Abang needs to look from wife’s point of view PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 May 2008 14:49
WHAT’S this about educating Muslim women on polygamy? (“Call to ‘teach’ women on polygamy raises hackles” – The Star, May 23). This might be considered as being valid in the time of the Prophet when so many men were killed in battle leaving an excess of women.

However, in a peaceful country like ours, if a man really loves his wife, why doesn’t he try to think of polygamy from her point of view?

Ask a Muslim man how he would feel if his wife were able to have more than one husband at a time.

His answer, of course, would be: “Never!” But it’s all right for him to trade in his wife for a newer model or for her to share him with other wives.

What would his reaction be if he were to feel amorous and she says: “Sorry, Abang, but it’s my other husband’s turn tonight”?

I’m certain men would be horrified if this happened to them, but if they would think of what they’re doing from their wife’s point of view, they might distinguish between love and lust. And they might just be the ones to be educated.

ZAINOL ABDULLAH,

Sungai Petani, Kedah.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by kavidibaku, May 27, 2008 15:11:57
“Sorry, Abang, but it’s my other husband’s turn tonight”?

smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Never thought in this manner.
written by MarchOn, May 27, 2008 15:22:10
It may not been wrong at that time. But now.. in our world today it certainly seems wrong and unfair.
written by joeawk, May 27, 2008 15:28:01
People of the time do not condone polygamy. Only peple of primitive mindset still demand polygamy. There can be no justification except falling back on primitive reasoning and arguments. WHO ARE THEY? hahaha
written by Ben Nordin, May 27, 2008 15:34:53
When it comes to having more than one wife, they would liberally use the prophet as an example. But how about injustice? ISA? Racism? Why don't they look at how the prophet go against injustice and racism?
written by AndyY, May 27, 2008 15:47:47
Polygamy was widespread in old days because of men went to war and more women become widows. To repopulate those who died in war men were allowed to have two wives or more. Now the circumstances have changed. Now we live in different civilised world, to practice polygamy is the excuse for men to fulfill his sexual perversion....today unfortunately it is stil practised in the middleeast because people still stubbornly stuck to this belief which should become obselete by today's standard..Society must go forward and back to olde ages...except those who are narrow minded cannot distinquish an apple and durian...
written by K W Waran, May 27, 2008 15:58:29

Thanks Sdr Zainol Abdullah for coming forthright on the issue.

Sorry, guys, am compelled to pour some cold water here, too.

"Kelelakian of a Jantan" or "Kejantanan of a Lelaki" is not based of the number of wives, mistresses or in those days concubines that a Man/Jantan/lelaki has, that really matters.

If one man can love one woman and only that woman and satisfy her needs, and wants, in that order, to the Fullest, there you see A Real Man there.

In, plain words, everyone have their needs and wants and apart from other physical, emotional and spiritual needs, once a man can fulfil his wife's conjugal needs to the fullest, than and only than, he is The Real Man.

Sadly, some don't realise that. They leave their wedded wives waiting in "hunger" at home whilst they satisfy their craving for fresh flesh without a worry or remorse that they might be returning with a cocktail of bacterias and viruses that can wipe out their progeny if it turns out to be an incurable Misadventure.

written by Ann Meng Sim, May 27, 2008 16:01:14
I asked a Muslim Malay man why Muslim women cannot have 4 husbands. This was what he told me... He said if a man has 4 wives, it is not a problem cos the man can be 100% sure that any of his 4 pregnant wives will be carrying his unborn child.
HOWEVER, if a woman is to have 4 husbands, how would she know which husband fathered her kid?
And so he says, that is why Muslim women cannot have 4 husbands.
And by the way, this guy has 3 wifes and a string of girlfriends which Wife #3 has no knowledge of.
He says why not if he can afford it and why not if the new one is younger than the old one?
So this is how it goes eh? smilies/grin.gif

I respect the religion. I just do not respect the people who are using this particular religion as an excuse to cover their evil ways! What is the point of doing evil things 23 hours a day and then spending the 24th hour praying?
written by chanatak, May 27, 2008 17:13:24

We have heard enough of examples and incidences of corrupt practices. Nonetheless keep up the work exposing them. But what we really want to see now is that actual court action is taken against the perpetrators one by one. No more talk.

Just do it.

written by non conformist, May 27, 2008 18:03:11
23 And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.
24 Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.

A man SHALL CLEAVE to his wife [SINGULAR] for life, as long as both shall live.

POLYGAMY is ADULTERY, LICENSED and LEGALIZED, by a certain religion!
It is a religion that degrades man's better halves - their mothers and sisters and daughters.
written by non conformist, May 27, 2008 18:09:34
"which is better... Poligamy or having mistresses or going to brothels for a one night stand????"

Are these the only options for a married man?
Whatever has happen to such virtues as love and affection and loyalty?
Where are men who would keep their wedding vow:

"I take you Wifey to be my wife,
According to God's holy ordinance:
To have and to hold from this day forward,
For better for worse,
For richer for poorer
In sickness and in health,
To LOVE and to CHERISH,
Until we are parted by death.
And to this I pledge you my word."

written by non conformist, May 27, 2008 18:17:12
Polygamy may have been a religious tool to mass produce adherents for a particular religion, especially when one is born into a religion by law, and are enslaved to that religion by the coercion of law. So, actually polygamy is a brilliant idea in the eyes of that man who conceived and promotes it, even though in reality, it is shaitanic and degrading to both gender of the human race.
written by shiokguy, May 27, 2008 18:23:00
Without Prejudice

Lately a lot of young muslim women friends that I know are practicing Polygamy before marriage. This reason is to get even before they get marriage! Since after that their husband can and will legally take on 3 more wives. So they just want to hit the number 4x or more before getting married. Then they can said "I did it too"

Some suggest that they will also start venturing around once their take in second wife, the reason is the hubby will not be able to fulfill or satisfy her need thereafter.

So don't be upset and angry, just get even! Just a tot, due to inflation can the man take more than 4 in the future?

Real Life Malaysian Inflation :http://shiokguy.********.com/2...-rate.html

written by Saint, May 27, 2008 18:23:19
Can any one explain why only one Eve was made for Adam and not more Eves?
Don't tell me that God changed His mind along the way?
Not consistent, is it not?
written by cklife, May 27, 2008 18:38:16
100% Agree!!!!
written by pedagogical, May 27, 2008 18:45:03
This reminds me about a friend's phobia of getting married to her bf.It seems that her concerns were mainly how committed her future husband-to-be to her (aka for him not get other wives in the future).Well,the answer was "well we will try to work out"....meaning there's no assurance if he will stay true to her, and there's a possibility of getting other wives if things don't work out later on.Needless to say,wedding plans were called off

written by sarawakian, May 27, 2008 19:20:31
here we have another perfect example of people manipulating Islamic teachings to their own benefits. if only there could be a genre of Islamic women who could stand up to this and point out exactly where in the Quran that polygamy is or is not condoned with reasoning used by the Muslim men of today.

99% of Muslim men of today practise polygamy purely due to lust. as one Muslim friend of mine told me of his reason to get a second wife "kita kahwin baru bukan kerana nafsu, kerana kita ada nafsu"

what a JOKE!
written by apa jadi, May 27, 2008 19:32:43
“Sorry, Abang, but it’s my other husband’s turn tonight”?

Good one Ms Zainol.

I am actually fed up with the daily squabbles on trivial religious issues, what should and what should not. This country needs productivity, not wasting time on trivial issues.
written by e3b4c4, May 27, 2008 20:10:26
The Quran, too, allowed polygamy, but not without restrictions:

"If you fear that you shall not be able to deal justly with the orphans, marry women of your choice, two or three or four; but if you fear that you shall not be able to deal justly with them, then only one" (Quran 4:3).

must not marry any other woman as a second wife. 74 The Bible, on the other hand, sometimes resorts to forcible polygamy. A childless widow must marry her husband's brother, even if he is already married (see the "Plight of Widows" section),regardless of her consent (Genesis 38:8-10).
written by est, May 27, 2008 21:06:20
Women folks

It's high time you gals don't just take this from the men anymore.

Go read An Nisa Ayat 3

Dan jika kamu takut tidak berlaku adil terhadap perempuan-perempuan yatim (apabila kamu berkahwin dengan mereka), maka berkahwinlah dengan sesiapa yang kamu berkenan dari perempuan-perempuan (lain): dua, tiga atau empat. Kemudian jika kamu bimbang tidak akan berlaku adil (di antara isteri-isteri kamu) maka (berkahwinlah dengan) seorang sahaja, atau (pakailah) hamba-hamba perempuan yang kamu miliki. Yang demikian itu adalah lebih dekat (untuk mencegah) supaya kamu tidak melakukan kezaliman.

How can it be adil if your men is sleeping with another women and he thinks it's ADIL? It's an impossible ideal isn't it? The rest you conclude for yourself.
written by alarcarte, May 27, 2008 21:13:36
A man who has 4 wives may be able to satisfy all 4 wives financially but is definitely not able to satisfy all four of them sexually. We have heard enough stories of the wives having fun with other men while the husband is not with them.
One big shot woman (link to UMNO I think) also murdered in a Hotel room in Kota Kinabalu after having fun with somebody (Bell Boy?) some years ago, anybody remember that?
Men of more than one wife, do you think its O.K. for you while sleeping with one of the wives and the other curi-curi makan behind your back?
written by Ijalz, May 27, 2008 21:33:03
Here we go....Islam bashing again...

Do some study first on the issues before u start bashing,
Its not about Islam here, its about unfaithful husbands & broken marriages (which happens to all humans regardless of religion).

Women get pissed of if a man marries a 2nd wife, but women dont realize that its their own gender thats to blame also. Its the woman who agrees to be the 2nd wife or mistress or whatever, Its women who demand the 1st wife to be divorced . Its women who agree to share a husband.

Ask a man to share a wife, definitely he would say "over my dead body" or "take lah, dun want anymore".

Most women dont realize they have the power the control their marriages and lives just by saying "no".

Poligamy is like a car, u can use it for good or evil. Its up to the driver.

Educate Women not to stab other women in the back.
Educate Men not to marry just for the sake of a good f**K.
written by taxi90, May 27, 2008 23:06:29
Yeah, sure. Go ahead and marry 4 wives on the pretext of "preserving the purity of oneself from lust". Since the world comprises 50-50 men to women, the killer question is WHAT HAPPENS TO THE OTHER 3 MEN WHO HAVE NO WIVES due to the greed of one man???" What do they do?
MCQ question for the enlightened:
a) masturbate
b) visit prostitutes
b) rape the neighbor's daughter
c) fornicate with another man
d) sodomise a dog
So... if there are any learned muslim around here, kindly elaborate which method is most acceeptable to the quran.
written by zandi, May 28, 2008 00:14:54
taxi90, to your "killer question ... WHAT HAPPENS TO THE OTHER 3 MEN WHO HAVE NO WIVES due to the greed of one man???", the best solution would be:

THE OTHER 3 MEN SHOULD and MUST BE ENCOURAGED AND LEGALISED TO MARRY ANOTHER MAN's WIFE!

Like someone said, don't get upset, GET EVEN! Lol...
written by hamid, May 28, 2008 03:29:04
written by The dragonheart, May 27, 2008 | 17:43:38

which is better... Poligamy or having mistresses or going to brothels for a one night stand????

Dear dragonheart

I really pity you for your understanding about Sex, polygamy, marriage, misters, women, men and religion. Frankly speaking, do you think only man has special desire that women don't have ??? If man has high sexual desire so do women, if you think wife unable to satisfy husband sex need so do husband!!

The main reason man like polygamy is because they're boring with the old wife, and how long do you think the new wife can satisfy the husband??? sure after some time the husband will boring with the new wife and started looking for the brand new ... and the number will continue till he mati pucuk or he dies. So polygamy is not the solution but privilege for Muslims man.

Remember... man and women equipped with same heart. Women do have feeling.

You should not pity women whose husbands have mistresses or those who goes for one night stand but you should pity women whose husbands having more then one wife.

Question: Who have more mistresses or go to one night stand? Muslim or non-muslim?

No doubt its Muslims man. Arab man traveling around the world not for side seeing but to one night stand.
written by chaiksyn, May 28, 2008 06:47:36
Zainol, oh my, you hit the nail, spot on the wall. KUDOS!
written by kimasapi, May 28, 2008 10:06:12
This is the most misunderstood chapter in Islam......or perhaps they purposely misunderstood it.
To justified their action, most muslim men will refer to the Quran Chap-4:3.
However in Chap-4:3 God also set clearly the criteria for being able to have more than one wife......i.e. being able to deal "JUSTLY" or in simple plain BM "ADIL".
Not because you're rich or afford it. Or the favorite phrase in BM "MAMPU".
So people please remember the criteria set by God is "ADIL".

Now let us see what God has to say about man being "ADIL".
Whether can man be ADIL to his wives.

Go to Quran Chap-4:129
........you are never able to be fair and just as between women, even if it is your ardent desire.....

So by using God's criterion none can have more than one wife.
In another word if you are a practicing Muslim you can never have more than one wife.

I dont say it.....refer to the Quran.
written by non conformist, May 28, 2008 10:23:10
e3b4c4 wrote:
The Bible, on the other hand, sometimes resorts to forcible polygamy. A childless widow must marry her husband's brother, even if he is already married (see the "Plight of Widows" section),regardless of her consent (Genesis 38:8-10).

I am very surprised that you misread such a plain passage.
This man Judah had two sons. The first son married, but DIED and left behind no offspring. The civil law requires that the surviving brother has the obligation to raise up a seed for his brother. This is no forced polygamy... this is PRESERVING the seed and name of a blood brother who died without leaving a seed. It is familial duty and obligation in their culture - to preserve the seed/lineage of a brother.

Here is the passage, with its plain message:
6 And Judah took a wife for Er his firstborn, whose name was Tamar.
7 And Er, Judah’s firstborn, was wicked in the sight of the LORD; and the LORD slew him.
8 And Judah said unto Onan, Go in unto thy brother’s wife, and marry her, and raise up seed to thy brother.
9 And Onan knew that the seed should not be his; and it came to pass, when he went in unto his brother’s wife, that he spilled it on the ground, lest that he should give seed to his brother.
10 And the thing which he did displeased the LORD: wherefore he slew him also.

That is why there is a statement in the Bible:

2Pe 3:16 "As also in all his epistles, speaking in them of these things... which they that are unlearned and unstable wrest, as they do also the other scriptures, unto their own destruction."

sing lau, penang
====
written by edmean, May 28, 2008 10:35:24
Yeah, sure. Go ahead and marry 4 wives on the pretext of "preserving the purity of oneself from lust". Since the world comprises 50-50 men to women, the killer question is WHAT HAPPENS TO THE OTHER 3 MEN WHO HAVE NO WIVES due to the greed of one man???" What do they do?
MCQ question for the enlightened:
a) masturbate
b) visit prostitutes
b) rape the neighbor's daughter
c) fornicate with another man
d) sodomise a dog
So... if there are any learned muslim around here, kindly elaborate which method is most acceeptable to the quran.

I can't imagine how smart a person is to think that if a man got 4 wives, another 3 man will suffer just by a simple fact of 50-50 ratio on our 6.7 billions world's population. Although your question to certain extend can be in the same category as "what happen if no other than pork only exist for meal" question not long time ago, I ll try my best to put it simple. Islam do not force its believers to marry 4 wives. It only gives you option to satisfy your need in a correct way, provided that you can be fair in term of countable items. Can you count love? or can you even force love? But you can share love perhaps.

Abut your MCQ, the answer for if you can't fulfill your need when the time come, is fasting.

I just want to highlight two story for you to ponder.

Chua Soi Lek story
(a doctor who perhaps know how to deal with hormones whatsoever)

vs

Mohamed Nor Awang story
(an odd worker who maybe stronger and wealthier than he look)

This is the most misunderstood chapter in Islam......or perhaps they purposely misunderstood it.
To justified their action, most muslim men will refer to the Quran Chap-4:3.
However in Chap-4:3 God also set clearly the criteria for being able to have more than one wife......i.e. being able to deal "JUSTLY" or in simple plain BM "ADIL".
Not because you're rich or afford it. Or the favorite phrase in BM "MAMPU".
So people please remember the criteria set by God is "ADIL".

Now let us see what God has to say about man being "ADIL".
Whether can man be ADIL to his wives.

Go to Quran Chap-4:129
........you are never able to be fair and just as between women, even if it is your ardent desire.....

In another word if you are a practicing Muslim you can never have more than one wife.

I dont say it.....refer to the Quran.

Dont simply quote Quran halfly when you think you can use it.

This is the whole sentence:

4-129. And it will not be within your power to treat your wives with equal fairness, however much you may desire (to do) it. Therefore, do not let yourselves incline to the wife (whom you love most), to the exclusion of the other leaving her in a state of suspense (in the air). But if you put things to right and are conscious of Him (and refrain from evil), Allah is indeed Most Forgiving, Most Merciful.

This proves that Allah permit a man to have more than one wife but it is also stated that a man can never pratice absolute fairness due to weakness that all creation posses, that we just can never be perfect.
written by eeyaw, May 28, 2008 11:33:40
I'm not a Muslim but I think the reason why the Koran allows a Muslim to have 4 wifes with conditions was for practical reason that there are more women than men during war time. In modern time this is no longer the case but the practice continues since it was highjacked by some people with selfish reasons.
written by Nurani Itrah, May 28, 2008 11:55:35
written by non conformist, May 27, 2008 | 18:17:12

Polygamy may have been a religious tool to mass produce adherents for a particular religion, especially when one is born into a religion by law, and are enslaved to that religion by the coercion of law. So, actually polygamy is a brilliant idea in the eyes of that man who conceived and promotes it, even though in reality, it is shaitanic and degrading to both gender of the human race.
1st, I wud like to ask my fellow bloggers to refrain from issuing comments on matters dat u dont haf sufficient knowledge.

It is annoying dat whenever the issue of polygamy in Islam is the topic of discussion, every1, including the non-Muslim. If ur knowledge about Islam is limited to the hearsay, media reports, or western-projected reports about Islam, please dont waste ur time n ignite the unnecessary tension among us.

1 thing dat most of us tend to forget dat polygamy exist long before Islam. Who can deny that Chinese emperors had more than ten wives?? It is not something introduced by Islam.

Based on my limited knowledge, I view the permission for Muslims to marry four wives is not a privilege, but rather a restriction to the practice of 'collecting wives' (be it in form of wives, misstresses, concubines, etc) practiced by various civilization until today around the globe.

Human with limited capability to comprehend the act of God (of course their ego will deny this fact), try to condemn the permission of polygamy in Islam. Why do we always cofine the issue of plygamy around sex?? Marriage in Islam comes with a great deal of reponsibilty. Hence, if the situation needs, or the man simply sees it fits to marry more than 1 wife, he should also be prepared to bear the responsibility as a head of the family. Compare this with the secret affairs involving a lot of Malaysian today.. Is there any responsibility, attachment whatsoever?? What will happen if the affair give birth to a child? Throw him away?

Why Islam restrict it to four and do not abolish polygamy altogether? It is undeniable that polygamy may be needed in certain situation and cases. Consider the situation where the wife can't bear a child and the husband really wants to have a child of his own.. Should they go separate ways then?

Islam is a blessing to us. It offers solution to every single problem. When you restrict a man to marry only one wife, can every man abide by the rule? There are still a significant number of us who resort to secret affairs. It EXISTS in every society and community. Be it Malay, Chinese, Indian, etc. WOnt it hurt the wife of husband upon learning of their spouse's 'adventure'?

Through polygamy, there's no element of betrayal (although many Muslims failed to do this). A man should keep his second marriage as no secret to his wife. And Islam recognize the fact that it will be hard for the wife to accept this. That's why a wife who allow her husband to marry another wife will be given huge reward, a reward that we cant even comprehend. While the husband is reminded thru various occasions in the Quran and Hadith to try his best to be FAIR among his wives. This is no simple task. That's why in An Nisa verse 3, Allah said that, if you can't be FAIR, restrict to only 1 wife.

There are a lot of examples for a happy polygamous marriage, even in Malaysia. But, it never get into the attention of the public, as it is not 'newsworthy'. They live happily, the kids are well taken care of, it's a win-win situation. Compare that with Chua Soi Lek's case, and many other cases which involves secret affairs which sometimes extend to murder, etc.

Now, use your rational judgment. Don't let it be clouded by irrational emotion. The same people who preached Bangsa Malaysia, equality, unity, etc in MT, but project hatred, heated, emotional argument when it comes to Islam. it is as if you people are waiting for any chance to bash Islam. When u dont know sumting, u dont haf the right to talk about it as if u r an expert in it.

Dun use the 'freedom of speech' as an excuse for your arrogance and ignorance.

Thanx. If you want to discuss about Islam (in the spirit of getting to know it), plz contact me, I'm more than willing to share my knowledge.
written by myvoice, May 28, 2008 12:19:07
For man to have four wives is OK and how about for woman to have four husbands? Can you Mr Ibrahim allowed your wife to share with other man. If can, tak apalah you boleh cakap lebih lebih but if cannot, please keep your BIG MOUTH SHUT!
written by pedagogical, May 28, 2008 12:35:23
"That's why a wife who allow her husband to marry another wife will be given huge reward, a reward that we cant even comprehend"

...oh yes, blame it on the women now cos the womenfolks can't really comprehend how BIG is the afterlife reward,don't they? Is this from your personal experience or just from your observations? will u honestly accept it if your husband plans to take other wives who are younger & more beautiful,when u got wrinkles on your face & no longer "bergetah"? maybe u should conduct why is there a high divorce rate nowadays....it seems that these women don't accept polyamy. So,should these divorced women be educated to accept polygamy?

Well,have u forgotten to inform "ignorant" readers in MT that in heaven, men will also have the pleasure of having beautiful virgins as well?

The gist of the topic is not about justification of having 4 wives,it's all about how men manipulate religion for their own gain.Apparently,u don't see polygamy in our society is "mostly" is just a smokescreen to "fulfill" their "religious obligations".

I wonder what u would suggest to children from a polygamous family to do? is there an instruction manual on how to deal with many mommies & 1 daddy?

written by taxi90, May 28, 2008 21:02:10
Edmean, you call that an answer? You admit that men are weak and imperfect. Then you said god gave men a way to satisfy their weakness by allowing them 4 wives. Stupidly enough you then said that if you can't satisfy your hunger, then fast!. If men cannot get enough with just one wive, you expect them to practive abstinence? What kind of shit answer is that? And you presume to call me 'not bright!"
written by hamid, May 28, 2008 22:05:07

kimasapi

Then why Muhammad has 22 wife's and many concubine and slaves??????????