Opposition Says Some Government Lawmakers May Change Mind About Defecting PDF Print
Monday, 02 June 2008 17:37

Some Malaysian government lawmakers who were planning to defect to the opposition might change their minds now that the prime minister has announced policy changes to win their allegiance, opposition leaders said Monday (2 June).

Officials in the opposition People's Justice Party nevertheless voiced confidence that enough members of Parliament will still switch sides by September to topple Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's government.

"My gut feeling is (Abdullah's reforms) are not going to change things very much," said the party's vice president, Sivarasa Rasiah.

Worries about potential defections were believed to be a main reason that Abdullah promised on Saturday (31 May) to increase funding and improve administrative policies for Sabah, a poor eastern state where complaints about government neglect have simmered for years.

Abdullah's National Front coalition has been jittery about losing power after it clinched only 140 seats in the 222-member Parliament in March elections _ the first time in 40 years that it failed to secure a two-thirds majority.

Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim of the People's Justice Party has repeatedly claimed that he can get at least 30 lawmakers, mainly from Malaysia's Sabah and Sarawak states on Borneo island to defect. That would be enough to topple Abdullah's government.

Sabah contributes 25 lawmakers while Sarawak has 31 in the National Front.

Syed Husin Ali, deputy president of the People's Justice Party, insisted that the "core people who are fully committed" about defecting will not change their minds because they realize Abdullah's reforms were not enough to tackle their grievances.

"There will be a few people who will be influenced by this. There will be some marginal effect," he said, adding that the crossovers would be announced in September "by the latest."

Abdullah and other top officials in the United Malays National Organization, the biggest party in the National Front, were scheduled to hold a two-day retreat later this week to discuss measures to safeguard their hold on power. (By JULIA ZAPPEI/ AP)

written by lalachong, June 02, 2008 17:40:47
hey, is this report true or not? another propaganda by UMNO?

what's this about changing minds... sitting on fences!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 02, 2008 17:56:32
Sarawak = 31 seats must be given the PM post (Taib Mahmud)
Sabah = 25 seats deserves the DPM post (Yong Teck Lee)
written by Old Man Jasin, June 02, 2008 18:07:45
Our politicians continue to indulge in their political activities, despite being elected to govern . That is the reason why most of our gomen department machinery are not functioning unless greased . So how can we progress ?
written by Milo, June 02, 2008 19:04:28
Com'on BN MPs! Why settle for skin deep changes when you can go for historic changes that will benefit the rakyat permanently?

The rakyat is watching - if you do not make your move according to the people's wish, we have no choice but to vote you out in the coming election.

Think for your children and great grand children!Free yourself from the dark side and live a life with a clear conscience.
written by kksam, June 02, 2008 19:09:21
i feel that they don't have the gut to do it. I really don't think they will do it for it's people, they just want money. If not, they won't take such a long time to decide. However, i'm still praying that they will for once have the gut to take the bull by it's horn.
written by KotaDamansara73, June 02, 2008 19:11:00
Old Man,

Politics need to change before the country can grow. No point building the tallest building and longest bridge as long as there is not enough talent and brain in this country to build high-end industry and move the country forward.
written by SamYap, June 02, 2008 19:18:22
About 2 weeks (or abit more) ago, I wrote in one of the commentaries that the crossovers might not happen. Now as each day passes, that glimmer of light is getting dimmer.

I'd say very candidly that the probability of it happening is very remote. Its something which we WANT to believe and thats why we seem to think that it will happen. Plus all the writers were making lots of noises about it. The cream on the cake were all the talk by bro. Anwar about crossovers, and that haleped to push us further into the mood of wishing and waiting for it to happen.

BUT, the reality is the politics in East Malaysia is very different from Semenanjung Malaysia. Its really like chalk and cheese. In fact the people are very different too - the way they see themselves and the way they relate to each other is more like East Malaysia is an autonomous region.

The realpolitik in East Malaysia is such that no one tells them what to do, they will decide what they want. Its partly for that reason why UMNO decided to start up in Sabah to curtail the East Malaysians' streak of stubborness to try and remain distinct from semenanjung.

Thats the politics of it.

But there are many other reasons too, in particular, the politicians' vested personal interests in sticking with BN. That will be another story for RPK to tell us.

To sum it up, East Malaysians do not, for now, identify themselves very closely to our nation Malaysia. They are Sabahans and Sarawakians, and will always consider their role in Malaysia as an accident of political history.

Whatever, it maybe, our country is doomed to slide into inertia for at least the next 5 years. And during that time, there will be lots of wayang and silat for all of us to watch while we wait for a better day. The best case scenario is that there will be relative peace amongst the races and no riots stirred up by UMNO.
written by Uncorruptible, June 02, 2008 19:47:13
Sabahans and Sarawakians realise they have been taken for a ride time and time again by umno since they joined Malaysia. They should be but are unequal partners and will never be equal partners under imno. At BEST, they will remain as ill-treated step-children. Their ONLY hope for a better deal is to join Pakatan Rakyat. However, this will not come true ! Sabahans and Sarawakians have made their great mistake in the last GE, by throwing in their lot (again!) with bn (will people never learn???). Their present MPs are of the bn opportunistic mould and would never jump ship if they are offered a few rinngit, which they will greedily accept.
The best thing is to wait for the next GE, and then vote in PR candidates. Then we will finally have a NEW Malaysia. I hate to have to wait so long...sigh.
written by PAKRAK, June 02, 2008 20:03:02
Want it to happen fast? Be like our neighbor who now want a change of government. The demonstrations are peaceful.
First don't forget to apply for a permit from the AG and IGP.
written by Thamipoh, June 02, 2008 20:42:28
I am sick of AAB as he went on a peace offering trip to the two eastern states. This another way of saying that the goment indeed has mistreated the 2 states. And because the 2 states are now crying foul and treatening to jump, AAB came begging for mercy less he may fall from grace. The goodies are also very suspicious as on the surface they were meant for the states but it was put in such a way that individual (YBs) can easily lay hands on them. Them juicy carrots makes the carnal man to saliva. I finally ask, if he suceeded in stopping the Big Jump in the 2 states then maybe it time for the MCA 15 MPs to start croaking and contemplating another jumping exercise and thus forcing AAB to offer them milk and honey. And after MCA comes........
written by Uncorruptible, June 02, 2008 20:58:18
DBKL - Wireless@KL Broadband Scam
what others only whisper

Recently Packet One Networks in collaboration with DBKL and others, introduced a "free" wireless broadband service designed to "transform Kuala Lumpur into a world-class wireless city".
In these times of spiralling inflation, any free offer would be welcomed. But is this offer really free?
In the first place, the offer is "free" for 512kbps access. What is 512kbps when 1mbps is considered slow nowadays, especially at peak times? Its like giving you 50 sen, what can you buy with that? Not even a glass of kopi-o!

Yet there is more to insult to our intelligence. Examine their areas of coverage. If we think we can have this access all a long, say Jalan Raja Laut, we are sadly disappointed (like the Star reporter Jade Chan found out). The base stations are placed in restaurants and cafes which pay fees to Wireless@KL. That is how Wireless@KL make their money. To get this free 512kbps, you cannot be simply squatting at the doorway of the cafe, opening up your notebook, and surf to your hearts' content. To conceal our kiasu -ness, we will have to go into the cafe and order a drink, probably costing an arm. And that is how the cafes etc will get back their licence fees, plus extra business . But isn't that what is already happening at wi-fi hotspots?

Of course you will have slooow downloads at 512 kbps. And when you start cursing, Wireless@KL will amble along with an "offer" for 1mb kbps. This is where they hope to make a kill. All this with the involvement of DBKL to boot. These are some of the catches, there are probably more coming.

So if you are thinking of buying a notebook and taking advantage of this offer, DON'T. Surfing at internet cafes at RM2.00 an hour is cheaper. And you don't have to lug a notebook all over the place. Plus cheaper coffee.

Getting a licence to set up broadband is a cash cow. Wireless@KL claims the total investment will be RM60 million. Getting say, half a million subscribers at the competitive rate of RM 90.00 pm, the company will be laughing all the way to the Banks in just two months!

Which brings us to the truly good news that the Pakatan Rakyat Selangor Government will be launching soon their own wireless broadbank network. It should be as good, and cheaper. In order to have high penetration in homes, I believe the government should provide internet access for 1mb kpbs free or cheap.
I do hope the Selangor Government Broadband will extend to KL as well, so that we need not be held to ransom and be exploited any more.
written by jchew, June 02, 2008 21:14:38
Learn from history and all successful people. Opportunities wait for no one, and once you missed it, you probably have to waite for another life time!
written by PAKRAK, June 02, 2008 21:41:03

MAKKAL SAKTHI!!!
written by ksmaniam, June 02, 2008 22:15:05
Good. The stakes getting higher. Now PR has to up their stakes. BN has to follow suit. While RPK plays chess, these two will have to play poker. Whether PR forms the government or AAB will continue to govern. The winner of the poker game is the rakyaat. I like this poker game. Gentleman what is the next stake you guys want to bet with. I suggest, free isa detainees, more freedom of speech, educational benefits, irradication of poverty and the likes. Cummon Pr your turn.
written by wongnoball, June 02, 2008 23:50:20
I am curious Pak Lah offers these KATAKS with what type of insects lah ......
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by ralverd, June 03, 2008 00:06:47
Don't worry. Soon enough they will learn that our dear PM was just making more empty promises. Eventually they will defect to the opposition.

http://www.ralverd.com
written by Daryl, June 03, 2008 06:04:22
All we need is hope. If it doesn't happen so what. Malaysian already waited for 50 years what if we are to wait for another five years or ten years. Maybe the next generation will be smarter after BN take us through the cleaner and rob us clean. Do it if you want too but make sure you do it because you want a better Malaysia and tomorrow for your children in Malaysia not to fill up your pocket...
written by Old Man Jasin, June 03, 2008 09:04:42
Kota Damansara , you get me wronged . How could a country grow while even during working hours our Governing politicians are indulging in their political meetings and agenda .

We have to pay above the table and under the table to get things done in Gomen Dept, on top of the many taxes.

Yet , sadly many of us still voted them when goodies were distributed during campaigning period.
written by fairnessforall, June 03, 2008 12:02:41
The change in policies in just a cover up. Im sure those greedy ministers who change their mind did so only because of huge amount of money offered by bodowi at the expenses of the tax payers. Its obvious when all those fraud ministers claimed that anwar offered them millions, their only intention for the lie was to get bodohwi to up the offer which he probably has. hence the change of heart to crossover. Well if these ministers think they are smart, its only a matter of time when they will get thrown out at the next election as that time, the rakyat will come out full force to vote for PR. Bodohwi is only trying to appease those ministers who claim they were made offers by the opposition, he is not doing anything that would benefit the rakyat. On top of that there is talk that petrol price will be increased in August. Does Bodohwi think he can get away with that, after squandering tax payers money and now saying they cant subsidize so much thus have to increase the price.

On the other hand Anwar should also keep his mouth shut and just do what he needs to do, why give warning to UMNO so they have time to spoil his plan and counter offer those ministers. Its because Anwar talked so big instead of getting things done, he was talking and boasting more and now PR says the crossovers may not take place. Dont these people ever learn.