Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Give Pak Lah the credit he deserves

Give Pak Lah the credit he deserves PDF Print
Saturday, 31 May 2008 21:13

(TheStar Online) IT is common knowledge and widely accepted that Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, or more fondly known as Pak Lah, is a nice man.

But it is quite disappointing that there are some political commentators who, while stating the obvious about Pak Lah being a nice man, then use this as cover to be overly and unfairly critical of the man.

Their playing to the gallery can be quite disconcerting. It seems that they think they can play both sides; praise Pak Lah for being a nice man yet at the same time please his detractors who allude that Pak Lah is inefficient, weak and indecisive.

Those who are unfairly critical of Pak Lah are conveniently forgetting the circumstances in which he came to office and the baggage that came with the position, as well as the prevailing culture in his party and the general populace at large.

Some people do not understand that Pak Lah was very clear about what was needed to be done after the 2004 General Election.

There was no mistaking what the mandate was for which were reforms - a change of how things are done in Malaysia after the last 22 years of the previous prime minister's rule and to a large extent the damage done by his maverick deputy Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim who actively pursued an Islamist agenda to the detriment of a multi-racial Malaysia.

But Pak Lah is no novice politician. He understood the implications of rocking the boat; he was in fact an astute strategist who found ways to go about getting things done without needing to upset party members and civil servants who needed time to get used to the changes proposed, understanding their ability to change incrementally.

But on the other side of the fence there were equally astute adversaries who knew that they could use this knowledge to their advantage, although they themselves knew it would be impossible for any prime minister to effect the monumental changes required in the short time given to Pak Lah.

Many who know Pak Lah at close range would agree with me that Pak Lah used his niceness to his advantage and at no time was it his weakness.

The strategy to paint Pak Lah as a weak and ineffective leader began in earnest as soon as his predecessor found out that he would not be getting his way in many matters of state.

There was an organised attempt to politicise the most innocent of intentions by Pak Lah to effect change.

The economic corridors concept was an attempt by Pak Lah to respond to the needs of investors who found that Malaysia’s bureaucracy and red tape was preventing them from investing in the country.

Pak Lah realised that he could not change this in as short a span of time as possible which would have required acceptance by a civil service so used to the old way of doing things.

The corridors helped bypass these obstacles so that the civil service would not feel they were burdened with more work and allowing them time to get into step at their own pace.

The 2008 General Election result was a result waiting to happen in 2004, that is if Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had remained as Prime Minister.

I dare say we would have lost more than five states had he been leading the charge then for Barisan Nasional.

But 22 years of excess cannot be corrected in four or even eight years. There is the issue of habit or culture which needs deft handling and I dare say we have the right man in the right place for that now.

Each of his policy announcements was carefully crafted to address a particular deficit – whether it be social, political or economic.

But his enemies within the party and outside were busy working towards denying him the credit he deserved.

A smear campaign was launched to portray him as a nice man but not an efficient Prime Minister.

A concerted effort was made to tarnish him with the same brush of nepotism, cronyism and corruption that was used against his predecessor.

Those employing these tactics were well versed in these tools having been previously the targets of these same allegations.

Political commentators must be careful not to fall into this trap or perpetuate a perception that has been deviously nurtured.

It is to Pak Lah’s credit that today we have a vibrant democratic environment for reforms to take place.

This would have been unimaginable under the previous administration.

And Dr Mahathir's playing of the race card now is proof of this. And that is not being very nice.

STEPHEN DOSS,

President, National Youth Association of Malaysia.

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by alanlee, May 31, 2008 21:25:20
Agreed. Under Pak Lah the freedom of expression is greater during TUN era. Hmm.... during TUN time does we have freedom of expression ? Salute Pak Lah for this. But nice and capable is two different things.
written by johanssm, May 31, 2008 21:37:03
Yes , he is nice to his own family.he is very nice to kera J.
That is about it. You cant say he is nice and yet remains silence on the ISA. If he is "nice" he wont supports the ISA.
If he so so bloody nice , we will already have the IPCMC in place, ACA already independent , there will be no blood stains in Mahkota Cheras and if he is so bloody nice , RPK wont be here in Malaysia as RPK will be touring Europe in a caravan with his wife.
" one can ampu and bodek , but theres a limit ".
I wont be in PR if he is so nice.
written by krising1, May 31, 2008 21:38:26
The writer sees with scales in his eyes. Otherwise he will be able to see Pak Lah's faults which are as large as the oceans. A nice man he may be but he did not deliver. Leaders go and find solutions and not find apologists like you to make excuses for him. Pak Lah has squandered the goodwill which the rakyat showed him in 2004. Some of the acts which he just undertaking now should have been done in 2004. 4 wasted years and Pak Lah must take the blame for that lah.
written by Daryl, May 31, 2008 21:39:51
Stephen
If he is a nice man he knows that he cannot fight corruption and injustice within UMNO. He know that and he should take steps to give power to the PR to do that. There are more crooks in UMNO than good politicians because of the culture. The party itself is not bad but the people that run it.

Gorbachev falls the USSR and Pak Lah should know if he loves Malaysia he needs to step aside for a more powerful change to the country. Malaysia need this more than ever in other to survive in the future. With the exception of Myamar all SEA countries get it and it is now Malaysia's turn.
written by br_teacher, May 31, 2008 21:40:01
We are so grateful to PAK LAH...
for the sake of malaysian voters being able to vote for an alternative front...
once in 50 years of corrupted bn gomen... smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by malsia1206, May 31, 2008 21:46:34
Nice man he may be but that does not make him a fitting PM. TDM is the opposite and are we all glad his 22 years of racial cards are hopefully over. Between these two, the Nation is urgently in need of the right candidate to take the country forward. Clean and transparent. Words played out so much by these two PMs which they never really mean it. From the top to all the bureaucrats. The rakyat had been deceived for 27 years. Time for concrete change. Not reading anyone's lips anymore.
written by Arubin, May 31, 2008 21:46:35
Sorry, but I'm afraid that blaming it all on Dr. M just doesn't fly.

Khairy is 100% your responsibility. Likewise with your other god-son, Patrick. If you were indeed sincere about corruption reforms, you would not have allowed the dynamic duo here to pillage our resources even further.

The rakyat might have forgiven you for being a little slow with the reforms, but making the problem even worse is not something that can not be tolerated.
written by mgeo, May 31, 2008 22:01:43
"The freedom to praise is the freedom of slaves."

There is no change in Maha Thief's legacy of OSA, Sedition, PPPA, ISA, Emergency Ordinance and the 3 Emergency Declarations backing up the last 2.
written by densemy, May 31, 2008 22:10:22
I'm weeping tears of blood for Pak Lah and his do-nothing-n-hope-the-problems-will-disappear philosophy of government
written by alanlee, May 31, 2008 22:14:17
I was wandering where did TUN place his loyalty ? Country ? Party ? Race ? Leader ? Hoping TUN does not misplaced his loyalty. smilies/cry.gif
written by mypanida, May 31, 2008 22:27:17
was wandering where did TUN place his loyalty ? Country ? Party ? Race ? Leader ? Hoping TUN does not misplaced his loyalty.

Tun Mamakutty is loyal to no one but himself. smilies/angry.gif

All right-minded people should abhor him by now, for he is still Number 1 racist in Malaysia.
written by jchew, May 31, 2008 22:29:58
Nice man? ABD before - Mr. Clean ABD now - Mr.Clean All!

May be he can be the President of, National Youth Association of Malaysia.
written by Motherchell, May 31, 2008 22:31:02
Doss! ......... PakLah may have been better in some ways when compared with TDM. Its a piece of claptrap to say he has come away with baggage from the last "embarkation". You are just wasting your thought to aperture him by the way you do .
Case study: All promoted Managers who are not doing their duties in Organizations get the sack for showing no profitability to the Companies they serve in or are sent to Siberia for their imperfections. --------Maybe not UMNO backed Managers!!!!! They are always holier then thou!! They are GODS only children!!

Yes! we have given him a lot of credit , in the form of credit cards to our Nations coffers. Its almost dry now with flight of Funds under the blanket of the so called OSA.

A Leader serves his people , that is absentin him , Period!!!!! . Take a page from great Leaders in the world , and you'll understand what i mean. When Paklah was appointed Foreign Minister during TDM's time he just flew in and flew out off 5 star residences . He is also instrumental for the loss of Pedra Branca. What has he done other than bigotry unlimited, to polish his silver vessels !.

A Leader serves his people , not himself and his cronies !!! A PM of a country must be honest and have the authority to rule with Fairness , Integrity,and a big ear. Not be an angel in Nazi collars!!! ----A stooge to the Fourth Floor power hungry kids!!

He would have done better as an Imam clothed in Zegna !!!!!!!

Just ask yourself , how far up has a Malaysian Youth stood among the Global Community to lead a said topic??????? Paklah has been a sculptor for that factor too.

Vibrant Democracy????????????? Are you speaking ingeesh Doss??? You must be a good joker!!
written by toolan, May 31, 2008 22:33:56
STEPHEN DOSS,

You are really pathetic - stating a score of one out of ten for a three year old kid is understandable but for a Prime Minister is a disaster beyond descriptions.

The Star has apparently ran out of apple polishing wax, resorting to publish such low grade digusting rubbish.

written by Rashid, May 31, 2008 22:41:11
STEPHEN DOSS,

How did you end upn being the President of National Youth Association of Malaysia? You are the most stupid fellow ever seen on earth. You make people vomit. Sir, the man is not only inept but utterly hopeless that the Heavens are crying. Your purported analysis reeks of unequalled stupidity.

In your silly calculation, you accuse his detractors like Anwar and Mahathir exonerating him from blame. Ha ha ha! Buffoon. What did Anwar demage? Did he demolish a Church? A Temple? Did he steal from the Chinese? Did he threaten that he will slaughter the Chinese and bathe the Keris with Chinese blood? No! Then? You are a stupid boy. Coming to Mahathir, Mahathir left the stage, so why not correct his mistakes? Was he denied that opportunity? Were his hands tied? No. He chose to sleep and delegated the duties to Khinzir Jantan dan Jahanam (KJ). Your language and argument reeks of high stupidity. I wonder where you get the audacity to talk to us. Hogwash! I'm barfing....give me a glass of water.
written by deemah, May 31, 2008 22:46:26
Stupid Stephen,
Please list down all the achievements of Pak Lah ever since he became the PM.
Your write up is so pathetic, lack substance and full of garbage. Call yourself a writer/reporter?
written by HeeHaw, May 31, 2008 22:51:27
IT is common knowledge and widely accepted that Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, or more fondly known as Pak Lah, is a nice man.

Nice man, so your police are so nicely beating up innocent rakyat, why even 20 polis nicely beating up an innocent young fellow in Cheras, all those people nicely locked up under ISA, elections nicely unfair, your UMNO nicely racist and corrupt, nice unemployed millionaire son-in-law, Hindu temples nicely destroyed, Mongolian girl nicely blown up, nice kangaroo courts, nice way of arresting bloggers, nice way of instigating hate against wheelchair-bound Opposition fellow, nice time you have sleeping during meetings, nice time you have flying overseas all the time in your nice executive jet, such a nice fellow you are why do I want to puke whenever I see your picture?
written by New Frontier, May 31, 2008 23:08:11
Nice man. What a joke! He family, UMNO BN plundering nation's wealth and still someone found him a nice man. How blind are you? Do you want to wait until he suck Malaysia dry to find him otherwise. I think the writer is one of his paid pecacai.
written by delCapo, May 31, 2008 23:10:18
Stephen... what a TOSS of your right hand...

The indian chap who runs a good curry house where i have breakfast is a nice guy too... his PR & diplomatic skills r impeccable... maybe he can be PM..

The gay bautician who puts make-up for some of my artist friends is very good at crafting ideas too.... why dun you go Toss his stick as well

written by wannabepatriotic, May 31, 2008 23:21:32
Thanks to PakLah, I voted
Thanks to PakLah, we have PR
Thanks to PakLah, BN/UMNO/MIC/MCA/GERAKAN is history
Thanks to PakLah, Malaysian politics has become the main concern for all
Thanks to PakLah, we might see a change in our political history (hopefully for the best

Anways, it's time to BlahLah!
written by mykantree, May 31, 2008 23:24:45
Being nice is fine. Malaysians has got no problem with that!.But what is needed of a PM is a lot more than just being nice.He MUST be effective, he MUST be honourable, he MUST govern all the citizens, not just a portion of them, he MUST be incorruptible and most of all,he MUST lead. He just qualified for a C- even in the NICE test. Malaysians cannot afford a nice leader like him.
written by HamChak, May 31, 2008 23:56:48
Lets be fair, ma
Whatever, Pak Lah is still better than that MaMakThir, lorr.

I can still tolerate Pak Lah but
NOT that MaMak, lah.
written by kavidibaku, June 01, 2008 00:06:43
Tq to Pak Lah for allowing all kinds of demonstrations. Because of him,Pakatan rakyat gained 5 states. Because of him there are many Opposition MPs in Parliment. Because of him, the old dog mamak is very pissed off. Because of him a non umno person will become PM. He is really nice.
written by apa jadi, June 01, 2008 00:15:33
Any recalls of what this Stephen Doss said during Mahatail's day? I would respect him if he had said what he said to Mahatail during his days. Otherwise I regard his as one of the kaki bodek.

Thanks to AAB for bringing PR into political relevance. Gobachev? Hehehe...
written by Windchime, June 01, 2008 01:18:42
Organization: National Youth Association of Malaysia

President: Stephen Doss
Vice President: Stephen Doss
Committee member: Stephen Doss
Treasurer: Stephen Doss
Ordinary member: Stephen Doss
Driver: Stephen Doss
Cook: Stephen Doss
Gardener: Stephen Doss
Toilet Cleaner: Stephen Doss
Drain sweeper: Stephen Doss
Idiotic writer: Stephen Doss

written by arazak, June 01, 2008 01:18:55
Yeah right, he is nice....nice to his cronies that siphoned billions of ringgit which rightfully belong to the people of Terengganu!
written by benny loh, June 01, 2008 01:31:37
All the same, both (He and the Ex)regard all the chinese here as "Robert Kuoks". Both
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...thers.html
written by miwaki, June 01, 2008 01:34:24
When one is incompetent,he needs many years to reform.Sometimes he needs a lifetime to reform.Why wasting time when you have the alternatives.We know Pak Lah is nice but a nice boss is actually a weak boss.Where can you find competent CEO who is also a nice person at the same time ?
written by yeechut, June 01, 2008 01:42:00
Maybe Pak Lah is a nice man, I would like to give him the benefit of doubts. But most of the 'nice' that that were credited to him can also be viewed as a concerted attacks on Mahathir legacy. At least TDM view it that way judging by the ferocity of his counter attacks.

Sorry I am being cynical, but the mud slinging since march 8 election has turned up so much shits that I am simply disgusted beyond words. Furthermore - Pak Lah can never shake off the fact or perceptions that he allowed people around him to rule over him.

Maybe he did inherit a lot of baggages. But the fact remains that UMNO - the whole Barisan National altogether - is nothing but baggages. I have sympathy towards Pak Lah as a person, but it will never translate into sympathy and support for BN.
written by kennyeu, June 01, 2008 03:01:45
How do you define nice? That he smiles a lot? That he speaks softly and politely? What? I don't get it. A person who abuses power to an extreme where they believe the Rakyat is no longer important is a person without a good heart.

We all know about Terengganu and ECM Libra and all the other vehicles that were set up under his watch with the single aim of diverting money away from the Rakyat and the Country to the benefit of the few. You talk about the new economic corridors. They smell like more avenues for making money for the few.

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi sits as PM for a government that has forgotten about the Rakyat. So busy was he with looking out for self interests he has created more harm than good. To take from the majority poor and give to the minority rich, where is nice in all that?
written by Heaven8402, June 01, 2008 05:07:31
Dear Stephen,
Your writes best suits "Laughter The Best Medicines" section. Maybe you want a piece of cake yourself from BN, we all can understand that! but please have some self respect.
Yeapp, he is really a nice person indeed: sentuh sana, sentuh sini!
written by yongt, June 01, 2008 05:22:10
Stephen Doss' points are not entirely misplaced. Pak Lah has his faults but he also has a range of options to clamp down on the voices leading up to the elections and formation of Pakatan if he so chooses. Tun MM would certainly have done that. You probably wouldn't even have Malaysia Today to read had it been him. But Pak Lah, to my surprise allowed it. Whether it's by design or incompetence is irrelevant. Trust me, the PR movement wouldn't even have gotten off despite all this talk about Makkal Sakthi if the entire BN machinery clamps down. It's amusing to find people here screaming for changes here and there without considering the repercussions or the power structure in Malaysia at the moment. He has to fight the opposition AND his internal people? You need a WAR CHEST PEOPLE. I don't condone the practices of his people around him but any politician can tell you that you can't win a political war without money. People power? Please, be realistic. Ask yourself, where is Anwar getting his funding? Instant meritocracy (however idealistic but not realistic at the moment) ? You immediately have plenty of jobless people around and risk CIVIL WAR and unrest. That WILL happen if you allow US full entry. The middle class will be largely eradicated. There are HUGE issues to consider. These changes have to come in measured doses. If the govt is run by any of the quick-to-criticise emotional readers here the country will collapse within a year. PR to form the govt? They might get the numbers but they need time. Not now, but perhaps in 3-5 years where people will KNOW whether they can or not. If they fail, what next? WE GO BACK TO BN is probably people here will do. Great mode of thinking. I doubt many of the readers here will last 3 months if thrown into the political war. There are many abuses coming to light because they HAVEN'T BEEN CLAMPED DOWN a la Mahathir style. Pak Lah seems to be implementing the changes now that he realised how precarious his position is. Given the OTHER candidate choices, I say let him ride out his term and PR may be ready then. Hell, and I'm not even a Pak Lah supporter or BN voter.
written by coolandy, June 01, 2008 06:50:47
Nice or not nice is irrelevant. He is simply INCOMPETENT to be an effective leader for multiracial Malaysia.

He has to go!.
written by gctham, June 01, 2008 08:56:10
I have voted for PAk LAh in 2004 because you was NICE and clean. But we want this not just because he was so call NICE Aand CLEAN. We want him to clean out so many dirts BUT HE FAILED TOTALLY. We are not asking him to clean all the dirts in 4 years, but he did not do anything that worth mentioning. WE want to stop CORRUPTION BUT HE FAIL. As least let talk about the infamous ZAKARAIA mansion, despite all the coverage, this UNMO fellow seem a real 'UNTOUCHABLE' AND he complete his mansion and some more add salt on inviting all people to visit his mansion. You tell me, if this PAk LAh is worth our vote, am sure he can do something about it. It is that difficult to do?

Anyway, the 2008 GE was the answer.
written by Don Corleone, June 01, 2008 09:38:18
A nice man won't:

1. Charge protestors with attempted murder
2. allow bailout of the PKFTZ
3. nominate a UMNO lawyer to the court of appeals
4. allow Patrick Badawi to alienate land at Penang second crossing
5. allow Idris Jusoh to rape Trengganu
6. allow cronies like the late Zakaria Deros to amass millions at the expense of the poor people
7. allow racist, and sexist comments in Parliament from his own backbenchers
8. allow SCOMI to amass billions in contracts under "negotiated" tender
9. allow demonstrations against PR state governments
10. fly all over the world in a new jet while asking people to adjust to their lifestyles.

Bodohwi a nice man ? Stephen Doss, check the tip of your nose. Even if you deny the existence of the foul smell, you should still be able to see the brown substance on your nose.
written by binkah1, June 01, 2008 10:38:06
He may not be perfect, but comparing to his predecessor or even his deputy, he definately fare much better
written by deemah, June 01, 2008 11:06:44
Stephen Bodek,

Please response to all the comments. You got balls or not?
written by The Hammer, June 01, 2008 18:27:24
If not for Pak lah, i won't be here penning my thots and comments.
I was once "blind" all these years but now i "see"
Thank u for opening my eyes and ears!
Thank you in advance for the total dismantlation and destruction of the corrupt UM##.( you are indeed a Terminator!)
We hope you will join PKR as an adviser in the years to come.
written by Jan, June 01, 2008 21:48:39
Mr Clean?? Yes Yes He will take you to the cleaners before you even know it.
written by fazda, June 03, 2008 01:42:17
Saya melihat saudara Stephen cuba memberi pandangan ikhlas beliau terhadap kepimpinan AAB. Saya setuju dengan pandangan beliau jika ingin dibandingkan dengan kepimpinan TDM. Jarak masa pemerintahan yang terlalu jauh antara mereka menjadikan perbandingan itu tidak adil. Apatah lagi semasa kepimpinan TDM, beliau sendiri mendapat tentangan jauh lebih hebat.

Walaupun kemegahan pemodenan negara membayangi TDM, tetapi nampaknya rakyat telah dikabui mata atau telah lupa bagaimana beliau juga mengamalkan nepotisme dan menjadikan kerajaan dan UMNO dibawah kuasanya. Ketika itu, siapa didalam UMNO berani lawan TDM dan betapa pembangkang amat membencinya sehingga memberi gelaran Mahazalim, Mahafiraun dan sebagainya.

22 tahun ditampuk kuasa tertinggi itu adalah cukup lama. Cukup lama untuk ‘trial and error’, cukup lama untuk mengenal kawan dan lawan, malah boleh dikatakan cukup lama untuk meraih kesenangan diri dan keluarga! Ini dapat dilihat apabila tiga anak lelaki dan tiga orang iparnya masuk ke dalam perniagaan keluarga mereka. Tiga orang iparnya itu adalah Dato’ Jaffar Mohd Ali, Dato’ Ahmad Razali Mohd Ali, dan Dato’ Hashim Mohd Ali, yang menguasai Jasatera Berhad, Goldtron Group, dan DiBena Enterprise, di samping menjadi trustee di puluhan syarikat lain.

Namun, jaringan perniagaan ipar-ipar itu belum apa-apa dibandingkan dengan yang dikuasai oleh Mirzan, Mokhzani dan Mukhriz, yang memimpin atau memiliki saham di lebih dari 210 perusahaan Malaysia. Mokhzani membeli saham Tongkah Holdings Bhd, dan juga menjadi Direktor TRI Bhd. Ketiga-tiga anak TDM ini menjaga pengkhususan penguasaan masing-masing iaitu: Mirzan, di bidang angkutan; Mokhzani di bidang kesihatan; dan Mukhriz di bidang fiber optik dan pelancongan. (Sila rujuk pada Gomez dan Jomo K.S., 1997: 96, 152; Searle, 1999: 97; Backman, 1999: 304-11; Tan, 1999a: 38-9, 80-1, 90-1, 216-7, 340-1, 486-7).
written by fazda, June 03, 2008 01:43:44
Nepotisme TDM ini jugalah telah menjadi sasaran kecaman DSAI, dimana beliau mengkritik bahawa TDM telah menyekat pembangunan ekonomi dengan menjadikan ekonomi ‘untuk bumiputera’ menjadi ‘untuk UMNO-putera’, dan akhirnya menjadi ‘untuk Mahathir-putera’. Oleh kerana kritikan inilah telah mendorong TDM menyingkirkan DSAI dari tampuk pemerintahan, dengan tuduhan korupsi dan sodomi.

Jadi sebenarnya jika TDM kata AAB bohong, beliau sendiri juga membohong selama 22 tahun. Jika dia mendakwa UMNO kini UMNO untuk anak beranak AAB, tetapi dia telah menjadikan Malaysia untuk anak-beranak dan suku-sakatnya sama menumpang tui. Selain itu, TDM sehingga kini tidak habis-habis dengan sikapnya yang suka menyalahkan orang lain. AAB sudah terjerat oleh jerat yang sepatutnya mengena pada DSAI. Tapi DSAI tersungkur lebih awal.

Semasa TDM meninggalkan UMNO juga sebenarnya sudah tenat dengan kes2 rasuah,salahguna kuasa,penyelewengan, skandal seks para menteri-menteri pada ketika itu yang sebenarnya telah menjadi pertikaian dan kemarahan rakyat yang meluap-luap terhadap beliau dan UMNO contohnya;

1.Penyelewengan dan penyalahgunaan kuasa yang melibatkan anak-anaknya yang mempunyai 218 buah syarikat sendirian berhad: Mokhzani (Pantai Holding Bhd, KL City Corp, THB, Tongkah Holding)(Tongkah Medivest Bhd dianugerahkan projek penswastaan hospital support services), Mirzan (KPB, Artwright Holding Bhd, Capetronic, Dataprep, Diperdana, KIG, Lion Corp, Transmile, Worldwide, Mamee-Double Decker, Sunway Building) dan Mukhriz (Ajiya Bhd, Reliance Pacific Bhd)
2.Isu skandal Perwaja yang kerugian berjuta-juta
3.Mengambil wang royalti minyak dari kerajaan Terengganu yang ketika itu kalah di tangan PAS.
4.Isu 12 akta yang menyekat hak asasi manusia termasuk ISA
5.Tiada siasatan terhadap anak Ling Liong Sik yang baru berumur 27 tahun tetapi sudah mempunyai aset bernilai RM1.5 billion.
6.Tiada siasatan terhadap Samy Vellu yang telah mengahwinkan anaknya S.Vell Paari dengan kos yang melebihi RM1 juta.
7.Sejak pemerintahan TDM, TDM yang telah memulakan amalan kerajaan memperkudakan Badan Kehakiman, Jabatan Peguam Negara, PDRM, Jabatan Penyiaran RTM,TV 1,2,3 & 7, SPR dan Jabatan2 lain sebagai alat untuk mencapai cita-cita politik UMNO.
8.Skandal konsensi yang dihadiahkan kepada Renong Group yang diberi keuntungan secara mudah/percuma bila dianugerahkan tanah seluas 27,000 ekar di Gelang Patah, Johor. Harga jual tanah tersebut RM1.00/kaki persegi. Bila projek Link Kedua siap tanah itu dijual semula kepada kerajaan Umno dengan nilai RM10/kaki persegi.
9.Dakwaan rakyat terhadap kerajaan ketika itu yang dikatakan menipu duit rakyat melalui KWSP,KWAP,Tabung Haji, PPRT dan sebagainya.
10.Isu Daim Zainuddin sehingga beliau akhirnya bercanggah pendapat dengan Daim termasuklah melibatkan pengswastaan Pos Malaysia dan juga melibatkan syarikat yang sahamya dipegang oleh Mokhzani. ( Sila rujuk artikel Why Mahathir axed Daim oleh Terence Gomez, 2006)
11.Dan terbaru, kes VK Linggam.

Dan inilah yang secara tidak langsung menjadi beban dan menurunkan merit AAB dan terpaksa diselesaikan. Tidak mungkin dalam masa sepenggal. Tetapi kalau diikutkan logiknya mungkin memerlukan 22 tahun untuk menyusun strategi agar benar-benar dapat membersihkan segala-gala karat dalam UMNO dan sisa-sisa kotor yang ditinggalkan oleh TDM sendiri.