Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow How women dress is not a factor at all

How women dress is not a factor at all PDF Print
Friday, 30 May 2008 10:23

I would like to question Mansur Putih’s assertion (The Star May 29) that “the rapists in them emerge” when men see sexily-dressed women in the media. This implies that TV-watching, newspaper-reading men are beasts who cannot control their lust, and hence rape women.

Yet, statistics show that 2,431 rape cases happened in 2006 (source: Polis Di Raja Malaysia, 2007) among a population of 26.64 million people. Assuming that half of this population is men, only 0.02% of Malaysian men rape women.

Therefore, how can the writer claim that watching sexily-dressed women in the media is the main factor causing men to rape, when 99.98% of men who watch TV or read newspapers do not rape women?

The writer also stated that “they are not rapists if they do not have the victims”, implying that the victims are to be blame for rape crimes. When will people stop pointing their finger at the victim?

We keep saying “it’s her fault for getting raped because she dressed sexily, went to secluded areas, visited her boyfriend’s home alone, etc etc”. It’s easier to blame the victim as we rationalise and comfort ourselves by saying that if we avoid the above things, we will not get raped. The fact is women get raped wherever they go, however they dress, whatever they look like.

I also would like to question the writer’s assertion that rapists rape old women and babies because they see a sexy woman in them. On what basis does he make such an assumption? If that were the case, then all men might as well be locked up and kept apart from women so that they don’t go out acting out their fantasies. After all, it is the men who are sick, not the women.

The writer said that many rapes happen in secluded areas. Statistics in fact showed that nearly 70% of rape cases in 2002 happened at home and that nearly 80% of rape victims know their rapist (source: Women’s Aid Organisation).

This shows that women’s dressing is a negligible (if it even exists) factor in causing rape. Rape doesn’t happen just because a man cannot control his lust. It is a complex phenomenon caused by both social and psychological factors.

R.K. BOO,

Kuala Lumpur.

written by freedom lover, May 30, 2008 10:36:38
Perhaps if people are given the liberty to express freely and live in a society which is more openminded, the percentage of those who could not contain their emotions, and those who accumulated their desires overwhelmingly, would drop more sharply.

I will not agree that rape does not occur in countries where women are covered from head to toe or in a country where everyone runs naked!

written by mambogan, May 30, 2008 10:37:05
firstly, i would agree with him with his statement....sexily dresses leads to rape...(make him happy 1st lar)....

now, i wish to clarify about kids and children...are they too dresses sexily that these"beast" taking advantage and rapping them. if you cannot control your lust, prostitution centre's are available nation wide...pay them a visit...not forgetting that you have to pay.

economically, use soap instead. attire is one's right, that cannot ascertain security, lets all malaysian ladies wear jubah. that could help, i assume.
written by coolandy, May 30, 2008 10:40:31
Blame the weaker sex.

The sad thing is even the women have bought the argument articulated by rapists that women are to be blamed for their (rapist's) uncontrolled sexual urges.

The more they wrap their bodies up, the more they view this world in sexual terms. Don't these people have better things to do than think of sex all the time?
written by pillars, May 30, 2008 10:40:41
So far I hever heard a woman raped in the beach area (where normally woman wear sexy bikini).

Those Baywatch girls, have they been raped ?
written by Arubin, May 30, 2008 10:51:37
firstly, i would agree with him with his statement....sexily dresses leads to rape...(make him happy 1st lar)....

now, i wish to clarify about kids and children...are they too dresses sexily that these"beast" taking advantage and rapping them. if you cannot control your lust, prostitution centre's are available nation wide...pay them a visit...not forgetting that you have to pay.

economically, use soap instead. attire is one's right, that cannot ascertain security, lets all malaysian ladies wear jubah. that could help, i assume.

Wow, I could feel my IQ going down several digits just from having read that bit of nonsense...
written by grandmarquis, May 30, 2008 10:53:31
Statistic speaks louder than baseless assumption. Saudi Arabia, where women covered head to toe and have strict traveling rule rank the lowest.

Check out the following link:
http://www.nationmaster.com/gr...per-capita

written by densemy, May 30, 2008 10:55:04
All rapists are male... weak willed, undisciplined or mentally unstable men.

And as such they will use any argument to cover for their crimes... blaming women is the simplest ( and most pathetic) excuse

But, never in the history of mankind has a women initiated a rape... Not by the way she looks or the way she dresses or by her age or the way she moves.

In the mind of a normal civilised male there is nothing about a woman that will advertise that she wants to be raped.
written by michael chick, May 30, 2008 10:57:27
Hi. I'm currently working on the TV Documentary titled "The Right to Live". It discusses Violence against Women and Children. Although I do habitually release information on the film. I can however announce this now.

On the dressing issue..... BULLSHIT !!!! Why?

40% of all Rapes in Malaysia are INCEST !
80% of all Rapes in Malaysia happen in the Victim's OWN HOME !
Also 80% of all Rapes in Malaysia are committed by perpertrators KNOWN BY THE VICTIMS !!!!
Also, There are equal number of Christian, Muslim, Hindu, Buddhist, Aethist Rapists in Prison proportional to the population.
Finally, there are equal number of Billionaire Rapists as there are Poverty stricken Rapists.
Lastly,females from the ages 6 to 60 are Raped. So DON'T GIVE ME SHIT ABOUT SEXY DRESSING.

Stats readily available from WAO, SIS, UNICEF, WCC and so on.
(I won't list my foreign contacts)

I'm shocked that people Masor Puteh can make such cavemen statement. Why doesn't he put on a Chastity Belt, if nothing else, but just for kicks??

Truly Asia, Truly Dum Dum....
written by michael chick, May 30, 2008 11:00:40
Oooops. Typo. I DO NOT habitually release info on the film...
sorry.
written by Ann Meng Sim, May 30, 2008 11:21:48
“they are not rapists if they do not have the victims”,

OH MY GOD... another person whole last brain cell has died from loneliness!

Rapists are psycho people. They rape young women, old women, children, little boys, their own sisters, their own children.... And here you are defending the rapists.

You are as psycho as they are, Mansur whatever...

Wait till one of your family members become a rape victim, we shall see what you have to say then. smilies/angry.gif
written by carkraz, May 30, 2008 11:44:14
"Statistic speaks louder than baseless assumption. Saudi Arabia, where women covered head to toe and have strict traveling rule rank the lowest."-grandmarquis

I'm not saying that your statement is totally wrong, but I assume these statistics of rape is based on REPORTED cases.Don't you ever wonder maybe most of the rape cases happening in Saudi Arabia is NOT reported because the women's fear of dishonouring their family?

I don't mean any disrespect, just stating my opinion.
written by Raja Gasper, May 30, 2008 12:20:19
Provocative dressing is not the valid reasons for rape and those who
commited rape should be punished not by the rattan by cutting the
great cock and throw to the dogs.

However it is hard to know whether it is consert rape or induced rape
because the women sometimes invite stranges and make the case as rape
if the man refuse to marry them.

Experiences will tell that it is very hard to rape a girl without over
powering them or make them sleep by drugs and other methods employed
for induced rape.The will to rape and to taste the women body for free
is the main reason(s) for raping and such person(s) must be put to death.

There is no excuse here,either you marry or die for the sin as it deserved.
written by capcomangel, May 30, 2008 12:57:12
ya lah.hairan mengapa masih ada orang nak diskriminasi kaum wanita dan bahan yang di pakai oleh wanita.sampai warna pun mahu diskriminasi?

most of the day rape happen is from they own parent/family.u try see news and how many they parent been caught because of rape they own blood child.for the case such at school.i think education minister and teacher in school should do the work.watchout those student attitude or they act.now teacher cannot punish student like because such as in my school age.wat we wrong do will do or break school discipline.we will punish so poor.class long hour standing punisment or canned punisment.thats how before in our old age did not have such iisue like just now happen.
written by cruzeiro, May 30, 2008 13:42:25
Somebody 'whacked' once (claiming- "I know this fella"), when I criticised this pseudo-intellectual called Mansor Puteh - and so I decided to give him the benefit of doubt.
He just proved me right with all his crappy ideas.
Here is a guy who pats himself on the back and never misses an opportunity to toot his own horn - to show how "well traveled and experienced" he his, so as to cover his kampung mindset which he cannot grow out of.
Here is a guy who thinks that he's the greatest artist of all time - he believes that he has taught the likes of Steven Spielberg and Oscar winners a thing or two.
And yet he's got nothing to show for all this in Malaysia ......

Talk about being unable to take the kampung out of the man ......
written by cartman26, May 30, 2008 14:15:14
I read En. Mansor's letter with a sense of dumbfoundedness. In fact I wanted to write a letter to refute his claims...anyway looks like I was beaten by the bell. Anyhow, his conclusion that scantily dressed women on TV will cause you to rape your 5 year old niece or 60 year old grandma is beyond my conprehension or wildest imagination (or maybe he has this kind of fantacies. Will someone ask the police to check him out). What he is saying is like "please don't go to the mall or park or whereever cause there are a lot of robbers out in the streets." Ya we know but who's fault is it? is it us or the police. What we should be looking at is the lack of enforcements. In bolehland, I sometimes don't even see a single police travelling from my house to work, compared to say USA where there are police everywhere you turn. And America doesn't even have the lowest crime rate. You should see Japan it is even more amazing...So please stop victimizing the victim and start screwing the police for their lackadaisal attitude...
written by Bunda, May 30, 2008 14:17:46
NickChan said,

its not a cause, but it is a factor

Perhaps you would like to enlighten us on what are the various causes of rape? And, then what are the factors that tie-in to those causes?

Otherwise, it would appear that you do not understand the psychological reasons for rape, and the various factors involved in how rapists choose their victims.

Rape is a crime of power. The prey are women. It doesn't matter how a woman dresses or looks or how old (young) she is. As long as she is a woman, a rapist will look upon her as fair game.

Of course, rapists have their different psyche profiles. Meaning, they "prefer" a certain type of target. Just like the big cats also have their preferred prey. However, I've yet to see any credible research done on the subject of rape that have found any linkage between dressing and the occurence of rape. Go online and find the answers, it is that easy.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ToeJam, May 30, 2008 15:43:52
written by grandmarquis, May 30, 2008 | 10:53:31

Statistic speaks louder than baseless assumption. Saudi Arabia, where women covered head to toe and have strict traveling rule rank the lowest.

written by carkraz, May 30, 2008 | 11:44:14

"Statistic speaks louder than baseless assumption. Saudi Arabia, where women covered head to toe and have strict traveling rule rank the lowest."-grandmarquis

I'm not saying that your statement is totally wrong, but I assume these statistics of rape is based on REPORTED cases.Don't you ever wonder maybe most of the rape cases happening in Saudi Arabia is NOT reported because the women's fear of dishonouring their family?

I don't mean any disrespect, just stating my opinion.

dear grandmarquis,

are we talking abt the country whose laws state that only righteous men (and at least 4 men) can testify to convict a rapist. If this condition cannot be met, then the victim can be punished by whipping.

Without insulting one's logic and sense of reality, which silly rapist would do his crime in front of 4 righteous men (gang rape, perhaps? then how is it that they are righteous???). Given this condition, I am amazed that society even have 1 rape case!

Wise up. Stats can lie. Before accepting conclusion of stats, use yr brains to understand the society
written by Iskandar11, May 30, 2008 16:03:36
They should make the dress slightly thicker.
I wholeheartedly agree that the dress a women may way does not make a rapist, however i do want the white uniforms to be a bit thicker and of slightly better quality.... i just don't like the fact that people can see my daughter's bra.
written by AsamLaksa, May 30, 2008 16:33:26
Grandmarquis, do check out the bottom bits of the statistics you provided:
Crime statistics are often better indicators of prevalence of law enforcement and willingness to report crime, than actual prevalence.

This is true in all sense. The more open the society, the closer the figures are to the truth. In Saudi Arabia where female rape victims may even be punished (recent case thankfully the court changed it's mind) or there is severe stigma attached (such as stigma from unmarried pregnancy leading to low teen pregnancy figures reported in strict Catholic countries where perhaps these people went through illegal abortions thus avoid detection) would make the actual figures for Saudi Arabia suspect.

Stranger rapes are rarer than raped by acquintances but these are the ones that are more likely to be reported because the victim is better defined and there is less bound interest in reporting. Thus rape by relatives may even be much higher than reported as there have been instances where family members know of the rape but prevented the victims from reporting.

Rape reporting has always been attached with the tip of the iceberg principle where of those reported, much more remain unreported. Similar principle apply to certain highly stigmatised issues such as HIV and homosexuality statistics.

So unless we have a truly open society which will not discriminate or stigmatise the people concerned, then any figures shown will only show the tip of the iceberg.

I'm not making excuses or even try to denounce your facts, Grandmarquis. It's just known fact that statistics (and whatever else such research results and discussions) should not be taken at face value. Go speak with any academic and they will criticise them harshly. Only those that can survive harsh scrutiny are given more attention to. But in regards to national rape statistics, the data collection step is already hindered thus affect how much you can really read into the results.

Thus to make your statement more credible in the future when you use statistical results, do not forget to add in major criticisms of it or else what you are doing is blindly taking results at face value. Or seond best, avoid using statistics that you do not fully comprehend to support your arguments.

As for Saudi women covering up leading to low rape cases, first point there is potential for large flaw in the reporting of rapes and there is little evidence of direct causal link of covering up and rape. What is this direct causal link? Well, it means to link one directly to the other to search for the cause.

An extreme example which is used by the pro-creationist lobby in the USA was that they claimed that since introducion of Darwinism, there is increased moral decline in the world, thus concluded Darwinism led to moral decline. They then try to justify teaching creationism to school kids to prevent moral decline. How is this linked? Similarly critics of them who called themselves followers of FSM to show the fallacy of this rationale then claimed that number of pirates in the world are in decline and that the ozone hole is getting larger, thus they claimed that to sort out the ozone hole problem they need to have more pirates.

So, how is covering up linked with incidences of rape? Is there a direct causal link? Some may argue that covering up may reduce number of rapes... well, if so, how? Or are defenders of this covering up notion missing the whole point altogether that it's not covering up that is the issue but oversexualisation of females in society? This again is not so direct and have been heavily criticised as can be seen in arguments on censorship.
written by SammyC, May 30, 2008 17:25:30
i wonder why BK Boo even bothers to reply to this M Putih guy. He is a monotype, who thinks the world revolves around him. It is just a waste of time, as he actually gets an orgasmic kick, reading the comments n replies.A retarded brain with a little bit of brilliance, lopsided, out to make an impression. He belongs on Jupiter's moons, and not with the rest of us.
written by Taufique, May 30, 2008 19:18:46
All these retards making these smart comments, wait till one of their own daughters or womenfolk in the family gets raped (i really do not wish for this to happen). Lets see who they blame then.

So easy to point fingers.
written by amoker, May 30, 2008 19:38:35
Waste my time on another product of NEP's argument.
written by AsamLaksa, May 30, 2008 19:41:17
Iskandar11, I agree. Even I do not want to wear see through because I'm embarrased about my lack of pecs. However as a parent who buys uniforms for their children, you have the ability to decide what quality uniforms you choose. If you go home and don't like the transparency, then get better quality ones. Or there's always undergarments even for boys and girls. You may need to pay more but that's not an issue. Schools can even set uniform standards. So yeah I support a call to make uniforms less transparent on basis of decency, not as rape preventive measure. I also do not support any calls to cover up students further than what it already is.

However it's another thing to say about see through uniforms and jumping to say it will lead to rapes.

So, yes Munirah is justifiably concerned about the transparent uniforms but her rationale is far off. Why can't she just stick to basics and say it's for decency? Maybe it's calculated to stir up debates to get the publicity to highlight the issue.
written by carkraz, May 30, 2008 19:52:31
All these retards making these smart comments, wait till one of their own daughters or womenfolk in the family gets raped (i really do not wish for this to happen). Lets see who they blame then.

So easy to point fingers."-Taufique
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No one is pointing fingers at anyone.The point is, in a rape case,whether the victim is covered from head to toe or wearing revealing clothing,the blame is ALWAYS on the rapist.How a woman chooses to dress is nobody's business and definitely shouldn't be used as grounds to blame a woman whenever she becomes a victim of rape.If a woman feels that she's safer by covering up, then by all means do it.If not, then that's her choice.

Again, no disrespect intended.
written by shiokguy, June 01, 2008 02:50:38
I am so sick of those blaming on the women, their dress lah, how they behave lah etc. I setup a blog for women or Stylo or stylish modern woman to blog to release their steam here, I call it Stylo Mum Claptrap!

So far I have 9 writter signed up to contribute,if you want to be part of Stylo Women kindly signed up at
http://stylomum.********.com/

Don't blame women for all thing lah, what are we going to do? cover them up just because we cannot control our animal urge? Get real!

Shiok Guy (Pissed off)
written by shiokguy, June 01, 2008 02:54:58
Just to add...

My grandma, mother, sister, daughter, niece and granddaughter... more.. they are all women! I don't want to be walking cover from head to toe just because a few lunatic is a loose. Arrest the lunatic and put him to jail or send him to......

Support Stylo Woman! come here and be a writers.
http://stylomum.********.com/