Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Provocateur…and national embarrassment

Provocateur…and national embarrassment PDF Print
Monday, 26 May 2008 21:40

One of the hallmarks of a vibrant and thriving democracy is the presence of healthy debates and exchange of ideas and perspective from groups and individuals, especially of varying philosophies.

It would be an understatement indeed to say that for 22 years Mahathir was not someone who showed tolerance and respect for dissenting voices, whether within his government or otherwise. Indeed, his approach to governing essentially boiled down to, in my view, three basic rules: First, manufacture a sense of insecurity among Malays about the other races so that you can 'divide and conquer.' Clearly, his former colonial rulers were masters of this craft and Mahathir seems to really understand how to work this method. Second, don't tolerate dissent: 'it's my way or the highway.' Third, if there is dissent, it will be cast aside at just about any cost.

I suggest to you that if you look back to any national episode in his 22 years of rule, his modus operandi can be summed up by the above three rules of thumb. Of course in 1969, we got a preview of what was to come. Back then when the country found itself at a political crossroads, Mahathir took it upon himself, to some extent, to play king-maker. As the social cauldron got stirred into a frenzy, we found ourselves as a nation at odds – and in conflict – with each other. The opportunists undermined our nationhood in part by manufacturing and then exploiting some of our insecurities about each other. Especially critical back then was the fact that we heard, not unlike today, warnings about 'unrest' and 'political turmoil' because of so-called 'extremists' among various quarters are making 'unreasonable' demands on the government. [note: here's an example of the 'divide and conquer' rule at play.] Out of this episode was born the Malaysia that, as prime minister, Mahathir nurtured and championed: a Malaysia in which we were reminded by the UMNO elite, at every turn, that non-Malays should 'know their place' and not question the new status quo of privileging Malays. [Note that this message was often delivered as, to put it mildly, a kind of admonishment to non-Malays and served as a seemingly populist rhetoric for ordinary (non-elite) Malays to consume. Indeed, contrary to the NEP agenda, the UMNO elitist deliberately set up the Malay agenda as a zero-sum game between Malay and non-Malay progress.

No doubt, while the post-1969 UMNO elite did exploit the situation to create a new political arrangement, non-Malays consented to the need for social reform and the uplifting of our brethren who were economically disadvantaged. So, it should be realized that there was a reservoir of goodwill and realisation among non-Malays that served to advance the NEP agenda. And this is a critical point: despite [not because of] the animosity that was manufactured in 1969, we were able to come together, to transcend our differences and consent to work to build a common destiny. But the UMNO elite always played the 'race-card' to manufacture a false division and elected to 'remind' non-Malays to steer clear of, and 'not to trample' on Malay rights. In other words, the UMNO elite chose to legitimate themselves as the standard bearers of and 'natural protectors' of Malay rights! What was lost in this UMNO - and subsequently Mahathir's – rhetoric was the fact that Malaysians of ALL racial groups- and by mutual consent - had decided to move forward…beyond 1969.

But Mahathir's formula of 'divide and conquer' dictated that the way to affirm Malay progress was to repeatedly remind the average Malay that the threat to his/her future came from the non-Malays. [But notice PAS, with all its emphasis on a Malay-Muslim agenda, did not advance itself on the 'divide and conquer' formula.] And the best way for Mahathir to manufacture ..... Read More Here

written by Arubin, May 26, 2008 22:02:01
written by Compassion_Seeker, May 26, 2008 22:30:35
I admit I use to admire this Mahathir during my school days and later my adult life,at that time I always thought he is one of the greatest PM our nation ever produce, but all this admiration disappeared immediately the moment he frame Dato Seri Anwar and subsequently been jailed by this bastard.With his latest antics of plying racial cards to achieve his ill ambition,I really wish I have the cursing power to curse him to Hell.
written by taishan, May 26, 2008 22:37:07
A mamak who can only ride on the backs of the real Melayu.
A mamak who wanted to be a real Melayu.
A mamak who needed to prove he is more Melayu than the Melayu.
And most of all a crook and a liar.
And a UMNO NATANG.

written by rajaphillips, May 26, 2008 22:38:44
We were made to admire this dog by New Straits Times with Kadir Jasin fully in control. Lets ALL stop buying that propoganda paper from today
written by harryo, May 26, 2008 22:49:26
Otherwise he would have a brother, being an Malay of Indian Muslim in his origin he managed change the country from unknown to one of extreme in the world though internationally not much we have achieved.
written by renoir, May 26, 2008 22:49:42
Very well, written, Krishnan. It should be noted, however, that Dr.M never hid his contempt for democracy - he once stated that it was good to be dictatorial. Yet, despite all his ego, his dishonesty, his flawed way of governance, he did manage to guide the nation through the late 90s' Asian financial crisis. Unlike South Korea, our giant firms remain largely our own, and not taken over or shared by American or European entities. That surely is some achievement. His oftentimes independent stance in international affairs too is commendable in a world so heavily dominated by the West. Now we can say, in the first instance, that he did what he'd to do to save his cronies, and not the country. In the second example, we can again say that it was just posturing, given the fact that he was willing to pay lots of dough just to meet George Bush. Despite all the less noble reasons that could've motivated him, the fact remains that he did what few other leaders dared or felt committed to do. So while I agree that he has been a big problem for the country, I also feel that he has some virtues as well. That, of course, is only my opinion, which none need to share.

written by foresight, May 27, 2008 10:42:32
Sounds like the 'Lord of The Rings'. One ring for each race but the one that controls all shall be kept by the creator.
written by antiilluminati, May 27, 2008 10:57:28
This man, TDM has his own free-will. And if he choose to be remembered as a RACIST bigot rather then a great statesman, then let it be.

TDM is not the greatest leader ever for me but RPK is.
written by ONGJJJ, May 27, 2008 11:31:21
In strong wind even turkeys fly. Mahathir’s so-called achievements were propelled by God sent wealth in Malaysia, without which he would be just like any other turkeys around. When the cloud of ignorance parts with age, Mahathir is no different from a parent who squandered family’s wealth (and going into debt instead of saving) with all the parties, mega-celebrations, projects etc giving a feel good environment when he is around…then saddles his children with all the debt burden the moment the day of reckoning arrives. Was he a good PM? Of course when you have a myopic short term horizon, but in the long run…he is but a turkey who flew in strong winds. To make matters worse, he continually revealed himself a bigot..a racist..harping on the same old tune…like a broken record…communist bogey (or disbanded already)…malay supremacy…loosing political power to Chinese….sudah lah…we are Malaysians whilst you a just a Mamak.
written by joeawk, May 27, 2008 11:45:23
We have the IGP monitoring blog to look for seditious statement. He said that he will bring charges to thoise who post seditious remark. We ask him to go mampus because what has he done to Mahatir when mahatir's mouth spewed seditious statement by the truck load.

The IGP must bear in mind that credibility can only come about if one does not take side. There cannot be two (2) sets of law, one for mahatir and the another for karpal singh,hiundraf and the rest.

IGP, ask Marina Mahatir, she will be able to brief you on that matter.
written by InEffective, May 27, 2008 12:53:14
One things is for sure - the former premier believes that strategic racial exclusion and division is key to his concept of competitive strategy. He clearly believes its a legitimate strategy, and that his race will never be able to compete on merit, competence, or desire.

By dividing the peoples, he is convinced that he can accomplish success for a race, a nation can grow and flourish in an environment of suppression and repression.

And he certainly seems assured that he can maintain his party's relevance if all the races are competing against each other. He assures control of the nation's resources and assets by being the default peace-maker - that is creation of self-demand.

So all races of the rakyat - does you agree with this thinking and does it work for you?
written by Malay Ultraman, May 27, 2008 16:33:11
mahathir was a great leader. But, as he said. obsolute power means obsolute corrupt. That's implying he is indeed corrupted. By ALL MEANS NECESSARY, he did it whatever it took as long as the objective worked!! it worked for 22 yrs and proven!!
written by mgeo, May 27, 2008 17:28:28
- There is no nonsense…that…cannot be made the creed of the vast majority by adequate governmental action. - Bertrand Russell
- The whole aim of practical politics is to keep the populace alarmed…by menacing it with a…series of hobgoblins… - HL Mencken

- Leave politics to the politicians - Maha Thief
written by islandjoe, May 27, 2008 20:54:06
Just another sad old biggot. One of many. Saddest thing is that I'm not sure why he is so proud about his race? Really, lets be realistic. What have we as a nation done in the grand scheme of things. Are we one of the great civilisations? NO. Can one race really stand there and say we are superior? NO. Superior how? Superior in what? None of us have achieved ANYTHING. Sure we have some minor achievements, but compared to the rest of the world we are a peanut. So lets face facts and build from humble beginnings. This will never happen under UMNO as they are wrapped up in their self importance which is borne from insecurity. Fear of being overrun (though totally unjustified) has made them try and keep other people from developing rather than HELPING their own people develop. So as a nation, we have generally become arrogant, lazy, and uncompetitive.

So keep going with your racist remarks. The people are a little smarter these days. The average person has woken up to where they are with UMNO. The "struggle" is really about how to stop their leaders robbing the nation blind while the average person has only cosmetic and insignificant upward movement. They've woken up.
written by SamBall, May 27, 2008 22:12:23
kaka tua, sudah la sampai masa nya; relak aje le. Dah le buat kucar kacir; orang malaysia ni mudah di-putarbulit; relaksing kat kerala aje le...
written by BobbyNZ, May 28, 2008 02:19:45
smilies/angry.gif I feel very angry that I have to agree with George Soros that Dr M is a "menace" to Malaysian society. He really and truly made a fool of himself in Japan recently. Certainly, a "provocateur...national embarrassment". There is provision in Malaysian to shut him up. The public has enough of his hissing and spitting venom everywhere. I must give Pak Lah the thumbs up for putting up with this snake. smilies/grin.gif