Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow A Citizen's Letter to Tun Dr Mahathir

A Citizen's Letter to Tun Dr Mahathir PDF Print
Sunday, 01 June 2008 18:43

Tun,

You have written another beautiful article on racism after my last comment on The Criminalization of War. But, but why must you end it comparing who is racist? What are you expecting Malaysians and the world audience to think and say?

To be a great world leader, it is for the citizens, then the world audience and their leaders to acknowledge. To judge another racist or corrupt or fair minded or great is also for the majority to judge over time on your deeds, actions, words and character. There is never a need to say out aloud nor trumpet our own achievements to be acknowledged as a great leader.

History have shown who are great world leaders. More recently they are Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela, Mother Teresa and Martin Luther King. Further back in time, most of them I can remember are the Prophets  or those humans who have brought great knowledge and peace to the world.

There are also people who also claim to be great world leaders ie. Hitler, Pol Pot, Mao Tze Tung, Fidel Castro, Suharto, Marcos, Mugabe, George Bush, Eihud, Osama etc etc. Most of them who claim themselves as world leaders are acknowledged by the world for the things and deeds they have done not over  1 day, 1 week, 1 month or 1 year but over the years of their lives. The most evil man in any country who is supported by their own citizens or parties only can also lay claim to be a great world leader. Whether such support is by subjugation, corruption or self aggrandizement thru control of their own publishing medias or rewriting their own history books is never lasting. The truth comes out in the end, hopefully, sometimes only after their death and all the self acclamations turns into a subject of ridicule, mockery and shame.

True great world leaders are not necessary intellectuals, politicians or leaders who have great power. They all have something in common. They spread things which we all humankinds share in mind and spirit  and have great joy in. They spread peace, justice, knowledge, love, compassion, humility and possess great characters which any loving parents would want their own children to possess.

With a population of 7 billion around the world of which Malaysia has 27 million, to be one great world leader to be admired is a monumental task. Back home it is much easier. Malaysia has so many problems that can be solved if only we throw out racism, greed, power, lordship, corruption and hate. Ask any Malaysian now, our parents, children and grandchildren and the one most loved will still be Tunku Abdul Rahman and it will still be only him at the way things are still going. Not only because he is Bapa Kemerdekaan but more because people can see thru his character that he possess some of the attributes great world leaders have.

Is it so difficult to throw out all those evils? Another 50 years from now, what kind of world or country do you think our children or grandchildren should live in. What sort of knowledge or character do they need to have to survive and prosper? Can Malaysia be a model country for others? Can Malaysia lead in Asean, Asia or the world with the type of citizens we now have. Malaysia cannot even unite it’s own citizens what more to preach to others. Forget all those tourism adverts. It makes us fools when our blogs and newspapers goes around the world.

Dear Tun,

You are gifted with more intelligence and knowledge than most people I know or read about. You can read what humans (good or bad) want and cherish.  Choose how you want to be remembered first by your citizens and perhaps the rest of the world will follow us. Let us the citizens and our generation to follow determine how you should be remembered by.

I congratulate Tun on your 1 miilion hits. That means it is easier to reach out to people unlike the old days. Time is still on your side until the day it is taken away by (God, Tuhan, Allah) and it beats any other medium of spreading your future messages.

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by New Frontier, June 01, 2008 19:06:52
TDM dengan 1 juta hits you tak payah lagi bising kat luar. Minta Mukhriz undur buat p/raya kat Jerlun biar u masuk parlimen sebagai YB Bebas. Dengan cara ini barulah YB-YB BN pun berani jadi ahli BARISAN/PAKATAN BEBAS. INGAT TDM- KEPIMPINAN MELALUI TAULADAN.
written by StevenO, June 01, 2008 19:10:28
Hello Patek1472,

It's better to address the letter to the readers of Malaysia-today.

If your message is address to the Tun Mamak Kutty, it's like playing heavy metal to a water buffalo. Totaly a waste of time.

He can't understand why people are making a fuss over his racist behaviour. He was born such. It's incoded in his mamak gene lah.
agree 125
written by jchew, June 01, 2008 19:27:34
Pui! mahathir anak lelaki Kutty will re remembered as the most corrupted PM in Malaysia.
agree 116
written by cheemengwong, June 01, 2008 19:29:01
Dr. M,

The Raayat challenges you to be a leader of the Raayat and not UMNO. What good does it have if just UMNO is strong and the Raayat is oppressed and remains poor?

You are in power for 22 years and yet the poor remains poor. Those who have access to UMNO and manage to pull strings becomes better. The majority of poor remains poor because it is very difficult for them to get out of the rut without some real help.

This you did not do and that is why there are still poor people.

Those within your circle gets rich and some like Daim, Yahaya, M &M becomes unashamely rich. They become rich not because they work hard but they like you played politics real hard.

Come onlah, Dr. M. Do something anything but playing UMNO.

written by malsia1206, June 01, 2008 19:38:40
TU during his heydays as the PM for 22 years had been so used to the limelight and high profile arena in the international stage. When the presnt PM replaced him (as his own handpick successor) and start to dismantle his legacies, Tun start to feel like a kindergarten kid and forced into a corner which he was never able to get used. Therefore Tun had to pick up the broken pieces and, in this process, pursued a mad agenda devoid of decent and basic human sense. The best course for the Malaysian rakyat is to ignore him. Those who continue to ally and give him support are those who need all the free handouts from his corrupted power. Tun is history. It's all up to him to make out what history shall write of him.
written by cwy, June 01, 2008 19:42:21
Just tell this old-turn-childish dictator of M'sia that most of M,sians do not think he is a leader worthy to be remembered!
He could be a hero to a few Malays who followed blindly to destroy the riches and harmony of our nation for 22 years.
Great leaders of the world are defenders of the weak and under-privileged but he is suppressing the hardworking and peace-loving citizens of Malaysia.
One of his son ranks among the top 40 richest man in Malaysia! Anybody knows his wealth?
written by cruzeiro, June 01, 2008 19:42:55

It is also his warped sense of logic that says the people reject the Malay language - His first entry in his blog was in English. Speak of the Pot and the Kettle .....
Why would I wanna speak the language of the race that discriminates others & demands to be respected as tuans, instead of earning it, anyway .....

He wouldn't admit that the education system he boasts about has alienated communities and driven a wedge between them. He asks if there are other nations having vernacular education - with the practice of meritocracy in education, there would hardly be any need for it, Dear Sir! It was the insecurity under racists that created a demand for it.

The vernacular education of Malaysia is a legacy of the colonialism and the NEP/ " racist social contract". It served to isolate people into their own psycho-social ghettos, and thus make them conveniently vulnerable to the racist agendas practiced by certain elitist administrations.

There has been no effort on part of the Kutty Administration to integrate education systems and practice meritocracy in their 22 yrs in office.
Racism and 'religiosity" was used and abused to the hilt, to discriminate against those deemed unworthy, by virtue of Race or Religion.
Its strengths (I speak of Mandarin schools only - the Tamil schools are write-offs, anyway) have been enhanced, due to the mediocrity of the Malay medium education that has been infused with racism and bigotry. People flock to the Chinese/ Mandarin school, simply becos the system in the Sekolah Kebangsaan stinks - and you gotta be a "genius", to even ask why many don't wanna speak Malay!
This "gutter politician" polarized the people, and made them regard another "race" as "the enemy" - just as he does now!
That's RACIST! And he still has the audacity to ask if he's racist
=============================

The Racist's "Reasonings".
http://cruzinthots.********.co...nings.html
written by lamakawan, June 01, 2008 20:29:01
This is a very clear cut history for a man of his intelligence. No matter how he is going to correct himself hereafter, there is no chance for him to redeem himself. It will be a real pity to him. Whatever is said, is already in the records for the historians to pick up. What we want from him is now for him to stop expressing his thoughts and Malaysia will be a better place to live, eventually.
written by megahyper, June 01, 2008 20:39:24
This guy is stretching his personal vendetta too far.

Same with same batch of politician. They dont speak of care for rakyat, they only care for themselves.

They can speak of national unity (using NS) and secregating a race with other race in the same breath (using ketuanan melayu).

They use fund to build klcc, putrajaya, cyberjaya, payment to toll concessionaire, IPP, submarine etc but not education, security, health.

They dont talk about general well being of rakyat. Why?

Now think. They care for you or care for themselves?
written by krising1, June 01, 2008 20:49:17
This Mamak wants Pak Lah to be a Malay gentleman and step down. In other words resign as PM, party president. However, in this case as adviser to Proton, Petronas, he wants to be kicked out. Why? Because he is not Malay least of all a gentleman. He is a rowdy mamak. And boy Mamak also wants to take after that!
written by InEffective, June 01, 2008 20:54:05
Its more helpful to pen articles that help the rakyat protect themselves from self-serving politicians who leverage racism and religion to disenfranchise the malaysian rakyat.

No value in bringing understanding to politicians who compete against the rakyat - they are calibrated with the wrong incentives.

If you want to help your family, your friends in prospering and leading fulfilling lives, start thinking about how to re-capture your rights, and your power over the politicians. We need to learn how to compete against devious and cunning politicians like Mahathir who have hijcked our assets and resources - our children's futures depend on it.

Where's my share of the Beef (Oil Money)?
written by sonofmalaysia, June 01, 2008 21:31:09
Malaysia and Singapore started out on the same starting line. Everyone believed Malaysia had everything going and therefore will thrive, whereas Singapore was thrusted into independence with nothing to survive on, but a gloomy and doomed future.

40 years later, Lee Kuan Yew took Singapore and has reached Switzerland's standard. Mahahypocrite took Malaysia and has almost reached Zimbabwee standard!

40 years plus later, Lee Kaun Yew has built up Singapore with world renowned solid institutions, judiciary, universities, defence force, police force, world class achievements such as SIA, NUS, PSA, HDB and many more and now the latest biotech industry. Singapore now is like a magnet, attracting in best brain power from all over the world and surging forward with pride and confidence. The greatest ahievement of Lee Kuan Yew is that he had nurtured successfully a generation Singapore citizentry that has a reputation of high integrity, hard working, cosmo-politan, truely harmonious and non-racist outlook, trust worthy, competent and highly competitive. Now Singapore is a brandname for which the people of the world has high regard and sought after.

Now, look at Malaysia, for the shamefully uncountable number of things we are the laughing stock of the world !!

Malaysia is drowning in cesspool. All these, are largely due to Mahahypocrite !! Mahahypocrite used his talent to manipulate the Malay psyche and MAlaysia diversity to strengthen his despotic rule for 22 years. In 22 years, those shamesless, thieving and corrupt mentality we see in UMNO governement today is the direct result of Mahahypocrite's doing !!

Now this despicable, shamesless ex-PM is manipulting his people again, he is inciting racial hatred among the people in MAlaysia for for his own selfish gain.
written by Motherchell, June 01, 2008 21:38:56
Patek1472 ! Well written , and i admire the way you put it even with all the pain and sorrow we go thro' taking the lashes from bigots like him and all the UMNOITES time to time !!

I want him to understand what a self proclaimed World leader's odour is like if he can read this below , this is also for the UMNOITES to decide if they want to give their grandchildren the likes of what is current .

By Norman D. Livergood:Bush Family Crimes:

All Americans should constantly remind themselves that the George Bush who is now being touted as a great leader:

* has approved a "security" bill which limits basic civil liberties in America, resulting in the complete abrogation of the rights of a peace activist: a Green Party USA coordinator was detained at the Bangor, Maine airport and prevented by armed military personnel from flying to a political meeting in Chicago

* came to power through a racist miscount of the votes in Florida and a coup d'etat with the connivance of a corrupt supreme court

Negroponte
* appointed the racist, sexist John Ashcroft to be attorney general and appointed other criminals to positions of power, such as John Negroponte as U.N. ambassador and Otto J. Reich as assistant secretary of State for the Western Hemisphere

* gave the rich a trillion-dollar tax break at the expense of the workers, the poor and the lower middle class

* is raiding Social Security and endangering the retirement funds of millions of workers

* approved special protection to be given to congresspersons while allowing postal workers to be exposed to anthrax

Plutocracy
* pushed through a plan for oil drilling in the Arctic wilderness

* pulled out of the Kyoto Agreement, threatening the entire planet with pollution and global warming so his corporate buddies can be saved the cost of anti-pollution measures

* is overseeing a plutocratic regime where corporate fat cats are ensured obscene profits while workers suffer from unemployment, homelessness, anthrax infection, death from terrorist attack, and general distress

We should be aware that current president Bush isn't the first in his family to engage in war profiteering. George Bush: The Unauthorized Biography by Webster G. Tarpley and Anton Chaitkin, reminds us that on October 20, 1942, the U.S. government ordered the seizure of Nazi German banking operations in New York City that were being conducted by Prescott Bush, the father of former president George Herbert Walker Bush.

Under the Trading with the Enemy Act, the U.S. government took over the Union Banking Corporation, in which Prescott Bush was a director. The U.S. Alien Property Custodian seized Union Banking Corporation stock shares, all of which were owned by E. Roland Harriman, Prescott Bush, three Nazi executives, and two other associates of Prescott Bush.

Bush Senior In Collusion with the Bin Laden Family

Bin Laden and his advisor/controller Since he left office, ex-President and ex-CIA Director George Bush, working as a consultant, has been using his influence and contacts for the Washington-based Carlyle Group, a $12 billion private equity firm and eleventh largest defense contractor in the U.S. Carlyle's portfolio is heavily invested in defense and telecommunications firms.The Bin Laden family has large investments in Carlyle. The New York Times has reported that former President George Bush met with the bin Laden family in Saudi Arabia in 1998 and 2000

Rob the Poor and Give Billions to the Rich

Bush and Cheney While working class people were burying their dead in New York City, GM, GE, IBM, Enron and other Fortune 500 companies who put Bush into power were paying off their lackeys in Congress. The so-called "Economic Stimulus" bill gives tax cuts to the corporate fat cats to the tune of $70 billion a year.

But this soak-the-poor-to-give-to-the-rich scam isn't just for next year to stimulate the economy, it's RETROACTIVE FOR 15 YEARS! So IBM will get $1.4 billion, GM $833 million, GE $671 million, etc. Enron, the Houston energy company and a major Bush supporter, would get $254 million. Guess what ordinary workers get!

Fat Cats get billions while unemployed get pittance (Daily Ration) Bush has already given away $40 billion of our hard-earned tax dollars to war profiteering CEOs. But the Congressional Budget Office has estimated that the recent House-passed bill would provide only $2.3 billion in supplemental unemployment benefits by the end of next September, 2002.

I just wonder how and what will be on such great leaders minds just before the call from GOD!
written by Motherchell, June 01, 2008 21:47:27
Isn't their lives and actions in parallel--Ezam is a product of his teachings, who are the UMNO educated bigots going to emulate to see Malaysia mesh with the global churn .
written by exzonerator, June 01, 2008 21:47:51
God will be the final judge of all mankind. The time will come when all the wicked and corrupt will be thrown into everlasting damnation....
written by budakindia, June 01, 2008 21:53:25
Tun do you believe whatever you have done all these years are not racist? smilies/cheesy.gif Do you think the policies UMNO are running all these years are for the good of the people? smilies/grin.gif err what about demolishing other religion's temple, body snatching, dog poisoning, forbade the use of God name, pig farming culling & demolition are not politically motivated and the works of UMNO ? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Eskay Lim, June 01, 2008 22:04:45
During the 22 years as Malaysia's premier, you had been creating headlines here, there & everywhere as if there is no tomorrow. But in final analysis, you made yourself a "world leader" alright but one belonging to the same group with Marcos, Mugabe, Than Shue & Suharto.

Your "Ketuanan Melayu" interpretation stinks.
Your name is synonymous with corruption.
Why don't you take a final bow and disappear for the good of all Malaysians.
written by mendela, June 01, 2008 22:26:44
We should just leave the mamak "the dead meat" alone.
Mahathiu is just barking around in order to attract attention.

This racist is an evil man; let him fade away, just ignore him.

Under his guidance, his stupid son said May 13 was a blessing!
Both go to hell!
written by talk3talk4, June 01, 2008 22:50:00
Mahathir a/l Iskandar Kutty must never be mentioned in the presence of the names of such reverred world leaders. The mere mention of his name will only defile the good name of Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela, Mother Teresa and Martin Luther King.

Mahathir a/l Iskandar Kutty, at best can only be spoken in the context of a SPITTOON.

How can a man whose May 13 blood stained hand have yet being disproved, a man who constantly tearing at the fragile fabric of Bangsa Malaysia courtesy of his deceptive and conniving nature? Tell me why are still many who still hold him in high esteem? Are they all deaf and blind? Had it not being for this man, you and me will be sahabat dan sekeluarga Bangsa Malaysia.

written by panca, June 01, 2008 22:59:22
Choose how you want to be remembered first by your citizens and perhaps the rest of the world will follow us. Let us the citizens and our generation to follow determine how you should be remembered by.

For the record, we are not his citizen(though he probably resembles the maharajalela) he is our fellow citizen as we to him.

He is best remembered by what he prefers to stooge himself of late which overweigh what seem to many as doing 'good' during 'hiss' 22 years of no opposition.

He still play by the same old school of racism, many have outlived or 'graduated' from and it does not work with majority who aren't as gullible as the malay dilemma syndrome fearing for truth be told! The old habit of up to no good as part of he, who having had use against others seemed hard to elude him in using these deplorable act, with compulsion.
written by little dragon, June 01, 2008 23:10:34
The truth comes out in the end, hopefully, sometimes only after their death and all the self acclamations turns into a subject of ridicule, mockery and shame.

judging by d way mahathir has been trying to stir up some racial hatred lately, v must therefore siang2 let him know before he dies dat he will eventually b remembered in ridcule, mockery n shame n become d favourite target of "ketuanan melayu" jokes n satire.

sleep well my "tuan".
written by benny loh, June 01, 2008 23:22:54
Well written. Yes, what's the point having the hits but not showing the correct things like love, humanity, concern for the weak.
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...gyghg.html
written by ukmywl, June 01, 2008 23:33:56
Dear Tun,
My personal request:
Please try to bring some unity and harmony in the society in this country while you can still afford (You are no longer YOUNG). What's the point of fighting if it's solely for personal interest???? The bridge and all other projects are history now... and we acknowledge your loss in both 'MONETARY' as well as 'FACE'.

You are rich enough now or if not, your BILLIONAIRE son can affort to provide you the comfort. We as the "RAKYAT" are still struggling to meet end needs but i don't think we will mind if we can leave in peace and harmony. At least one problem solved. Why not you help us with this???

Remember, KARMA do exist even if you are Muslim.
written by ukmywl, June 01, 2008 23:35:02
Sorry wrong spelling: Leave = Live
written by Arubin, June 01, 2008 23:51:00
most of you are still at it. calling people racist but at the same time calling people mamak n kutty and sort of names. berakal lah sikit. check ic asal usul tu dari ceruk mana??

Lol, you have a good point actually.

I believe you do know the reason why we keep referring to him as a 'Mamak'. Is it the right thing to do? To be honest, no.

Its not mature. It is in fact, downright childish.

Yes, its very hypocritical. After all, we are responding to racism with racism also.

BUT...there is a very real difference behind our intentions.

We are doing it out of a sense of fun. There is no real malice behind it.

Mahathir, on the other hand, is playing a dangerous game of racial politics.

All these Mamak references will cease the moment Mahathir stops trumpeting racial politics wherever he goes.

On the other hand, we do not know when Mahathir will stop just because we no longer call him Mamak.

Also, there is no reason to be so racially sensitive all the time. Racist jokes can actually be funny as long as they are done without any real malice in mind (else the Irish will be up in arms ages ago). The comedic series In Living Color was full of racial jokes yet no one really found them offensive simply because they made fun of everyone - especially themselves.

So lighten up. After all, everyone is just a little bit racist...todaaaay...everyone's a little bit racist...okaaaay....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9CSnlb-ymA
written by Daryl, June 02, 2008 00:51:23
George Bush legacy will always be defined by Iraq, Oil/Gas and more. However, the most powerful country in the world he is suppose to be one of the great leader. But, in his last four years his title is only President of USA and only that. Majority of americans will not vote him in if they have a chance to do it again. So, the questions is why they can do with a weak executive. It is because there are other branches that can handle that and also their citizens is wiliing to punish the political parties.

Malaysia tie itself to political parties like they are part of their blood. We need to sever this ties and only than we can move foward and let this politicians work for us. If not we are forever in debt with politicians.
written by FFT, June 02, 2008 03:04:27
written by malsia1206, June 01, 2008 | 19:38:40
....during his heydays as the PM for 22 years had been so used to the limelight and high profile arena in the international stage.

What high profile arena in the international stage?

He was only known as a recalcitrant anti-Semitic ogre.

The only applause he received were from banana republic tinpot dictators like Mugabe, Castro, and some relics of Middle Eastern failed-states.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 02, 2008 03:04:56
Dear Toon,
Life would have been much better without you. You have destroyed the nation. You have robbed the people. You have committed a lot of sins and crimes, and you deserve to be put away ... by firing-squad.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 02, 2008 03:53:12
And before you die, make sure you return back all the loots to the people.
written by hw3883, June 02, 2008 06:12:09
I am afraid Dr M will not read this posting as the old man has selecting reading problem, just like his blog, only picked the favourable postings and reject those anti-M.

People became famous for the right reason, unfortunately not him. Without his racist trump card, he could be still working as a medical practitioner in a ulu-ulu kampong today, mostly still driving a Nissan Sunny 120Y!!
written by doggone, June 02, 2008 07:49:16

With the grim-reaper tugging at his leg and a final heart attack imminent, his wannabe legacy will finally be just a whimsica
l fantasy.

Our great Tunku Abdul Rahman didn't want anything to do with him in his final days. We finally don't either !!
written by Dominic, June 02, 2008 11:34:09
Dear Patek 1472,
Your aspiration for good goverance for the well being of every Malaysian especially our future generations is infact a continous echo through out those 50years or more. The fact is our leaders are incapable of carrying their tasks with the wrong mix of corrupted officials who go for personal gains before anything else. In the case of TDM, 22years is more than enough if he is capable be it measured by any standard. We never lack leaders and politicians who never failed to blow their own trumpets. Rakyat can tell what it smell like before they fart !!!
written by Commonsenses, June 02, 2008 14:13:46
Affirmative action breeds corruption. Very simply affirmative actions are attempts to improve the livelihood of the minority not majority as has been practised in Malaysia. There is just not enough resources to distribute equally.
Furthermore an ideal mechanism to identify and distribute the resources cannot be found as the distribution itself is discriminative.