Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Let the PM complete his task

Let the PM complete his task PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Monday, 26 May 2008 13:26

Many years ago, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, then prime minister, told a newspaper writer that it was necessary to have laws like the Internal Security Act because “in a multi-racial, multi-religious society like ours, it is easy to whip up racial and religious sentiments”.

Dr Mahathir has been reasonably consistent throughout his political career. Until now.

A week ago, the former premier shared the stage with some other personalities, mostly from Umno. The speaker just before him told the audience that, among other things, the March 8 election result was the price the Malays were now paying for having given citizenship to the other races because “they can now hold us to ransom”.

Dr Mahathir then took the stage but made no effort to debunk the previous speaker. Instead, he took the baton passed to him and ran with it, saying, among other things, that the Malays, their special position under the Constitution, even Islam, could now be challenged because “the government now is weak”.

How would Dr Mahathir, if he still wore his prime ministerial hat, have characterised speeches like that?

His motive is clear. Weak leadership to the former premier equals Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and he wants to topple him because in his eyes, Abdullah is unqualified to rule. But he was the good doctor's choice and he did win the last election, albeit unspectacularly. So the lengths Dr Mahathir would go to to achieve Abdullah's ouster is mind-boggling, even dangerous, to say the least.

Now the former premier has quit Umno at a time of great political uncertainty for Malaysia. To ratchet things up further, he has called on Barisan Nasional component party members to quit en masse, to presumably hasten the departure of Abdullah. So far, thankfully, they have all declined his generous offer.

“His resignation from Umno in a fit of pique has left the nation in a state of uncertainty at a time when we could all do without the kind of crisis that the former prime minister is exceptionally good at inventing,” wrote Tunku Abdul Aziz, the former special adviser to the United Nations secretary-general on ethics, in his Sunday column yesterday. Quite.

Nor does Dr Mahathir have any recipe or prescription for Umno's reform, and the party has to do so if it wants to remain politically relevant. His only solution is for Abdullah to step down to be replaced by deputy premier Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who would then be advised by a Council of Presidential Elders, the eldest of whom would, presumably, be Dr Mahathir, 83. The council is a suggestion put forward by Dr Mahathir himself.

Abdullah won big in 2004 after he took over from Dr Mahathir not just because the people were tired of the former premier's high-handed ways but because Abdullah's promises of reform struck a chord among Malaysians. But that massive victory put Umno's plans to reform itself on hold and it was back to the ways of arrogance, braggadocio and Malay dominance.

It showed in the March 8 election. Now Abdullah has made the first few steps towards real reform. Let him complete his task. Dr Mahathir did the nation a great service by stepping down when he did not have to. Now he can repeat the favour by allowing Abdullah some slack to get on with the business of governance.

In doing so, he might also do himself a favour. A closed mouth, after all, gathers no foot. — Singapore BT

written by ilovepakatan, May 26, 2008 13:35:01
There is no need to reform UMNO. Just let Pakatan takeover smilies/grin.gif

Breaking news: PKR kicks off campaign to win S'wak
Read more: http://bolehjokes.blogspot.com/

Vote wisely Sarawakians! Counting on you.
Votes: +12
written by freedom lover, May 26, 2008 13:39:23
In other words the ISA was originally intended for people like Dr Mahathir, who constantly echoes racial and religious sentiments, but the people who believe in multi-racial and multi-religious society instead get whipped!
Votes: +11
written by technoboy, May 26, 2008 13:49:06
What TDM uttered in Johor Bahru was totally irresponsible given his length of being PM of the country and knowing very well the sensitivity of such matter; the racial undertones were definitely "SEDITIOUS" by any standard. TDM seems a desperate and obviously UMNO morons us using his racial undertones to also serve their own ends. This is why none of them lodge any police reports against him as compared to what Karpal Singh said. Hello AAB, you should also give instruction (or rather advise) to AG to investigate and see if sedition charges could be brought against TDM, why so quiet, NO BALLS or UMNO is being hijacked by TDM?
Votes: +9
written by Jan, May 26, 2008 13:49:16
Abdullah would do the country a favor by starting work right away. More than two months have passed and we haven't really seen any real reforms.
But Abdullah can start first by putting Mahathir under house arrest, he has said enough to be put away for good.
Votes: +5
written by HamChak, May 26, 2008 13:55:38
Aiyaa, this ISA is for the Benefits of
the Racist PM like that *****Thir fellow.
Things not to his advantage, ***** will then
apply ISA.
During his time as PM, nobody dare to call him
*****. If you do; You are GONE ! You would
had been ISA, lorr.

Bloody Half Baked *****!
Votes: +4
written by MMhunter, May 26, 2008 14:15:36
How can a Council of Presidential Elders,not elected by the rakyat and whose interest is only to represent UMNO be a impartial body to advice the PM and his cabinet.This is sheer madness and coming from Tun shows how desperate he is and the level he will go to just to protect his interest and his cronies.I just hope the rakyat will not fall in to this trap.We must deal with TUn as soon as possible and put him in his place.WE al want a peaceful and properous malaysia.
Votes: +2
written by FFT, May 26, 2008 14:21:30
Mahathir reminds me very much of the posturing and belligerence of Saddam shortly before the US lit up Baghdad like a Christmas tree.

Like Saddam, Mahathir's "Waterloo" is also fast approaching. The belligerent theatrics we are seeing from him now only belies his very real fear that he will be facing prison time, at the worst, or at the very least a long drawn out court proceeding that will humiliate him right down to the core.
Votes: +3
written by delCapo, May 26, 2008 14:34:23
The only tasks the PM can complete is to totally dicredit & disgrace Malaysia on the international arena. This man has no ideas, below par intelligence and no class. Nice guy, maybe... but a PM to continue putting Malaysia on the world maps, NO!

Back in the country.. has he done enough damages with his non-actions, and his family/cronies raping & selling the country's economy? or hasn't he had enough time to prove he cannot complete anything good?

Give him time to complete his task, you say.....
PUI!!!!
written by ksmaniam, May 26, 2008 14:37:32
My two cents worth.
When TDM appointed AAB as his successor he did not mean it. But he wanted S46 members and UMNO to be really together innew UMNO. He wanted AAB's grassroot level members in UMNO. Thus UMNO was back to normal. But as he is related to najib, he wanted him to be the next PM to carry on the "family" legacy and also to carry on his work. AAB was only a temporary choice. "someone to warm the seat before najib takes over" "bagi lah dia satu term". AAB said yes sir to TDM. After being the PM. AAB being a humna being that he is, did not follow TDM. I can think of 2 reasons. One AAB had decided long before, during the S46 crisis, what and who is TDM, he know this man more than us, so he had decided what he will do or number 2, Khairy decided for him what he should do. I prefer the former reason.
Why?
AAB is a political person. He has been one for so long. What TDM did was not something many people would have liked, malay or not. The list is endless. So AAB was buying time and so did others. HIs quietness fooled TDM. He chose him after which najib is definitely to take over. Remember najib was only made the minister of defence one year or so b4 TDM retired. Putting Najib, in Defence was actually a precaution in case someone stopped him from becoming the next PM. Look at what is happening now. It is difficult to topple najib as he is in the next strongest position in UMNO (and the most lucrative too).
Votes: +1
written by FFT, May 26, 2008 14:39:25
written by MMhunter, May 26, 2008 | 14:15:36
How can a Council of Presidential Elders,not elected by the rakyat and whose interest is only to represent UMNO be a impartial body to advice the PM and his cabinet.This is sheer madness and coming from Tun shows how desperate he is and the level he will go to just to protect his interest and his cronies.

If that ever comes to pass, the darkness and repression that will envelop Malaysia will be unprecedented, possibly even surpassing basket cases like North Korea.

The only solution at that point will be a revolution...a real one...that deposes Mahathir and his lackeys for good. Behind bars or otherwise.
written by Jan, May 26, 2008 14:40:31
So what are you waiting for Datuk Seri Abdullah?
You better act fast to put away Dr Mahathir, he's starting to cause damage not only to your position but racial harmony. That's a seditious act!
written by ksmaniam, May 26, 2008 14:48:18
....continued....it is also a strong ministry.
Today, it can be seen that AAB is gnawing at TDM's legacy and opening up too many TDM's pandora's box. TDM during his tenure had many promises, crooked bridge, PM ship, etc etc etc to many people. Now this people are disturbing him. Provoked by this and the fact that all his plans are going awry, TDM is a man who is having sleepless nights. Hell hath fury than a "man" scorned, and TDM is not one who will not keep quiet, check your history books or RPK's writtings, TDM will continue with his lambasts. Anyone would be dissappointed. AAB is sitting on a hot seat. I have a feeling that UMNO will never end. It will get over it. So let TDM vent his frustration till AAB does what he has to. The only thing that I peresonally don't like is what TDM has said (if he did) that an unrest may occur. I would like to say that if it happens this time, most of the non malays will leave Malaysia, as the other countries are offering better deals than Malaysia can. Up to you, you have scared me too if your saying. I have children too. I thought you are our BApa Malaysia Moden. YOu have proven that you are only bapa to your children. Thank you and bye.
Votes: +1
written by MasterBlaster, May 26, 2008 15:54:20
What task? In 2004 he won big becoz of lotsa lembik-lembik talk! Promise this and that! In 2008 becoz people realise he cakap kosong & done nothing!

His doesn't want to hear no woes, see to or assist no woes, Avoid speaking any woes.
Votes: +0
written by Jan, May 26, 2008 19:22:52
Let the PM complete his task... that's what they keep telling us.

After four years being PM and doing nothing much but sleeping on the job, what makes you think he can complete his task? I can't confidently say he could and I am sure most Malaysians will agree.
If not because we dislike having his deputy as PM we too would have asked him to step down and let someone more capable take over. Sometimes we feel he's so useless that we wouldn't even hire him if he worked for free.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 26, 2008 19:39:51
The longer AAB stays on as PM, the better for the opposition to completely destroy UMNO.
written by lynn, May 26, 2008 21:52:25
"Let the PM complete his task... that's what they keep telling us."

Really, how about let him complete that double tracking railway project first?
After all, RM16.9 billion is no chicken feed if say, hypothetically, half is going into a few persons' bank accounts. That's about RM8 billion. Can buy many bungalows fronting the sea, and a lifetime of unimaginable luxury. He can never spend even 10% of that amount in his lifetime. RM8 billion is 8,000 millions, and 10% of 8 billion is RM800 million. Tell me, if you are so old, what the fcuk need so much money for?

Malaysians shld all take to the streets and protest against this project until the gov't cancels it! If you people don't voice out your protests, then let the bn-led gov't continue to bleed this country. You and your families are going to suffer in the future if you people just "diam, diam" sahaja. This country CANNOT AFFORD anymore mega projects. Malaysia needs to be careful from now onwards with its wealth, whatever little it has left, shld be prudently spent; we need Pakatan Rakyat to take over ASAP!!!

written by shamadz72, May 26, 2008 22:23:56
In doing so, he might also do himself a favour. A closed mouth, after all, gathers no foot. — Singapore BT

----

I wouldn't be surprise how popular Badawi is to the Singaporean. After all, he is going to reward a land bigger than Singapore to them soon smilies/smiley.gif

written by harryo, May 26, 2008 22:27:40
Why should we wait that long for AAB to complete. I feel it will be worse. So many indicators are already there such as making the PR states suffer (short of funds) when in fact people in the states are contributing to various taxes, withdrawal od development projects from these states, putting people behind bars using ISA (remember he said on Hindraf, these group of people are creating problems for him, while he dare not put ministers who uttered serious sensitivities were kept aside without action), now lately, the scholarship awards distorted that even the top students of other races are ineligible (reflecting his response to GE12?). To me these are either weaknesses or incapabilities or show of power until his downfall. Your write up seemingly non-analytical trying to prove a point on TDM. I don't think any length of time would be sufficient for AAB to comnplete his task, frankly.
written by malaysia devil, May 27, 2008 18:55:12
WILL UMNO SURVIVE?
The fear among many people of UMNO ever breaking-up is being allayed by their trust in Dr Mahathir. There is nothing that he cannot fix. In fact, he, and the party may even come out more triumphant in any crisis. So goes the thought. Will it work this time around? To get an idea, let's look at some aspects of UMNO's less bright side. To begin with the party lacks renewed idealism. Its membership is elicited among social climbers with corporate ambitions, rather than among those with a commitment to a cause. As some would see it, in UMNO, the only cause worth dying for (or lying for) is money.
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...rvive.html

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.