Discrimination and graft the reasons for illegal factories PDF Print
Friday, 30 May 2008 10:32
DISCRIMINATION against local industry players and corrupt practices have been cited as the main causes for the existence of illegal factories in Selangor.

According to Selangor and Kuala Lumpur Foundry and Engineering Industries Association (SFEIA) president Fan See Hai, the local industry players were often snubbed by the authorities, who seemed to show preference to the foreign businessmen and investors.

Listening hard: Ean Yong and Subang Jaya assemblyman Hannah Yeoh chairing the meeting with the association.

Fan said this during a dialogue with Selangor State New Village Development and Illegal Factory Task Force Committee chairman Ean Yong Hian Wah in Shah Alam on Tuesday.

“As Malaysians, we face a lot of hassle even before we can start our businesses while the foreign investors have everything made so easy for them whether it is in making land applications, constructing factories or starting operations,” Fan said.

He said the process of setting up a legal factory by a local businessman, for example, could take as long as three years for approval to be granted.

“Unless the factory owner has lots of time and money to spend, the setting up of the factory would have been doomed before it could even start operations,” Fan said.

Fan: We face a lot of hassle even before we can start our business.

“On top of that, we face a lot of pressure from the authorities, especially the local governments, because we have to pay all sorts of ‘extra charges’ for all kind of applications,” he said.

Fan said his association had 330 members, mostly among small and medium scale industries operators, but 45% of them were operating without permits or business licences while others occupied land without industrial status.

He said that the total number of unlicensed factories in the state was much more than the figure on the association's list.

According to Fan, illegal factory problems have existed since the independence of the country.

Fan said the association hoped the new Pakatan Rakyat state government would bring changes and ensure fairer treatment for local business operators, as they did not want to operate without licences due to the legal risks involved.

He said the problems they faced included constant pressure from enforcement officers and difficulty in getting loans from banks.

Ean Yong, meanwhile, pledged that the state government would look into the plight of the local business operators and review ineffective policies and practices.

- The Star

written by miwaki, May 30, 2008 10:41:37
This is the culture of our country,something "manis manis" have to be given to the authority before anything can be approved.The federal government endorse this practices as part of incentives for its staff.They still maintain that they are business friendly.

Tomorrow,Pak Lah is going to Sabah and people there expect him to provide something "manis manis" to the state.See,even our PM does it !
written by freedom lover, May 30, 2008 10:42:55
So long as the leadership is tainted with all sort of corruptions and the laws of the nation are lop-sided and numerous, illegals of every kind will be the order of the day!
written by joeawk, May 30, 2008 10:51:05
License fee go to the govt, protection money goes to the pocket of the enforcement officer.

Not just that, TNB and Water Authorities, also have such nonsence going on. Building Inspector as well.
written by Wisdom above, May 30, 2008 10:54:51
The more these businessmen talk, more loose embarrassing stories will surfaced.

Former Selangor ex-BN Govt cannot sleep at all .
Their supporting staffs in service also cannot sleep.

Very Brave act to shed lights on all previous possible abuses.

Syabas. Pakatat Rakyat.
written by Flex65, May 30, 2008 10:57:58
Just go and renew your passsport, somehow the photo that you brought with you are not acceptable but those that were taken at the 'appointed' place are accepted instantly. This do not happen to me only, ask around and see how many people will give you the same answer. If what I say is true, what make you think that getting permits and approval will be easy unless of course you are 'somebody' or you know 'somebody' or you pay 'somebody' to do for you.
written by Commonsenses, May 30, 2008 12:34:25
This discrimination against Local illegal factories operators by Khir toyol government is well known because most of them are owned by chinamen. Therefore its an extension of the NEP policies.
written by partiotic, May 30, 2008 17:28:02
Yes! vote for Pakatan Rakyat all your problem will vanish.Fellow malaysian it is true we have suffer for 50 years.
written by malaysia devil, May 30, 2008 19:46:06
Ezam Turns Out To Be "A Rose Has Many Thorns"
"Ezam to make a timely move back to Umno". Malaysians absolutely shocked, but not to be surprised as the signs of Ezam's intention long before this had happened. Plans and intention of Ezam Mat Nor was there long before. He was waiting for UMNO to offer him a seat during March election but the offer never came through. If the offer was solid, Ezam would've jump to UMNO a long time ago.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...-many.html
written by lynn, May 31, 2008 06:31:01
Malaysia is definitely the most corrupt country in the world. Which aspect of this bolehland has not been tainted by graft or corruption?

This country is rotting, dying, cannot be saved. Whether it is PR in power or BN, it is a case of "man man sei" or "fai fai sei" - meaning slow death or quick death.
written by KUMON, May 31, 2008 20:27:47
DECLARE WAR ON ALL LITTLE NAPOLEONS!! smilies/cry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif