Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia not giving up hope on Batu Puteh yet

Malaysia not giving up hope on Batu Puteh yet PDF Print
Sunday, 01 June 2008 10:23

Malaysia has renewed the search for evidence to stake its claim on Batu Puteh, whose sovereignty was deemed to be under Singapore by the International Court of Justice (ICJ).

Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said although the ruling by the ICJ at The Hague on May 23 was final and not subject to appeal, there was a specific provision in the court's rules that allowed for a judicial review of a case within 10 years if new evidence was adduced.

As such, he said he had directed Wisma Putra to try again to trace the ancient letter written by British Governor William T. Butterworth to the Temenggong and Sultan of Johor seeking permission to build the Horsburgh Lighthouse on Batu Puteh.

During the hearing, Malaysia had contended that it was on the basis of the consent of the Temenggong and Johor Sultan via a reply dated Nov 25, 1844 (this letter was produced to the ICJ) that Great Britain built and then operated the lighthouse on the island.

"If we can gain sight of that letter, the gate can be opened again. There is a maximum 10-year period but preferably it should be done within six years.

"The letter could be in London, the British being too good at archiving. We have searched with them but it has not been conclusively proven that they don't have it.

"Probably it is in Singapore. That would be a double jeopardy," Dr Rais said in an interview.

It is learnt that the initial search for the letter covered 40 institutions in 11 countries – Britain, India, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, the Netherlands, Portugal, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Singapore and Malaysia.

In 1994, Malaysia requested Singapore to furnish a copy of the governor's letter if it was in its possession but the republic did not respond.

Ambassador-at-large Tan Sri Abdul Kadir Mohamad, who was Malaysia's agent at the ICJ hearing, had told the court that if the letter still existed, it was likely to be in Singapore's archives in the file named "Letters to Native Rulers" which Malaysia did not have access to.

Dr Rais explained that Malaysia could introduce a separate motion to the ICJ if the letter was found.

The ICJ awarded sovereignty of Batu Puteh to Singapore in a 12-4 decision, mainly on the basis that Malaysia had not done anything to invoke its rights on the island, which Singapore calls Pedra Branca, for over 100 years.

The ruling on Middle Rocks was 15-1 in Malaysia's favour. On the other disputed territory of South Ledge, the ICJ ruled that it belonged to the country in whose territorial waters the outcrop was located.

The ICJ's "split" decision brought to a close the 28-year-old territorial dispute between both countries. Singapore first laid claim to Batu Puteh through a diplomatic note protesting the inclusion of the island as part of Malaysia in a 1979 map.

Dr Rais, who heads the technical committee for Malaysia set up to determine the South Ledge issue, said Wisma Putra secretary-general Tan Sri Rastam Mohamed Isa had led a team of officials to the republic on Wednesday to get things going.

The minister said he agreed with views by law experts that the crucial thing for both countries to do now was to demarcate the waters in the area to avoid problems and confusion.

He said he would propose to Singapore that the waters off Batu Puteh, Middle Rocks and South Ledge be opened to fishermen from both countries and also Indonesia. - The Star

written by ibabonma, June 01, 2008 10:37:29
Hoi! Donkey, knowing very well that you don't have that letter (the ancient letter written by British Governor William T. Butterworth to the Temenggong and Sultan of Johor seeking permission to build the Horsburgh Lighthouse on Batu Puteh) why go to ICJ in the first place?
written by Hope4all, June 01, 2008 10:42:10
The whole govt legal team ought to be fired! Never do homework before the exam... gaji buta from the rakyat! You're all fired!
written by TWOG, June 01, 2008 10:48:09
So Indonesia, you should also start digging for documents for Sipadan and Ligitan...

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Remo, June 01, 2008 10:56:52
This monkey Rais Anak Yatim told repoters that it is a win win situation for Malaysia because we loose Batu Puteh but got back Middle Rocks. What the F....
is he talking now. This stupid corrupted government where can get this kind of evidence.

For sure they have god rid of all the evidence left by the British. This government has change the history of the Malaysia. In school the children now children studying all the man made stories according to the Malay taste. All the cerita dongeng. Hang Tuah, Jebat and Lekir. They hide the history. The schools now teaching the bulshit stories. All the truth were hidden. They claim credit for someone else effort.

written by Remo, June 01, 2008 11:02:18
Rais please don't make yourself as a clown in front of ICJ. It is shameful for the Malaysian.

For you, you are dirty politician I'm sure you must be a thick skin idot.
What evidence you are looking for, balik kampung lah.
written by apasalahku, June 01, 2008 11:12:20
we lost because we have an idiotic AG who brought his greenhorn son (fresh law grad) to argue at the Hague
written by shissun, June 01, 2008 11:26:51
Yeah.....right you BN bastards! Waste our resources to enrich your own cronies.
written by 1351, June 01, 2008 11:28:38
This Rais fella just saw an angle to 'projek'. Damn thieve, cukuplah.

Bet you he is going to draft a letter, seeking funds to maintain a desk to hunt down an imaginary letter. 10 year time frame will yield a pretty sum.

While S'pore diplomats were doing real work gathering evidence, Rais, Gani and rest of the team were probably engaging a bomoh, camping out at the Museum in Johore waiting for a sign or for the letter to miraculously appear
written by FFT, June 01, 2008 11:59:36
What manner of forged photograph stolen from a fly-by-night blog are you guys going to produce this time?

It is learnt that the initial search for the letter covered 40 institutions in 11 countries – Britain, India, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, the Netherlands, Portugal, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Singapore and Malaysia.

Are you sure your team members were searching?

Or were they busy shopping, an then refusing to pay overweight charges and customs duties on the way back?
written by keris_mudin, June 01, 2008 14:15:39
THE LETTER FOUND

Actually we must have had THE LETTER - just like somebody had THE PHOTO and THE IMMIGRATION RECORDS. Like everything else, making it disappear is hardly a problem. I wonder how much Singapore paid for it.

Ha ha ha - STUPID BOASTFUL KERIS DICK WAVING UMNO_PUTRAs - LOOSERS. Can only win when they are the prosecution, judge and the executioner! Wahhh so powerful "PENGECUT...blah blah blah" now sudah kala, ekor in between the balls. Where are the Scorpenes we bought - what for - for show only ke....or sudah tengelam because of poor maintenance. Singapore Navy had been chasing our boats out of the area for 30 years since MamakKutty was in charge and now he says AAB pengecut?
written by est, June 01, 2008 15:08:15
Very unbecoming of a person holding the post of Foreign Minister. Immediately after the verdict of the ICJ, Rais Yatim came out to say the decision is a win-win decision. Now back in Malaysia, it is indeed very shameful to say that we are still searching for the letter. What the hell is this? Very typical like what happens in our court. When you do investigation, do it to a satisfactory conclusion then take up the case. Do a half baked job then try to look for further evidence. This is what I call shoddy job.
written by miwaki, June 01, 2008 15:51:15
Malu sekali tak cukop kot.Apa -lah terjadi ni !
written by howiseveryone, June 01, 2008 15:54:28
once again, we have become the laughing stock of the world for the xxx times. already agreed to accept the court's decision and now wana go for review??... tak tahu malu ke??.... furthermore, i wander what was he listening to during the reading of the verdict??? didn't the judge already ruled that PBP belongs to Johor during the 1800s but 100 years later, Johor "disclaimed" PBP and ICJ concluded based on the letter in 1953 stating Johor does not claim ownership of PBP that PBP now belongs to SGP. why is this guys trying to dig a letter dated in 1800s when ICJ ruling/verdict was based on the past 100 years' fact? what good will the 200 years old letter do??!!!! it was the facts from the past 100 years which gave SGP the island!!!!!....
unless you have new and concrete evidence(< 100 years old and MUST be infallible) to support our claim on the island, please accept the lost, stop making a fool of yourself and the country, and, most of all, stop wasting the people's money on unsubstantiated, unfruitfull, and useless court cases like this!!!. Please stop wasting our money!!!
written by budakindia, June 01, 2008 16:23:51
but you mentioned it was a win-win for both countries? Now it's not ? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by wag the dog, June 01, 2008 17:26:06
Myopic Mahathir and Makkal Sakthi

www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by Heaven8402, June 01, 2008 17:29:37
Here is goes again the taxpayers $$$! Another trip of business class flight, another 5 star hotel stay, another round of fine dining (with shopping definitely)...hey its all FOC. Thanking in advance to all rakyat Malaysia!

Couldn't agree more with Ibabonma! A Japanese study I came across recently proving a chimpanzee has far more better memory than of human. They can actually recalls what numbers at the exact location after showing them for about 2 seconds. Malaysia should have sent chimpanzees instead. smilies/grin.gif
written by Task Force 101, June 01, 2008 17:47:33
This is the final analysis of this entire fiasco:-

Kita semua enjoy di Hague. Sungguh indah and bersih kota perbicarran ini!

I am shocked and sad to see how a little red dot made bloody fools of ourselves.

Is it not suprising and questionable tat S'pore when requested for this purported letter did not even respond. Where are the affidavits of submission.

I am sure if we get hold of it, we can see the real level of the bunch of idiots running this country
written by welldone, June 01, 2008 17:49:04
another "treasure hunt" expedition and it can last up to 10 years...what are the price tag...does it worth it?

Or is it just another scam
written by The Hammer, June 01, 2008 17:57:44
Aiya, why waste time searching an ancient letter, better still, search the letter that says Singapore rightly belongs to Malaysia.! Also include Siam, Indonesia, India, China etc etc. Who knows after spending countless man-hours and billions of ringgit of searching and researching Malaysia might get more than a piece of white rock!
written by kksam, June 01, 2008 18:04:48
DIU, after losing only starts to search for evidence?? on top of that, the shameless team who submit a doctored picture to the ICJ, who will believe Malaysia next time? If you want to save face, just dig a hole at the back of your house!!!
written by The dragonheart, June 01, 2008 18:10:49
We lost our EEZ overlapping our own waters... and facing the open seas thats 200nautical miles from the first datum... If there is oil at the sea bed in the EEZ, singapore will pump it out like theres no tomorrow...

Pity the local fishermens... no more fishing in singapore's new claimed waters... thats a wide area body of water and fishes...

Malaysia leaders are too busy looking for self wealth and failed to realised that thier country is shrinking...

Many countries will fight to the last drop of their sweat, tears and blood to save their motherland..

written by sarawakian, June 01, 2008 22:12:08
in the first place, they were so over-confident they could win. spent all the time traveling at rakyat's expense. no need to work very hard (typical gov't servant) mentality.

after judgment, make some comments to appease the Malaysians listening in on the verdict. then come back to Malaysia and some wise-ass comes up with "new evidence possibility" so that they can get funds to continue their holidaying.

it was announced that we would abide by the ICJ ruling. now we want to present "new evidence"?? ICJ is not like the Malaysian kangaroo courts lah..

written by bunian, June 01, 2008 22:31:30
Deyy, Raus Yatim,
It doesn't matter what letter was written in 1844 la because a 1953 letter by the then acting Johor state secretary that said, “Johor does not claim ownership of Pedra Branca” la, so why waste time on this? Your incompetent legal people fscked up the case -- plain and simple. Stupid idiot. Just because you got a half-past six doctorate, you think you know everything. The Institution which awarded you the degree should burn all your records and disavow any knowledge of your existence.
written by donplay, June 02, 2008 01:19:29
Albar who hates S'pore (becoz his father was jailed there circa 1966), was of course the wrong Minister to be entrusted to resolve the Pedra Branca issue. He was ruled too much by emotions.

Now that he has failed miserably, we should forget the legal way.

Use the Diplomatic route and do some horse-trading with S'pore. I am sure there are other assets we can use as bargaining chips to negotiate. It requires the re-engagement of some of our old and trusted Diplomats, some of whom may have to be brought back temporarily from retirement.

All the legal bluff and spending millions to go to the Hague can be saved if we are prepared to think out of the box.

And, Rais is not da man either !! Look for some of the old lawyers like the Puthuchearys who have strong links with Lee Kuan Yew. Back-room negotiations will save us a small fortune, and bring home the Baby !!