Goodbye Genocide, Goodbye UMNO PDF Print
Thursday, 29 May 2008 21:01

The penniless children of Pariaman wander to Malaysia, hoping to make a few bucks. Instead, they are beaten, raped, and dumped overboard at sea. Left to drown in the Straits of Malacca by the despicable Malaysian Police. Pariaman residents detest TEKAI (Indo Agency for Labour Export to Malaysia) Few return in good shape. And none with success stories.

By Michael Chick

Nestled deep in Minangkabau Country, in Sumatera, lies a small town called Pariaman. This quaint hamlet today is quiet, and uneventful. However, words cannot decribe the horror of the bloodbath which occurred here exactly 50 years ago. 25 Chinese families were brutally murdered in their sleep in cold blood. They had their throats slit with sharp Zinc roofing shards. Every single one of the 180 odd Chinese residents were butchered this day 50 years ago. Their bodies thrown into the sea left to rot.

The 25 families were guilty of one and only one crime. They were successful business people. And for that, they paid with their lives. Today, as a result, Pariaman is economically decadent. Shops barely stay financially afloat. Most shops barely make enough to pay rent and utilities. Crime rates skyrocket. Corrupt Police Officers leech off the residents, who already barely make ends meet.  Citizens steal, rob and plunder from each other, and many shopkeepers have to sleep in their stores just in case "Kedai kena Maling" (shops get robbed), as one elderly resident so aptly put it. Dark shadowy figures stagger, engaged in Glue Sniffing, Narcotics, and shifty Drug Pushers ply the streets after dark. Women and children are preciously locked at home after nightfall, for fear of their lives. You will never see them after dark.

30 kilometers away, the city of Padang is thriving. Ethnicities work well together and the economic pie is pretty well distributed. Local residents can even afford Rp 4million Prostitutes. (Rm 1,000) for a one night stand. Impressive, even by KL standards. Apparently many Ministers (Bupati) make Padang their unofficial "fuck-town". 2 huge 5-Star Hotels make special concessions to cater to this industry.

The penniless children of Pariaman wander to Malaysia, hoping to make a few bucks. Instead, they are beaten, raped, and dumped overboard at sea. Left to drown in the Straits of Malacca by the despicable Malaysian Police. Pariaman residents detest TEKAI (Indo Agency for Labour Export to Malaysia) Few return in good shape. And none with success stories. Most silently cry in Malaysian Prisons, awaiting their next gang rape by Malaysian Police. One case-study involves a 16 year old TEKAI "export" who was continously gang raped by Malaysian Police in Jail, she subsequently gave birth to 3 children during her continous 3 years in Prison. This is the evil product of Malaysian Police Brutality. I nearly cried when I was conducting this interview. The now 20 year old finally managed to escape. She resides in Pariaman today. All her dreams crushed. All her hopes shattered. The whereabouts of her 3 children (products of Police rape), unknown. Perhaps forever. There is a high probability that they were sold into the Prostitution Trade in Thailand. Forever to lead the life as a cheap sex toy to pleasuring men.

Pariaman Residents thought, that to win the economic race, was to obliterate their competitor. What they failed to realize, was that in fact it was not the 180 Chinese throats that they slit, but their own. Their Genocidal Act is still felt by the entire Commuunity today. Reverbrating in tandem with the rampant earthquakes. Homes have literally fallen apart. Mosques crack beyond repair, while paddy field workers make Rp 5,000 (RM1.20) per day. After having toiled from 7am till 6pm under scorching heat, mind you. For comparison, a single meal at a roadside stall costs Rp8,000 per person in Pariaman.

Bravo! I call this Ketuanan Pariaman! UMNO has learnt well from them. Congratulations.They have tried to make themselves look good by killing the competition. Literally. UMNO thought that by removing, or enslaving the pendatangs, they have Ketuanan. They were right. The stupid Chinese of Malaysia allowed themselves to be enslaved. Had their wings clipped. And as a result, Malaysia is 100 years behind Singapore. Some idot asked not to compare Malaysia with Singapore. He was merely speaking from deep embarrasement. But the sleepy idiot was right for once. Because Malaysia is so far behind, there is no comparison. And yet, ironically, he speaks of Ketuanan. So while Singapore goes full steam ahead in her plans to becoming the elite top half category of the First World Status, Malaysia decides which ketupat recipe is better. Ketuanan Ketupat is hard at work.

Yes, Malaysia chooses to compare and perhaps idolize inferior 3rd world countries left far behind in the economic dust. This inferiority complex manifests in wallowing in continous self-pity. I quote Syed Albar, ex-Foreign Minister of Malaysia, "... We are poor. We are so poor. Even the Indians are Richer than us..." in a Live World Broadcast by the BBC. How pathetic. No wonder Michael Backman openly said what he said.

And who can blame him? Anyone who slits their own throats is indeed BODOH ! Hence Malaysia BODOH ! (STUPID Malaysia) Anyone who thinks that Genocide is clever, should slit their own throats like UMNO has. Who, unfortunately learnt from the "intelligent" Residents of Pariaman.

Today, take a stroll along the empty streets of Pariaman at dusk, and see if the faint cries of the haunting echoes of the 180 dead Chinese voices affect you.

Goodbye Genocide, Goodbye UMNO. Good riddance. And don't come back.

Michael Chick
Truly Asia, Truly Genocidal...

Michael Chick is currently conducting research work for www.righttolivefoundation.com for the TV Documentary about Violence Against Women and Children from the South East Asian perspective. He is currently researching in Jakarta.

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by Raja Chulan, May 29, 2008 21:24:07
He who lives by the sword shall die by the sword.

Those who rattle the kris shall fall on their kris.

Goodbye Kerismuddin
agree 123
written by Flex65, May 29, 2008 21:40:55
Frankly speaking I do not know who is stupid, the Malay or Chinese? Why I ask that? Let ponder a little on this scenario.

A Chinese man with some money wanted to start a transportation business but he was not able to get the necessary permit. So using a Malay's name to get two permit for two lorries and start his business. He slog day and night, 7 days a week and in a month he made 3600 after deducting all his expenses but he has to pay 600 to the Malay friend for using his name for the permit. With nett 3000 he can afford to pay installment for a car and a reasonable house. Because of his commitments (car, house and lorry installments) he had to continue to slog 7 days a week for the 3000 while his Malay friend enjoy fishing any time he likes.

3000 is more than 600 but at what price to pay? Practically he had no time to enjoy his life and have to constantly worry about the business while his Malay friend get to enjoy life with no worry and don't have to do anything but get one sixth of the money.

Who is the stupid guy here? That is life (for some) if you are not well connected and you are not a bumi. Yet there are people who say that he should be grateful because he is allowed to make a living in their land.
agree 137
written by DanInJap, May 29, 2008 21:41:04
Malaysia had smart people(but most of them are oversea now (^^smilies/wink.gif, full with natural resources, petroleum and etc that could make big bucks of money, there should not be any excuses not to be on par or even better than singapore, hk, taiwan and korea. but because of the fuxxxking damn policy by BN, Malaysia is far left behind...... NO BN!!!
written by Bandit, May 29, 2008 22:11:03
Melayus have over the years learned how to receive handouts and are so used to it that the mere thought of lossing handouts can never be "questioned" as it is their hereditary right. NEP is self inflicted and induced Super Inferiority Complexs for the Melayus. Will they ever get up??
written by abzy, May 29, 2008 22:17:54
Oh man that was such a grizzly account. words cant measure how i feel aboiut it.i dont really care to what those indons do to their bethren but of what our authorities did? very unforgiveable especially the 16 year old raped and gave birth to 3 child! if there is truth is such and incident i bow my head in shame for what our security ppl did. I hoipe the Police take note f the above fact and makes an internal investigation without much publicizing it. REASON!!! Malu lah for us to besar besar kan in papers such an incident in our papers and the international community will cry SHAME SHAME on us...
written by sarawakian, May 29, 2008 22:28:28
Who is the stupid guy here? That is life (for some) if you are not well connected and you are not a bumi. Yet there are people who say that he should be grateful because he is allowed to make a living in their land.

actually, when the choice is between sitting around doing nothing and getting nothing, the chinese would prefer to work like ants and pay the "licensee". what other choice is there? starve?

Mahathir knew this fact too well and exploited it to the hilt using the so-called NEP.

written by harryo, May 29, 2008 22:44:56
Intersting, that is the story of Pariaman. Here is the story of the real pariaman of Indian origin. Brought in just abou first WW and second WW to work in jungles of Malaya, producing and contributing to the economic cake of the country with all sorts of atrocities and yet the ketuanan made them to the lowest status of human beings in today's Malaysia. The ketuanan has for 50 years have quietly made a policy of making the pariaman to wash toilets and sweep the roads and pavements. So the pariaman even with 10A1s can still be thrown out without any offer.
written by mei yen, May 29, 2008 22:52:42
Believe it or not!

According to Wikipedia, Pariaman is a coastal city in West Sumatra, Indonesia. Pariaman has 72,089 inhabitants (census 2002), an area of 73.4 km² and a 12 km coastline. "Pariaman" means "safe area".

written by Arubin, May 29, 2008 22:57:03
Yikes, the UMNO plants have infiltrated the comments section of this article to sow their brand of racism and warped logic. Well, I've learnt my lesson...going to just ignore them.

This harrbm is no better either. He types like one of those UMNO cyber-scouts, or whatever they call themselves. If he's actually Chinese, than I must be Bengali.

Anyway, back to topic. I never heard of this Michael Chick before. I wonder if he is this guy? (link to Star Online).

written by batsman, May 29, 2008 23:01:02
harryo - I think there needs to be a really deep study to understand why the Indians inspite of all the abuse suffered, still kept voting for BN for 50 years.
written by Watcheyes1, May 29, 2008 23:03:03
Well what is new, this is the way UMNO had lived all their lifes. They "kill" their competitors, scare them and threaten them.

Singapore gave importance to the development of the country and her people. How many Singaporean Chinese, Indian even the Malays look up to those of their same ethnic here in Malaysia? They feel proud to be Singaporean and look down on Malaysians! Well thanks to UMNO. You gave a "padang jarak, padang terkukur" piece of land to Lee Kuan Yew and send him out of Malaysia! Now who gets the big SLAP?

UMNO think only about their pocket and not the rakyat's well being.

Police...well nothing new to say!

There is a saying that "whatever goes up must come down" and in this case UMNO is going down and FAST!
written by MasterYoda, May 29, 2008 23:32:15
Well Put MC,

the ethnic groups in Malaysia can still overcome all divides and be united as one Malaysia.
written by Kritz, May 29, 2008 23:40:03
I smell something strange here!
written by shan, May 29, 2008 23:58:54
Chaptokam & Riau, come out of your shell, and you will realise what MC wrote is acceptable unless you are bias in your decision that the cop on the road is mr.good samaritan.Then you are terribly wrong and something is seriously wrong in your head.

Its nice to comment on others but do you realy deserve the right when your ego dominates your rational thinking capabilitise.

10 years ago there was an exodus of chinese from indonesia,,.,They were slaughtered and chased out of indonesia because the envious Indon could not bear to see them do so well.,.I have chinesefriends from indonesia who have resettled in US, Europe and S'pore,.You should hear their sad stories.

They fault was they were hard working and sucessfull and we inovative.We you hibernating when this news hit headlines in the 90ies.

Riau, Ngo what ngo,oh those clown who go about ranting on petty issues just to show that they exist.The are puppets of BN.There are ngo who have brought issues that the gomen just shoved aside and threaten these ngo guys with ISA.,.These chicken shit backed off or fear of castration.HINDRF challenged the gomen and see what has happened to the 5.

Arubin, you think this is a joke blog? Mr.labisman,please give me arubin's detail,I will to share some jokes with him personnelly after a nightcap.,.before he goes back to school.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Arubin, May 30, 2008 00:36:21
written by shan, May 29, 2008 | 23:58:54

Arubin, you think this is a joke blog? Mr.labisman,please give me arubin's detail,I will to share some jokes with him personnelly after a nightcap.,.before he goes back to school.

Err, when exactly did I say it was a joke blog? I only said I never heard of Michael Chick before so I ******d him up and asked if he was that guy I linked.

I try to find out about people and I get wild accusations thrown at me, sheesh...
written by RFernandez, May 30, 2008 00:41:58
No human deserve to be ill treated or massacred, not even your enemies. This article seems like a scene from hell. I am very sure after GE12 Malaysians understand the importance of NOT mixing race and religion with politics.
written by apa jadi, May 30, 2008 00:43:40
MC,

Do you have any web link to this massacre in Pariahman? It will certainly be more credible to prove your point.

The moral of the story is ok, it is just the way you write that does not sound right.
written by apa jadi, May 30, 2008 00:44:56
oooo.....I smell rats invading this blog.
written by shan, May 30, 2008 00:52:46
Arubin, I construed as a sarcastic joke, But for your information,Micheal does documentaries and currently doing a job in SEA.
written by tenang, May 30, 2008 00:57:42
MC,
It is hard for me to consider this as credible article. As much as I would like to share your contempt to UMNO politic, to link or compare the story of Pariaman to that of Malaysia politic (however bad it is) is too far-fetch at best. Genocide is a big word, and it needs more than what you have in the article to bring it to the title of the article.
written by axeltung, May 30, 2008 01:08:24
MC is not racist!!!but UMNU did!!
written by advocatusdiaboli, May 30, 2008 01:27:45
Aiyah! Still the credibility shit ar? Well, Indonesia is not that far away. So Chaptokam (or is it Chaptongkang) just take a flight there la and find out instead of going to Bali la. What Shan said did happen about 10 years ago. The massacre did happen. Women were raped like animals and slaughtered. My fren married a Indonesian chinese who told of the horror that happened.
written by mei yen, May 30, 2008 06:44:02
Moral of this movie!

Chinese, do not let your guard down. Watch your back!

written by Chaptokam, May 30, 2008 09:15:44
Michael Chick

You should take your stories to the Indonesian authorities and police instead of posting your INCREADIBLE story here in MT . Put it in your Website , I wonder and it sounds ridiculous that a researcher like you as you claim you are doesn't have your own website . I think you are a moron to write this story as you claim happen 50 years ago and many of us wasn't even born yet , let alone believe in what you write ????

Are you trying to prove what Najib says is right that certain blogs publish inaccurate and false stories or articles ???

I just like to repeat in my ealier comment , I don't trust articles written by people whom I do not know , doesn't have a website , claims he is a researcher in SEA and doing a documentary for www.righttolivefoundation.com which when accessed shows NOTHING .

And to quote you : UMNO thought that by removing, or enslaving the pendatangs, they have Ketuanan. They were right. The stupid Chinese of Malaysia allowed themselves to be enslaved.
The pendatangs you are refering to includes other races as well , Indians Eurasians , etc , etc .And the Chinese of Malaysia are not stupid either .Who the **** do you think you are ?? another mamak that goes by the name of Micheal Chick ?

Researchers DON"T paste pictures of Altantuya at every article that appears in MT . I don't like Najib either but I don't abuse MT by putting that pic as every first comment .Even Kritz , FFT, counterpointer ,don't do that , but they can do it cause they are not some foreign moron reseacher .

As for you shan,
you wrote 10 years ago there was an exodus of chinese from indonesia
We are not talking of 10 years ago , micheal chick is taking about what occurred here exactly 50 years ago .
And he is promoting racial hatred ,insinuating the Chinese are stupid ,etc etc .
Why don't he comment on the British supplying of opium to the Chinese in China which eventually caused even much bigger casualties and led to the OPIUM WARs or the NANKING MASSACRE ?? And shan you also fall into this category of pendatang .So whose head needs re-examing ?
written by 98PercentPrimate, May 30, 2008 10:02:03
30 kilometers away, the city of Padang is thriving. Ethnicities work well together and the economic pie is pretty well distributed.

Forget about the Chinese - Indonesian violence, it is just a background example to convey a message. MC could have used the Zimbawe situation. Note the narrow minded racist German-Nazi who scarced away alot their potential resources (Nobel prize winners. etc) to USA.

I think MC's main message is the above. If we appreciate & understand every citizen's strenghts and weakness, co-operate and work as a team all will benefit with synergic (1 1=3) results.

The citizens of Pariaman were probably very insecured and saw those successful as threat. They were 'blind' and ignorant that those who were successful had the inherent mental capability and potential to increase upstream and downstream economic wealth for all.

The above may be an unfortunate event, but it is a good example for all Malaysians to take note.
written by rakyatmalaysia, May 30, 2008 10:08:22
hi chaptokam,

i'm not sure if Michael chick's story about pariaman is true or not bullock. but the best to know is to try to take a ride to pariaman and ask the native there.

http://www.chinahistoryforum.com/index.php?showtopic=6485&pid=4804479&mode=threaded&start=

QUOTE(qrasy @ Apr 16 2006, 07:17 PM) [snapback]4804425[/snapback]
What's your city?

I'm from Padang, west sumatera. Do you know that minang people is the one of the most fanatic ethnic? they are fanatic of their language, their religion..

Do you ever heard about 'the padang pariaman accident'? padang pariaman is located about 1 hour if we go from padang city.(I don't know the distance). On my grandfather period(from my mother) many chinese have been killed by the minang people there, that's make all of the chinese from padang pariaman move to padang, include my grandfather.. now there're no chinese in padang pariaman.. we just don't want the same case happen again in padang.. I think that's the first reason that make the chinese here very afraid of them..

written by rakyatmalaysia, May 30, 2008 10:17:07
the curiosity of this pariaman story lead me to do more reseach in ******. I did found a book but i could not read it as it's limited preview.. hmmm wnder wats then full content.. check the preview below..

http://books.******.com/books?um=1&q=pariaman chinese

Sumatra Handbook - Page 189
by Joshua Eliot, Jane Bickersteth - Travel - 304 pages

Pariaman is unusual in that Chinese people do not live in the district. This appears
to date from the attempted coup in 1965 when Chinese people with ...
Limited preview - About this book - Add to my library - More editions
written by harryo, May 30, 2008 11:28:01
Batsman, I think it's all sandiwara of MIC and money thrown to Indians at the time of election. The other factor is security and possible prospects for their lives and their children in this country. Having gone thru 50 years, they are saying enough is enough as made aware by Hindraf and the factual realisation of Indians on the street. These are some factors.
written by shan, May 30, 2008 11:33:12
Chaptokam,yes I am a MAlaysia of SriLankan Tamil Origin and no mf can take that away from me bcos I pay the taxes,

We cannot coment on one another without first getting out of thye shell,Have you?.We cannot be bias in out remarks just because we hate the Bn gomen,

## Art of war rule 1:: don't let temper disillusion you.

Have you seen the atrocities taking place in Sri Lanka,I bet you will never want to eat again after seeing the pictures.

We do not want the atrocities to happen anywhere in the world again,and that's why we have people like MC doing researches as to find ways and means of exposing what the gomen of the day shrouds from you and me.

Arubin,.,...nah here is you bun back,,and something for you ponder on.

http://www.chinahistoryforum.c...=49&t=6485
written by Dominic, May 30, 2008 12:35:08
Here in his article, MC is trying to bring up a piece of history that speaks of brute and shocking truth which I believe a lot of us have never come across. In between,he may have strayed a little too close to shore here in Malaysia. History remain history. In order for us to understand more of what happened those 50 dark years.please go to http://www.converg.org.nz/hrag/indochinwomen.html .
written by Raja Gasper, May 30, 2008 13:33:41
Nevermind Micheah Chick,those who commit rape the inocents will be put to fury
death by the High God in days to come.Not even one will be spared but all will
perish to eternal death in hell fire of extreme heat.

The darkness soon will be falled on the land of Tanah Melayu and the rotten
apples will be shaken as they never see before.Injustice will happen before
justice to take place and worry not the humble and poor,because the kingdom
of god is near and even nerest then be imagine before.Let is will be done.
written by uzumaki naruto, May 30, 2008 14:29:02
"....words cannot decribe the horror of the bloodbath which occurred here exactly 50 years ago. 25 Chinese families were brutally murdered in their sleep in cold blood......"

Historically, prior to the mass migration of chinese kulis, tycoons and kongsis from the mainland that were due to multitude of social and political turmoils, the minangs were the dynamic business community of the nusantara.

It was hard to imagine how such a community with courteous,chivalrous and welcoming attitude of people could turn into a cold-blooded,barbaric and heartless murderers.

That dark bloody event was very sad indeed. Desperate measures of such merciless massacre/mass murder/genocide was definitely not the way to solve the unfair trade monopoly practices done by the greedy and heartless chauvinistic Barons.

naruto.
written by shan, May 30, 2008 14:44:55
Chaptokam,Don't judge a book by its cover,.,Don't secregate a person by his name for he could be your BROTHER smilies/grin.gif
written by batsman, May 30, 2008 17:37:05
Harryo - TQ for your reply. I accept your reasons gladly. Could one other reason be articles such as the above?
written by ksmaniam, May 30, 2008 17:37:45
Pariaman is a lesson from which all of us can learn. And learn we must for the line between rationality and brutality is thin.
written by batsman, May 30, 2008 17:43:55
written by Chaptokam, May 29, 2008 | 21:30:35
I wonder whether there's any creditability to this story , however to insinuate the story to the stupid Chinese of Malaysia for allowing themselves to be enslaved , I think this is another article by some stupid Englishman trying to create another Tibet here in Malaysia and thinking that they are the know all just because they are doing research for some organisation or NGO whose objective we don't know . Take for example some stupid torch run from Canada was enacted here to my distaste with no symphathy to the sufferings of the Chinese people of Sichuan .

Guys it makes no sense to censor comments such as the above. You refuse information and feedback if you do so. You will be acting with arrogance and in similar attitude as UMNO.
written by batsman, May 30, 2008 17:50:22
98Percent - what do you know of the Zimbabwe situation except what the western press feeds you?

Did you know that Mugabe was the darling of the western press for a few years after Ian Smith's regime was overthrown? Did you know that Britain promised to pay for the purchases of white farms such that they could be distributed to landless Africans? Did you know that Britain reneged on this promise which forced Mugabe to nationalise some of the white farms? Did you know that after this unfortunate move, the western press started their vilification campaign of Mugabe? Can some of this information get into your head so that you can take a more objective view of things? Or is your head so full of filthy western propaganda such that it can no longer contain anything objective anymore?
written by vineeth menon, May 30, 2008 18:14:18
batsman !! Do you have any problem with your eyes? Chaptokam's that comment was not sensored. We have only deleted the repeated comments by some emotional commentors. When your comment get low rated, it will go to auto hide mode. You still can read by *****ing on the low rated button.

WARNING to you and others having this same problem like
1. Making comments section into a chat room
2. Posting off topic matters which are not related to subject articles.
3. Adressing you problem in comments sections instead of sending a mail to admin.

YOU WILL BE BANNED.. NO MERCY.. Those who feel guilty can Vote this down .. No problem. But message remains clear.
written by batsman, May 31, 2008 09:42:08
vineeth menon - no problems! I ban myself. Happy?