its position to exert political pressure against other communities. And it has been very political as far as we all know.

ABIM wants to dialogue on religious issues? OKAY! Let do it without all your laws against criticizing your religion. Then we can have a meaningful discussion. ABIM is respectful of other religions ? Let us hear you condemn your own muslims' misdeeds with body snatching, destroying temples and churches, etc etc.

Everytime a so called muslim gives an answer, you can be assured that he will display the denial syndrome

Here. Learn something about communication that the university has taught you "open your ears to hear but listen with your heart". I can see that Azril is another product of UMNO's scholarship for non-scholars program.

written by KotaDamansara73, June 03, 2008 08:08:47
ABIM is UMNO. UMNO is ABIM. ABIM got his funds from UMNO. UMNO got his funds from the goverment. Goverment got his funds from the people.
Therefore the people owns ABIM.

ABIM does nothing good to the society except for brainwashing every Malay that they see about Malay supremacy. Malay supremacy means, sit on your ass and collect rent from non-malays.

ABIM, why majority of the Malays until today has not progress? Why are they still depending on handouts by goverment? Why is the gap between the rich Malays and the poor Malays are so huge?

Why 90% of retail shops in the cities of Malaysia owns by non-malays? Why ABIM are unable to instill self-esteem into the Malays?

Because the Malays like shortcuts in life. If there is goverment position for them, they will take it. Because all the benefits of goverment is there, whether you are working or not? Working in the goverment is like a big kenduri party. At the same time, if you are in the position, you can get a lot of commission. So why bother to take risk and work hard.
written by gctham, June 03, 2008 08:12:43
IF ABIM IS NOT A POLITICAL TOLL OR PERCEIVED BEING A POLITICAL TOLL, WHY ARGUE AND OBJECT THE DISTRIBUTION OF EQUALITY TO ALL RACES WITHOUT REGARDS TO RELIGIOUS. IF YOU FIGHT FOR FAIR AND EQUALITY FOR ALL HUMAN BEING WHY RAISE THE QUESTION OF RACES AND COLOUR.

ALL RELIGION IN THIS HUMAN WORLD ARE FIGHTING FOR EQUAL THE ONLY PROBLEM ARISE IS THE SO CALL FOLLOWERS WHO HAS INTERPRETED RELIGION FOR THEIR OWN USE. IT ALL THE SAME FOR ALL RELIGION.
written by MyView, June 03, 2008 08:16:08
Hmmm....ABIM, What are they doing? I dont know. All I know is ANwar Ibrahim is an Ex ABIM. Tell you the truth, I don't what is ABIM doing.
With of without ABIM, I think Islam in Malaysia is the same I guess, so called Muslim still can be seen drinking beer at pubs, buying numbers at 4D outlet..latest I heard a student pay RM5 only for sex with students mates.
Unmarried mothers among Muslim rise on and keep on rising.
So "ABIM's historic role as a leading Islamic NGO" has stayed on only in the name I suppose. Probably that's why RPK calling ABIM "munafik and fasik".
So if I'm wrong about this writting, tell me what have you done and have been doing.
written by coolandy, June 03, 2008 08:16:12
ABIM Oh ABIM,

I want to take a neutral and unbiased stand and my conclusion is ABIM is a far bigger EVIL compared to RPK (despite his flaws as a human, at least he is not a munafik).

When ABIM don't use expletives in words but do it in deeds, what is the proper word to describe ABIM?

ABIM, please stop hiding behind ISLAM and degrade the religion. Focus on the larger picture and act accordingly. Then maybe you will find salvation.

written by Ken Liew, June 03, 2008 08:17:43
AH~!! COMEON...... Islam teaches not to greed..... And yet how greedy are the umNO???

Abusing of power.... same are the umNO's root.

If you morons really respect your own believes, why blood bath dagger / kissing the dagger event?? Why the morons are still destroying this Nation with racist and unreasonable policy?? They carry Islam beside their mouth, but nothing are related to Islam... All the ketuanan, and NEP, so and so......

The Islam are just a tools for those morons. JUST A TOOL. Ask yourselves, Whan did they really think like a human?? those morons are just more like an evil demon. nothing for good and good for nothing!!!!
written by malaysianohope, June 03, 2008 08:36:51
Dear ABIM,
My question to you is it fair to restrict only 10% scholarship to 40% of the population when 90% of the taxes are from this group? Don't think you can answer this simple arithmetics coz people like you always abuse the so called social contract to your advantage to the extent of being greedy.If this is the way you treat other groups in the name of Allah, then I fully agree with Raja Petra's description of people like you as FASIK.
written by BennyG, June 03, 2008 09:00:07
Written by an intelligent person without using his intelligence.
written by gx27, June 03, 2008 09:32:39
whether it is ABIM or BBIM or CBIM, these people are sheer hypocrite.
written by temenggong, June 03, 2008 09:33:02
Abim is a muslim youth organisation. Which part of their concerns on schlorships is in line with islamic principles?
written by Toyolbuster, June 03, 2008 09:36:07
Did abim challenge JJ to quit after he had been accused (with admission of guilt through private settlement) of Cigar Chomping and Molestation, instead of serving and helping his poor rakyat in desperate needs. Have they ever condemned the muslim leaders for ripping off the poor such as the case of Zakaria's Palace. How about a mention of Pak Lah's (The Patron of Islam Hadhari) infamous amorous caressing of the bare skin of somebody else's fiancée. So just piss off and I can find more vulgar words that befits you Azril.
written by Robin Goodfellow, June 03, 2008 09:37:15
ABIM. Please reproduce Articles 153(2) and 153(3) for all to see and POINT OUT to us where the word 'SCHOLARSHIP' appears. Until then, please F**K OFF and thank you for wasting our time.
written by astina, June 03, 2008 09:40:05
I AM SHOCKED !!!!
to write a long letter denying any political leanings both past and present,finishing it off with Allah knows best....
my God ..how low can it get ??
written by menowok, June 03, 2008 09:53:53
Hi ABIM, if you read this, tell me when does Islam said that inequality is ok? By giving scholarship along the racial line, you're practicing inequality which may deemed munafik and fasik (non-Islamic in your act). Its not that you're munafik or fasik. But your act definitely in defiance of Islamic teaching.
written by malsia1206, June 03, 2008 10:00:52
If ABIM calls for a review on the proposed allocation of scholarship for non-Malays to be increased to 45%, how could we expect ABIM to be honest and sincere to engage in REASONABLE, RESPECTABLE and APPROPRIATE exchange of views with other vested parties? Does Malaysia belong to the Muslims only? If it does not, does Malaysia has to be dictated by the Muslims only in all aspects of political, economic, religious and social policies? Do the Muslims always demand a majority say from A to Z for the whole 27 million population in the country?
written by little dragon, June 03, 2008 10:11:03
............. to seek satisfactory explanation for its deviance from the accepted "social contract" of this country. It is fixed under Articles 153(2) and 153(3) of the Federal Constitution of this Country.

now, which part of these "articles" actually say d malays shud get 90%??? isn't it true their inclusion is simply to ensure d malays r not "totally" left out. also, y don't they quote these articles in full where it also says "nothing contained therein shud prevent d non-malays from enjoying d SAME benefits"!!! so, show me where is ur 90%!!!!

doesn't this then make abim a running dog of umno who've all these years used exactly this type of selective interpretation to hoodwink d malays into believing they r a cut above d rest??? now, r such lies islamic, n is this d type of islam he is professing to defend???

rpk is absolutely correct in calling u ppl munafiq n fasiq n ur double-talk reply is not going to change anything.

in an age where most countries r seeking out their best brains to push d country forward, these "nationalist" wanabes r still harping on early nazi n japanese racial supremacist propaganda to further their cause. SHAME ON U ABIM!!! U R A BLOODY DISGRACE TO ISLAM!!!!
written by Zapper, June 03, 2008 10:12:06
"RPK has not only darkened his reputation as an observer and commentator, he has also sought to darken that of a viable, honest and valued Islamic NGO within Malaysian culture. He does himself, ABIM, and its objectives of dialogue between all of us a great disservice."

Hello ABIM, on the contrary, to many common rakyat, RPK is a decent human being who believes in fairness and transparency. Throughout the existence of ABIM, though it claims to be a NGO, its political thinking remains unchanged. The teaching of Islam is to be fair and treat on equal basis to all mankind but ABIM does not do so. Therefore, what are you????? Political arm of UMNO>
written by alberttan, June 03, 2008 10:12:51
What a righteous clown, cannot even understand YB RPK's message for Muslims that action speak louder than words or observance of rituals. Dat is d real irony, knowledge is harmful if not put to correct use! To paraphase Stephen Covey 7 habits, seek to understand before being understood, what is d point of asking RPK for a debate when the fool cannot even understand the real purpose of the write up? Peace.
written by Kuku Burung, June 03, 2008 10:35:59
Like I said, hypocrites are hypocrites. I have seen this letter some where before. I am afraid it might be a plagiarize piece, with terms and names changed. The letter, with ABIM as source, is fraught with insincerity and contradictions. It is like a losing boxer, who was fatally punched, tried hard to utter words from his battered mouth; incongrous and incomprehensible.
written by Long Man, June 03, 2008 11:00:05
Azril Mohd Amin.... you too... please go to hell...
written by cruzeiro, June 03, 2008 11:13:01
..how low can it get ??
=====================

astina,
For pseudo-intellectual hypocrites and racists,
nothin's too low-down. nothin's too dirty. nothin's too shameful.
Everything they say is meant to be twisted.
They come in all shapes, sizes, colors and religions.

ABIM is just one of the candidates giving these people a run for their money.
written by collegian, June 03, 2008 11:34:44
I totally agree on haramjadah's statement that majority Malays are still poor and suffering despite the so called rights and plans created by the government to upgrade their standards.
For the past 10yrs i have almost 1000 Malay employees working under me.Todate our rapport and relationship is never better.Why? Because i spend the last 10 yrs upgrading their lives,studying their financial problems,rewarding their hard work,caring for their welfare and i have no regrets because they are a bunch of really hardworking people.Problem is i am doing all the jobs that the government is suppose to do for them and i am a non Malay.To all Malays,vote out this government for your future.We as Bangsa Malaysia can live a happy & properous lives.
written by KL Dude, June 03, 2008 11:50:00
Abim, the problem is people don't see the 'fruits' of your tree. Its easy to talk and claim righteous but if you don't walk the talk, that's where whatever you say will be thrown into the drain by the Rakyat, just like what happened in here based on the comments above.

Please do a self-check Abim, prove to the Rakyat they were wrong in their so called bias judgement towards Abim and do something to uplift the name of the religion instead of doing things to put itself and the religion to shame as claimed by many in here.

The people in majority will not simply critisize out of nothing at all if they see good and proper things being done in the name of mankind and in the name of any religion as well. If people in general (not a few, but in massses) start to critisize you, then something must be wrong and perhaps this is a message from the Almighty one itself for you to reflect and conduct a check and balance to yourself first before wanting to correct others.
written by fairnessforall, June 03, 2008 12:41:10
Show us where in the social contract it is stated that muslims should get 90% of university places or scolarships. ABIM is just another racist party of UMNO hiding behind the claim of being an NGO. If really as you claim islam promotes/encourages diversity etc blah blah blah, then why create an organisation solely for muslims, and does not include all malaysians. Your this one sentence already proves you are a bigotted racist pig, so dont claim otherwise as your actions and words are different. Obviously you do not believe in encouraging diversity and plurality as what you claim. RPK is right, ABIM is a racist organisation who is controlled by UMNO to instigate the muslims to create chaos in the coutry.
written by La Cha Mau, June 03, 2008 13:16:09
Quote: "Secondly, by RPK calling us munafik and fasik has in effect equated us as non-Muslims"

That's your opinion. By this, are you accusing us non-muslims of being INFIDELS. Just say it and we will come to your house and drag you and your entirely family out to the nearest lamppost....

Pieces of shit. If P.Rumli were around today, he would condemn you as Otak Kaldei, Bahlol, Belacan Shit and Pukimak Tait. That's who you are. Nothing but a piece of Islamic Faggot shit.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 03, 2008 13:18:15
NEP creates a handicapped society, while their style of religious belief and bad cultures will reduce them to vegetables.
written by alan cheong, June 03, 2008 13:25:36
RES IPSA LOQUITOR
forsooth, if the truth be told, this be but bovine (with apologies to the true bovine species) droppings indeed.

to wit, methinks porcine (again with apologies to the true and better species) droppings be more apt ...

and the ensuing methane fallout has certainly contributed to our much warmer clime ... smilies/grin.gif
written by blacknight220, June 03, 2008 13:47:01
ABIM talk crab! Talk like a crab, walk like a crab & sound like crab. Cakap siapa pun boleh. Action and your intention is what matter most. Look at your track record laa for Allah sake. ABIM is one BN agent aka Slave