Toll face-off PDF Print
Friday, 30 May 2008 10:33

Residents of KL suburb clash repeatedly with company trying to get them to use a toll road

DOWN WITH THE WALL: Residents of Bandar Mahkota Cheras on Tuesday removing the barricade that forces them to make a detour via a toll road.

By Carolyn Hong, The Straits Times

A QUIET Kuala Lumpur suburb has become the scene of a tense stand-off between residents and a toll company over the last few months.

The face-off turned ugly this week.

The residents of Bandar Mahkota Cheras have repeatedly defied riot police and unidentified thugs by tearing down a concrete barricade put up by the company to force them to use a toll highway.

The barricade prevented access on a road leading to the housing estate, where about 38,000 residents live, and forced them to take a 6km detour and pay a toll of 90 sen (40 Singapore cents) to get to the city centre.

The tussle, which began in 2006, is between the housing developer which built the access road and the highway concessionaire. The concessionaire wants the developer to compensate it for the loss of income if there were no barricade.

On Tuesday night, the situation turned violent when unidentified men armed with sticks clashed with the residents as they tried to break down the barricade that had been rebuilt on Monday. The fracas left several people hurt and several cars damaged.

Riot police broke up the violent confrontation and arrested several people. The toll company, Grand Saga, has denied hiring the thugs.

A 21-year-old man, Mr Chang Jiun Haur, said he and his friends, who wanted to see what was happening, found themselves surrounded and beaten up by riot police over claims that he had run down a policeman.

The residents on Wednesday night removed the concrete barricade - for the fourth time in about one month - using mallets, car jacks, steel bars and lorries.

Police kept watch but did not stop them.

Selangor police chief Khalid Abu Bakar was quoted by the Malay Mail tabloid yesterday as saying that they were there to maintain order, and would not stop the demolition of the barricade.

The long-standing dispute is the culmination of simmering resentment over intra-city tolls that Kuala Lumpur residents are frequently forced to pay as the government privatises infrastructure development.

Highway toll agreements are confidential, but it is no secret that the concessionaires enjoy guaranteed profits as the government pays them compensation should they not be allowed to raise tolls regularly.

Demonstrations over city toll roads are not uncommon, but this is one of the most violent episodes as Malaysians become emboldened following the March 8 polls, which saw the ruling coalition suffer heavy losses as a result of 'people power'.

The stand-off has become a test of the ability of Selangor's opposition government to find a resolution.

The state government, which owns a 20 per cent stake in Grand Saga, is sympathetic to the residents but has not been able to stop the company from blocking the access road.

Selangor Chief Minister Khalid Ibrahim, who is from the opposition Parti Keadilan Rakyat, said the government was looking into whether Grand Saga had rights over the land where the barricade had been built.

The matter is now in court.

'There is no need to deprive the people of the use of the road because it will be opened, no matter which way the court decides. The issue is only whether the developer will have to compensate the concessionaire,' Tan Sri Khalid said.

About 30 residents yesterday gathered at Parliament to protest against the violence on Tuesday night, which has been condemned by the biggest Chinese political party, the Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA).

MCA vice-president and Transport Minister Ong Tee Keat said he was shocked at the attacks on the residents under the watch of the police.

'Why do you allow residents to be assaulted?' he asked.

written by binarytan, May 30, 2008 10:38:19
The gomen is going to shut all doors for the justice, may be we could put a term called as "marginalization of rights of being Malaysian citizen non-UMNO"

There is no sedition in this statement but it is the current fact. Hindraf, RPK, BMC, etc.......

It is wiseable to replace the BN with PR, may be we can put a bet on it. BN has cheated us for too many years now and rakyat suffered a lot.

written by Birdbrain, May 30, 2008 10:41:33
About 30 residents yesterday gathered at Parliament to protest against the violence on Tuesday night, which has been condemned by the biggest Chinese political party, the Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA).

......but then who gives a damn to a condemned party!

Cuckoo! Turun padang la! Don't just bark!
written by Flex65, May 30, 2008 10:41:47
What ever happened here go to show that the people responsible did not have the interest of the people in mind when they made the decisions. How can you force the residents to take a longer trip and have to pay toll. If we pay toll for a shorter trip may be acceptable. Personally I think that stupid guy should be SHOT.
written by kc respect, May 30, 2008 10:44:18
'Why do you allow residents to be assaulted?' he asked.
Answer : Because your MCA buddy, Deputy Home Minister, CHOR CHEE HEUNG said it is "JUSTIFY" to do so-mah!!!!! (Malaysiakini :Chor justifies police action at BMC clash)

Another nail into the coffin of MCA, terima kasih to Chor.
Tee Keat, you can bury yourself together with him.

Tee Keat,
written by Jan, May 30, 2008 10:45:12
Issues like this keep reminding the people that this govt is NOT for the people but itself and it's cronies. The people will from now constantly fight the govt over unfair deals which have been making us suckers for a long time.
There are now more and more reasons to kick BN out of power.
written by joeawk, May 30, 2008 10:48:15
Nationalised all toll roads. What nonsense about the OSA? If terms are fair, why hide? NO laws to protect cumsumers against unscrupulous people, in this case it must be the govt or govt officals cheating the people.

Malaysians must not allow such sinister cooperation between govt officials and the private sector to screw us. We must demand that the OSA, just like the ISA be scrapped or amended to prevent unscrupulous people from misusing it.

Laws must be enacted to protect consumers against unfair terms.

Vote and support leaders who are with us and to hell with all those who are bent on cheating us.
written by apanama, May 30, 2008 10:49:38
this gomen sold out the rakyat since UEM got PLUS toll highway. that's DAY ONE.
since then, many days later, everyone from penang, kedah, perak, KL, PJ, johor, NS, portdickson, KL, kepong, BANDAR MAHKOTA CHERAS, and all pukimak-forsaken land called malaysia GOT SCREWED as every crony in every state and cawangan got a CONCESSION.

KHALID IBRAHIM? is he a reformer, or just sitting on his backside?

written by miwaki, May 30, 2008 10:50:50
Tee Keat,condemning the actions of police is useless,take action against the police brutality is a better idea.You will have the support of all residents situated in that area and also the Selangor state governmnet.Are you worried about the repercussion from your big boss ? Can't get jobs other than minister of transport ?
written by Jan, May 30, 2008 10:54:04
When Chor Chee Heung said it's justifiable for the police to wallop innocent residents, I think it's a very careless statement. These residents have been unjustly oppressed for so long by capitalist cronies aligned to the ruling party do you think they will support MCA again? People from other areas are also watching developments and will think twice before supporting BN parties again.
written by Daryl, May 30, 2008 11:04:03
Still waiting no suspension of the 20 FRU or the officers in charge. But, it will never happen because we are in Malaysia suppose to be more civilized than USA. In USA where they are not civilized as police officers would be suspend even if they get caught on photo or video. Of course for uncivilized country they don't trust their police. Also, in USA public usually are not afraid of the police because they are uncivilized unlike our PDRM which no one respect because they are very strict and beat up unprotected civilian..

In civilized country like Malaysia I believe this guy they put in beatup probably will go to jail because PDRM have to cover for the respected PDRM..

Before I forget I want to remind you that Malaysia government believe they are more civilized the the west especially USA..... They give their PDRM freedom to accept bribes and freedom to bash rakyat whenever they like... They call it Freedom to BASH in civilied world...
written by densemy, May 30, 2008 11:09:35
"MCA vice-president and Transport Minister Ong Tee Keat said he was shocked at the attacks on the residents under the watch of the police."

I'm sure he was shocked... He was in such a state of shock that he was incapable of doing anything about the issue
written by joejoe, May 30, 2008 11:14:10
Unfortunately, the British ad portraying us as terrorists is true, albeit to a lesser extent.

The attitude of the toll operator company here, with the support of our police force, is plain and outright an act of TERRORISM. Corruption and cronyism has created a TERRORIST GOMEN!
written by Commonsenses, May 30, 2008 11:36:27
See the faces of malay, chinese, indian and others fighting against the injustices of the BN government and its corporate goons. Its people's power
against bad BN government.
written by raven1958, May 30, 2008 11:39:02
The people of Bandar Cheras Mahkota are an inspiration to all Malaysians....
written by eeyaw, May 30, 2008 11:54:03
To MCA, MIC & Gerakan! You are first class scumbags without compare! We shall not forget by your inactions!
written by hw3883, May 30, 2008 11:59:05
BRAVO to the residents of Bandar Mahkota. Show that they yu are not afraid of the pigs (cops) and that toll company too. Stand up to what you think is unfair and unjustic. The old saying of "If you built them they will come" does not apply to the residents of Bandar Mahkota.

Ride on guys. Show them what you are capable of.
written by macanhitam, May 30, 2008 13:44:18
another day for Amnesty International to rejoice!
written by Eskay Lim, May 30, 2008 15:20:40
Works minister, Datuk Mohd Zin said that " the Govt. would have to consider the implications of declassifying the Highway Concession agreements so that it would not affect national security & public interests.. due to the confidentiality clauses in the contracts"

What national security? Will our national security be compromised if the public takes a peep into the contracts? Will our enemies know the postion of army camps & air-fields, the number of planes, submarines, battle tanks, soldiers etc..etc.. our country has if we look into the highway contracts?

Don't try to bullshit us. I would think the contracts might show who the main benefactors are. About the confidentiality clauses, it might show " I don't tell you salah.. so you don't I salah" clauses.
Please lah Datuk, don't think we are still living in the pre-Merdeka period when only the rich can go overseas for higher education. Malaysia now has tens & tens of private & public universities & colleges... We even have farmers & hawkers who are graduates. So do't treat Malaysians like morons.
written by budakindia, May 30, 2008 15:30:46
Not enough with using the police, they hired thugs? May be they are in the wrong business! They should start money lending business with their mate Khir Toyo! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by HHKim, May 30, 2008 17:02:27
That useless Datuk Chor from bloody MCA could even dare to justify for the police's action - another chinese dog without backbone or spineless. he is speaking against his bloody conscience because he thinks he is a minister.
Malaysian know how to address him starting with F--!!

You bring shame to all Malaysian. Should quit your bloody job as minister.
written by HHKim, May 30, 2008 17:07:09
The only best way to move forward is to eliminate all MCA dogs from both State Assembly and Parliament. They can't even stand on their own feet and can't even hold their balls to say something correct and logical. How can then the raayat hope they fight for Malaysian in the right context? I am telling OTK and Datuk Chor on this. Orang china yang tidak ada guna.
written by partiotic, May 30, 2008 17:22:15
Hi! semi Value, you left with all the problem for the Banda Mahkota Cheras folks. What a **** are the rakyat paying road tax for. Fair we pay for highway for out station, even that there are alternative road which is free. Now in KL I have to pay toll every where, what a ****ing government BN is. I am a Perakien, we feel that the Pakatan Rakyat state government is very people friendly, they really care. And I am sure the people under the other State run by Pakatan Rakyat and PAS feel the same. Long live Pakatan Rakyat, long live Anwar.
written by amoker, May 30, 2008 19:37:21
Unity in adversity. All are united against BN's tak kisah ness to the people.
written by malaysia devil, May 30, 2008 19:45:06
Ezam Turns Out To Be "A Rose Has Many Thorns"
"Ezam to make a timely move back to Umno". Malaysians absolutely shocked, but not to be surprised as the signs of Ezam's intention long before this had happened. Plans and intention of Ezam Mat Nor was there long before. He was waiting for UMNO to offer him a seat during March election but the offer never came through. If the offer was solid, Ezam would've jump to UMNO a long time ago.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...-many.html
written by mikewang, May 31, 2008 00:29:08
“We ask for help from many people in the government sector but for more than two years, nobody bothered with us. It was until after this elections on March 8 (that they listened),” Bandar Mahkota Cheras Open Road Committee chairperson Tan Boon Hwa said.

I am glad I got many of my family and friends to vote for Barisan Rakyat in the last general elections.
Never again shall we return to vote for BN unless and until this sombong party comes down to the level of the people they claim to represent.
From recent events, it looks like they never will