Not Right To Ignore FAM, Says Azalina PDF Print
Friday, 30 May 2008 14:32
SHAH ALAM, May (Bernama) -- Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said, who was Youth and Sports Minister previously, said Thursday it was not right that the organisers of the Champions Youth Cup (CYC) football competition had neglected the FA of Malaysia (FAM).

The second edition of the tournament organised by Gifted Group Limited (GGL) at a cost of RM17 million and scheduled to be held from Aug 5 to 16 had to be called off after it did not get the sanction of the FAM, who are the football governing body in the country.

Azalina, who was on an official visit to Selangor in her capacity as Tourism Minister, said this to reporters here when asked to comment on the debacle.

She said that when she was the Youth and Sports Minister, the idea to have the tournament was brought up at a meeting of the Cabinet Committee on Sports Development, which is represented by 15 other ministers and chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

"It was a decision of the committee to organise the tournament. I was also disappointed when I got to know the promoter did not want to work with the FAM on it.

"For me, it was the most important thing they should have paid attention to," she said.

-- BERNAMA

Excerpt below taken from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_Association_of_Malaysia

The FAM after years have been subject to criticism by many including the locals. Many fans are unhappy with the ever changing league format and the decline in the standard in the local league and national team. The fact that the FAM introduces ad hoc decisions has also marred its relationship with several state affliliates. There was a stage when the FAM allowed 4 imports, but within months changed its ruling to only allowing 3 to be eligible for every affliate, making teams loose out on compensation over termination of foreign players contracts. A recent spat over the FAM's unprofessionalism saw the Football Association of Sarawak (FAS) denied its 3-1 victory for the suspicion of fielding an ineligible player due to the FAM's ruling which only came into effect after the player played put Sarawak back into rough waters with its parent body and although the player was mysteriously allowed to play after half of the season has ended, many fans are still unhappy that FAS remains the only association under the microscope of the FAM.

The FAM has also been recently underfire from the press and the local football fans due to its dismal performance in the Asian Cup where the Malaysian team lost all its games to China 5-1, Uzbekistan 5-0 and finally Iran 2-0. The FAM then "claimed" that major revamps are underway to help Malaysia raise its footballing standards.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by shan, May 30, 2008 14:49:22
We are out to eradicate corruption,so Darling stay out,cos you stink. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by krising1, May 30, 2008 14:55:34
To this day I have never ubnderstood why they kicked Singapore out of the Malaysia Cup. Those were great days with great interest in football and most importantly fantastic gete collections. It wasnt broken, why did they fix it?

Azzzz dear, next time stand for election outside your safe seat of Johore. And we will make sure that your a..e is whipped!
written by wartank, May 30, 2008 15:03:54
Leave the sports to the profesionals! Invite and engage the right people for the job.
There are more pressing matters for politicians to tend to.
Just provide the support when needed.

Or.. are there $$$ to be made here.??
written by mob1900, May 30, 2008 15:06:14
Why does a Tourism Minister making remarks on Sports?
Salah masuk department kot?
written by budakindia, May 30, 2008 15:21:44
It's not right also to cancel the MoU between the 5 states. Just because they are not in UMNO hands anymore. smilies/cheesy.gif Azalina please don't be a busybody!
written by ilovepakatan, May 30, 2008 15:27:15
Football is not just 22 people with balls chasing a ball. What does she knows about football? Politicians should stay out of sports. Let the real expert of the sport handle the business.
written by Malaysia Digest, May 30, 2008 15:37:38
I think the promoter know KJ was behind FAMS.

Malaysia Digest
written by DanDan, May 30, 2008 16:08:08
Azooleen-ah, your term is over. You only know how to squander the $$$$ from the Sports Ministry and never interested to promote sports especially football. So now, stay out and don't interfere. We are more disappointed in you than you disappointed in FAM. Any improvement shown by the football team during your term??? A Big Fat None.

written by Democrats, May 30, 2008 16:11:37
FAM is really stupid.

Our FIFA football ranking is falling, and they still cannot figure out why.

Our domestic league is a joke. Yes, spend some time watching the telecast. its like getting punished to see it.

written by justice4all, May 30, 2008 16:50:03
Yes, sweetheart, but didn't the ignoring of FAM take place when YOU were the Sports Minister?? Now, you say you are disappointed,so what the hell did you do about it? Politicians have more slithers than most serpents.
written by MasterBlaster, May 30, 2008 16:50:42
Now don't you go getting distracted when a good looking chick walks by!
written by smalluncle, May 30, 2008 18:17:42
Azz is stepping on mines filled land. Learn from your comrads how to use words like " NO COMMENTS " , "PLEASE ASK THE SPORTS MINISTER" , "I DON'T KNOW" "I DON'T REMEMBER" "IT SOUND LIKE IT, LOOKS LIKE IT, UT ITS NOT IT"
written by Watcheyes1, May 30, 2008 18:38:53
Azalina just mind your own business lah. You just take care of tourism and let the sports minister handle the football issue. Semua pun mau masuk campur meh! Why you got something with FAM ha? $$$$$$$$$$$ may be???
written by Evol, May 30, 2008 18:51:50
Dear all,

If my memory serve me well, the CYC contract/agreement was sign by Ms Azalina during the previous cabinet when she was the Sports & Youth Minister, why don't she explain the contract or agreement was sign without the consent of FAM rather than pushing the ball to current minister?

EVOL for LOVE
written by Kritz, May 30, 2008 19:05:42
written by malaysia devil, May 30, 2008 19:39:41
Ezam Turns Out To Be "A Rose Has Many Thorns"
"Ezam to make a timely move back to Umno". Malaysians absolutely shocked, but not to be surprised as the signs of Ezam's intention long before this had happened. Plans and intention of Ezam Mat Nor was there long before. He was waiting for UMNO to offer him a seat during March election but the offer never came through. If the offer was solid, Ezam would've jump to UMNO a long time ago.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.******...-many.html
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 30, 2008 20:16:27
Busy-body punya lesboy, pandai buat kacau saja.
written by joeawk, May 30, 2008 23:41:58
She is talking cock.
written by shissun, May 31, 2008 00:03:15
Football in Malaysia, another money wasting activities in the midst of economy hardship. Tell FAM, want to play football, find your own money! Telekom money is also our money.
written by sdcsrcc, May 31, 2008 02:25:47
Azalina, take a look at the fifa world ranking for football before you start commenting . We are number 169....and do you know who got us there ??It s only FAM!!

It s about independent association to formulate and get involved in the local football scene.

Stick to tourism which you yourself know little of!

written by Don Corleone, May 31, 2008 08:11:21
Azalina:

Go court Maya Karin, and leave the big boys alone.
written by sufc, May 31, 2008 09:26:29
azalina,

shut up!!!
written by gx27, May 31, 2008 11:55:13
not respecting FAM means not respecting KJ. tauka? smilies/grin.gif
written by New Frontier, May 31, 2008 23:46:43
Tak payah ada team bola kat Malaysialah. Lawan Vietnam, Laos & Kemboja yang training kat padang yang penuh minefields pun kalah. FAM buat perabis beras je, baik duit elaun diaorang tu bagi kat sekolah-sekolah boleh juga tampung yuran tuisyen.
written by agadam magadam, June 01, 2008 02:51:21
Hey Lesbo, what did you do for a World Class Malaysian Rally driver; KAramjit Singh, who has proven himself when you were in control ??
No sponsorship, b'cos he no Bumi ??> Get Lost Les, Not wanted anywhere.
Get that shit out of your head and do something at least for Port Dickson, and do it fast, 'cos your days are numbered.. Promote PD lah, Les.. Penang and Langkawi - main tourist destinations for foreigners, fell into the right hands now.. PD and Melaka left for you.. Do something fast for these 2 States/Towns while you are in Tourism.. and then in the next elections, both these States will also fall into PR hands...