Speakeasy > Ibrahim and the pleasures of polygamy PDF Print
Wednesday, 28 May 2008 13:06

The politician was an independent lawmaker who was dependent on Parti Islam SeMalaysia, or Pas, to make it into Parliament but independent enough to bite the hand that fed him.

S. Jayasankaran, The Malay Mail

THE Member of Parliament for Kelantan’s Pasir Mas, Datuk Ibrahim Ali, was a rational thinker who worried deeply about things like marital problems and divorce. So he proposed to Parliament that Muslim women be taught to accept polygamy in order to avoid these evils. Men, he explained in dulcet tones, “just want to have fun”.

It was a deeply insightful remark which warmed the hearts of Mormons the world over but left Marina Mahathir cold because she thought that Ibrahim was descending to new lows even by his own standards.

Actually, Ibrahim was a humble man with much to be humble about and he knew that to succeed in politics it was often necessary to rise above one’s principles. That was why he generally got a rise out of people by switching political parties so often that it left them bewildered. It was simple: if you could not convince people, you confused them.

The politician was an independent lawmaker who was dependent on Parti Islam SeMalaysia, or Pas, to make it into Parliament but independent enough to bite the hand that fed him.

Still, he was a conscientious parliamentarian who always missed a chance to keep quiet but never underestimated the power of less-than-intelligent people in large groups, urging them to unite because they had nothing to lose “but their IQs.” “By Ibrahim,” whistled the Zimbabwean president admiringly. He was moved to tears by the eloquence of Ibrahim and felt compelled to offer the canny politician Zimbabwean citizenship, the highest honour ever bestowed on canny politicians the world over.

“Not by the hair of my chinny-chin-chin,” replied Ibrahim for, firstly, he had three chins and, secondly, because he was a self-effacing man with much to be self-effacing about.

Munirah Bahari, the vice president of the National Islamic Students Association of Malaysia, didn’t agree with that sort of transparency because she thought there was too much of it in schools already.

She firmly believed that schoolgirls wore alluring outfi ts that “were a distraction to men” which, if left unchecked “could lead to babies born out of wedlock and, to an extent, even prostitution”.

It was staggering logic that floored Marina Mahathir but Ms Munirah knew that Malaysian men were a serial-raping, handbag snatching bunch of miscreants who vacillated between the English Premier League and ‘keris’- waving in fits and starts, which only proved that they had to be protected from themselves and their penchant for hanging around schools to ogle children.

Ibrahim sympathised and thought that the answer lay in teaching women to appreciate the pleasures of polygamy. He was a selftaught, well-read man who rued the fact that his library had recently burned down, which meant that he’d lost both books, one of which he hadn’t fi nished colouring.

Ibrahim told Parliament that marital problems came about because women could not accept polygamy, so, “from a preventive point of view”, what was needed was “a big campaign” to educate them. It was a bold and far-reaching statement that gladdened the hearts of Ogilvy & Mather staffers who thought that Ibrahim was, indeed, worthy of Zimbabwean citizenship.

Ms Marina agreed because she realised that Ibrahim was unique, just like everyone else, and that he was a meek fellow with much to be meek about. She didn’t blame him one bit either because she realised that… …he was born with a silver foot in his mouth.

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by Spear Bing, May 28, 2008 13:16:30
"Ibrahim Ali.... worthy of Zimbabwean citizenship... and born with a silver foot in his mouth."
written by Rasputin, May 28, 2008 13:20:58
Very insightful observation and ticklish whilst reading it! You make it sound easy to be misunderstood by the toad on a stool himself, Jaya. An aptly described temerity of the man an island MP.
written by oster, May 28, 2008 13:22:10
Satire on a licensed publication? What is the world coming to?

written by ellyna, May 28, 2008 13:43:14
Betcha that this beautiful piece is lost on that idiot Ibrahim...
written by hakuna, May 28, 2008 13:43:18
Jaya, good on you. A satirical display well portrayed - Ha! Ha!

This Ibrahim, even if you say he eats houseflies to keep his grey matter ticking will not surprise me.
written by Ben Nordin, May 28, 2008 13:46:39
Haha! Ibrahim Ali. Might have known.
written by Flex65, May 28, 2008 13:47:53
What to say? It provide a good laugh and by the way can ask the government to subsidize if any man want to marry 2nd, 3rd and 4th wifes. Many man if not all will agree with me. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha................
written by galadriel, May 28, 2008 13:51:56
Always a pleasure reading Jayasankaran's Speakeasy. For the uninitiated, Mr J's Speakeasy is not a new phenomenon. This man had this same column way back in the eary 90s.

Numerous regime changes at NST and this column appeared and disappeared, pretty much like your Brittania choc fudge. But when he does write satire, it is pleasurable reading.

Someone once said that satire is the highest form of journalism. It requires a keen grasp of current affairs, a deft hand with words and a wicked sense of humour, something often lacking in Malaysian political writing.

Looks like I have to buy Malay Mail just for this.
written by eeyaw, May 28, 2008 13:54:41
Ibrahim Ali!

There you go! Megawati Sukarnoputri is looking for a boyfriend / husband.
You can try her out for poligamous reunion!
written by Arubin, May 28, 2008 14:01:51
With apologies to Cindy Lauper...

Ibrahim Ali - Men just wanna have fun

I come home in the morning light
my daddy says when he's gonna take one more bride
oh mother dear he's such a fortunate one
and men they wanna have fun
oh men just wanna have fun

the phone rings in the middle of the night
my mother cries he's gonna marry another wife
oh daddy dear you know you're a horny one
cos men they wanna have fun
oh men just wanna have--

that's all they really want
some fun
when the working day is done
men -- they wanna have fun
oh men just wanna have fun...
written by teo siew chin, May 28, 2008 14:38:08
totally enjoyed this satire! see what absence of polygamy can do to a man! for i have read somewhere that god gave man a brain and a penis but with enough of blood for only one to function at any one time!

written by cruzeiro, May 28, 2008 15:03:29
ROTFLOL!
Jaya - that was so cool!
Fantastic.

Of course there will always be people who just dont get it ....
written by bogeyman, May 28, 2008 15:08:49
teo siew chin,

good one. apparently, the blood never did reach his brain
written by cruzeiro, May 28, 2008 15:20:18
written by grandmarquis, May 28, 2008 | 15:09:57
When we shout about freedom of speech and expression, why stop or debasing other who are merely excercizing their right to speak what is rightful for the Muslim.
So, those who are shouting here stop pretending to be the champion of freedom of speech and human right.
=========================================

Debasing nincompoops also come under freedom of speech - a most essential one!

By all mean marquis, say something stupid .... like having sex with a 15yr old is fine as long as you are married or that you can "marry" your child to a tree or child marriages are fine becos certain religions permit it .... you're free to do that too- it is your right!
But don't complain when people debase or ridicule you about it - that's freedom of speech and expression.
written by nattolady, May 28, 2008 15:35:54
everytime talk about ibrahim ali, i will think of this song :
Lompat si katak lompat
Lompat lah tinggi tinggi......
written by cruzeiro, May 28, 2008 16:02:29
That's the spirit marquis, go ahead say it - that child marriage is cool.

You can even say that who needs marriage or even laws/ governments/religions/"God" - after all your Neanderthal ancesters, may not really have had such institutions in their time, right?
It really shows wether you have come out of the Neanderthal age .....

Good for you, marquis .... what logic, indeed!
written by mypanida, May 28, 2008 16:29:07
will Ibrahim Ali marry Munirah Bahari ?????

they are a match made-in-heaven and they can move to Narathiwat.

Tok kadis there are really helpful, btw.......
written by kampungboy2, May 28, 2008 17:20:05
"He was a selftaught, well-read man who rued the fact that his library had recently burned down, which meant that he’d lost both books, one of which he hadn’t finished colouring."

Superb writing!! Got me lol!
written by AsamLaksa, May 28, 2008 17:36:43
Grandmarquis, sure, if you want to educate others on the benefit of polygamy, start a NGO pressure group. Hopefully one with mainly women membership, maybe call it 'United Women in Islam for Sharing of Husband' or UWISH. Why wasn't this done earlier?

What I do not want to see is government involvement to pursue a narrow agenda with little or no benefit to the public.

By the way you should know where I stand. I am neither for or against polygamy. What I am against is sexual discrimination and sexual equality. Thus if I were to support a call for polygamy, I would call for equal treatment for men and women to benefit from such a ruling.

I'm do not believe in polygamy but I have challenged myself why this is such. After all, why insistence of monogamy? I have no definite answer but I dismiss baseless notions that strict monogamy causes more extra-marital sex, adultery and moral decline. You want to support polygamy, come up with sound reasons. I support the need to protect the rights of the weaker party, on this occassion the lack of need for free and informed consent from the spouse(s) when the other spouse wants to marry more. There's also abuses of men running off to Thailand to marry extra wives. These abuses must stop and wives must be given equal say in determining issues that will hugely affect the family situation.

Look, if the age of consent is above the legal age for marriage, then I would deem having sex with someone below the age of consent should be prosecutable even though they are legally married. Why? Because marriage should not be seen as a license/permit for sex. Marriage should also not remove the need for protection of the minor. Marriage is more than sex. It's a personal union recognised in law and carries it's own legal consequences. But in a culture that abhors extra-marital sex, marriage thus wrongly ended up being a license for sex.

Why is there a need for man-made age restrictions? Protection of minors. Legal marriage age so that children are not traded without them able to comprehend. Age of consent 18 so that children are protected being exploited sexually. Do I agree with the numbers? I don't. I agree it's arbitary but I would not call for it's abolishment or change the figure because I do not have a better idea to replace it with. If you want to change the figures, then do more research.

Interestingly, Spain has an age of consent of 13 but have low teen pregnancy. Spain is staunchly Roman Catholic and extra-marital sex and teen pregnancy is frowned upon though teen marriage is quite high (but they don't get pregnant even though contraception and abortion is also frowned upon). Is there a lesson to be learned from here? That perhaps strict religious adherence has a role to play? Or is it more of a cultural thing as in the case of Netherlands and Sweden (though they low teen births but have high teen abortion thus really have high teen pregnancies)? Go figure.
written by cruzeiro, May 28, 2008 18:01:31
AsamLaksa,
Do you think Neanderthals understand such complex rationale?

They'll ask you ..... "by whose logic or law? Man made laws? I've got 'God's' laws to say that I'm right - who are you to say otherwise? You impose your corrupt 'western values' on us - the virtuous Neanderthals?"

They just aren't able to "go figure" - the only figure they see are those of 'sexy children in school uniforms'.
written by pedagogical, May 28, 2008 18:05:36
I had a good laugh. Nice one
written by Eskay Lim, May 28, 2008 19:31:24
It's very obvious that many of our Malaysian politicians possess some great attributes and they belong to a special class of their own.
In most of times, they confused people instead of trying to convince them,and if they can't fight you, they will get someone to do so on their behalf.
written by Kritz, May 28, 2008 20:17:05
Monday May 19, 2008
Longer wait for fourth wife

KUALA TERENGGANU: Mohamed Nor Awang, who plans to take a fourth wife, will just have to wait longer.

http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
written by Kritz, May 28, 2008 21:06:47
written by cruzeiro, May 28, 2008 | 18:01:31
AsamLaksa,
Do you think Neanderthals understand such complex rationale?

Neanderthals are quite smart people!
written by cruzeiro, May 28, 2008 21:08:17
Oh nana tanjung ..... I just luv you!

Don't be upset.
You can always argue your point instead of getting all worked up and flustered.
written by AsamLaksa, May 28, 2008 23:09:05
Cruz, thanks for your concern but I do not care if I change anybody's opinion. I do appreciate constructive criticisms and debates.
written by Malaysia Digest, May 29, 2008 00:52:49
"It was staggering logic that floored Marina Mahathir but Ms Munirah knew that Malaysian men were a serial-raping, handbag snatching bunch of miscreants who vacillated between the English Premier League and ‘keris’- waving in fits and starts, which only proved that they had to be protected from themselves and their penchant for hanging around schools to ogle children."

Nicely composed.

Malaysia Digest
written by Ibnukhuzaimah, May 29, 2008 02:24:07
Aduhai... I tak kisah jika orang yang galakkan poligami ini sudah berpengalaman dalam poligami. Zaman sekarang pelik. Yang beristeri 1 galakkan poligami? Ada pula orang yang takut bini, bercakap tentang poligami??? Boleh ka??
written by Rasputin, May 29, 2008 04:29:39
Cruz & AsamLaksa,

When God decreed polygamy, the caveat stated: A man must be JUST, FAIR and guided by EQUALITY on the WOMEN sharing his appendage in all aspect of HUSBANDRY. As many pro rotating HALAL dipping here only looking at the polygamous decree without the REAL heavy responsibility, it is a FARCE of selective argument of validity on legal "promiscuity" in Islam. Do you think a man will feel the same wanking a used by date wife and a virgin shaped like Sharon Stone when she's still a virgin? Think about it and where is the JUST, FAIR and EQUALITY!
written by AsamLaksa, May 29, 2008 05:33:27
Rasputin, I agree it should be fair. Again I repeat I do not practise polygamy but I am also not for or against it. I am however against sexual discrimination and inequality.

Nevertheless, the Muslim God does seem to place unequal rules on the sexes where a man can have multiple wives but a woman can't have multiple husbands. To fully practice equality, thus the same requirements should also apply for women wanting more husbands where they can treat them just, fair and guided by equality.
written by MsiaCTzen, May 29, 2008 06:09:37
ALL MALAYSIAN CAN HAVE 4 WIFES OR HUSBAND IRRESPECTIVE OF RACE,RELIGION AND FINANCIAL STATUS

FAIRNESS TO ALL
NO MORE RAPE VICTIM.
NO MORE PROSTITUTING due to WIFE IS OVER 50'S OR PREGNANT.
NO MORE ILLEGAL IMMIGRANT DUE TO LOW POPULATION.(est.70 million by 2020)

Vote for more Wifes and Husbands.
written by malaysia devil, May 29, 2008 09:02:39
BANDAR MAHKOTA CHERAS INCIDENT 27/05/08
pictures and videos available at: http://www.malaysianindian1.********.com/
written by mykantree, May 29, 2008 09:52:36
Well,Well,Well. Perhaps what this MP stated is exactly what those who voted for him wanted.By now Malaysian voters should be very aware of their role in their choice of their lawmakers and who would represent them and they will get who and what they voted for.
written by cruzeiro, May 29, 2008 12:52:29
I'm just trying to make an analogy:-
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear AsamLaksa,

God never put the same rule to white, yellow, brown, black man and women because they are made to be different.

Ok, following the definition of fairness of sexes, you should do the following (in order to be consider fair):
1. skins are different
2. colors are different
3. body build is different
4. hair is different
and many many more ....

You must strive hard because modern technology may permit some of those to be possible. Then you have achieved the first step in race equity.

I know will will say that I am ridiculous or loya buruk. But it is indeed your approach to gender equity is totally flaw. How can you expect the law for sexes to be the same when God has made them different. Therefore, as Muslim, we say God knows best.
================================

AsamLaksa,
Do you understand me now?
--------------------------------------------------------

No wonder we have the Ketuanan ideology around .... way to go marquis!
Thanks for the enlightenment!
You're so clever lah.
written by cruzeiro, May 29, 2008 12:55:00
Errata in editing:-

But it is indeed your approach to gender race equity is totally flaw. How can you expect the law for sexes races to be the same when God has made them different.

TQ.
written by AsamLaksa, May 29, 2008 15:57:05
Grandmarquis, I shake my head... no male is created physically equal as well, yours may be smaller but you are treated the same as the bigger. When people shout for equality, they do not mean physical equality, it's rights and freedoms they are after, not making everybody in the same mould.