Muhyiddin heads for showdown with Abdullah PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 May 2008 23:07

(The Malaysian Insider) - Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin today took one step closer to a confrontation with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, after urging him to set a timetable for the speedy handover of power.

He cautioned the Umno party president that things will be unstable in the ruling party until there was a clear succession plan.

This was the second time in three days that the Umno vice-president has attempted to speed up the leadership change. At a close-door briefing to Federal Territory grassroots leaders, he ended weeks of straddling the fence and called into question Abdullah’s fitness to lead the country.

In an interview with Reuters, he said: "There is a need for the (succession) plan to be put in place now rather than later. The prime minister has mentioned that Najib is his successor. But the question people are asking is, when? I cannot answer that.

"The best option is for both leaders to sit down and be open about things." Bowing to pressure from the ground, Abdullah has said that he will contest the party elections and hand over power to his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak before the end of the term, possibly by 2010. But his critics argue that if he stays on too long it would give his successor much time to reform Umno and help Barisan Nasional regain the support of non-Malays.

So far only Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah has offered to contest the party president’s position. In contrast, Muhyiddin has chosen to fight in the shadows. Several Umno politicians interviewed by The Malaysian Insider feel that the Minister of International Trade and Industry should resign from the Cabinet if he has lost confidence in Abdullah’s ability to lead the party and government.

Abdullah’s supporters will most certainly be urging him to make a pre-emptive strike against the Johor politician. But it is unlikely that the PM, who returns from Japan tonight, will force Muhyiddin’s resignation.

He has shown an unwillingness to use the powers that come with incumbency.

Muhyiddin said today that Umno risked fading into political oblivion if it lacked strong leadership.

"We are facing a very challenging time and we need new strength to face this, in terms of leadership, capabilities and many other things. It cannot be business as usual because the situation is unusual. You need new wisdom," he said, hoping that the succession plan would be discussed when Umno meets on June 5 to brainstorm the strategy to reinvent the party.

"How could you say we can resolve this without looking at the issue of not just one leader, or leaders but leadership to carry the party forward, to revive the party," he said, noting that nothing is sacred in Umno these days.

written by rajaphillips, May 27, 2008 23:14:37
Muhyideen Mahathir Mukhriz Mokhzani = UMNO (United Mamak National Organisation. The victims are 1) the Malays and 2)the Malaysians
written by deemah, May 27, 2008 23:21:12
Budak-budak tkt 4 and their kuncu2 dok ketag lutut.
written by freedom lover, May 27, 2008 23:23:30
Muhyiddin said today that Umno risked fading into political oblivion if it lacked strong leadership.

Mr.Muhyiddin, Until now, none of the leadership in UMNO was daring enough to confront the real issue that will result in the party fading away into political oblivion!
written by joeawk, May 27, 2008 23:31:22
Succession plan? What succession plan when there is no credible candidate? Najib? Muhideen? Who else? Don't you buggers look yourself in the mirror? What good can you bugger give to Malaysia? What is your individual agenda? What is your stand affecting malaysia? Just want to be PM and DPM and bleed the nation with your own group of supporters?

Pak Lah may not be good but who is better? Come out and make your claim and state your stand? Why not invite Pakatan to take over?
written by binarytan, May 27, 2008 23:32:12
Dog eats dog culture now in UMNO.

The innocent citizens beaten by Grand Saga Gansterism today, police did nothing even they were at scene. This is very serious news than anything else.

Check this news up. http://www1.malaysiakini.com/news/83489
written by MasterYoda, May 27, 2008 23:33:14
Muhyiddin will not align himslef with Tengku Razaleigh.

Tengku Razaleigh is a spent force. He is more like vote spoiler. to muster rebellion support and bring about a devide.

I predict that Muhyiddin will align himself with Najib. there will be an orderly transition of power. I also predict that the transition of power will take place somewhere next year. The announcement of the date of Pak Lah' resignation will most probably be made nearing the time of UMNO General Assembly. this will starve off the next to contest the top two positions buying Pak Lah the time he has set for his departure.

If Mahathir had not left, he would have been able to drum up more support for a split... but he made a very wrong move.

This is how Pak lah is playing for time.

there after, once Najib is PM, he might call for a fresh round of elections or countinue the tenure. In the Next election, the BN majority will razor thin and be plagued by problems.. Najib will rule for around 5 years.

It is only then that the actual power grab will take place, with the oppostion / junta taking over... Permanently.
written by MasterYoda, May 27, 2008 23:35:11
The announcement date of Pak Lah's retirement will unite the whole party. supporters and critcs.

Hishammuddin is keeping quite because it is vital for the grouping to clench the succession. and while Pak Lah has Najib, they have to throw thier support behind Pak Lah.

It has been agreed and confirmed that Najib will succeed but just the matter of the timing. So everything will be done in an orderly fashion.

Mahathir's yelling and shelling will only serve to bolster the strength of the Pak Lah group. this is will allow Pak lah to seave out his political opponents.
Apparently Pak Lah's strength comes from keeping quite and not issue-ins retailiatory statements.

It is most probable that Mahathir will die outside UMNO

It is evivendent that the Pak Lah group is stronger that the dissenting factions. His successors-to-be know whats at stake and will not risk trying to grab the throne to early. Apparently, Pak Lah's got all the dirt on them and that is one of his trump cards.
written by uncleleow, May 27, 2008 23:48:01
Muhyiddin is good for nothing. He has not done anything substantial yet from all his ministerial posting. Nothing except being one of the richest politician.
written by Milo, May 28, 2008 01:58:14
Yes, the country needs a succession plan - let Pakatan Rakyat be the successor to UMNO-led Barisan National.
written by miwaki, May 28, 2008 04:06:38
Pak Lah has to submit not only time table but also his daily itinerary to Muhyinddin.
written by SamBall, May 28, 2008 04:11:29
Muhy is not heading for no showdown. Like all the other chickens who seem to have lost their head, he is just running around making noise. Kokok sini, kekek sana. He is scared shitless.

If you really wish to stand up, get off your behind, stop hiding behind the sarong and come out and challenge whatever you seek. Which side are you on, Mr Muhyiddin. Or are you stil looking for your balls, jaguh kampung?

With this kind of mentality, mana ada standard. Porah Muhyuddin, lagi baik duduk kampung aje le dan belajar kursus English melaui Internet atau correspondence.
written by KotaDamansara73, May 28, 2008 07:04:34
Muhy adalah orang UMNO Melayu yang tamak, bodoh, malas dan suka berlagak.
written by Bigjoe99, May 28, 2008 07:29:33
I think people are discounting the fact that Muhiyddin was Badawi's original choice of Deputy PM. The fact of the matter is that if Muhiyiddin can prove that the party could be badly hurt if he stays on, Badawi would not mind handing over the reigns to Muhiyiddin instead of Najib.
written by technoboy, May 28, 2008 10:55:33
Hello Muhyiddin, UMNO is already fading and doomed no matter what. With so many power crazy and corrupted buayas in the party, almost impossible to salvage lah! Be practical and think of other option like joining Pakatan lah!