Malaysian opposition steps into MIC turf PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 May 2008 23:38

(IANS)Malaysia's parliamentary opposition says it represents the country's estimated 2.6 million Indian community better than the government and cites the March election results to support its claim.

The community is better represented by the opposition alliance Pakatan Rakyat (PR) than the ruling Barisan Nasional (BN), the opposition argued on a motion to decide on the membership of the Select Committee of the current 12th parliament.

The opposition said it was not satisfied with government's BN nominee S. Subramaniam, the human resources minister who belongs to the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC).

MIC has traditionally spoken for Indians, but for the first time lost badly with its parliamentary strength reduced from 19 to three.

It lost seats to former deputy prime minister Anwar Ibrahim's Parti Keadalan Rakyat (PKR) and the Democratic Action Party (DAP) headed by Indian origin Karpal Singh.

The PR says the MIC no longer represents the Indian community, that is eight percent of Malaysia's 28 million population.

PKR's Mohammed Azmin said in parliament Monday: 'Can't you see that the number of Indian MPs in PR is bigger than those in BN? If it is truly done in the spirit of equal representation of all ethnic groups, the biggest voice representing the Indians today is PR, not BN.'

Opposing Subramaniam's nomination by the government, he said: 'MIC today is not capable of representing the Indians. Many of their leaders had lost (in the election). This proves Indians now are not represented by MIC.'

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by kent chong, May 27, 2008 23:49:40
Samy V still alive?
written by greenarrow, May 27, 2008 23:59:34
DAP spoke up to defend the Indian rights for years....
MIC just did not fulfilled the given by the voters
Sorry..no Renewal of that Expiry Date for SamyVellu & his comrades
Mic can still continue to lick & suck on UMNO s Big thumb
written by freedom lover, May 28, 2008 00:00:13
But the saddest issue is Mr.Samy Vellu still claims he represents the Indian community! What he is suffering from currently is withdrawal symptoms

The Indian community must be united in calling for this self-proclaim individual not to remark anything concerning the upliftment of the community, as he does no longer represents the community.
written by arazak, May 28, 2008 00:03:08
Not only MIC, same as with the othet BN main component parties; UMNO no longer represents the Malays and MCA no longer represent the Chinese. They are, in the words of Hacks' candy judge, "irrelevant".
written by HamChak, May 28, 2008 00:06:31
Be it MIC or MCA or Gerakan or UMNO, These Barisan National's MPs were so arrogant before. Even during MaMak's time. Serve them right!
written by SamBall, May 28, 2008 00:09:14
I think the opposition stepped on Velu's botak head is what you mean by turf tight? Samy Velu like the Kaka Tua have no reason to exist in Malaysian politics.

Indians should get rid of this old hairless goat, and go for new blood. As for the Kaka, nuff said
written by SamYap, May 28, 2008 00:10:41
Good for you, Mohammed Azmin! Thats really telling it like it is!

About time too!

About time that someone spoke up for our Malaysian Indian brethen!
written by uncleleow, May 28, 2008 00:14:10
MIC what is that? Oh MIC..KEY MOUSE. Malaysian Indian deserve better than the begger MIC. Wonder what Samy is going to do with the 300mil since now Mickey mouse club dont represent Malaysian Indian community.
written by ChanRaj, May 28, 2008 00:26:18
Samy's one man party became irrelevant a long time ago. The BN government never took any interest in the Indian community and conveniently took Samy's assurances that he "continues to represents the community". Hence the contributing result of the GE12. Even now, after being wiped out, BN still maintains Samy's MIC when it does not represent the community at all. How do you revive a dead man? BN is keeping him on a "life-support" system. Totally brain dead and a decaying vegetable which is stinking up the whole place. Why? With MIC and Gerakan totally wiped off and MCA in tatters, technically Barisan Nasional does not exist. Only UMNO and it is going down fast. Let's just be Malaysians.
written by MasterYoda, May 28, 2008 00:26:19
yes uncleleow,

the biggest Mickey Mouse has been swing in MIC for more than 30 years.
Actually a rat in disguise...

MCA is PussyCat Dolls

and UMNO is WWE Wrestler (Pretend to be wrestling but all just acting and make everybody cheer)...
written by MasterYoda, May 28, 2008 00:30:05
Mickey Rat...
M.I.C.K.E.Y Rat!!!!
written by RFernandez, May 28, 2008 01:17:18
Pakatan Rakyat you should stop politics along racial or religious lines. No more for ****s sake.

All Malaysians citizens are equal, why identify them as Indian, Malay, Chinese, Kadazan, Iban or whatever? That will make you no different from the UMNO/BN lah. That will also make it easy for you to walk right into the UMNO/BN trap.

PR you should march to a different drum beat lah, don't you get it yet? Equality, Justice & Transparency is what you should be marching to, not race or religion.
written by PAKRAK, May 28, 2008 01:21:17
3 guys commenting on Adam & Eve.
Chinese guy said they must have been Chinese because they look so calm even when a snake is around.
Malay guy said they must be Malays because they are so good looking.
Indian guy said they were definitely Malaysian Indians because they have no shelter, no clothes, shared one apple, advised by a snake and are told that they live in paradise!
written by miwaki, May 28, 2008 04:02:38
MIC can join MCA and Gerakan to form a social club,while people are playing mahjung,MIC can sell "tuak" as refreshment.
written by Francis, May 28, 2008 06:25:19
BN does not and we do not want MIC to represent the Indians. Tell MIC to return the RM106 million the Indians before they can represent the Indians. Karpal, Deo, Kula can represent the Indian community better than the MIC Dr. SS. The portfolio should be given to Pakatan Rakyat.
written by Dominic, May 28, 2008 06:32:49
Sammy is cowed these days. Less talk and talk better for him.
written by Bornean, May 28, 2008 08:01:15
Why are we talking about representation on racial grounds? Isn't Pakatan Rakyat 'multiracial'? You represent 'Malaysians', not only Indians, Chinese, Malay& other Bumiputers.
written by riversnail, May 28, 2008 08:09:06
MIC does not represent the Indians in Malaysia.Their membership numbers is a bullshit.
Every year the so called "branch chairman" will pay with his own pocket money for the membership fees.Why?Because he can earn some income if he stays as the branch chairman.How much one earns as a chairman is depends on how good he can bodek the idiots in MIC.At the first place to open a new branch,the chairman will have to collect about 100~150pcs of IC photocopies.It can belongs to someone died years ago....all his family members above 18 yrs old,relatives,friends etc...And this "members" will not pay a single cent for the membership and some of them dont even know that they are MIC members or belongs to which branch.So imagine how many members that MIC claim to represent might not be alive.
In the next GE,MIC must not win even 1 seat so that we can erase MIC from the history.I hope the PR lawyers can drag Samy to the court to answer for the money invested by the Rakyat in MAIKA.

Samy have learned his lesson from the GE because he trusted all the idiots or so called leaders who are only interested in how much they can earn in the name of campaign.
written by cicakman, May 28, 2008 08:36:03
MIC are rubbish. Let PR lead our malaysian indian. Malaysian indians want PR to help them not MIC ( mickeymouse )
written by mymastermind79, May 28, 2008 08:52:38
Nooooo! Dont do this to us. we indians want samy vellu. Please give him back to us. Nowdays all the toll girls are not smiling anymore, i think deep inside they still miss uncle samy and his fake head. Please try to understand. Atleast nominate datin briyani to become next mic captain, we can then enjoy the benefits in 'club bapuk malaysia'. or atleast of the atleast shaila nayee so that we can enjoy more box office video clips of her's in big screen. Dont ever miss this 'thick skin family members' in our politics. You guys think without MIC our indians can be the best penorek getah and lorry drivers and still have homes at corridors ah? Please lah! If without MIC i think by now all indians will be dumped at Multimedia super corridor lah. Instead of everybody using cars on road poor indians only uses helicopters and private jets. Lucky got MIC. Somemore got free show of shaila nayee. You guys don't know how to appreciate at all. Bladi indians. Join MIC today, lets give it a new brand, MFIC (Mother Fuxxing Indian Cocks). Come on lah, if not us who else wanna support.
written by Ken Liew, May 28, 2008 08:59:52
We, the RAKYAT are always better then the BN goons.

-We pay our TAX (althought some refuse to, or cheating.)

-We feel responsable to maintain Malaysia as a developing country (althought there are still crime cases)

-We follow Law. (althought some LAW are too hard to follow 100%)

But what about the BNs??
They have been cheating the rakyat, the country, even themselves.

We never know what TAX value they are doing, and yet spend tons of our tax money.

Law??? they have a feel free LAW as they are mostly above the LAW.

So you think Malaysia, kamu bapa-kah?? BNs
written by Malaysia Digest, May 28, 2008 09:17:40
Mohammed Azmin is only half correct. Pakatan represents the voices of MALAYSIAN not just one community.

Malaysia Digest
written by Saint, May 28, 2008 11:36:16
Saudara Mohammed Azmin - Thank you very much.
But one small error - PR now represents all Malaysians from Perlis to Sabah.
Keep up the good work.
written by harryo, May 28, 2008 12:21:47
Fully agree and endorse that MIC is no more than a puppet steered by BN. PR is the sole rep of Indians in the country. The allocation, RM300mil must go to PR for Indian improvement. Why not?
written by joeawk, May 28, 2008 13:22:40
Indians should not turn back. The future is ahead of you and you just have to forge ahead with Pakatan.