Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Be ready for a snap Parliamentary election

Be ready for a snap Parliamentary election PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 May 2008 15:33

The next general election can’t wait. It has to be held now, while the voters are still ‘in the mood’. And since we do not have a general election scheduled just yet then one has to be triggered through a cross over -- which may then trigger a new Parliamentary election.

Malaysian politics is most interesting indeed, which is an understatement of sorts. And the winner amongst all this chaos and turmoil appears to be Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. And the longer Abdullah can hold on to power the more chance Khairy Jamaluddin has of becoming Prime Minister. If I were asked to rate the chances of who will become the next Prime Minister I would rate it as follows:

1. Khairy Jamaluddin
2. Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah
3. Muhyiddin Yassin
4. Anwar Ibrahim
5. Najib Tun Razak

This order of priority can of course change because the above is based on certain criterion and factors, which means if these criterion and factors change then the order of priority would change as well. Of course, this, again, would all depend on how long Abdullah can hold on to power. That is criteria number one. If he can hold on for another ten years or so, then Khairy is well-placed to take over. And since Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad held on for 22 years in spite of the many attempts to unseat him there is no reason to believe Abdullah cannot hold on for half that period.

One thing must be made very clear. Abdullah can be unseated only two ways. One would be that Barisan Nasional is kicked out of office. The other would be an internal revolt by his own party, Umno. Forget about a military take-over. That is one thing that can never happen and which will never be tolerated. It would be most dangerous to give the military the taste of power. Once they acquire that taste they might not want to relinquish power back to a civilian government. Anyway, such things are not within Malaysian culture.

Scenario one: Barisan Nasional is kicked out of office and Abdullah is ousted

This can happen in two ways. One would be come the next election the voters swing to Pakatan Rakyat in even bigger numbers -- which is Scenario 1A. But the swing must be really very large. On 8 March 2008, Barisan Nasional won about half the votes with the balance going to Pakatan Rakyat. In terms of Malay to non-Malay votes it was also almost balanced -- 51% of the Malay votes and 49% of the non-Malay votes went to Barisan Nasional.

In spite of getting only about half the votes, Barisan Nasional still won 140 seats against Pakatan Rakyat’s 82. Because of the gerrymandering system that Malaysia practices, half the votes do not translate to half the seats. Pakatan Rakyat would have to garner at least 60% of the votes to form the federal government. This would be easier said that done.

Anyway, the next general election could be in 2012 or 2013. That is too far away and many things can happen within four or five years. There is no guarantee the voters can maintain their anger with the ruling coalition. Voters appear to have this pendulum mentality. They swing one-way one election and the other the next. Look at what happened in 1999 against 2004 and again in 2008 against 2004. It looks like 2008 equals 1999 so there is reason to believe that 2012/2013 will equal 2004 -- which means Barisan Nasional could probably swing back with a large majority come the next election if it is held four or five years from now.

Therefore the next general election can’t wait. It has to be held now, while the voters are still ‘in the mood’. And since we do not have a general election scheduled just yet then one has to be triggered through a cross over -- which may then trigger a new Parliamentary election.

And that will bring us to Scenario 1B -- at least 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament have to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat.

Anwar Ibrahim actually does have more than 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament with him, 43 to be exact. But they are mostly from Sabah and Sarawak. This, however, raises another problem. And the problem is race politics. Umno is currently on a nation-wide campaign to explain to the Malays that the Malays have lost political power and that the Malay states have fallen into non-Malay hands. If the status quo is maintained, this propaganda and campaign of misinformation does not succeed. The Malays do not buy this argument. But if 30 or 40 Members of Parliament from Sabah and Sarawak cross over then this would ‘prove’ that Umno is telling the truth.

Currently there are a total of 122 Malay Members of Parliament against 100 non-Malays. 79 of the Malays are from Umno, 23 from PAS, and 20 from PKR. This makes it higher than even in 2004, Barisan Nasional’s best performance in Malaysian election history. The number of Malay Members of Parliament has never gone above 120. So 2008 makes it a new record.

Therefore Barisan Nasional is still Malay-dominated: 79 Malays against 61 non-Malays. And Pakatan Rakyat is also Malay-dominated: 43 Malays against 39 non-Malays. Whether you look at Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat, both are the same. The Malays outnumber the non-Malays. So Umno’s campaign of misinformation fails. The Malays have not lost political power. The Malays not only now have more Parliament seats but in both coalitions the Malays form the majority.

Say, however, 30 Ibans, Dayaks, Kadazans, Chinese, etc. -- basically all non-Malays and non-Muslims from Sabah and Sarawak -- leave Barisan Nasional and join Pakatan Rakyat. Pakatan Rakyat would now form the federal government with 43 Malay Members of Parliament and 69 non-Malay Members of Parliament. Now Umno would be proven correct. Political power has now shifted into the hands of the non-Malays, at least from Umno’s point of view -- which they will make sure will eventually be the Malay rakyat’s point of view as well.

Yes, Anwar does have at least 30 Members of Parliament from Sabah and Sarawak waiting to cross over. But this is not good enough and Anwar can’t make his move yet lest the issue of political power shifting into the hands of the non-Malays becomes a ‘real’ issue, which can then be exploited by Umno to the hilt. Furthermore, the figure of 30 is too close to the bone. 30 gives Pakatan Rakyat a mere two-seat majority and if just one Member of Parliament, say someone like Ibrahim Ali, crosses over to Umno, then Malaysia would have a hung Parliament of 111 against 111. It would be better that Anwar gets 40 to cross over rather than 30. That would still be just a simple majority without a two-thirds in Parliament but at least there would be enough ‘surplus’ to withstand a counter-cross over of the likes of Ibrahim Ali.

This again means that the 40 must be at least 20 from Umno and 20 from the other non-Malay component parties of Barisan Nasional. So, if ten from Umno Sabah cross over, then Anwar would have to convince another ten Umno Malay Members of Parliament from West Malaysia to cross over as well. This would give Pakatan Rakyat 63 Malay Members of Parliament against 59 non-Malays. Umno would then not be able to allege that political power has shifted into the hands of the non-Malays and the racial overtures would be damped.

Okay, getting ten Umno Members of Parliament from Sabah to cross over is possible. But where would Anwar get the ten Members of Parliament from West Malaysia? That is the key to the whole thing. If Anwar can get ten Members of Parliament from Sabah, another ten from West Malaysia, and another 20 Dayaks, Ibans, Kadazans and Chinese, then he would have a done deal. If not then Pakatan Rakyat would just be taking over a government bogged down by racial strife. In that case better the present status is maintained.

And that, basically, is the crux to the whole matter and is what is causing the delay. Anwar can’t solve one problem by creating an even bigger problem, especially if it involves racial strife.

Anyway, while Anwar is busy planning and plotting the cross over, Umno has not quite been just twiddling its thumbs. In anticipation of this cross over, Umno is planning a snap election. Yes, that’s right, once at least 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament cross over, Abdullah will request the Agong to dissolve Parliament and for a fresh Parliamentary election to be held. This will not involve the states though as there is no need to call for state elections as well.

But the prerogative to dissolve Parliament is the Agong’s. Abdullah can’t dissolve Parliament. He can only request for Parliament to be dissolved as the power to dissolve Parliament lies in the hands of the Agong. Whether the Agong will agree to the dissolution of Parliament is yet to be seen and would be the most interesting point to consider in this move to frustrate Pakatan Rakyat from forming the new federal government.

Abdullah believes that a snap Parliamentary election will work in his favour. First, he can use the election to get rid of all those thorns in his flesh. The election can be used as the means to not only purge Umno but the other Barisan Nasional component parties as well. It will be the best excuse to launch a spring-cleaning exercise.

Second, Abdullah believes that Pakatan Rakyat will not have the funds to finance another election so soon after the last one while Umno and Barisan Nasional is still flush with funds.

Third, Abdullah believes that the voters are now satisfied. They have already ‘punished’ Barisan Nasional on 8 March 2008 and the ‘message’ has been successfully delivered. The voters, this time around, will swing back to Barisan Nasional, so believes Abdullah.

But it will be the Agong and not Abdullah who will decide if a snap Parliamentary election is going to be held. Ironically, for once, the future of this country lies in the hands of the Agong. And will the Agong do what is best for Malaysia? I wish I knew the answer to that question.

Scenario two: Abdullah is ousted internally

This will depend entirely on Umno. Whoever wants to contest the post of party President and Deputy President would need nominations from at least 58 Umno divisions. That would include the incumbents. Abdullah and Najib as well as their prospective challengers would need not less than 58 nominations to qualify contesting the Presidency and Deputy Presidency and those who fail to get these 58 nominations would lose their right to contest the December party elections.

As it stands now, there is no reason to believe Abdullah or Najib would not get these 58 nominations. Whether Tengku Razaleigh, Muhyiddin, and anyone else who wish to make a bid for the two top posts will also receive enough nominations is the RM580 million question currently on everyone’s lips. If they can’t then it would be a walkover for Abdullah and Najib and they will both win without contest. But if anyone else also gets 58 nominations, then it would be the delegates to the December 2008 Umno general assembly who will decide the next Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia.

And if Abdullah stays on beyond December, then he will stay on for a long time to come and Khairy will be assured of a place in Malaysia’s hall of fame and the RAHMAN theory may be proved correct after all -- the ‘N’ of course being ‘Nori’s husband’.

As for Najib, well, he might not make it. There is a good chance that Muhyiddin may yet oust him come December. And if Muhyiddin makes it and becomes Abdullah’s new running mate then Khairy faces no obstacles to his career progression path. In fact, it would be better for Abdullah and Khairy if Muhyiddin manages to displace Najib. But then if Muyhiddin teams up with Tengku Razaleigh this would paint an entirely new scenario. Will Tengku Razaleigh and Muhyiddin combine forces against Abdullah and Najib? You will have to come back later to get the answer to that one -- that is if I feel like revealing whether a Razaleigh-Muhyiddin vs. Abdullah-Najib tag-team exists.

Comments (66)Add Comment
written by krising1, May 27, 2008 15:42:50
The rakyat will finance the Pakatan Rakyat. Just call for donations. AK also might donate this time around to hedge his bets. There are enough people who believe in them and want them in power. There will be no shortage of volunteers this time around. Let the snap election come! We are dying for it.
agree 305
written by freedom lover, May 27, 2008 15:49:24
RPK, I like the example you provided,ie, Mr.Ibrahim Ali. Are we saying this "fence-sitter and cross-over king" will ultimately decide the fate and future of Malaysia!
written by clting08, May 27, 2008 15:56:03
YB RPK (in Aavance) hope you can contest under PR ticket against
Najis Mongolia. Just take him out. Deal.....
agree 169
written by temenggong, May 27, 2008 15:56:42
I feel that Anwar has to risk taking power now or lose it forever. If not BN will not allow PR to rise again. If he grabs power, then as an incumbent he has solidified his chances of seeking two more terms as PM.

Anwar has to cut a deal with the Agong to ensure there is no fresh elections this year!
written by johanssm, May 27, 2008 16:01:05
Good to have another round of election , as Sabah and Sarawak can use this round to change their minds.
As well as a good way to settle things once and for all.bn or PR for Malaysia .

rashit is getting busy with his proposal to re register voters.
but this rashit did NOT mention revamping postal votes and we must remember that this rashit is still under the payroll of umno.

Election funds for PR will not be an issue for those in urban areas.
As theres enough supporters , but we are concern for rural areas.
We already knew bn will not have fair play when it comes to election spendings.
The way to be cost effective is for the PR to print common logo for nationwide distributions .To print individual contestant posters will cost a lot.
written by doggone, May 27, 2008 16:02:32

RAHMAN theory may be proved correct after all -- the ‘N’ of course being ‘Nori’s husband’.

Oh yes, that NATANG monyet fella !!!

I wonder if we could use insecticide to rid us of this pesky thing.

written by shan, May 27, 2008 16:02:51
Yesterday, I was in sabah,and while I was sleeping in Tawau,I had a dream...

MY grandfather came into my dream and said this to me.,."The menteri besar of SABAH has given away 30,000 acres of land to the current menteri besar of Malacca"

So I asked him for what was the land given?.,My Grandfather said: It was a special Angpow to malacca CM to lobby a place for him in the UMNO CWC.,.

I woke up with a shock of my life,.,.The land of the people being used as pawn for a seat in the CWC.These bastards are raping Sabah to the hilt,and what have you people in Sabah done.,.Supid fools get up and do your duty to your children,for they will be forced to leave on water and its all because you Sabahan got no gutts to nstand up against your dictators. .,.Sabah get up and push your MPs to cross over now,.,What are you waiting for ???? Free LAnd,.,over my dead body,.,BRother there is no free Lunches,not even in Sabah.,.

STOP MAKING BABIES,BUT MAKE SABAH CONDUSIVE FOR YOUR BABIES

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by bitterzone, May 27, 2008 16:07:42
"Forget about a military take-over". Not so sure about this...A split parliment could result in civil unrest and the military may be forced to act to restore order.
written by ilovepakatan, May 27, 2008 16:11:10
ARE YOU READY FOR A CHANGE, PEOPLE?

Source: http://bolehjokes.********.com/
agree 231
written by CitizenBodohland, May 27, 2008 16:12:10
Scenario 1B. DSAI should not be worry about the cross over that would create a Non Malay majority government which you think UMNO will use the scenario to its advantage ... unless you have the same thought with UMNO that the Malays are stupid.

Please believe in RAKYAT. Please believe that the Malays want to strive/struggle together with everyone. Please believe that the Chinese won't let their Malays counterpart fall behind. Please believe that the Chinese and Malay will bring up their Indian brothers and sisters to the mainstream. Please believe that the Peninsularians want their Sabahan and Sarawakian brothers to get what they deserved for being part of us.

Please believe that RAKYAT want to build a strong UNITED NATION and put Malaysia where she is supposed to belong.

SAY NO TO RACIST POLITICS.
agree 197
written by malgal, May 27, 2008 16:20:29
looks like race politics continues to rear its ugly head.
didnt we say enough is enough on march 8?
written by me_in, May 27, 2008 16:21:10
What ???? Khairy Jamaludin as our Prime Minister ????
Wait till I die first., I am 65 now.
agree 125
written by temenggong, May 27, 2008 16:23:55
Badawi cannot risk elections now as BN will perform even worse. Perlis and Trengganu will surely fall to PR. Hindraf will hit the streets and makkal sakti would rally the people once again. As long as the Hindraf 5 are in Kamunting PR is assured of a simple victory. That is the unpleasant truth.

Besides, Badawi should know for certain that if there is another election, for sure Mahathir or Anwar will stand in Kepala Batas.

So there is no chance there will be a snap election!
written by delCapo, May 27, 2008 16:31:50
aaah... it's been a while since RPK writes such a post on Corridors of Power... nice.We must stop that at all cost!!!
written by kksam, May 27, 2008 16:31:59
If BN calls for a snap election, then it's good, ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY TO SEND THEM OUT ONCE AND FOR ALL. Look, after 8 March, what exactly have BN done to win back the people's vote? NO ACTION BUT ALL POLITICS TALK!!!! BN did not only FAIL to convince us that they are willing to change but worst stil they think we are stupid lot who will vote them back when all they do is FIRING AT THE PEOPLE AGAIN (Bukit Mahkota).
Pakatan Rakyat settle down well in Penang and Kedah. In selangor, new Mb had promised to reduce water bills, and this force the BN to said they will think of reviewing the toll rates, THIS WON'T HAPPENS WITHOUT PAKATAN RAKYAT HAD THE VOTES FROM THE PEOPLE. This only happens now when BN FAIL!!!
Plus, in Perak, MB already said of distributing the geran tanah for life to the people. WHO HAVE BN DONE ALL THESE YEARS????
Another snap election? Yes come and i'm 1000% sure we will send BN to oblivion.
written by ChickenRic, May 27, 2008 16:32:43
If there is a snap election, I believe it will be in BN's favour. I suspect that the EC is now erasing all PR supporters names from the list. They can do this as they would have the information (from ballot papers) on who voted for whom. Remember Rashid's statemnt on making a new list - he is probably already in the process of deleting all PR supporters ONLY.

So please keep checking your names. Alternatively, like they did before, they will be 2 set of list, one with BN and one with PR. You may find that the BN list will be complete but the PR list will have names of PR voters "not there".

So when a PR supporter goes to the polls, they will find their name missing although they had voted recently in the last election.

If there is a snap election, I would advise all PR supporters to "Do the smart thing". Go to BN counter to register and get your ballot paper, but pangkah PR. Ingat, bagi Kain - Ambik, Bagi Duit - Ambik, Pangkah - PR.
written by Eskay Lim, May 27, 2008 16:37:49
Anwar Ibrahim must not get only 30, he must get 40 to cross to Pakatan Rakyat, so as to enable PR to have a comfortable majority. Should only 30 make the exodus to PR, there might be any indecision in Parliament that would encourage the military to take over.
And history will teach us that once the "military tastes political power" nothing can make them give up,as is happening in many countries.
written by Everbright, May 27, 2008 16:40:16
I hope we can avoid a snap election. A waste of precious resources at a time when the Rakyat is struggling just to have a reasonable living.

Btw, the 'N' could be 'Nurrul's father' lah smilies/cheesy.gif
written by asguard, May 27, 2008 16:42:32
Well... if were to held the second elections...this time... do me a favour everyone sent more PR into the states and parliament seats... and get rid of umno... the evil root of all causes ...father of all art of manipulation from time to time...so evil just like lucifier from hell!
written by MarchOn, May 27, 2008 16:47:45
Talking about snap elections or even elections for that matter.

Why do we need to register as voter, can't our citizenship (Mykad) age above 21 grant a automatic registration. Meaning all those with Mykad and age above 21 are voter. No need to register.

Can someone confirm if any country exercises this?
written by KKchan, May 27, 2008 16:49:38
In Sabah and Sarawak, it is not Malay power but a broader Bumi one although Malays or those pretending to be Malays are in the driver's seat. So if 43 from Sabah and Sarawak cross over, it is still Bumis who hold the majority of seats. In any case UMNO in Sabah is not a Malay entity. There are Kadazans and other non-Malays in the party. There is even a Christian ketua bahagian! Just get UMNO Sabah to break away, coalesce with other smaller parties and you might get a multi-racial Sabah-based party. But I worry about the likes of Anifah and Bung Moktar froming the next Government. I really wonder if that is an improvement.
written by BobSam, May 27, 2008 16:51:51
Temenggon et al, please understand that RPK clearly states that if there is a "Snap" election, IT WILL ONLY BE FOR THE PARLIMENT i.e. for the Federal government.
They will not risk state election's.

So the issue that you face right now, is to go ALL OUT and start campaigning in all UMNO & BN MP seats. Look up the election results. Focus on all the seats where UMNO won by a small majority. I recall an article stating that the PM won by 1K seats, and due to the miracle of Postal votes, that balloned to 11K.
Nevertheless, go work on all these UMNO MP seats. Especially the seats of those MP's who disgraced their race by asking/saying stupid things in Parliment.
Remember the Malay rakyat is genuine and a good person. UMNO has attempted to handcuff them and change their nature. Lets make sure UMNO fails.

Its time to do a NIKE. Just Do It!
written by Jomo, May 27, 2008 16:54:56

Launch an Election Campaign Fund for PR.
written by Rundukon, May 27, 2008 16:56:53
'Umno would then not be able to allege that political power has shifted into the hands of the non-Malays and the racial overtures would be damped.'

Why are we still talking about races? So what if the political power shifted to the non-Malays? Arent we all Malaysian?
written by Farmer, May 27, 2008 17:17:35
Are u saying another round of election?
Wow, this exciting man....lets kick out BN..
written by glock17, May 27, 2008 17:29:15
Bola - kita kalah

Badminton - kita kalah

Hockey - kita pun kalah

Pulau Batu Puteh - kita kalah

Ekonomi - kita terus kalah

Kualiti IPTA - kita masih kalah

Ketelusan dan Akauntabiliti - kita tetap kalah

Pengurangan Jenayah - kita kalah

Pengurangan Warga Asing Tanpa Izin - kalah jugak

Hak Asasi Kemanusian (and animal right against cruelty) - forever kalah

Demokrasi - tetap kalah

=======
========
=========

==========> tapi....KORUPSI dan PENYELEWENGAN= KITA TETAP MENANG TANPA BERTANDING ...Dulu, kini Dan Selamanya

Glock17
agree 122
written by Thesinner, May 27, 2008 17:59:39
Scenario Four: Sammy might also ask this>>>> "May I come??" (MIC) smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Kritz, May 27, 2008 18:10:49
written by miwaki, May 27, 2008 18:12:10
Racial combination of ministers in the cabinet is a better determinant of racial representation of a particular race if you prefer to indulge in racial politics.For me,so long as he or is competent and with integrity,i don't mind if he or she is Tibetan or Mongolian.

written by Concerned_Citizen, May 27, 2008 18:52:59
The Rakyat would happily donate whatever the figure needs for a re-election!! We stand for truth and justice.

Still they play the racial cards!!

BTW, wouldn't that Sabah and Sarawak dominated by bumiputeras also?? Dayak, Iban, Kadazan and lots more, aren't they are bumiputera?? They have their rights to be served as the citizen of this nation and why not people from their races be elected as their representatives??

By pure natures (eliminate those tricks by Beruk Nasional) all humans are from the same race and thus, there's no way they would fight each other, unless, if a beruk inject some crazy frenzy discriminator into the thinking system!!

I'm a Malaysian, my friend Dzaki is a Malaysian and Suresh is not other than a Malaysian. Do we hate each other?? Nope, don't find any reason why but somehow the history taught the other way??????? Just don't get it!

Besides although I believe that all human brains and minds are made of the same thing but through different states and life experiences they tend to operate differently. For that having a combination of 10 or 20 plus races will create a great master mind team, isn't it??
written by tzarina, May 27, 2008 18:53:11
So basically,

even if Malay Dayak Kadazan Iban etc = Bumiputera
form the majority in parliament, the political situation is unstable, all because Malay power is reduced. Which means Malay power is what matters, forget about Bumiputra power as a whole. That says a lot about the balance of powers in Malaysia, and the priorities, regardless of the fact that Sabah and Sarawak is bigger in size, and resources (oil).

Seems to me, if Sabah and Sarawak natives would like to gain some respect, they have to demand for autonomy, and to govern themselves, like Scotland, which is a separate "country" than England (psssst...the UK is NOT only England).
written by tzarina, May 27, 2008 18:58:24
Another thought.

The President of Singapore is an Indian. The President of India is a Muslim, while the leader of the party in power is an Italian. The Governer of California is an Austrian, while the future president of the US would probably be an African-American.

Will Malaysians ever be matured?
written by malsia1206, May 27, 2008 18:59:36
My 2 sen take on the situation. If Badawi has to go down and lose his PM post, he'd rather it be made from a snap election and the rakyat to decide his fate. Not for UMNO, TDM and his sidekick cronies to pull him down internally from within his own Party. In this context, a snap election is likely to be on the cards. Probably very soon. The PM's fate is on the hands of the whole electorate of this Nation. Not on the few UMNO members with all their open criticism and barking.
written by orangmsia, May 27, 2008 19:22:15
Can't wait to vote for the snap election. smilies/grin.gif We will see the new Govt in the near future
written by ksmaniam, May 27, 2008 19:30:03
Again my two cents worth.
The probability is, a snap election. No doubt about it. If so, PR should prepare itself. If, EC wants to have a new election roll, and since Ezam is considered, to be on the other side. A new BERSIH equivalent has to be created. The election commission has to be purged. We must ensure that the election this time is really fair. The indelible ink must be in. We have to concentrate on this not only on the actual campaign. If the EC is made to be fair, the chief is purged, one war won for PR. For the second war, PR can use us as free volunteers. It will help.
written by SamYap, May 27, 2008 19:35:54
**Sigh** smilies/sad.gif Looks like we can't get away from race based politics, at least not as soon as I had hoped.

I just can't understand what is it that Malays are fearful about?

The Chinese and Indians had never threatened them, did they? Most times I hear and read (and in fact experienced some of it personally) about Malays threatening the non-Malays.

I wish more educated and brave Malays (yes, you do need to be brave) would come forward and begin the process of educating our fellow Malay brethen that the blood which runs in non-Malays' veins are also red.

That the non-Malays also share the same fears and aspirations.

Our God or gods may be different but we are God fearing too (excpet for the low-lifes which exist in every society).

What is the problem???

There has been so much discussion in the net and during ceramahs about Bangsa Malaysia, why is it that 50% of the Malays still purchase the race factor from UMNO?

Enough already!
written by bexe, May 27, 2008 19:57:23
I believe a new election would be the fairest way so that whoever gets the majority will have earned the mandate, gerrymandering and all. So I hope Abdullah will ask the Agong to allow this.

UMNO alone will not get enough seats to form the Government. It's component parties will not win a single seat. I agree that if Abdullah wins, he's in this for a long time. If he sees this as an objective, he will call the snap election but as I said, UMNO will not form the next Government.

Not only because the component parties will not deliver, a divided UMNO cannot win. We have a very confused UMNO right now - which is excellent.

Please urge him to call the snap election!
written by shamadz72, May 27, 2008 20:40:32
written by bexe, May 27, 2008 | 19:57:23

I believe a new election would be the fairest way so that whoever gets the majority will have earned the mandate, gerrymandering and all. So I hope Abdullah will ask the Agong to allow this.

-----

Unfortunately, I don't think our Rashid & his Gerrymandering EC team are going to ensure that it is the fairest election smilies/smiley.gif

written by miwaki, May 27, 2008 20:51:26
Sam Yap,
I do not think malay are worried that non malay MPs are out numbering malay MPs.Do non malays have any anxiety there are so many malay MPs and ministers in our country ? It is the trick of UMNO to threaten its own people as if only UMNO can protect their livelihood.

If Chinese have to depend on MCA for our livelihood,we would have become beggars long time ago.I'm confident even without any MCA minister in our cabinet and there is no chinese MPs in the country,chinese still survive.I work for a salary,MCA and government do not provide me a single cent !
written by ChanRaj, May 27, 2008 22:02:15
YES, we will all donate for the PR government, volunteer our services and do whatever it takes to throw out the BN Government if we have a chance at a snap election. However, the military issue cannot be discounted.
written by justice, May 27, 2008 22:25:03
R-Rahman
A-Abdul Razak
H-Hussein
M-Mahathir
A-Abdullah
N-NO More!
written by ajip, May 27, 2008 22:34:31
aku dapat dari blog mat saman kati.

msk, minta izin la kawan, aku post hang punya blog kat sini

http://matsamankati.********.com/

Mengapa Mahathir keluar Umno?

Ahad petang, Pak Nawi, Tukang Kebun Istana called aku minta tolong. Anak dia accident kat Seremban. Bini dia dah meracau, anak dah masuk hospital, nak pergi tak dak kereta. Aku nak tolong, aku pun semput, tak tolong, dia dah banyak tolong aku. Tapi bila aku ingat tentang hukum karma seperti yang dikatakan oleh Siddharta dalam kitab Tripitaka, aku pun tak pikir panjang, terus setuju.

Pak Nawi nak bawa anak dia balik keKuala. Dia dapat tau kaki anak dia patah tiga, tapi dia tak percaya kepada ubat hospital! Dia nak bawa anaknya berubat kat Trong. Ada bomoh patah yang boleh repair anggota yang patah dengan air sejuk saja. Sapa kata bomoh tak terror?

Baru sampai kat Kg. Rambai Tujuh, selepas Dataran Sungai Perak, kereta dah jammed. Hari hujan, dan dah jadi kebiasaan, bila hujan, laluan dari Dataran Sungai Perak hingga ke tol Jelapang merupakan kawasan accident. Aku kira, tak kurang dari 15 kereta yang terlibat dan dalam satu kemalangan yang lain, melibatkan sebuah motosikal. Bila tengok banyak polis trafik, aku rasa, tentu serius. Bila nampak penunggang motorsikal yang tidak bergerak, isteri Pak Nawi macam kena histeria, teringatkan anaknya diSeremban. Lagi ditenangkan, lagi kuat tangisannya. Last-last, Pak Nawi buat tak reti saja dan dia bawak cerita politik untuk mengalihkan konsentrasi isterinya.

Pak Nawi tak ada kelulusan Sains Politik macam Musa Hitam atau pun KJ, tapi pengamatannya cukup tajam. Dan dia berfikir apa yang orang lain tak fikir.

Mula-mula dia tanya, "pasai apa Mahathir keluar Umno?" Aku pun jawab, "sebab nak lawan Pak Lah". Pak Nawi jawab balik, "Bukan nak lawan Pak Lah, tapi nak lawan Anwar"

written by ajip, May 27, 2008 22:35:34
Aku diam, dalam hati, "lebih baik cakap dengan Berahim Ali".

"Mahathir bukan bodoh, Mat. Dia tau Pak Lah lembik, tapi Pak Lah ada viagra kat belakang. Orang lain pakai KY, Pak Lah pakai KJ. Dan tukang support KJ pulak, Anwar!. Aku bukan kata Anwar sokong KJ, tapi bila Anwar tentang Mahathir, KJ juga yang untung." Pak Nawi memulakan ceramah dalam kereta.

"Jadi Mahathir ada dua musuh sekarang. Anwar dan KJ. Nak jatuhkan KJ, Mahathir kena jatuhkan Pak Lah. Tapi sapa nak tolong? Nak harap orang Umno? Orang Umno bagi dua tiga ratus, maruah pun depa boleh jual.Tok sah kata tempat lain, ahli Umno kat tempat sendiri diKubang Pasu pun boleh belot, hanya dengan dua ratus ringgit!

Nak harapkan pemimpin Umno? Dia pun tahu, pemimpin Umno ni pentingkan perut. Masing-masing takut tak dapat projek. Lagi pun, pemimpin Umno mana tau susah! Jadi dia tau, orang Umno tak akan sokong dia.

dengan Anwar pulak, kalau Anwar berjaya jadi PM, dia lagi susah. Dan Mahathir tau, peluang Anwar sangat cerah sebab 43 orang yang nak cross tu memang betul. Sapa yang boleh lawan Anwar? Najib... tak boleh harap.

Nak jatuhkan Pak Lah, paling awal pun bulan 12 nanti, tapi mungkin masa tu Anwar pun dah jadi PM. Jadi Anwar lebih bahaya dari KJ."

"Habis sapa yang boleh lawan Anwar?", aku mencelah.

"Pas!" kata Pak Nawi.

Aku tak mau nak potong stim. Pak Nawi tengah seronok ceramah.

"Cuba kamu ingat balik.Tahun '71, Umno tersepit, Pas tolong..sampai Pas masuk BN. Tahun 87, Ku li tersepit, Pas tolong. Tahun 1999, Anwar tersepit, Pas tolong. Tahun 2008, Mahathir tersepit, kat sapa dia nak minta tolong? Dia tau...Pas mesti tolong.

Itu sebab, sehari selepas dia keluar Umno, dia panggil Azizan Razak makan kat kurah dia. Buat apa, kalau tak minta tolong!. Dua hari selepas itu, sudah ada kenyataan dalam Harakah, Pas sedia menerima Mahathir. Betui tak cakap aku?"

"Tak kan Pas bodoh sangat kot? Dah teruk kena belasah, tiba-tiba nak jilat Mahathir balik." Aku buat bodoh.

"Pas tak bodoh! Depa lagi pandai.Dengan Ku Li, depa dapat Kelantan. Dengan BA, depa dapat Trengganu. Dengan Anwar, depa dapat Kedah. sekarang pun depa dah dapat dua negeri, tiga MB. Tapi Pas tak boleh memerintah pusat. Memang la, Pas pun tau dia tak boleh memerintah pusat, tapi Pas akan memperolehi lebih share kalau berpakat dengan Umno, berbanding dengan PR."

Sama ada Pak Nawi yang bodo, atau aku yang bodo.

"Bak handphone sekejap, aku nak pakai calculator. Sekarang Pas ada 23 kerusi Parlimen. Sama dengan 28% share dalam PR. Kalau Anwar bawa masuk lagi 43, kerusi Pas tetap sama, tapi share dia dalam PR dah drop tinggal 18%. Jadi, Pas jadi minoriti dalam PR. Tapi kalau dia keluar PR dan join BN,cuba kamu kira. Umno 79, keluar ikut Anwar 10 tinggal 69. Pas 23,MCA 15, MIC 3, Gerakan 2. Jadi Pas ada 20% dan parti kedua besar dalam BN!"

Panjang jugak akai orang tua ni.

"Kemudian tengok negeri pulak. Apa jadi pun, Kelantan dan Kedah tetap ditangan Pas. DiPerak, umno mungkin bagi MB kat Pas macam sekarang, tapi share Pas sudah naik.Dari satu EXCO mungkin naik dua. DiSelangor pun macam tu jugak. Kalau Pas join dengan Umno, dah jadi seri, 28-28. Jadi Pas ada kuasa penentu disini."

Aku dah mula risau.

"Ini yang cuba dilakukan oleh Mahathir. Keluar dari Umno dan kemudian masuk Pas. Dia canangkan isu permuafakatan melayu,soal Islam, tak kan Pas nak tolak kot? Lagi pun, ia menguntungkan Pas?. Kalau Pas tarik diri, Anwar lingkup. Selesai satu masalah."

"KJ macam mana?"

"Yang tu kejap lagi kita sambung. Kamu berhenti kat Jejantas Sungai Buluh tu. Kita minum kejap."
written by freedom lover, May 27, 2008 22:40:18
"But the prerogative to dissolve Parliament is the Agong’s."

RPK, as an outsider to Malaysian politics, could you enlighten us whether there were previous instances where the Agong had refused the dissolution of the parliament after the PM's request
written by Daryl, May 27, 2008 22:52:52
This is really sad that the effects of UMNO have on Malays. Even if we have a Malay PM that will not make them happy. If there is any decent UMNO politicians left I bet you would consider to do Malaysia some service for the sake of Malaysians future.
written by micon02, May 27, 2008 23:29:43
A good leader..can't find any from Umno

A potential good leader from PR

DSAI, Future leader - Nizar, Lim Guan Eng & Husam Musa

written by vajra, May 28, 2008 00:12:30
"And since Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad held on for 22 years in spite of the many attempts to unseat him there is no reason to believe Abdullah cannot hold on for half that period."

this could be very true that Abdullah would be in the office but for a max of 2 terms since majority of the self-serving MPs might just want to remain status quo and stay put and as usual - "waiting for the bigger fish to catch".

Would KJ be the PM? Most likely not even though that is their family's dream right now. This country and its resources belong to the People. Only God fearing people deserve to be given the task to run (not own, hello!) this country on behalf of the People. So please wake up all politicians, your days are always numbered!

Be humble, be grateful, be true to yourself, be always ready to serve the people and you would realize that you stand a good chance to migrate to the Heaven when the Day comes...
written by bananachinese, May 28, 2008 01:27:49
Snap election is more honourable than having frog MPs.

http://mylivingwall.com/v3/ind...ical-Frogs

Must present the best selection of candidates to the rakyat who have the power to choose. Otherwise no difference from what we are having now.
written by eeyaw, May 28, 2008 07:54:36
I think the likely outcome to any of the 2 scenarios that will materialise depends solely on which direction the East Malaysian MPs will eventually support. If they support Pakatan Rakyat then the next chain of event will hinge on the Agong who will then have to decide whether to go for a dissolution, which in turn if turn out to be the case, will finally depend on the wills of the people especially those from East Malaysia.
So with all these jig saw pieces to be placed on the puzzle the final outcome is certainly intriguing and will certainly draw out. Abang Pete will be around to amuse us each step of the way. Just don't expose yourselves to much to the stock market coz we are certainly going into a bear phase.
written by Al Ambia, May 28, 2008 09:39:53
People of MALAYSIA.Are we ready??IF yes,lets lets do it

A VIPER CRUSHED BENEATH YOUR FOOT,

BUT LEFT A LIVE,

WILL REAR UP AND BITE YOU WITH A DOUBLE DOSE OF VENOM.

AN ENEMY THAT IS LEFT AROUND IS LIKE A HALF DEAD VIPER THAT YOU NURSE BACK TO HEALTH.

TIME MAKES THE VENOM GROW STRONGER
written by penangite, May 28, 2008 13:05:51
BN will do all it takes to stay on power coz they are power hungry. This is the power hungry syndrome u get after more than 50 years of administering the country. Tell me which country in the world today which has been ruled by one single party since independence. U can find it only in Malaysia. Enough said..
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 28, 2008 14:29:48
written by justice, May 27, 2008 | 22:25:03

R-Rahman
A-Abdul Razak
H-Hussein
M-Mahathir
A-Abdullah
N-NUTS
written by mgeo, May 28, 2008 16:16:24
written by ksmaniam, May 27, 2008 | 19:30:03
...The indelible ink must be in....

The claim that they were planning to use it on the fingernail is nonsensical, as the mark there can be covered up by nail polish.
written by Malaysia Digest, May 28, 2008 23:19:51
Lesson on Sarawak natives.

Before Malaya joined Sabah and Sarawak to form Malaysia, there are two kinds of Dayaks. The Sea Dayak and the Land Dayak. The Sea Dayak are those natives residing near the coastal areas and river mouth. The Land Dayak lived deep in the mountainous area.

When Malaysia was formed, the Sea Dayak was renamed as the Ibans and the Land Dayak was renamed as the Bidayuh. So Ibans and Bidayuh are in fact the Dayaks.

So it's either you said the Dayak (generally means the Ibans and the Bidayuh) or you have to be specific and refers to the Ibans, the Bidayuh, the Orang Ulu, the Penans.

Malaysia Digest
written by Uncorruptible, May 29, 2008 00:55:40
Have faith, have faith fellow Malaysians of ALL races. It is not important whatever race is the majority of MPs crossing over. The main thing is to cut off the cancers of umno, mca,mic,gerakan forever first. Other problems will be solve on a cross platform basis, as is happening now.
written by Henry, May 29, 2008 11:23:04
I am confident the rakyat will be willing to donate to Pakatan if there is a general election to be held soon. I am very proud of our Selangor MB. He is doing a good job. Likewise the two other two MBs (Perak and Penang). Just to let you know Raja Peter. In the last GE I extracted some notes from your articles and made ten thousands copies. I hired 4 guys and a taxi to distribute the articles to the residents of Damansara Utama and Kin to make sure Chew from MCA is not elected. I did the same thing for Segambut and I am glad Pakatan won these two seats. God bless Raja and his family and God bless Malaysia and Pakatan leaders !
written by TanBH, May 29, 2008 15:13:52
khairy possibility as the next pm, we really hope that that time around your prediction is wrong. the tpyring of his name here already made me vomit. god bless us.......
written by coolandy, May 29, 2008 18:22:27
PR running out of funds? Don't underestimate the power of the internet and the willingness of rakyat to be an agent of change.

I will donate as much as I can for a good cause.
written by lynn, May 29, 2008 20:17:42
Look at what happened at Bandar Mahkota Cheras - blood of citizens were spilled merely to protect the interests of a small group of people. Definitely this gov't got to go!!! Yes, bring the snap polls on! We will go all out to help PR with funding, you can bet on it! Just don't open bank account at CIMB, PLEEZE!!!
written by Nick Chong, May 31, 2008 14:38:00
Dear DSAI, what are you waitting for, is time you go for the kill. Take the moron guy (KJ) out from picture.
written by SamBall, May 31, 2008 22:10:06
Scenario Three: Balkanisation of Malaysia. Religion Race Ethniity Politics = Genocide
written by The One, June 01, 2008 15:31:17
Raja Petra, isnt this article is like giving away Anwar's plan thus, can actually help the UMNO on their question of why Anwar hasnt taken over yet and they can start to make a new plan to undo this. UMNO ppl do read ur article Petra...
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, June 02, 2008 20:57:51
There is also a possibility that a state of emergency and military-rule will take place, due to civil-unrest. Investors have started to pull out of the local bourse, and shifted their investment to Singapore, while the ringgit continues to weaken.
written by PAKRAK, June 03, 2008 22:14:56
The way I feel, there is no positive development of Pakatan Rakyat taking over the government in the near future. Just angin..angin..angin. Looks like the rakyat is being carried away with impossible dreams and visions of a bright future. Let me caution you that my observations are not so positive. I have reasons to believe that DSAI might be working his way back to UMNO. How?...leave it to the old hand. And here we are, hoping against hope. Will RPK please clarify his stand once and for all. I hope I am wrong!
written by PAKRAK, June 07, 2008 04:12:35
BARISAN ANNOUNCED 2DAY THAT ITS NEW NATIONAL SYMBOL IS THE CONDOM 'COS IT ACCURATELY REFLECTS THE GOVERNMENT STANCE. A CONDOM ALLOWS FOR INFLATION, HALTS PRODUCTION, DESTROYS THE NEXT GENERATION, PROTECTS A BUNCH OF PRICKS AND GIVES U A SENSE OF SECURITY WHILE U R ACTUALLY BEING SCREWED!