Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Many Malaysian leaders turn bloggers

Many Malaysian leaders turn bloggers PDF Print
Sunday, 01 June 2008 10:52

Last month, Raja Petra Kamruddin, a known critic of the government, who had accused Razak of being involved in murder of a foreign woman, using his blog, was arrested.

(IANS) Blogging is the new buzzword in Malaysia with more and more politicians and others in public life taking to it. The number is growing since the government last week announced that it would take on bloggers using cyberspace to vent their grievances.

The country's long-time Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad remains the most prominent blogger: his blog scored one million hits in May.

Mahathir raised a political storm earlier this month by resigning from the ruling United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) that he helped found in 1946.

He has been demanding that his successor, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, step down from the party's leadership after the poll debacle in March.

UMNO and ruling coalition Barisan Nasional lost their two-thirds parliamentary majority, emerging victorious but weakened from the elections.

A close Badawi supporter and Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak announced that the government would join the 'cyberwar' to explain its side of the story on each issue.

Last month, Raja Petra Kamrudin, a known critic of the government, who had accused Razak of being involved in murder of a foreign woman, using his blog, was arrested.

He was released on bail amid international publicity glare.

Many politicians have found blogging useful to reach out to the people.

The latest to join is M. Sarvanan, who is the information chief of the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC).

MIC, also part of the ruling coalition, fared badly in the elections badly, with its chief S. Samy Vellu losing his ninth re-election bid.

Sarvanan said he was taking to blogging in line with the move by the "establishment" to engage netizens.

He wanted to "get closer to the people" and to hear what they have to say through his blog and a website.

Saravanan is also federal territories deputy minister in the Badawi Government.

His website has links to the websites of political parties, including those of the opposition, and the opposition alliance, called Pakatan Rakyat.

"I believe the use of the Internet in the country has reached a level where people are logging in more than ever and, as politicians, we have to be on par with the current goings-on.

"I invite people to read the contents of the site and then judge me from there. Please don't listen to rumours and coffeeshop talk. If you have a doubt, mail me or get in touch with me through the blog to clear the doubt," official news agency Bernama quoted him as saying.

The bloggers community, which was treated with distrust and even contempt before the last general election, has gained a measure of respectability, with the ruling administration admitting that failure to engage the netizens was a factor in the BN's poor showing at the polls, The Sun newspaper noted Saturday.

But this could be a passing phase.

The newspaper added: "It now seems trendy for Barisan Nasional leaders to start blogs, although it remains to be seen whether their enthusiasm can be sustained."

written by InEffective, June 01, 2008 11:26:13
and the disease has gone ether-borne...
written by clting08, June 01, 2008 12:20:41
Many BN leaders now joint the Monkey's Club. That including KJ, Head of all monkeys. Welcome into the jungle of cyber space..
written by Raja Chulan, June 01, 2008 12:23:03
Mahathir raised a political storm earlier this month by resigning from the ruling United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) that he helped found in 1946.

Political Storm? Are you kidding me? When will you all realise that in polities, the moment you reliquish your position, you are a nobody.

Mahathir Kutty s/o Mohammed Kutty is just a fodder for media to exploit and nothing else because a large number of people hate him for a variety of reasons best known only to them
written by justice4all, June 01, 2008 12:57:34
Blogging or not, it will not make an iota of difference if the contents spew the same racialistic venom, tell stupid lies and displays intelligence starved comments. I bet 90% of these politicians know nothing about blogging and probably think that they can get someone else to write stuff for them and, poof, all will be - semuanya OK!!!
written by sting, June 01, 2008 16:10:40
They still don't get it...how utterly predictable, going after form (blogging) over substance (truth). They think by just changing packaging, people will still buy the same shit underneath.... it would be so amusing if it was so pathetic smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by greenarrow, June 01, 2008 16:37:33
BURGER KING is much Stronger & Established in Singapore..though Mc DONALDs still sells averagely well in that KIA SU Island

BLOGGING is still in the Upperhand of the OPPOSITIONs...coz the Rakyat craving hungrily to hear the WRONGDOINGs of the FEDERAL Regime

written by welldone, June 01, 2008 17:37:17
pre 12th GE, they said bloggers are monkeys, liars, spreading rumours etc.....post 12th GE, everybody wants to be "monkeys"...funny isn't it.

These people has been in power for far too long, until the point they think they are invisible, untouchable etc...and they think by starting to blog they will change the rakyat's perception towards them, ha ha...dream on.....................
written by wshamsudin, June 01, 2008 18:09:13
We need to respect the leaders intention to become bloggers.What we need here is their sincererity to listen to the comments and grievances against the government.The comments is infact good for them and their heart had to be open wide in accepting the comments made. If only for the sake of becoming popular, then i believe it is a waste of time for them.If what the government is doing is right for the benefit of the nation and the people, definately the people will not condemn or despise them,but what we notice is they could not walk the TALK.
written by BennyG, June 01, 2008 22:06:56
I read blogs because I don't like being cheated by BN. Blogs especially MT are more credible than MSM anytime.

BN had proven to be liars, corrupted, arrogant and of low intelligence again and again. To listen to them without questioning and knowing their motives is like asking to be kick in the butt.
written by SamBall, June 01, 2008 23:00:22
Mohamed Kutty is a millionaire says his blog; has 1M hits; wonder how many were checking out his senile rantings.

But he is already a billionaire la. Just check out his family assets la; then you will understand.

As for his blog; a pathetic sideshow; just had to look in to see the old kaka rambling on about his race; (sorry Indians); oops he has forgotten where his father came from; you ol kaka, ultra Malay has-been sigh. sampai lupa bapak; porah.
written by shissun, June 01, 2008 23:25:28
Superior men create, inferior men copy. PR is superior, BN is inferior. Hey, BN dogs, don't think you can use blog to gain back what u have lost. Tell you one thing about blogging, it is the material that matters, nothing else.
written by shissun, June 01, 2008 23:32:35
I believe previously we had a nonsense BN Minister or what commented bloggers are single mums who did have nothing to do beside blogging lies. Now i wonder all BN bloggers are wearing skirts. padan muka.
written by ukmywl, June 02, 2008 01:31:59
Who bunch of Moron gonna be bloggers? What a joke????
How are you gonna convince the RAKYAT (Capital letter = as I think the RAKYAT are far more superior that these group of corrupted and racist idiot) when you don't even respect ladies in Parliment?? Well i am not a perlupa, 2 Morons from the "ARM NO" did mentioned "BATU GAJAH TIAP TIAP BULAN PUN BOCOR" - What an annoying statement BUT not suprising when it comes from this bunch of suspected 'Japanese Porn addicts' (The true sexist master).
My suggestion to these bunch of "ARM NO": Share your Japanese AV in your blog and allow free download, I guarantee your site hit 1 million within days, just like our former DICK-tator.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 02, 2008 02:04:43
Don't waste your time on other blogs, and treat "Malaysia-Today" as the one and only blog.
written by LACOBRA, June 02, 2008 19:34:39
We chose to avoid reading the crappy stuff from the MSM and now their blog sites, what makes them so sure that we would bother to read the plagerise work of the MSM. Padan Muka!