Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Don’t blame women for the woes all the time

Don’t blame women for the woes all the time PDF Print
Monday, 26 May 2008 16:21
It is indeed high time to educate both boys and girls in schools on the correct gender relations, and the importance of respect for both sexes.

WOMEN are constantly at the receiving end for every woe that should befall them. First we had a female undergraduate who is the vice-president of the National Islamic Students Association of Malaysia blaming the so-called 'sexy' white blouse of the girls’ school uniform for rape and pre-marital sex.

Then a Member of Parliament came up a day later to justify polygamy by claiming that women did not understand that when they were pregnant for nine months or had “problems” when they hit their 50s, their men still wanted to “have fun”, thus necessitating women to be put under a polygamy enlightenment campaign.

It is indeed high time to educate both boys and girls in schools on the correct gender relations, and the importance of respect for both sexes.

In fact, girls should be taught to empower themselves from a young age so that they do not resort to blaming themselves if anything bad happened to them.

And boys should also be taught to treat women as their equal partners.

Since men hold the helm of leadership in this country, they should set the right examples by not coming up with statement after statement that belittle women.

It is disheartening enough to read about women being abused by men they love, let’s not muddy the water by blaming all the distress on women alone.

KANG SOON CHEN,
Alor Star.

written by miracle, May 26, 2008 16:27:30
"polygamy by claiming that women did not understand that when they were pregnant for nine months or had “problems” when they hit their 50s, their men still wanted to “have fun”, thus necessitating women to be put under a polygamy enlightenment campaign"

right, right right .. do you accept your wife to have 3 other men, when you are having fun your wife having fun too???

apa la ... all these BN crooks are getting no way...another stupid remark.. better keep silance then open the stupid mouth ...
written by teo siew chin, May 26, 2008 16:31:12
phew! thank goodness the men on MT are not like THAT!
that is presuming most of the comment-ers are not actually unemployed housewives
written by cheemengwong, May 26, 2008 16:35:17
Men must not have fun at somebody's expense.

If they have a wife and the wife is old, he has no God given rights to flirt around with innocent young girls, other people's wife/girlfriend etc...

If a man cannot control his lust, he should seek medical help. Maybe there are medicine to lower their libido.

Men should not trouble another just because he cannot control his lust. If he wants to visit a prostitute and get infected and die, he should make this declaration to his immediate family.

If he should go to patronize prostitutes on a regular basis, he should not neglect his family's needs. The car loans, housing loans, milk powder, shool text books, etc must be met.

He should not also go and ask his employer for higher pay if he does not have the productivity to match. He should just resign from his job if he insist to trouble the employer for reasons that his expenses is now higher due to his patronizing prostitutes.

written by indianputra, May 26, 2008 16:38:15
The recent stupid statements by several people that the school girl's uniform is sexy has created another botheration. All men including those 'holy' preachers are now staring at the school girls and making them feel awkward..
written by non conformist, May 26, 2008 16:41:54
It is the fallen nature of man (yes, i.e. both male man and female man, do you see the 'male' in the word 'female') to pass the buck.
Adam blamed the wife, and the wife blame the serpent. No one is willing to shoulder his/her own obligation, and the consequence of his/her actions.

And when man (yes, i.e. both male man and female man) forgets his Creator's commands about their relationship, they mess up that which a fountain of joy and pleasure for both the husband and the wife.

"And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh."

"Nevertheless let every one of you in particular so love his wife even as himself; and the wife see that she reverence her husband."

sing lau, penang
written by miwaki, May 26, 2008 16:44:10
Soon Chen,
When we have people with small brains but big mouths,there is not much we can do about it.They are a bunch of nincompoots regardless of how high are their education.These people are half fulled with knowlege but without wisdom.Animals doesn't wear cloths at all,do these people get aroused by looking at them ?

We are humans not animals,can those people differentiate between human and animal ? One wonder how these people go overseas when they encounter sexy women on the roads.Cultural shock !
written by cllim123, May 26, 2008 16:52:55
The common trend of narrow minded men thinking that women and even young school girls are sex objects come from the way our government and leaders acted and shown to us all as examples. Not too long ago, a senior UMNO leader got away scot free from charges of sex with an under-aged girl with practically no investigations carried out against him but the poor girl's reputation was shattered by our "free" press' portrayal of her having numerous partners and involved in prostitution. For this girl, LGE went to prison.

More recently, a former UMNO minister was reported to have molested a lady bar tender. She suddenly had a very veteran lawyer coming out proclaiming that she now wishes to withdraw her police report. Anyone ever asked why the need for a big fiasco when she wanted to withdraw the police report? Another case closed is more important for the powers that be.
written by cllim123, May 26, 2008 16:54:20
Blame the apple for Adam's sins! So typical for these dirty old men, low hiaus.
written by Wongfeihong, May 26, 2008 17:50:33
"Then a Member of Parliament came up a day later to justify polygamy by claiming that women did not understand that when they were pregnant for nine months or had “problems” when they hit their 50s, their men still wanted to “have fun”, thus necessitating women to be put under a polygamy enlightenment campaign."

Sack that Member of Parliament who utter such rubbish in Parliament. It is shameful to have such an idoit as MP. WE should sack him cane him and telecast it live on TV for the whole world to see so that we can at least gain back some respect
written by chanatak, May 26, 2008 18:49:27

eh! only UMNO's brand of Islam does that lah.

See how their MPs talk about women issues? Ever noticed that till today, no UMNO MP, ( or for that matter any BN MP ) has come up with a stand against that Munirah's stupid islamic itchy itchy jantan statement.

"Out of the fulness of the belly, the mouth speaks"

written by KELADIHUTAN, May 26, 2008 18:49:51
it speaks so much of what's in their heads all the time.
written by SamYap, May 26, 2008 19:21:37
I am truly bloody fedup with the stupidity of this 'dress issue'.

Lets call a spade a spade ok?

Its not the dress! Its the bloody bugger who think s with his weewee and not with his head! Frankly, if its the dress which is the main cause of rape - then I think the women at Bondi Beach Sydney and similar places elsewhere would have been raped wholesale!!!

written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 26, 2008 19:29:23
The more they cover up, the more horny they become, frustration, and explosion, remember our beloved Sofia?
written by non conformist, May 26, 2008 20:32:47
An ancient man said:

Eph 5:28 "So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself."

A wife that is loved is the most beautiful and delightful and loving being to the husband.

10 ¶ Who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies.
11 The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her, so that he shall have no need of spoil.
12 She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life.
28 Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her.
31 Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own works praise her in the gates.

a more than contented husband of one wife
written by Milo, May 26, 2008 20:40:20
If these MPs says we should allow polygamy based on the reason of men's sexual needs, why limit to 4 wives? How about making it unlimited so that men can marry in according to their sexual needs?

You can read these MPs' thoughts based on what their opinion were. They seem to carry the same type of attitude as the rapists, and on the basis of their thought crime alone, they should be jail so as not to endanger women in general - much less elected as MPs!
written by alarcarte, May 26, 2008 21:24:34
written by grandmarquis, May 26, 2008 | 20:33:31

Don't believe me, ask the women played by Chua Soi Lek. What is her fate now? Ask her what she likes,
======================================================= ============
Grandmarquis,
Most likely, she is not His friend but a high class prostitute from China (China Doll) Like it or not Polygamy should not be practice at all.
written by pedagogical, May 26, 2008 21:26:10
No women in their right mind would want their husbands to play a fool around when they're in their pregnancies, let alone when they're old.

I'm sorry to say this,but some muslim women would say this is their "fate" when a husband takes another wife as it's permissible in the religion.And the husband arrogantly says it's his right to do so cos he can!!!"Fate" my foot!I've seen the impact of these kind of relationship to the children.

What i see here is that these men,need to be educated more in these areas.Proposed curriculum

1)how to curb sexual needs/urges when my spouse is pregnant/old
2)how to stay faithful to my 1st love
written by amoker, May 26, 2008 21:50:37
The MP is Ibrahim Ali. I was shocked when i read his reply and he sniggered proudly at his own remark after other MPs protested. In my writting, I agree with this writer that this women blaming business should end.

MP Ibrahim, I am glad that you are not in the ranks of Barisan Alternative. YOu are actually more UMNO than some UMNO people.

For people who want girls to wear ticker clothes, more layer, dark colours and cover more, do the same to the boys. Why should girls suffer only? YOu will see that everybody will be sweating under our poorly conditioned and built school that they cannot study. We can't lower our SPM passing mark further u know..

I do appreciate HIshamudin's response as a mature answer. He however said that it is his personal view and refer to experts in his ministry. Again, playing to the gallery.
written by temenggong, May 27, 2008 11:41:53
Sex is always a big issue in abrahamic cultures.
written by Ann Meng Sim, May 27, 2008 12:30:50
Yeah sure blame everything on women.

What is wrong with them? What is wrong with the women who are married to them? They all need help. There all have serious mental problem.

It is ridiculous. And those who actually give public statements saying it's the women's fault, they ought to be sacked and banned from everything! How can such stupid people be allowed to lead? smilies/angry.gif
written by My2Sens, May 27, 2008 13:06:34
Next election, we all don't vote the men in. smilies/grin.gif

To the few good men out there, you don't have to keep silent when someone slanders your mother, sister, wife or daughter like this.

To all right thinking women, try and educate your father, brother, husband or son on gender equality.

Then change will come, slowly but surely for the better.
written by ciknoni, May 27, 2008 15:31:21
why the big hooha about men when they are not able to get sex when their wife are either pregnant or when over 50.

dont they know how women feel when their husbands are unable to perform...what with the increasing cases of impotency which is growing at an alarming rate.

are these women to resort to the 'vibrator' for sexual gratification.

both side of gender must learn to tolerate each others need.
written by cheekhiaw, May 27, 2008 16:21:28
MESSENGIC IDIOTS

Some people just want to emulate their idols who had the 'company' of many women.

Their last messenger of god and caliphs each got to have a half dozen or so wives and similar number of concubines. And that is only counting those they bother to record in history.

Despite the many virtuous reasons they peddle, one would be lying to oneself to pretend it excluded the 'want of fun' as peddled by an idiotic local MP especially in light of their culture then and their records that said that the idols' women were the 'more desirable ones'.

It cannot be so coincidental, can it?

written by edmean, May 27, 2008 17:14:12
So this is becoming debate on polygamy I supposed. Just to be simple, as explanation won't do any good for the ignorants, I'd say polygamy is good. Be happy to vote this down as it won't bother me even a bit.
written by malaysia devil, May 29, 2008 09:07:19
BANDAR MAHKOTA CHERAS INCIDENT 27/05/08
pictures and videos available at: http://www.malaysianindian1.********.com/