Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Press Release by the Former Political Secretary to the Former Chief Minister of Penang

Press Release by the Former Political Secretary to the Former Chief Minister of Penang PDF Print
Friday, 30 May 2008 11:57

GIVE DUE CREDIT TO PREVIOUS GOVERNMENT’S EFFORT IN PROMOTING FDI

Recently, Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng has been publicising and claiming credit for two (2) high-profile foreign direct investments (FDI) into Penang from Japan’s Ibiden Co. Ltd (RM1.2 billion) and USA’s Honeywell (RM115.0 million). 

Such publicity was obviously aimed at giving the impression that these investments are solely the result of the new state government’s efforts in investment promotion within a short span of the past two (2) months. 

In fact, in each of these two (2) cases, the new Chief Minister hurriedly called a press conference to claim credit the day after MIDA Headquarters in Kuala Lumpur made the announcement in the presence of MIDA Director-General and MITI Minister respectively.

These announcements did not at all acknowledge the crucial roles the previous state government, under Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, played in convincing the investors to locate here, together with the Malaysian Industrial Development Authority (MIDA) and the Federal Treasury.

To set the record straight, the effort of the new government in the last two (2) months merely represented the final short phase of a long process of promotion and negotiation stretching back one (1) to two (2) years.   

Multi-national companies always take time to assess economic feasibility, logistics, local supply chain and human resources, fiscal and tax incentives, etc.  They compare and visit many localities in different countries before deciding.  Convincing investors during this “due diligence” phase is the most challenging and crucial aspect of investment promotion.

In the case of Ibiden, the entire process took two (2) years as explained by Ibiden’s Executive Officer, Sotaro Ito, in the most recent press conference.  MIDA and investPenang have been working hard to pursue Ibiden.  Dr Koh himself personally visited Ibiden’s headquarters near Nagoya, Japan on 19 July 2007 and met with their top management to present a strong case for Penang.  (see picture)

In Honeywell’s case, the process also took considerable time and effort.  The decision to invest in Penang was actually made and reported in the U.S. press on 28 February this year.  Besides MIDA and investPenang, some local Penang businessmen also played a key role in helping to convince Honeywell. 

As such, it is only fair and proper that the new state government honestly give due credit to the previous state administration, as well as to MIDA and the Treasury for the work that they have done.   

The new state government’s own real ability in attracting FDI can be better gauged in one to two years’ time.  For now, they should not just ride on the previous government’s effort.  Neither should they claim all the credit where credit is not due.  At most, they merely added the finishing touch to a long and challenging process.

(Mark Ooi Swee Hing)

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by kc respect, May 30, 2008 12:04:04
Well done!! Gerakan. Congratulations for bring in FDI... blah... blah...
Happy???? NOW, HOW MUCH DID YOU BASTARDS POCKET FROM THESE FDIs????
agree 117
written by pkler, May 30, 2008 12:04:10
If Lim is supposed to give due credit to Koh than he should be allowed to give due shit to him as well for things that did not go well in the recent pass-will you agree to that Mark?
agree 150
written by picadilly, May 30, 2008 12:05:48

does that mean KTK can run away without answering allgations againts him??
please anwser dear FORMER Political secretary Of FORMER Chief Minister!!

what bullshit is this?

written by cheemengwong, May 30, 2008 12:07:10
If Dr. Koh retains the CM posts and with the PRU 8's results, I think this 2 FDI would not materialize.

Becos DAP won, the confidence was restored and they maintain and expedited the investments.

BRAVO LGE!!!

In the meantime, can Dr. Koh have a meeting with LGE to resolve all outstanding issues. If this is done, I think more FDIs will roll into Penang. I may also shift my home to Penang!
written by mypanida, May 30, 2008 12:08:13
the BN gomen wasn't even helpful during the transition period by destroying the files.
The Pakatan gomen should prosecuting those culprits.
Mark Ooi Swee Hing is one of them.
written by Commonsenses, May 30, 2008 12:08:50
Look at how the previous state government people try to play goody2 image. The current state government wants answers to many land premuim discount issues and turf club development proposal explained and how u guys went to sleep with AAB family and good friend Patrick Lim bypassing all necessary development procedures. Many good initiatives does not absolved you guys for many wrongs u guys have done to the people of Penang.
written by billykbk, May 30, 2008 12:08:54
To put the record straight, Mark Ooi, pls ask your former boss to meet NEW CM Guan Eng. I think Penangites are still waiting for Koh to answer A LOT OF QUESTIONS!!!.....If your ex-boss got no balls, don't even you dare talk about this deal, moron!
written by freedom lover, May 30, 2008 12:09:15
Mr Lim Guan Eng is not claiming credit and neither he is accepting blame for all past actions of the previous government. Lets hear from the current press secretary to the current chief minister!
written by middlepath, May 30, 2008 12:16:12
yes, we can give credit to Koh TzuKoon, we should also give credit to the new pakatan government, that the FDI is not affected despite all the politic and hoo haa of the BN and Umno gov, the FDI confidents in the Penang state gov of the Pakatan Rakyat, infact, the CAT (credibility, Accountibility, Transparency) will attract more FDI.
we need to continue to work together, as such, the pakatan Rakyat, give due credit to the BN and thats why CM Lim Guan Eng take in the Lee Kah Choon even though he is from the BN and Gerakan gov, pakatan rakyat is not playing politic, they are raise above the partisan politic, this is the new paradigm,
whether you are white cat or black cat, if you can catch the mouse, we like you as a cat, (CAT). but the BN and Gerakak, play politic, ask Lee Kah Choon to resign from the Gerakan,
now Pakatan rakyat in Selangor also offer the Tan Kee Kuong to be the land office chief chairman, to clean up the land problem, again the Najisb make noise, asking Tan to resign from Gerakan,BN,
UMno=BN is playing politic, they only interested in CAG (corruption,Arrogant,Greedy), the policy to take care of the system and rakyat, they dont care, Umno,BN dont interested in those, they only want $,
they dont question their policy, in Bandar Mahkota Cheras ?
the wrong privatize policy,
privatization project of government is to get the detail study and proposal from the private company, Grand Saga, the privatize project support to save the government $ and benefit the rakyat,?
but this case of BMC cheras case, they are aginst all common sense,
so even if the case is within the law that say Grans Saga is right,
on moral ground, on the common sense, without prejudice, the
federal gov must stand up and raise above to take care of the rakyat,
admit the mistake apologize and move on,

the common sense, the logic, integrity must come in......
shit, umno=BN = go to hell
written by shan, May 30, 2008 12:37:04
Eh, Tsu koon don't make a monkey of yourselve,You are out and stay out,.Even if you were to take the monkeys to space now,we are not bothered,SHUT UP AND STAY AT HOME OR WE MIGHT LOCK YOU UP IN THE MONKEY CAGE ,YOU MONKEY BOY
written by shan, May 30, 2008 12:39:05
written by indianputra, May 30, 2008 12:45:02
Mark Ooi Swee Hing, you must understand that there is continuity.. You may have planted the seed, but others are picking the fruits and only those who pick up the fruits taste it and feel satisfied. You sound like a sore looser.

Ok, let me challenge you.. call for a press conference and explain the millions of questionable land deals that took place during KTK's regime! Also explain to the Rakyat the request for 5 billion dollars from the PM during the time of KTK.. Also, give us an explanation of the financial crisis at Perai Town Council..
written by Catharsis, May 30, 2008 12:49:08
SORRY MATE- IT IS TOO LATE NOW TO CLAIM CREDIT FOR THE "FOUNDATION LAYING WORK" WHEN YOU HAVE TAKEN AWAY ALL THOSE FILES WITH YOU WHEN YOU LEFT OFFICE.

YOU SHOULD INITIATED A SYTEMATIC HANDLE OVER ..............BUT YOU CHOSE OTHERWISE, GOES TO SHOW YOUR IMMATURITY EVENTHOUGH YOU HAVE A DOCTORATE THAT OBVIOUSLY DID NOT GIVE YOU THAT DISCIPLINE AS A STATESMAN OF EXCELLENCE
written by Democrats, May 30, 2008 12:54:58
True, FDI doesn't just happen. Takes alot of negotiation, and convincing.

On the other hand, the foreign investors didn't pull out because the state government is in new hands, i.e. they believe the new government led by LGE to be as good if not better, which would solidify their investment.

Plus the fact, i doubt LGE want to claim credit, for someone who flys economy class. Pride, credit, accolades, title- would be the last thing on his mind.

He's just telling it out to people - dissemintation of information. Unlike BN, bad news and shoddy deals sweep under the carpet, good news advertise out with PR campaign.
written by KARMANNGHIA, May 30, 2008 12:59:23
Hi Mark,

Give due credit, yes, yes and yes.

but can you proof that this FDI is the previous administration's effort? can you really proof that?

I am sure many Malaysians wtill remembers MOTOROLA, should due credit be given for exchanging RM 1 billion for RM 300 million?

Answer me these 2 simple question or forever keep your crap to yourself.

I hate dogs.

written by Mr Smith, May 30, 2008 13:26:09
We give you credit. thats why Gerakan was voted out. You blow your trumpet over one issue. But what about the many other scandals. You want credit for them too.
In any case the investor must have some faith in the new government to come here.
written by joejoe, May 30, 2008 13:35:57
Yes .. Give Gerakan due credit for its accomplishment and also for the corruption, shady land deals, misguided developments and all the rest of the sh*t they left behind.
written by apanama, May 30, 2008 13:35:58
hey. YOU WANT TO CLAIM CREDIT FOR THESE TWO FDIs? WELL, OK. GO AHEAD!

BUT DO YOU ALSO WANT TO CLAIM DISCREDIT FOR ALL THE FUKCING CORRUPTION IN GERAKAN-LED GOVERNMENT? LAND SCAM, CONTRACT-FOR-FDI MOTOROLA SCAM?
NO?
written by non conformist, May 30, 2008 13:39:38
Bottom line:
Working hard to bring in FDI to the State deserves no praise nor any credit, for it is your duties and obligations as representatives of the State Government. You have amply rewarded yourself in doing so.

If you are worthy of any credit or praise, good men will render them to you willingly and sincerely. To fish for it is DISGRACE.

Squandering and abusing State's resources is CRIMINAL.

So cease blowing your own trumpet, lest you annoy more thinking Rakyat!

Blowing your own trumpet does not lessen your quilt of corruptions in other areas.
written by coolmint308, May 30, 2008 13:44:23
I agreed with Democrat's point of view.

I suggest that LGE is doing his usual annoucement, not blowing the trumpet as he was being accused of, as a good and consciencious leader who wants the Rakyat to know what is happening in the state since the new government took over. This is important as I see it, as timely information dissemination plus good news give rise to confidence in the Rakyat on the economic development of the state, which is much needed. They deserve to know first hand and early. Any good leader would want to do that. It's only those who is wallowing in self-pity and perhaps overcame with envy/ resentment, that will accuse the good leadership in LGE. That I believe was politics of envy, self-centreness, and self-enrichment! Keep it up LGE for the good and honest work, for the benefit of the Rakyat!
written by Ray, May 30, 2008 13:44:47
Mark,
For two years your boss could not close the deal because of his flip flop decision. LGE sealed it up in 3 mths. You and your boss better go and fly kite.
written by unomalaysia, May 30, 2008 14:26:22
I agree with pkler. If Mark Ooi wants KTK to take credit for these 2 new FDI then he must also take credit for all the shit now floating to the surface. My take is this, Ibiden and Honeywell made the final decision to invest in Penang after PR took over knowing that they will no longer have to grease palms to get things done. Still undecided when corrupted BN was in charge and decided immediately after PR took over. Goes to prove that uncorrupted government will be a magnet for FDI. So to the rest of the BN controlled states.. keep waiting lah.
written by ONGJJJ, May 30, 2008 14:37:07
"To set the record straight, the effort of the new government in the last two (2) months merely represented the final short phase of a long process of promotion and negotiation stretching back one (1) to two (2) years." Ya, ya....the final short phase is the most important phase like crossing the finishing line in a race or signing an agreement. You should continue to work with present Government to promote and ink agreements rather than whining or claimin credit or asking your fellow party members who want to serve the Rakyat to show cause. Sudah laaa Gerakan.
written by chanatak, May 30, 2008 14:51:13
When has these perverted logic begun to take root in Malaysia : -

1) If someone has done something good, then everybody should forget about the dishonest and criminal things he has done?

2) If someone is a public figure, he can still screw around and be a bad role model while claiming he is entitled to a "private life"?

3) If someone confesses to his sins once he is apprehended, everybody should forget him and look the other way?

Do we not see how perverted this kind of logic is?

Mark Ooi has the same perverted logic

written by Kopi37, May 30, 2008 15:08:24
Despite all the odds, legs pulling, back stabbings, erased of data files, working in the dark yet LGE and Lee Kah Choon manage to expedite and seal up the deal with the MNC! This is the credit we are talking about deservedly awarded to the new State Administration! The run away "queen" wanted a crown of the glory? Shit!

He better thinks of how to wash his ass clean and face the public to explain how all the public assets and funds of PDC had been siphoned to where and whom?! smilies/angry.gif
written by fairnessforall, May 30, 2008 15:13:00
dmh1871, the saying you mentioned should be 'lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama'. Ghee is made from cows milk and not from oil, hence the saying.

As for what this former press secretary is saying, why does he not issue press statements on all the corruption done by the former government of Penang.
written by cruzeiro, May 30, 2008 15:25:47
These announcements did not at all acknowledge the crucial roles the previous state government, under Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, played in convincing the investors to locate here, together with the Malaysian Industrial Development Authority (MIDA) and the Federal Treasury.
===================================

First you deny the Babi project under BN. When people give credit to BN about babi project in Selangor, you guys pull a long face .....

Now you guys want credit for some projects.

Make up your minds lah ...... there are a lot of things we wanna give you credit for!
Yenna Dei?
written by liayeo, May 30, 2008 15:37:01
Don't think YB LGE took credit for it. They mere state that the Japanese are confident with the new Government to continue with the investment.
written by jjireh99, May 30, 2008 18:03:17
I totally, totally agree with middlepath. I have very high respect for CM LGE. Why boast now when you are down and out? Again, we are all not small children and fools to be fooled by any statement/s coming out by the previous gomen. Let CM LGE do his job quietly and efficiently and again, please stop all your nonsense in trying to "test" the present administration whether they are doing a good job or not. Heck, you all fellas have been doing all nonsense for the last, how many years?? CM LGE has got 5 years to prove himself and it's no easy task, like they say, to clean up all the former "shit" thrown by the previous gomen. We are willing to give CM LGE all the time he needs, even up to 20 years!!!! BTW, I hope you all don't insult all the dogs, cats and monkeys with our politicians. They happened to have more credence than any one of them. I love dogs passionately, btw.
written by smalluncle, May 30, 2008 18:29:44
Although Gerakan has intiated the negotiation, however, the most crucial in any negotiation, or decision making is at the final deciding moment. In this case, for Penang, everyting is so different, New Government, more so from PR, which is opposing to Federal run by BN.

These investors must have assess horoughly before moving to a PR run Penang.

If going by the Gerakan argument, then we should give credit to Party Bab Negara for the Kinjir project approved in Selangor. How come UMNO did not make such demand to be given such due credit???
written by rainmanpj, May 30, 2008 18:53:12
Dear Mark Ooi Swee Hing,
Likewise , all corruption , losses of land (PGCC,etc) ,cronism ,rascism, for the past 18 years should be credited to gerakan and BN. But how come no one claim credit for that ???
So you are full of shit.
You will get my vote when I am in my grave ( presumely my ghost vote will be casted by I don't who )
written by Watcheyes1, May 30, 2008 20:30:08
Yalah the foreign companies took so long to make their decision because they were not confident with BN but now they have confident with PR and agreed to invest.

Peace!
written by Eskay Lim, May 30, 2008 21:39:16
BRAVO Mr. Mark Ooi,
Do you want the people of Penang to create a "trophy" and present it to our ex-CM and say "well done"?
Dr. KTK has had lots & lots of "praises" for jobs well done during his 18 years as chief Minister of Penang, and during that period had also brought havoc to the "Pearl of the Orient". That's the reason your Gerakan got fu**ed up during the GE-12.
You remember too, that Dr.KTK also drew his salary & perks. He did not do it as charity.
written by maverick, May 30, 2008 22:40:11
what credit do you want?

if koh have been talking to those people so long, then why did he not wrap it up? was the delay caused by an asking price that is too high??

if he wants the credit, then please also explain why can't it be wrap up while he was still in office. looser!
written by Kopi37, May 30, 2008 22:52:20
In politics, I call this 'tactics of detour'!

Mark Ooi built a temporary road and take along all the commuters' attention to the another scenario of 'claiming credits' for his boss! The sole intention is to divert the public attentions and the general focus on the misdeeds and mal-practices that possibly had been involved by the ex-Administration!

This can only work in the past where the conventional press medias played the monopoly of press release! With the creation of the blogosphere, these tactics had become outdated! KTK somehow must be responsible and be answerable to the many alledged mishandlings, manipulations, breach of public's interests, land deal scandals, collaborated corrupt practices etc.etc. No point he is playing this kind of seek and hide childhood game when he is at the age of 60 and surely, this is not a PhD's code and ethics!

KTK, please talk sense and if you still wish Gerakan to gain back confidence of Penangites, prove that you are a man and face up to the problems and clear all the lousy issues that had haunted the Penangites for long! You cannot run away from the day of reckoning! It's near, very near!!..............
written by smeagrooo, May 31, 2008 01:11:34
WTf! U bring in 50 billion but rob 60 billion how to kira and say thank you?

It is like Zakaria the happy dead cock giving a lavish sate treat in his mansion after robbing the poor rakyat and saying" nah, eat this and be thankful u even hv sate to savour"
written by Heaven8402, May 31, 2008 02:15:46
Dear Mark,
Job well done you little ass kissing creature! Gerakan must have every penny worth having you around.
Hmmm, maybe widening the road of Tanjong Tokong is a major project to him. Stop talk cock. Tell KTK to come out as a gentlemen ( with balls of course!) and answer to our Penang CM, unless your boss don't have any!!!!!
Well Penangites sees Gerakan as a sleeping beauty and thats why you all lose during GE-12. Wake up brother!
written by shiokguy, May 31, 2008 02:27:22
Without Prejudice
Like that also need to win some face back?
Sound very Cheap Cheap to me..

Anyway, may be those companies are delaying because the previous state government lack of CAT? May be.. What do you think?

Do me a favor, kind take part in the NS Poll at my blog. Poll closed in 24 Hours

Take the poll here http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by ultraman, May 31, 2008 09:36:47
Hey Marki,
You sound like sour grapes. Don't brag around la. No one will ever listen to corrupted govenment any more. If you really want to help Penang, Get your ball-less Koh to come an explain to Lim Guan Eng the million ringgit land scandal.
Why must that fuker Bunga TAnjung or whatever ever ****ing SHIT name gave away the thousand of ringgit to BAKTI when there are so many needy one in Penang? Where are all those computers and files that the pariah excos abscoded with when they are whagged like dogs during the last election?
SHAME ON YOU AND KOH TSU KHOON AND EXCOS?
IF YOU SHUT UP IT WOULD DO YOU A LOT OF GOOD!!! GO TO JOHORE TO START A NEW GERAKAN. IN PENANG TAK LAKU ALREADY!!! BYE-BYE GERAKAN IN PENANG!!!
written by SL Chan, June 01, 2008 00:54:37
Better shutup and cut all the crap...Honestly speaking the rakyat have enough of crap from BN....Let the Pakatan Government get the job done and by the way ALL OF YOU STILL OWE THE YB LGE AND HIS TEAM on the truth explanation for the mismanagement of funds,PGCC, land scam and etc...Where the fxx.....xxxk is the answer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SPEAKUP!!!!!!!!