Encounter with rude and arrogant cops PDF Print
Friday, 30 May 2008 10:16
I REMEMBER not too long ago that the police tried to improve its image with all kinds of PR campaign. But frankly, it is not that kind of campaign that will affect how the public think of the police. It is our everyday experience with them that counts.

I have heard from colleagues about their experience in pubs, bars or discos where customers sometimes get harassed during a raid. But on Monday night, or rather Tuesday morning on May 26, was the first time I witnessed first-hand how rude the police can be, and I was assured by some that this was relatively mild.

I was with my son and his friends in a pub in Sri Hartamas, Kuala Lumpur. One of them was going back to the US and another was celebrating his birthday.

Just after we finished singing the birthday song and toasting the birthday guy, we were interrupted by a man rudely demanding that we produced our ICs.

He did not produce his police badge, did not say he was a police officer and when asked, he did not even bother to answer that question, but just demanded our ICs.

Somebody in the pub, probably a pub worker, told us he was from the police. He took everybody’s ICs and, together with some other police officers, took his own sweet time recording down all the ICs.

Apparently it was a police raid for illegal foreign workers.

Only after over half an hour were our ICs returned to us one at a time.

Now, illegal foreign workers are not the problem of the customers there. And the police officer should have identified himself, which he did not. Secondly, if we produced our ICs that showed we were locals and at a legal age to drink, he should not have taken away our ICs.

If the police want to catch illegal foreign workers, that is fine with us, and it is for the pub owner and the illegal workers to answer to them.

I find the behaviour of the police officers very distasteful. Many of us in the pubs were respectable people, many working as executives in corporations and we were just there for a drink.

In fact, when my name was called, I discovered many IT executives were there. They even came up to greet me.

Like I say, it is the everyday experience we have with the police that forms our perception.

There is no point for the police to spend millions of our tax dollars on PR and advertisement to clean up their image as long as their personnel are behaving like this. They should clean up the force and the image will be improved automatically.

CF,

Kuala Lumpur.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by freedom lover, May 30, 2008 10:20:51
Increasingly and more worryingly, relaxing after a hard day's work has become more difficult, embarrassing, and frightening in this police state!
written by binarytan, May 30, 2008 10:25:37
Daulat Police
Daulat FRU
Daulat Cronyism

All the same in RPK, Black 14, BMC.......... cases.

Police beaten citizens is legal, always and there is no law to protect us.

If we Rakyat manage to break it, then only justice will prevail.

written by Dominic, May 30, 2008 10:29:45
I have this question for the IGP and Bar Council as well. Can we refuse to hand over our IC if such officer who dont don any uniform nor show his police ID ? Whats your advise when we are in such a stituation as I know personally they can be very mean and demanding.
written by Birdbrain, May 30, 2008 10:37:42
Hmmmm.........there are still many pea brain cops around.

Time to reform the police force!

Cuckoo!
written by Wisdom above, May 30, 2008 10:39:57
U asked for Police ID, & he did not showed it to you?

Non uniform detectives must identify themselves each & every time a person request for identification.

Failure to do so will render the whole search null & void.
That is illegal . You have a civil case against the anti-Vice squad.

Disciplinary actions against these cops by well respected Senior Police Officers is needed & required.

My high respect for undercover detectives should be preserved.

Syabas.

written by Lostsoul12, May 30, 2008 10:42:56
Comparing to "Chang" and the mogolian girl, don't you think you are lucky??? Atleast you are not beaten nor C4!
written by Tan Tan, May 30, 2008 10:44:33
I have nothing good to say about the Police force of Malaysia. I believe there are some good policemen in our country but their number is so little that we don't even notice them anymore.

Back in 2005, I encountered a car accident whereby a drunk driver hit my bumper. I had a heated arguement with the driver and his friends as I refuse to pay compensation since they hit the back of my car and he is obviously drunk. He threathen me if I don't pay them the compensation which leads me to do a police report at Dang Wangi police HQ.

First, the policemen who wrote down my report was rude and assume it is my fault, second when I was interviewed by the policeman to explain the situation, there are a few policemen join in to scare me that it is my fault and I need pay the penalty for involving in car accident. Third, I need to looked for the police photgrapher to take picture of my car as the prove of the accident to investigate my claim and he was SLEEPING and unhappy that I need to wake him up. He took his own sweet time to wake, dress up and get his equipment. While I was waiting for him , he tried to scare me by asking me to look at the pictures on the wall. Those pictures are scary and disturbing picture of people die in car accident and he told me there are ghost here and I will be like them soon.

I was like what the heck wrong with them. I got knocked by another at the back. By law, I wasn't in fault and even if my driving skill is really that bad....since it is not the right way policemen to treat normal citizen like us in such manner.

In Malaysia, all the non-Malays citizen always say one thing about policemen, that is if we can depend on Msian policemen, pig will climb the tree.

This is how bad police force image to normal citizen.
written by frankenstein1, May 30, 2008 11:05:06
Cops simply acts like "Ganster with license" now. I wouldnt say all but most of them dosen't even qualify to wear that blue uniform. Shame for them. I remember when i was a child i had dream to become a cop coz i wanna catch all the bad guys. I believe today's kids might wanna become a cop to get rich, to have a easy life or even they can have a .38 and act like a bloody ganster. Come on.. spending so much money on PR.... ask an audit to check the bills and u will know what is that all about....
written by islandjoe, May 30, 2008 11:20:02
These guys have nothing else going for them. No one likes them, they don't respect the way they are, and don't respect what they represent. If I was one of these losers, I'd be unhappy as well.

Next time an unidentified man decides to check your IC and not show his ID, then call the police straight away. Say that because he refused to show ID, he must be a person posing as a cop because: "I can't believe PRDM behave like this". The see what he says. It's probably really an off-duty traffic cop or something who is looking for extra income shaking down some "foreigners" using racist profiling. Or maybe he's harassing customers so he can try and get a bribe from the establishment.

Sorry, a dedicated PDRM officer is on par with the Smurfs, Batman, Wonder Woman, non-racist UMNO members, Harry Potter, and Santa Claus. PURE FANTASY.
written by sonofman0, May 30, 2008 11:29:26
Dear CF,

Sorry you, your son and your friends were treated in this manner. This is an affront to your dignity.

Have you made a police report? This would be the first step to help "clean up the force". How else would the officers responsible for cleaning up the force get the evidence they require to act?

Whether or not your report is acted upon is another matter. But the first step must be taken by you.
written by expat70, May 30, 2008 11:29:37
Dominic

I remember a few years ago, there was a highway robbery at night along the Johor stretch of the NS Highway which involved an express coach. The coach was apparently stopped by inposter cops in full uniform.

The passengers, mostly foreign tourists were attacked by choloform and robbed of thier valuables, money and passports. Fortunately no lives were lost. Is there a lesson here!! Yes of course!

Here is another lesson, we are all well aware of the sad state in IRAQ, where kidnapping and murders were the order of the day. These kidnappings and murders were committed by those who disguised themselves as police or security forces.

It is utmost important for PDRM to tighten their SOP in the interest of public safety and security. It makes a mockery of and tarnish the image of the police force in particular and the country in general.

Glossy Public Relation exercises will not change that.
written by tanwi, May 30, 2008 11:32:01
Tan tan,

I had the same experience many years ago but mine was in a parking lot where this idiot hit the back of my car as he was speeding in the parking lot. The offender felt bad and even gave me a photocopy of his IC so i could make a proper police report.

After drafting the report, i was asked to go upstairs to see an officer to talk to him about the case ( or was it to draft the report). I remember when i walked in, the officer snapped at me, scolding me, why i did not take off my shoes. When i looked at the shoe rack, it was filled with shoes which covered the sign 'Please place your shoes here'. Point was, the rudeness was UNCALLED FOR.

When relating the incident to him, i was shocked, that he took every opportunity to threathen me. He questioned me repeatedly whether i was telling the truth and even accused me of threatening the offender until the offender gave me his photostat ic. He also mentioned that holding another person's IC is illegal and i could be thrown in jail if the offender reports me. When i thought it was the end after stepping out of the office, i was shocked when the photographer told me he has ran out of film to snap my car! Angrily i told the cameraman i would buy him the film as i certainly did not want to come back to the police station on the next working day. When i bought the film and passed it to the officer, he just took the film and walked off back to the office. When i asked why, he said, he realise there were last portions of the film left so he already took the picture. I angrily snatched back the film to his shock and dismay and just drove off. ALL THIS JUST TO REPORT A F(*&(&T&^ MINOR ACCIDENT!!!

The behaviour of the policeman is just so sad. I think Government is mainly to blame for running the police force so poorly (appointing poor leaders who cannot administrate, under funding the police force where the traffic police is more concerned in penalising citizens not wearing safely belts and illegal u-turns than to catch the real crooks out there etc etc etc).

Any government agency liked to the Federal really sucks.
written by abzy, May 30, 2008 11:40:19
No Offence, But the writers son did not even clarify weather he was actual Pliceman or not. and it was our mistake that at times like this we did not ask for his identification. i am sure its otherwise the wroters son must have asked and he just said yes. but he used the waiters words to confirm. i am sure there are rude people type yang gadoh dgn bin then masuk kerje atau ada masaalah kat rumah then masuk kerja but otherwise i find the simple normal police guy are very much helpful.
Maaf i don’t dare to say about higher ranking ones sebab i read too much of them here.
Let me share with you a story , i am an unknown citizen living in a very small town but i fr some reason keep my hometown Balai Police number with me.
I finish my petrol some 15 kilometers’ from home town on my ay back from Singapore at 2 am in the morning. The place was dark and quiet . I called of the Police station , they in turn called the nearest kereta peronda and they help me get some petrol.
2nd case I was tricked by some car repair goons in seremban from highway. Same rule I call my home town police station they in turn gave me the seremban no. The seremban Police sent me a Patrol can in which help me release my car from the goons.
They asked me 2 thousand to repair my car on which I declined and asked my car back which the insist me pay at least 500 for the towing charges…
We all have experience at Highways as well and many will say police cari makan but who made them. Its us who out of greedy of not having t pay the full summon ask them “tolong laa tuan settle sini sahaja” dialogue and yet we go back home and curse them. I believe its unfair to the police force. Anyone wanna punch the higher ranks that’s fine !! We have hardly any contact with then what so ever but Leave the lower ranks alone they work endangering their lives with a very low pay comparatively.
We all have our experiences but most of us who meet the police on the street are very much helpful during many a times
written by blacknight220, May 30, 2008 11:49:13
Our PDRM has been the lowest in term of discipline and attitude all these while. Kurang ajar and salah guna kuasa is rampant. Rasuah? Biasa laa..... Siapa tak kenal Polis Malaysia? Once their bad move highlighted. They will put it ".. Kami akan jalankan siasatan dan dapatkan penjelasan, kalau dapati benar tuduhan yang dibuat (most of the time hush, hush) pusing around and say "...oh itu cuma segelintir saja, yang lain semua baiknya baik, cekap dan amanah...saperti saya. Imej PDRM memang kotor!
written by Ann Meng Sim, May 30, 2008 11:49:34
Last week, we were driving and we heard the siren. As usual, all cars drove to one side to get out of the way... And that was when we heard a lady voice shouting over the car mic "TEPI! TEPI! TEPI! It was a police car driven by a lady cop with the other lady cop shouting through the mic. Very polite huh?

Cars were already out of the way... was she sight-impaired or something? If she needed to show her "power" all she had to do was say loudly "BERI LALUAN" not "TEPI TEPI TEPI!!"

And oh yes... I have lost count on the number of times I have seen cops using the police car to go fetch their kids from school. How nice & convenient for them!!

written by Ah Jiau, May 30, 2008 12:08:34
Here's my experience with the police. I'm Malaysian and I play in bands. One night after a gig with a this Bangladeshi band, I went out with them to a popular local pub. Though we were seated outside, we were definitely within the premises of the pub as the pub owner (legally) set up tables outside his pub. Then the ****ing cops came and targeted our table and our table ALONE, telling us to be more quiet, despite the fact that EVERY other table around us were making JUST AS MUCH NOISE AS US. They even threatened to put the Bangladeshi guys in jail for "being too loud". My Bangladeshi frens told me that this is normal and they are constantly harassed by the racist police. So all I have to say is this:

**** THE POLICE

**** The Police - Rage Against The Machine
written by shan, May 30, 2008 12:17:15
CF, most probably the cops was looking for sponsers for a long deserved holiday,after hogging around with the BN bastards during the election.

This are dirty cops,you see them every where,roads,fivefoot lanes and in the stations.,.Nothing in the station moves with the usual Agung pass.,.

People should be armed, then only these cops will do the duty deligently.,.
These are not the only corupted bastards, 85% of the gomen servants are as dirty as their Boss..,.,.

To get a piece of document endorsed at the EXCO in Pahang, cost you a cool Million depending on the amount of money involved.They always reply "KITA SAMA SAMA CARI MAKAN",.,That's is the kind of fair turf the NEP has created.,.,.

YOU MAHU CARI MAKAN,****OFF FROM THE SEAT AND PLAY ON THE LEVEL GROUND,AND WE SHALL SEE WHAT YOU ARE MADE OFF.,, smilies/angry.gif

written by KARMANNGHIA, May 30, 2008 13:12:52
HOW MANY RIGHT THINKING MALAYSIANS trust the POLICE?

How many of you believe that they are doing a good job serving the people?

written by tanwi, May 30, 2008 13:29:20
Abzy, you r right from the perspective that the posts seem to be generalising that EVERY cop in Malaysia is bad but I would like to reiterate that that is not the message (or at least my message). To me, my thoughts are that the police force is mismanaged where the overall execution of the policeman duties is not properly carried out. I completely agree with you that there are some good cops out there.

But i definitely do not agree that the public (we) should be blamed for the bribery. As a proper cop, bribery is out of the question and should not even be considered (whether offered or not).

Do i trust cops? NO. Despite some good cops there, im sorry to say that the people on the top are not trustworthy (in my view). We all know of cop payoffs by Datuks (or ordinary citizens) covering up road accidents (deaths/serious injuries of others) inflicted by their themselves/family members and also the special treatment of privileged people in the lock up and many many more incidents which we (or others) have witnessed. Actually the public knows so much of this and also other implicating matters of the unbelievable level of corruption in the country but who dares to say anything?? We will only be dragged into a jungle by Special Police and be blown up by explosives accessible only by the army.

As a Malaysian now working abroad, i can only pray for a bright future in Malaysia. Back to the matter of the police, they need to change the entire administration and leadership to regain its trust and recognition from the public.
written by varvoom, May 30, 2008 13:32:02
The entire polis force should be SACK! Start again from sratch with British, Australian or even the United Nation Police Service to rebuild our Law enforcement agency. IPCMC should be implimented immediately! or else Malaysia is not only a polis state it is a FAIL state! A laughing stock to the world's opinion, comparable to the fail states of Africa.
written by maedee, May 30, 2008 13:41:55

This arrogant "corporate executive" !! deserves a beating from the police. First of all the police don't have any rights to arrest illegals, nor they have any rights to raid a pub without a god damn ****in permit. Arresting illegals falls under the jurisdiction of the Immigration officials, not the ****in police.

CF:"If the police want to catch illegal foreign workers, that is fine with us, and it is for the pub owner and the illegal workers to answer to them."

Please go back and make corrections in your posting. Police personnal do not have any rights to arrest illegals.

written by budakindia, May 30, 2008 15:40:45
Ask Azalina whether the police attitude has caused many foreign tourists to shrug off and go elsewhere. What is she doing nosing around in the sports ministry? Why she cancel the 5 state's MoU? Ask her to behave herself and be a mature lady! smilies/wink.gif
written by louisL, May 30, 2008 16:37:14
What can we expect from a force that is supposedly 'guardian of peace' when their ex-numero uno whacked the daylight out of a very public figure not too long ago. And to add salt to the wound we were made to believe that it was a self-inflicted injury by then then numero uno sadistic megalomaniac.
I was told that FRU training involved turning the personnel into brutal and sadistic animals, much like attack dogs. Once unleashed to unarmed civilians, be they women, children, old or infirmed, they must draw blood.These are the government- endorsed scumbags who enjoys beating up unarmed people.
When I was a kid, I was held in awe by the civil police force then.You could always turn to them for help without a price.
Today, I must say when I see a cop, all I see is a corrupted bastard all out to harass peace-loving citizens. Mat rempits rule the streets harassing and distressing other road users. Snatch thieves make a killing, robbing weak and unprotected. Where are our 'guardian angels'? Well, busy elsewhere and doing you know what.
written by rave1266, May 30, 2008 17:27:31
agree from the whole rotten apples a minor % has some good cops.my housing area has been under break in averaging 10 per month.they normal strike in the wee hours as u send husband or kids 2 school,they normally leave with your car as well.1 such incident- the wife files a report in nearby station she is able to identify 1 of the 4 robbers. wat happens" same day same robber returns at around 6pm rings the gate bell scares the wife"woi u said can identify me is it, ok go ahead if u r still alive 2morow". u figure it out hmmm where he got the info!i know the family shifted 2 a different state immediately.2 wks later the local elected PR rep visits makes a hue/cry wl put in papers,threats wl take legal action...guess wat: its on sun tamil newspapers only(nothing on other MSM) the break in gang of atleast 40 incidents in the past 4months was caught counting their loots in their rental home! hmm..wonder how the cops knew immediately their hide out!wat do i do..i get a police dog a big"GERMAN SHEPARD".
written by Francis, May 30, 2008 23:52:32
They can't catch murders, thiefs and kidnappers. They are out there. But instead they catch innocent people to make money for the morrows market expenses.
written by myvoice, May 30, 2008 23:52:52
PDRM...my personal expereince ... there are still good cops around, but very few. Most of them ,,,are truly bad, worst than gangster.
written by wannabepatriotic, May 31, 2008 00:31:59
I remember reading in the papers a few years ago about a girl that got harassed by the cops during a road block, and how she succumbed into bribing them. After a police report and legal action taken, they were 'persuaded' to drop all charges and CASED CLOSED.

We can do our part in NOT giving bribes and facing the music and taking the summon. How many of us can practice it?

Polis Raja Di Malaysia? do your job or fuk off!
written by smeagrooo, May 31, 2008 01:04:13
Friend,

If the police dont screw their image upside down where u think the PR money will go to? It will just be channeled to another dickhead force. Since PR money comes into the millions, every idiot would be eyeing for it. So what better way than to screw themselves and then in return ripping off rakyat's money they can screw us back kow2.

Would u believe for a single second that those PR con jobs will do wonders? Yes, then even pigs can fly!
written by welldone, May 31, 2008 01:27:14
the image of police in bolehland has gone down the drain, to en extend, it will never regain its prestige and honour....why I said that, try asking any ordinary Malaysian and they will tell you the same story...

Our policemen, instead of protecting the innocents and upholding the law, they are definately interested in snooping around...and finding ways to enrich themselves...(whatever ways)

we all know that....................
written by Chuan, May 31, 2008 04:30:04
One can easily conclude 2 things from the articles and commentaries:

1) Policeman is Malaysia's lowest rated job.
2) There's a fine line between a cop and a crook.
written by BukaJalan, May 31, 2008 05:08:58
We need some sort of Ombudsman, independent of the police where public can report against the police. The ombudman must be given powers to investigate the police. Making reports against the police is a complete waste of time. Will the police shoot themselves in the foot ?.
written by bunian, June 01, 2008 01:02:12
Dear CF,
You would have gotten back your IC in less than 5 minutes if, when you handed it over, you took great care and kept it bersih by wrapping a lima ringgit note around it. As for why it took so long for them to record down the details, it really does take awhile when they have to write in large, capital block letters.
written by kingelvis, June 01, 2008 07:11:21
Instances like this record on mobile video and put on you tube. Let their bosses jawab. Video is powerful tool here.