Home arrow Special Reports arrow What do PKR defections mean for Malaysia’s political landscape?

What do PKR defections mean for Malaysia’s political landscape? PDF Print
Saturday, 31 May 2008 10:49

So I think politically and strategically, it is not something that is justified or makes sense for him to make such an announcement. I’m not questioning that Anwar may not have the numbers. What I’m saying is why not now, if you have the numbers? Why wait until September? 

Radio Singapore International 

Nine former leaders of Malaysia’s opposition Parti Keadilan Rakyat or PKR have announced plans to rejoin UMNO.

This follows an earlier announcement by Ezam Mohd Nor, former political secretary to PKR leader, Anwar Ibrahim that he was rejoining UMNO.

Ezam said he was doing so because he liked Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi’s reform plans.

What effect will this party-hopping have on Malaysia’s political landscape?

A question Yvonne Gomez put to Kuala Lumpur-based political analyst, Khoo Kay Peng.

KKP: On the Ezam case, it’s not really party-hopping. I think the UMNO side played it up as if he hopped from PKR to UMNO. Ezam resigned from PKR two years ago and he has been involved in Gerak since then. He’s not been in the mainstream of PKR politics for a number of years now, so the shift from his old alliance back to UMNO again is not really that significant politically.

What about these reported nine ex-Keadilan leaders keen to join UMNO? What about them?

KKP: If you look at a number of them, including Annuar Shaari, the former divisional head of the youth division of Anwar’s constituency, they were already with Ezam since the Gerak days so I think it’s quite natural for Ezam to invite some of these people to join him. And I think Gerak will be dismantled so they need to find a new platform. So again, I don’t think it’s politically very significant. It will be significant if an elected representative from PKR were to move from PKR to UMNO and you see a shift of parliamentary representation in the division’s parliament. Then, I think it will be politically quite significant.

Speaking of that parliamentary representation, leader of PKR and former Deputy PM Anwar Ibrahim, was quite confident of enough defections to form the federal government. What becomes of his plan now?

KKP: Firstly, as a political pundit, I would question why he doesn’t do it now. I mean, what’s the significance of doing it in September? One reason is that when you indicate a period, you allow the other side to also do something to obstruct that move. So I think politically and strategically, it is not something that is justified or makes sense for him to make such an announcement. I’m not questioning that Anwar may not have the numbers. What I’m saying is why not now, if you have the numbers? Why wait until September?

Can you offer some reasons why these ex-Keadilan leaders are keen to join UMNO now?

KKP: It’s very obvious. I think a number of these Keadilan leaders, as I’ve mentioned just now, are aligned to Ezam. So when Ezam makes such a move as the leader of Gerak - the non-profit organization fighting corruption - into UMNO, it’s quite natural for his committee members to follow him, if they support him. For a number of years now, this faction had a fallout with some leaders of PKR so I think it’s also a calculated move for them to go into UMNO and I think the timing is quite crucial in the way I think it’s trying to build a positive vibration within the BN itself, especially with Abdullah Badawi being faced with a barrage of criticism.

Now, one person who hasn’t welcomed Mr Ezam with open arms is Muhyiddin Yassin, who is UMNO’s Vice-President. What is the reason behind his own apprehension about Ezam’s return to UMNO?

KKP: Definitely, people would question his return. Ezam says he’s attracted to the reform agenda, but then again, we have not seen any steps proposed by Gerak. So Muhyiddin Yassin would definitely be asking himself what the main reason is that spurred Ezam to join UMNO. So definitely there is a bit of apprehension.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by islandjoe, May 31, 2008 10:58:27
Was Ezam so supportive of Bodowi's reforms before this? A leech in the grass waiting for the right water buffalo to suck on to. He's also already sprouting out UMNOisms so I don't see him offering any anti-corruption reform from within. UMNO's pillars are built from cronyism, wastage, and corruption.
written by gx27, May 31, 2008 11:08:03
Ezam joining Bodowi to fight in the coming UMNO GE.
He and the gang surely have the look of a leech.
Even Hishamuddin and Muhyiddin are not comfortable and made the comments about Ezam's sincerity publicly now.

Great show coming up !!
written by Ken Liew, May 31, 2008 11:08:41
They are different in Pass and Present!!! If you are able to drag a present PKR leaders to UMno, thats a news.

1st point, how did the leader became the Former Leaders??? If they left the party, they are not responsable to anything in the part, right??

Why make such a BIG news about the issue. Kau nak buktikan Umno masih wangi-kah??? Bau Umno adalah bau najis sahaja!!

BTW, if anyone are trying to fight corruption from within, is like searching food in a pile of najis, you get stink before finding anything.
written by clarity, May 31, 2008 11:09:09
If Ezam serious want to fight against corruption, don't you think it will be better to do it in PR. I mean in UMNO is he going to be so full of righteousness and bravery to confront the likes of AAB, KJ, Najib etc? Don't make me laugh|
written by Milo, May 31, 2008 11:21:06
Ezam knows he has no more place in PKR. His move to UMNO at the time of AAB's greatest need is a good political gamble. If AAB rides the storm, Ezam will once again be a rising star in UMNO. Even if AAB falls, the new UMNO leadership may want to keep him if it is just to use him for neutralising some of DSAI's influence.
written by wartank, May 31, 2008 11:22:09
Defection? What defection?
I'm not sure, but my simple mind seemed to suggest that those people are partyless, ex-members of PKR and before that UMNO who are just waiting to latch on to a desperate party.
I don't see any shift in the political compposition..
..but what does a simple mind like mine know?
written by Kopi37, May 31, 2008 11:27:58
Possibly Ezam is pulling the whole Trojan Horse (Gerak) into UMNO which caused the anxiety and apprehension of Muhyiddin who had planned himself the killer bee of AAB! According to the calculation of the two, Muhyiddin and Najib, AAB's life is now hanging in their balance and anyone steps in to AAB's faction will be like another tiger's encroachment to their domicile! Sure they will put up a fight amid rumbling roar!

The feud within umno is truly far from subsidence and it's the beginning of another new phase 'sibbling rivalry'! The economy and security of the whole Nation will continue to wobble and reel like the aftermath of Sichuan earthquake at magnitude 5.60! Alas!............ smilies/cry.gif
written by Birdbrain, May 31, 2008 11:35:55
The sun just came out shinning brighter. Suddenly the prospects are brighter for PKR. So 2nd Option is out.
Option 2

1. PKR invited 50 honorable MP to cross over(including Pak Lah and Gang)
2. PKR realised they just got rid of the rubbish gathered by Ezam.
3. PAS believes to move forward,thus to remain with PR Progressive Islam.(Screw
Islam Hadhari)
4. DSAI gambles with new era, Malaysian first!
5. DSAI feels Pakatan Rakyat is more important than PKR.

Mahathir and Najis can keep their UMNO

So it's better to move forward and start a new life by working with all Malaysians. This will guarantee 50 years of more good things to come for all Malaysians including our East Malaysian friends.

WELCOME to the party!

Hidup Rakyat!

I like the sunny day!

COO COO COOKOO!
written by gx27, May 31, 2008 11:39:02
UMNO = WWF
TDM = H Hogan
written by Silence is not consent, May 31, 2008 11:47:33
Ezam's move is timed to coincide with the void in UMNO Youth created by the sudden lack of candidates for the top job there... KJ out, Khir (dun make me laugh), MM out, Incumbent moving up and out.... nobody left...
written by Lim Lim, May 31, 2008 12:05:22
in football terms,bodowi currently does not hav anybody that has the calibre to achieve or holding a score of "clean sheet" against the mahathir onslaughts or counter attacks as far as corruption issues are concerned,in which the same game format bodowi's team is playing along that similar line to get that 'toon';he needs some fresh legs n ezam is one the player he has managed to hired n send out from the bench to play along n perform the counter attacks as well.....the current ones on the field are either jus too ladened with 'heavy luggages' or not so willing to play as per bodowi's game plan!
written by antares, May 31, 2008 12:30:07
This EZAM the KEPALA KODOK of the other KODOKs forgotten to mentioned how much RM they managed to squeeze for this wayang? They are nothing more than individual political ****ING BASTARDS trading deal - bottom line is RM, but how much? BR people take note!
Sorry to say, EZAM and the rest of his ****ing morons followers doesn't make the usual politician KATAK benchmark, only at the KODOK kampung level. Does these six KODOKs think that they will undermine the Barisan Rakyat, any significant impact to the Malaysian political direction? I bet these KODOKs will be eaten alive by UMNO taikos and what ever left later on by BR rakyat! EZAM and kuncus, you better take your money and run for your life while you can.
(P.S. – for those who are you are unfamiliar what is a KODOK - people feed KODOK to ferocious TOMANs, and haruan kakis use KODOK to tipu Haruan!)
written by MNor, May 31, 2008 12:38:19
Ezam is just like what the malay proverbs use to say ,kalau anjing dah biasa makan itu "barang" kalau tak makanpun bau sudah cukup' so you see, when you are use to leave on such a life, can you survive being a scumbag!! tak boileh lo...
written by Ckchew, May 31, 2008 12:54:31
Alahai, annuar shaari! dalam pemilu 2008, 8 Mac lalu, beliau berdiri di atas pentas umno sepanjang kempen utk menjatuhkan keADILan di parliamen permatang pauh tetapi apakah keputusan pilihanraya tersebut?

Majoriti kemenangan keADILan melonjak dari ratusan undi pada 2004 kepada puluhan ribu & kemenangan datang dari kawasan umno karat yg si shaari berkhemah. Apa maknanya? Rakyat meluat & mual dengan orang sebegini!!!!

Bagi ezam pula, orang-orang umno perlu berhati-hati kerana beliau akan menjadi deputy sheriff ala amerika utk memastikan lawan-lawan dollah lembik terkubur.
bermula dengan anak toyo & kemudian anak mahashit seterusnya muhyiddin, satu-satunya akan dicantas memberi laluan mudah kepada si lembik & menantu beruk, taukeh baru mat ezam.
written by ahmadnavi, May 31, 2008 13:06:45
Ezam has indicated that he wishes to be the president of UMNO Youth. AAB must have promised him support as well as money would have changed hands for Ezam to be influenced. Some apple polishing friends of his follow. So what? Ezam ceased being a member of PKR a year or more ago. His joining UMNO is not PKR's lose. Why make it out to be such?
AAB will probably use Ezam to counter Mukriz. Meanwhile, the MSM will drum up the whole affair as one big victory for UMNO and BN. The whole thing stinks.
written by fireduck, May 31, 2008 13:15:12
Maybe the prelude to the mother of all betrayals. We will wait and see......
written by Mr Smith, May 31, 2008 13:23:34
Why are we making such a hoo-ha over this Ezam issue? The whole so called exodus from PKR to UMNO is a non issue. How can nine nondescript men, who had made no significant contribution to their party or conviction bring about untold strength to UMNO. Is UMNO so bankrupt of leaders that these nine political unknowns bring a reversal in its fortunes?
The problem is the UMNO president is clutching at straws to redeem himself. Any nincompoop can now join UMNO and he will be given a PM handshake and airtime on national TV. The show ends there.
The status quo remains.
It's all about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$?

written by charli88, May 31, 2008 14:01:50
Since TDM times, Malaysia politic is always self-centred for power and money. They are never fair and sincere. That's why Rakyat Jelata suffer. The truth is sooooo simple - when you look at how people live in urban and rural areas in terms of public utilities, public education, public transport system, public safety etc etc etc, you know how these politicians / gomen have done for the Rakyat Jelata. Let's be specific, what has Gerak done under Ezam ? He's opportunist by looking at his eyes when he speak. Another liar.
written by cllim123, May 31, 2008 14:20:30
These ex PKR fellas thought they would hav eit easy in PKR but found out that the feudal system does not exist there. They thot they could not hack it in UMNO those days so they thot better join PKR for better chance to get to the top. They found out they could not and not looking at UMNO they say now the top dogs there are fighting for support. They can be useful and offer some votes in the next general assembly. so maybe there got chance. A vote means everything now, so maybe can get some projects here and there?
written by technoboy, May 31, 2008 14:47:10
Surely a buaya will not feel comfortable to have another buaya back in the same pond to cari makan lah, so UMNO is nothing but a bunch of buayas waiting for opportunities to strike rich and in so doing they use all sort of under hand tactics including using race and religion as we have seen in TDM's recent action, SHAME, SHAME to these bunch of UMNO crooks.
written by mwrmmg, May 31, 2008 15:36:16
Ezam to fight corruption? really?. Whom really has fight corruption? including DSAI! All just talk.

If Ezam to fight corruption then he should start with SIL.

But that is not going to happen!

SIL is the one bringing Ezam, they're buddies.
SIL already losing clout in grass root UMNO
SIL will use Ezam to whack Mukhriz and Khir Toyo and maybe Najib.

This will also paved the way for DSAI to return to UMNO.
AAB has the final word in this, since all the pembesar UMNO are just yes men, while the Level 4 boys spins the wheel that will roll in DSAI.

AAB will probably declare PKR into UMNO for Malay unity and hence, call for snap election to gain fresh mandate lost in 12 GE. ( there is another possiblity here apart from below...)

DSAI will probably declared UMNO reformed under AAB to reason his re-entry.

THE TRUTH IS, DSAI knew all along that there is no way PR can lead the country with coalition between opposites of PAS and DAP. It will never work. To win vote during election, Yes. But when it comes to running a country, PAS and DAp will not agree on many terms. So time is ripe for DSAI to enter UMNO. TDM is out too. Mokhzani out. Not surprised if Mukriz got sacked - there's already talk of within heads of UMNO about that.

So the future for DSAI is still UMNO. DSAI has so much fund to buy his way inside UMNO.

He will become PM thru UMNO and later SIL as the youngest PM.

In politics, imagine the unthinkable......it has always been!!!!
written by densemy, May 31, 2008 19:22:34
Answer: VERY LITTLE...

Within a few days another crisis will arise and these minor fence jumpers will be completely forgotten
written by sonofman0, May 31, 2008 19:39:56
Is this the vanguard for "the man with the numbers" who has not delivered the slightest proof of "the numbers" so far?
written by Fernz, May 31, 2008 19:47:41
Ezam is a Trojan horse in Umno for Anwar. Everything has been arranged.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com
written by Rozlan, May 31, 2008 20:27:14
Speaking of that parliamentary representation, leader of PKR and former Deputy PM Anwar Ibrahim, was quite confident of enough defections to form the federal government. What becomes of his plan now?

KKP: Firstly, as a political pundit, I would question why he doesn’t do it now. I mean, what’s the significance of doing it in September? One reason is that when you indicate a period, you allow the other side to also do something to obstruct that move. So I think politically and strategically, it is not something that is justified or makes sense for him to make such an announcement. I’m not questioning that Anwar may not have the numbers. What I’m saying is why not now, if you have the numbers? Why wait until September?

Frankly speaking I personally quite sceptical wheter its true DSAI do have 30 BN parliementarians in his pocket...I think its more on shouting from far to rattle BN confidence..A good tactic but it wont last long..

You see right now the jumping issues more or less had started to fade away..We mus remember BN parliementarians principles are one..RM.If DSAI have more carrot for sure they will come licking his feet..I am very sure Pakatan Rakyat dont have that kind of money..Furthermore Idont trust those people

Its best Pakatan Rakyat start to serve people better and they should make their roots grow in public hearts so that more seat will be won next election..
written by tryme, June 01, 2008 14:41:38
An ancient chinese said "Not going into the Tiger cave, how to get the tiger cub" thats why he bring along all the Gerak members to join UMNO in order for them to dig out as much as evidence of corruption as they can.

Please think about this, if someone really fight for the corruption and form the Gerak, are they willing to join back those corrupted party? that is not they principle at all. So, time will proof to it.

However, his moves also achieve the goal of AAB to increase his reputation in the UMNO since after being attack by TDM all the while and also given a statement that no member will left UMNO but more ppl will join UMNO.

but why ABB had never alert about the Ezam motive? why he is accepting him while may oppose by most of the UMNO members? what is the agreement between them? Just because of the "Face" between him and TDM? why najib is agree too?

Why najib always follow AAB? or AAB always follow najib instruction? or any evidences on AAB or khairy's hand? haha.... let you all guess
written by shamadz72, June 02, 2008 16:46:03
written by mwrmmg, May 31, 2008 | 15:36:16

Ezam to fight corruption? really?. Whom really has fight corruption? including DSAI! All just talk.

-----

You are wrong there. Actually DSAI has tried to fight corruption before by trying to pass the law in parliament when he had a short stint of power as acting PM (when Dr.M was on leave for 3 months) to give power to ACA to investigate past corruption cases. However, as expected when Dr.M came back he reverse it all....