All women are vulnerable to rape, not just schoolgirls PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 May 2008 14:58

From young, our parents, teachers, and friends teach us that we have choices about our lives and that we're responsible for what happens to us.

We frequently hear that if you are beaten, you're said to have incited it, and that if were raped you're said to have invited it.

We inculcate in them that they are responsible for the things that happen in their life both positive and negative.

Thus, when a rape occurs, usually what a victim's thinks is: “What did I do that was wrong?” The victim blames herself and society is quick to blame her as well.

Now we read that even the innocence of children is questioned. Schoolgirls are now responsible for seducing their perpetrators.

In my opinion we seem to be saying that we won't take responsibility as a society and we will continue to blame the victims.

We have to start discussing about who rapes. Who is that somebody? Why do men rape women? And how do you stop them?

We have to examine the various types of rape. The is anger rape which is characterised by physical brutality; power rape in which the aim is to control the victim; and sadistic rape in which the driving force of anger and power is translated into a sexual attack and sex rape where drugs are the instruments of the attack.

Very few rapes involve provocative dressing on the part of the victim. In fact, I would say that convicted rapists do not remember what their victims were wearing.

Rape victims range from days old to senior citizens in their nineties. Where is the evidence that provocative dressing causes rape?

It is a myth that rape only happens to young, beautiful women who dress provocatively. All women are vulnerable to rape, regardless of age, race, class, education or physical appearance.

EDWARD,

Wangsa Maju, Kuala Lumpur.

written by MarchOn, May 27, 2008 15:12:41
EDWARD ... a wonderful peice. Our society is brain washed to the extent of thinking that the victim brought the crime upon ourselves.

Not only rape... snatch theft... don't carry a handbag, walk to other side of the road. Robbery.... have the best high tech security system....

We can forever blame the victims, until you yourselves become a victim, then you'll understand that it is not the fault of the victim.

Remember even children as young as 5 or 6 year are being raped or even boys are being raped... please justify the dress or cloths they were wearing when they were raped.
written by budakindia, May 27, 2008 15:20:03
Because the rape victims were wearing white! Err what about UMNO uniforms? Isn't that white also? white and red? How stupid a person can be? Just because the girls are wearing white, she should be a rape victim? What's next? Don't wear pink underwear? A new fetish is it? smilies/angry.gif
written by indianputra, May 27, 2008 15:25:41
Not a single 'sane' women of this planet earth want to be raped. Women as a human being should be treated as one. The fault definitely is not in the way a woman dresses or walks or moves. The fault lies 100% with the menfolk who are disturbed in their mind.. why? could be because of the way they were brought up, watching porn and sometimes, hard to believe, just for fun.

Even a baby is being raped nowadays by these insane men. The punishment for such crimes must be doubled or tripled to remedy the situation.
written by technoboy, May 27, 2008 15:52:27
When there are so many wolves around like those UMNO "BOCOR" ahli parlimen around, how not to have rape, the problem always starts from the leaders.
written by Arubin, May 27, 2008 15:57:56
One of the reason that rape happen was due to the low standard of the morality of our today society. Too much exposure to the sex violent movie and sex books and magazine etc.

Sigh, people like you are the reason why even the mildest kissing scenes get snipped from the cinema...

Your reasoning is hopelessly flawed. Stop blaming the mass media for it. For that matter, your holier-than-thou standard of morals ain't helping either.

Face it, rape cases happen the world over no matter what the so-called standard of morality is. There are few countries which can escape from it.

This is a gender issue. Plain and simple. Rape cases are far more likely to happen in any country where women are perceived to be inferior to men (yes, that kind of shit is happening here whether you acknowledge it or not). In fact, the lower the standing of women, the likelier she will be a victim or actually be blamed for it even.

There are some societies in Asia and Africa where women are regarded as the superior gender. Women make all the decisions and hold titles to property. I don't have any figures, but I'm willing to bet that rape hardly ever happens in such matriarchal societies. Why? Because women are actually respected there.

Forget about the morality lessons. Just teach your kid how to respect others. Morality will sink in on its own.
written by chanatak, May 27, 2008 16:43:36
Are we not ashamed by our country where state ministers themselves are involved in the rape of minors, and the federal government goes all out to protect the culprit?

Are we not ashamed by our country which lets the culprit off, and puts the victim into custody, plus the people who fought for justice for the victim?

Does the culprit knows the meaning of shame that he dares to come forward after 10 years to offer "his services to the nation" ?

Boy o boy! Binatangs cannot understand the meaning of shame.

written by dkkl, May 27, 2008 17:45:00
I just cant believe that 3 year old kid also can get raped as what I read in the paper... My goodness... and worst part is, it happened most of it in this islamic country in which suppose to be the holy ground. So the question is why?

written by dkkl, May 27, 2008 17:46:26
I dun think expose to sex material is the cause... I believe it is lack of sex education and strict rules apply in this country which increase curiosity... as they say 'Curiosity always kills'
written by quietguy, May 27, 2008 17:52:51
Some people claim that dressing provocatively encourages rape. Others deny this and say even women who cover up get raped.

Why don't somebody just do the SCIENTIFIC thing and put out the STATISTICS!? Do some research on the various rape cases reported in Malaysia and then TABULATE the results! Find out the correlation between dressing and probability of getting raped and let's settle this issue once and for all.

Stop arguing based on annecdotes.
written by apa jadi, May 27, 2008 18:24:58
written by Malay Ultraman

.... So let's control the best we can control..... But, we can minimize the risk by less showing.

I like your twisted logic. Look at the way we are educated. You are a very good example. So, this is how a Malay Ultraman is like....hehehe.

Mate, I agree with you to minimise. So, the best way to minimise is to stay home, don't ever step out of a house. Better still, wrapped in a mummy suit.

Btw, a good piece of gem, Edward. We are educated to blame the crime caused by our own fault. Ultraman and dragonfruit is a good example here.
written by sarawakian, May 27, 2008 19:10:49
written by Malay Ultraman, May 27, 2008 | 17:04:45
nobody can control the cat.. but we can only control the fish

hello Ultraman. cat is an animal. fish is a well.. fish. have you ever seen dogs and cats mating on the road side or in documentaries? how they stalk, court and eventually mate? those are animal instincts.

basically, humans are also animals BUT we are homo-sapiens with brains supposedly of the highest order among all living creatures. those among us who have brains which can't control our mental thoughts, urges and etc, so that we can co-exist in a society, should be de-classified as homo-sapiens.
written by BukaJalan, May 27, 2008 19:18:41
Dear Mr Edward and all,
Give me a break ! Rape is not tolerated - period. No ifs, no buts. Forget the dressing. Not to be tolerated, under ANY circumstances. At the enforcement level, the full force of the law need be applied, regardless. At home we teach our kids to respect others. It is when Menteri Besars get involved with statutory rape and gets away with it scott free & the whilster blower gets put in jail that we get into trouble. Only in our beloved Malaysia can this happen. Its as though we are living in the dark ages - honestly. When these injustices happens, then all these bloody "do-gooders" starts surfacing. Victim enticing - give me a bloody break. They sound like potential perpetrators - trying to protect their future intentions ! That's all I can say. Apply the ful force of the law, regardless of who the perpetrator is. Then let's see what happens.
written by ckfoohope, May 27, 2008 20:14:36
rape bcos of wat thy are wearing??
pls la..use ur brains to think la and not ur d*cks!!
lets chop off the d*cks of all the rapists...
im sure no one will dare to rape anymore...

written by miwaki, May 27, 2008 21:03:09
What happen to the horny ex-minister who were involved in the recent molest case anyway ? Is he being prosecuted ? Molest and rape are always left off when committed by people of authority eventhough they have ceased to have any authority.
written by orangair, May 27, 2008 21:17:45
The thing is...all the victims are in a vulnerable situation - alone, weak, and unable to defend themselves. The perpetrators/rapists choose these types of people not because of their dressing but because they are defenseless. They could have been excited by some other factors like porn in internet or cds, skimpy dressing women somewhere else, but they cant get these women. So the victims are the defenseless ones. So I think dressing sensibly does help prevent rapes to a big extent.
written by pedagogical, May 27, 2008 22:58:33
I'm appalled by some comments that suggests that clothes worn by women are partly to be blamed for rape.Regardless what women wear or NOT wear,they DO NOT deserved to be raped.It's typical malaysian mentality to blame/finger pointing on things.

Why not focus on how to help these rape victims?I've yet to see any institution led by men,helping rape victims.No matter how women dress,rape will occur in our society.

written by ralverd, May 28, 2008 00:02:55
Well said. Screw the idiot who blamed the women for the occurring of rape.

http://www.ralverd.com (WARNING: EXPLICIT LANGUAGE)
written by gorshan, May 28, 2008 02:43:42
all rapist should be castrated and all lawyers and human rightist activist against castration be castrated too. end of argument. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by quietguy, May 28, 2008 09:22:19
Rapists are out there. No matter what anyone say, no matter whoever you blame, you can't change the fact that rapists are out there. You can give people the best education, you can implement the harshest punishment you can think off, but you can't change the fact that rapists are out there.

The only sure way to prevent rape is to kill all the men. Even castrating them would not help, because if they can't rape with their penises, they'll rape with something else.

My point is, instead of playing the blame game, we need to teach women to protect themselves. Each person is responsible for their own body. What is the best way for women to lower the risk of getting raped, that is what we need to research and discuss.
written by capcomangel, May 28, 2008 10:40:17
why dont create new law..those who caught rape and enought proof to sentence them and just potong they peanut.just like wat china dynasty do.(tai gam)
written by mgeo, May 28, 2008 16:47:04
written by quietguy, May 27, 2008 | 17:52:51
...Why don't somebody just do the SCIENTIFIC thing...

There is no necessity; this is an issue of rights. If the right amount of rotan is applied to those who violate the weak, whether, women or children, wives or others, the problem will get resolved. Unfortunately, our police are ordered to go after various less urgent "crimes" instead.
written by Bigdawg, May 29, 2008 02:15:18
The real crux of the problem is that a lot of males in the sexually strung age range have their activities curbed and suppressed. If only the morality police and Rela people would let up and relax from spying and arresting courting couples suspected of having sex, these males would find it easier to relieve themselves, and be sexually satisfied in more acceptable ways. Sex is after all, personal.

Surely then, the statistics will reduce.