Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Dato Deva Ridzam on Pedra Branca

Dato Deva Ridzam on Pedra Branca PDF Print
Friday, 30 May 2008 11:10

Foreign affairs is an arena where countries reveal their true nature by their actions and Malaysia should bear this in mind in bilateral relations with Singapore, writes DEVA RIDZAM.

By : Deva Ridzam, New Straits Times

MALAYSIA was right all along. The International Court of Justice found that Pedra Branca had always belonged to Johor.

Singapore's arguments, among others, citing the doctrine of terra nullius (empty land or no man's land) and even the construction of the lighthouse did not mean that Singapore ever had sovereignty over Pedra Branca.

However, we failed to impress the ICJ on two crucial points.

For over 100 years, we did nothing to positively assert our ownership over Pedra Branca in any significant way, leaving everything to the British.
Then, we wrote that fateful letter in 1953 giving away this piece of territory in our waters to Singapore.

That 1953 letter was actually the first step down the slippery slope that led Malaysia to virtually ceding sovereignty to Singapore.

Things did not stop there. Malaysia's continued inaction only further undermined our position.

Simply put, Singapore got Pedra Branca by the flimsiest of evidence. Essentially, it built up a case out of nothing.

Why should it not? It had nothing to lose.

And we, on the other hand, failed to assert our claim through any manifestation of effective control.

That would have meant our moving ahead in areas such as navigation aids, marine conservation, tide and current surveys, hydrography, etc, which we did not.

That is what sovereignty is all about - developing the means to effectively control what is rightfully ours - and establishing the reality that others who use our territory do so on our terms.

In other words, sovereignty claims undefended will gradually and eventually disappear. That precisely is what happened to our ownership or original title to Pedra Branca, especially since that letter of 1953.

Though Singapore deemed the maps published by Malaysia in 1962, 1965, 1975 showed that Pedra Branca belonged to Singapore, the ICJ came to the conclusion the maps were not material in its judgment.

However, the court inferred that our production of those maps was part of a consistent pattern of behaviour that gave the impression that we were acting in accordance with the spirit of the 1953 letter.

Singapore tried to convince the ICJ that there was a total rupture in history that changed fundamentally the sovereignty of Pedra Branca, as well as the two other features.

But it failed to get all that it wanted.

As Middle Rocks does not have any structure built on it by Britain or Singapore, the original sovereignty remained with Johor/Malaysia. The status of South Ledge is to be determined.

We should look at things in their proper context.

Malaysians should give credit to our team for having, in the first place, salvaged the country from a very bad situation. They cannot be held responsible for the 1953 letter nor for acts of omission and commission of our leaders and officials since then. In fact, our team did their best in an extremely difficult situation.

We have, at least, reconfirmed our sovereignty over Middle Rocks, 0.6 nautical miles south of Pedra Branca. By doing so, we have been able to limit Singapore's ability to act as it wishes in the vicinity, including engaging in reclamation works.

We will eventually prove that South Ledge, too, belongs to Malaysia. This feature lies in the territorial waters of Middle Rocks as it is merely 1.7 nautical miles south of this feature. Also, the combined fishing area of Middle Rocks and South Ledge is quite considerable.

All told, the ICJ judgment went beyond a winner/loser scenario, or even a winner-take-all verdict. It was a midway judgment.

In the light of the foregoing, to criticise the government for taking the matter to the ICJ without a strong case is also unfair, to say the least.

There are, of course, risks to be run in bringing the matter before the ICJ. But the question is, was there any other practical alternative? Refusing to let our case be heard at the World Court would have suggested Malaysia lacked confidence in its claim.

It would have also left Singapore in total de facto control, as they have been since their naval blockade in 1986 over the entire area, on the basis that "occupation is two-thirds of the law".

Also, would it have been in the larger interest of Malaysia and Asean - regional peace and security - to allow the previous situation to remain unresolved in perpetuity?

For some 150 years, Singapore, and before that Britain, had been in effective though illegitimate control of Pedra Branca.

Malaysia, however, chose not to object when Singapore prevented our fishermen working these waters or seeking shelter on the three features. Here again, this was not because we doubted our sovereignty over them. Rather it was an act of self-restraint and wisdom - something done in the letter and spirit of Asean.

Foreign affairs is normally a place for extreme caution. It is also, uniquely, an arena where countries speak and act for themselves and, in that process, reveal their true nature by their actions.

While Malaysia stood on the moral high ground by abiding by the principles of the Asean Treaty of Amity and Co-operation (TAC), Singapore lost credibility. It ignored TAC by taking a hostile stance with its naval blockade of an entire area.

Under the United Nations Conference on the Law of Sea , Malaysia should negotiate with Singapore starting from the "base point" that Pedra Branca is nothing more than a rock.

It creates only territorial waters. It has no effect on exclusive economic zones or continental shelf considerations.

Be that as it may, what is even more important now is that Malaysia should be extremely careful about the way we do things with Singapore. For instance, decisions on the Iskandar Malaysia must be carefully and transparently undertaken.

We should also resist and even reject outright any attempt to involve other so-called "outstanding issues" in this: water agreements, the points of agreement, the bridge saga and the more recent fast train proposal.

Datuk Deva Mohd Ridzam is a former ambassador to the European Union, Belgium and Luxembourg and Cambodia.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by eeyaw, May 30, 2008 11:18:37
The Government was very confident of the ICJ’s decision in our favour with daily analysis in the run up to the D-day coupled with a live telecast to highlight the court proceedings. It must be painful to watch the final outcome that we so cockily expected. Let this be a lesson in humility!
And the views by the Foreign Minister that it was a 'win-win' situation for Malaysia is to me utterly delusive!
written by pkler, May 30, 2008 11:36:01
Careful mate-such balanced writings can lead to accusations that you are a Badawi arse-kisser!!! Did you not know it was all his fault, according to both the majority PR supporters and Mahathir supporters.
written by krising1, May 30, 2008 11:36:03
"Be that as it may, what is even more important now is that Malaysia should be extremely careful about the way we do things with Singapore. For instance, decisions on the Iskandar Malaysia must be carefully and transparently undertaken" Haha. Singapore follows the rule book. Here it is like semua bapa punya harta!
written by taishan, May 30, 2008 11:43:12
"base point" that Pedra Branca is nothing more than a rock.
---------------------------------------------
Another of Bolehland's finest engaging in deceit and taking the same deceitful stance they did in the ICJ.
Obviously going to make them many friends. Deceit at home , deceit abroad.
written by Power5492, May 30, 2008 11:47:41
Dear "I'm the Prime Minister" Pak Lah,
Please sack the AG for failing to complete a mission. Please get all our land secured and make sure we dont loose more land to others.
Oppssss sorry for waking you up sir!!! but any way sir we lost batu putih.
Hope you were dreaming of beautiful Light house and that all we can ever do again about Batu putih dream about it!
By the way your whole team SUCKKKKKKK!

People Power
Power
written by Arubin, May 30, 2008 11:58:33
Let's put this in another perspective.

The Singaporean and Malaysian governments are playing a game of Monopoly.

The Singaporean player reads the rule book throughly, studies the board, and finds the best strategy to win. They won't hesitate the exploit the rules when necessary but will never break them. He is good at seeking out bargains, and builds his hotels in strategic high traffic areas.

The Malaysian player will ignore the rule book (partly because he no speakee Inglish but mostly out of sheer arrogance), stumble around the board blindly yet somehow always managing to land on and pay Luxury Tax, build expensive hotels in Park Place and Boardwalk which no one ever lands on, buys the utilities from other players at inflated prices only to sell them later below purchase, and will always try to collect more than $200 when he passes GO. He also somehow has an endless supply of Get-Out-Of-Jail-Free cards.

Malaysia boleh!
written by hiro, May 30, 2008 12:03:01
Malaysians should give credit to our team for having, in the first place, salvaged the country from a very bad situation. They cannot be held responsible for the 1953 letter nor for acts of omission and commission of our leaders and officials since then. In fact, our team did their best in an extremely difficult situation.

We have, at least, reconfirmed our sovereignty over Middle Rocks, 0.6 nautical miles south of Pedra Branca. By doing so, we have been able to limit Singapore's ability to act as it wishes in the vicinity, including engaging in reclamation works.

We will eventually prove that South Ledge, too, belongs to Malaysia. This feature lies in the territorial waters of Middle Rocks as it is merely 1.7 nautical miles south of this feature. Also, the combined fishing area of Middle Rocks and South Ledge is quite considerable.

=============================================

I find the above rather objectionable. If we knew that we were in a very bad situation, why did the government agree to proceed to ICJ in the first place? It could have asserted its sovereignty now and wait another 50 years, if not 100.

The blame clearly goes to previous Barisan Nasional government, as well as the current one.
written by CVL, May 30, 2008 12:03:32
Datuk Deva Mohd Ridzam seems to be missing the point of Sovereignty vs Claim in his eagerness to salvage the Malaysian Foreign Office and the legal team in this Batu Puteh ICJ matter, claiming this team ‘salvaged the country from a very bad situation’. Wow!! That really stretches the imagination, and it makes me wonder if years at foreign affairs produce such a vivid imagery and such esprit de corp.

On this piece Datuk Dewa seems to be suggesting the country knew the ‘very bad situation’ that it was going in to the ICJ, and hence the team ‘salvaged the country’ apparently by getting the Middle and South pieces of rocks.
Deva misses the point of sovereignty. Britain went to war for the Falklands sovereignty regardless of the historical claims the Argies had on the two Falklands. Ancient kingdoms wage centuries of wars based on sovereignty. This is not to suggest modern Malaysia must consider war, but to point out the lack of depth such foreign affairs senior people as Datuk Deva uses in defense of the Malaysian teams.

At the least, Malaysian team should have strategized what best the matter could offer Malaysia if so they deem the matter a ‘die standing’ case at the ICJ. One area would have been as a leverage in the bilateral relationship of the two countries. And the other one would have been to minimize cost impact, as in a cost benefit analysis would have shown for a forgone case.

And so Datuk Deva has just offered the public a cross section of how the minds work at the Malaysian foreign affairs
written by cheemengwong, May 30, 2008 12:13:55
There is a old house in my village with about 5 acres of old palm oil trees. I think I will claim owenership of the house and the land since the owner did nothing for almost 20 years.

Is this OK?
written by AJM, May 30, 2008 12:20:39
You sheeple idiots really don't know who you are talking about!

Dato' Deva is an outstanding example of the old-type civil servant who did what was right for the country, without fear or favour. A person of his capability and outspokenness, however, was not much liked by whomever was the political leadership at Wisma Putra, whether when he started his career several decades ago or when he finally retired a few years back. In addition, the fact that he is an Indian convert to Islam meant that he was looked at warily by other Malays (wahhh, he is just another keling lorrr) or Hindu Indians (eh, he masuk Islam so can be considered Malay, is it) in the civil service. I dare say he could have made it to be the Sec-Gen of Wisma or even KSN, but he was kept abroad for decades because it was thought he was too dangerous, so to speak, to remain in HQ.

His point is that the genesis of the PBP case was set in stone even before the current administration or during TDM's time. The case wasn't a mess up (hey, those lawyer wannabes at the AG chamber build up their careers in this kind of case, so rest assured they are not only playing with their balls while at work). His even more pertinent observation is to tell the current Malaysian gomen to be wary about the IDR issue, lest pokok pisang berbuah dua kali.
written by mypanida, May 30, 2008 12:25:03
Simply put, Singapore got Pedra Branca by the flimsiest of evidence. Essentially, it built up a case out of nothing.

Simply means that's what seperate the men from the boys.
You guys can't even cook up a decent meal from a well-stocked kitchen.

Complacent SLOTHS, most of you are.
written by harmanamri, May 30, 2008 12:25:52
I agree with hiro (12:03:01). Our government should have asserted our sovereignty based on our historical rights and should not have agreed to ICJ adjudication. This was a serious misjudgment. Dr Mahathir's Cabinet was either very badly advised or negligent or both when it decided to agree for the matter to be taken up by the ICJ.
written by apanama, May 30, 2008 13:38:31
the case was lost not because of anything.
the case was lost because the ppl who represented malaysia at ICJ are just plain stoopid fool. loyar buruk belake.
written by ez24get, May 30, 2008 14:32:06
This idiot UMNO government never got its priority right.

They are so concerned about losing a pile of rocks to Singapore but don't batter an eye lid over the loss of thousands of our brightest and most capable minds to Singapore each year for as long as we can remember.

What Malaysia has lost out are the equivalent of thousands of Pedra Brancas to Singapore. These bright and capable minds have made Singapore to what it is today - prosperous, creative and a leader in every field!

If not for the brain drain, Malaysia could very easily surpass Singapore in every fields considering the wealth of natural resources that Malaysia has. On the contrary, the UMNO government has run down and ruined Malaysia until what it is today - closed minded, arrogant and a country beset with wastages, corruptions and bigotry!

That's why Malaysia today cry over a pile of rock where it should by right cry over the loss of valuable human resources!
written by eagle22, May 30, 2008 16:36:44
With the letter from johor state gov. in 1953, even a small kid knows malaysia can't win. Wonder how much money wasted engaging lawyers, air fare , accomondation. Hope during the case in ICJ, our reps didn't take their family for holiday visiting europe. Next what pulau pisang ?.... see lah ..suddenly got another letter from in the 50s or 60s by another smart ass official. Gone lah then.. again waste money going to ICJ ..
written by liayeo, May 30, 2008 17:55:36
This is the result of outsourcing and not learning.
written by New Frontier, May 30, 2008 19:04:56
I wonder what will happen to Pulau Pisang since we never assert affirmative control on the island. We should end Singapore from administering the light house on the island. Time to give them a hard lesson of being hard and cocky neighbour.
written by rainmanpj, May 30, 2008 19:25:44
Enlightened me please.
How can just a letter from a state ( not country) can give away a piece of land of the country ??
Does that meant if today Selangor state govn issue a official letter to eg.Thailand, to give away Pulau Ketam in Klang. Is it valid ?

Sorry I don't know the law.
written by macakmy, May 31, 2008 00:16:19
"For some 150 years, Singapore, and before that Britain, had been in effective though illegitimate control of Pedra Branca.
Malaysia, however, chose not to object when Singapore prevented our fishermen working these waters or seeking shelter on the three features. Here again, this was not because we doubted our sovereignty over them. Rather it was an act of self-restraint and wisdom - something done in the letter and spirit of Asean."

Self-restraint my foot!! The whole world knows that M'sian govt would never do anything to uphold our sovereignty unless they can get kick backs from it!! What do they care if our fishermen were denied their rights in their own waters!! The Indonesians,Thais and Singaporean has been stamping their feet on our heads all these while and what has the govt done?? Our loggers were kidnapped and held for ransom in Kalimantan by Indon forces, a little while ago Thai forces trespassed into Padang Besar, Singaporean forces violated our airspace and landed on our territory. Yet, what action have the govt taken? Is our armed forces that weak? I can assure you that the armed forces are no cowards. Its the govt that has no balls and if it does not directly benefit them, there won't be any action taken.

"Though Singapore deemed the maps published by Malaysia in 1962, 1965, 1975 showed that Pedra Branca belonged to Singapore, the ICJ came to the conclusion the maps were not material in its judgment." Didn't the stupid legal team read the maps? It says "Horsburgh Lt (Singapore)" NOT Pedra Branca. The light house belongs to Singapore NOT the island. At least those ICJ judges are not as stupid as our legal team!!

As for Pu Pisang, we have agreement in black and white. So, no problem. But if you don't want to lose anymore territory, kick these jokers out!! Sovereignty is everything to a state.
written by TWOG, June 02, 2008 10:15:01
written by cheemengwong, May 30, 2008 | 12:13:55
There is a old house in my village with about 5 acres of old palm oil trees. I think I will claim owenership of the house and the land since the owner did nothing for almost 20 years.
Is this OK?

Yes, this is okay. It is called "adverse possesion".

Aiyah, cheemengwong - you should have squattered in the house - then it would be yours by now. If you have exercised the functions of a "owner", like living in that house, repairing it, mowing the lallang, you would have been the proud owner of the house plus five acres of land by now.

Not too late. Start occupying the house today, and in 12 years' time, it would be yours. (Not sure about Malaysia, but the limitation period for adverse possession is 12 years in England & Wales.)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adverse_possession

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif