Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Suspending disbelief in Sydney

Suspending disbelief in Sydney PDF Print
Sunday, 25 May 2008 17:26

The Sunday after the elections, a former Singaporean now living in Sydney likened the Malaysian PM to Mikhail Gorbachev, who allowed the breakout of freedom in the USSR to break up the country he had led and totally demolish his own immediate standing as president.

by William de Cruz

THE cyber-highway was really buzzing about 10pm, March 8, in Sydney.

The road to malaysiakini was a monster snarl, but you can drive like the Buddha when you know it's the price of freedom. We suspended disbelief, half expecting the internet to be irretrievably blocked and a "Siaran Tergendala" sign to be posted.

A quick SMS to a trusted scribe confirmed that it was worse/better than anyone had expected. By the time the night had fully unfolded its warmest embrace, Samy's 72nd birthday party had come off the rails, half of Anwar Ibrahim's family had become parliamentary reps, Lim Kit Siang's son was being touted as the next CM of Penang and Karpal Singh, a man in a wheelchair, had shown himself a warrior yet.

In the days to follow, the news slowly concretised to show that, for the first time since 1969, the Barisan Nasional governing coalition had been denied a two-third "super majority" (to quote Wikipedia), which it required to amend the Constitution. And which it used to do, at will.

The Opposition had won 82 seats (nearly 37 per cent of parliamentary seats and a four-fold increase on its 2004 result), leaving the BN a mere 140 (just under 63 per cent, and compared with 198 seats in 2004).

The most telling statistic of all was the voter-breakdown percentage: Barisan's 52.2 versus 47.8 of all registered voters for the Opposition.

How did so many people know enough to swing? How did DAP, PAS, PKR and others reach that unwashed swathe?

If police permits for the Opposition were as hard to get as credit is in today's financial markets, if you couldn't get space on mainstream TV, radio and print unless you were anti-Malaysian, seditious or dead, if you couldn't do a mailbox-drop for fear of being arrested under the Printing, Presses & Publications Act, how did the Opposition reach them?

Who's responsible for this?

Only one person to blame, or thank, depending on how you look at that glass.

He gave us the mother of all IT highways, the dream of the Multimedia Super Corridor, which in turn bore the Malaysian web. On the twin trunk-roads of blogging and email, you could say the 'alt' fish and loaves were finally keyed into the marketplace of ideas.

For many Malaysians, or at least 47.8 per cent of registered voters, it will remain the most fateful and delicious of ironies, that they were able to shake the very ground underneath BN by virtue of the dreams and ambitions of its most hard-fisted leader – simply by using their phones and computers.

And Malaysians took the alt-route to the future, thanks, mate, and its information highway, as you sped through Batu 2008, was a Godsend for the Opposition.

Mahathir's IT baby had come of age, taking its first steps to walk the talk of virtual democracy, in the freedom domain you cannot control. It had grown up while he wasn't looking.

His successor, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, it must be said, has been shown to be its most magnanimous guardian – thus far, and on the face of things.

The Sunday after the elections, a former Singaporean now living in Sydney likened the Malaysian PM to Mikhail Gorbachev, who allowed the breakout of freedom in the USSR to break up the country he had led and totally demolish his own immediate standing as president.

Badawi could have adhered to yesterday's standards. He had all the instruments of legislation and control at his disposal, predestined by his predecessor as necessary, simply because nobody else knew better and the good doctor knew best, no arguments entertained.

But he chose to "allow" the results of an election that today have unraveled the power that he and UMNO before him have together wielded over Malaysia for more than five decades.

There is an "unspoken wisdom" of the long-distance runner in public service: Never mark as "accomplished" any project that you are manager of, because it means you have yourself admitted your job is over.

When Abdullah Ahmad Badawi enshrined the vote in his own fall from unquestioned leadership at the helm of BN, he might have signed away his job, but he had also accomplished one very great thing: the freeing of Malaysia. History will be happier and more honest for recording this of a man whom yesterday's dictators, their lackeys and other "katak di-bawah tempurung" are quick to describe as "weak".

William de Cruz is a Malaysian-Indian who left his beloved kampung with his family in 1990, tired of the second-class citizenship he had been forced to endure. He is now a sub-editor with The Australian and resides in Sydney. WdC composed and performed the song, You Little Brown Eyes You, on Suara, a collection of Made-in-Malaysia protest songs released soon after Operation Lallang, under the auspicies of SUARAM.

written by budakindia, May 25, 2008 17:30:33
But I believe Gorbachev don't sleep while standing and handed down the whole administration to his close family. smilies/grin.gif
written by RFernandez, May 25, 2008 17:40:31
Lets face it, UMNO/BN was hit by the Internet Bloggers Tsunami. All this because a 60 year old granny can sit at her PC and tap out dissatisfaction at the government in her or others Blogs. Finally in Malaysia each and every citizen's voice heard, united and formed a tsunami to hit them, the next General Election will be the end of BN for sure.

Pak Lah is no Gorbachev, in fact he would love to pull the plug on bloggers if he could. I would not be surprised if he working on making amendments to Malaysia's Cyber laws right now as we speak.

written by aryn, May 25, 2008 17:42:44
A word of advice to all politicians.

Never try to gag the voice of the rakyat lest you find yourself at their mercy once more.
written by SBennit, May 25, 2008 17:55:47
So what it is de Cruz. Your are an ex Malaysian, or an ex Singaporean??

Any way check out this movie which was banned in Singapore....Its more than an hour long, so take note...its on the ISA & Lee Kwan Yeu's corrupted culture.

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2008/05/film-on-lee-kuan-yew-seized-by-mda/

Malaysians can learn something from it.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by cheemengwong, May 25, 2008 18:11:22
I honestly think Pak Lah cannot take the credit for the freeing up of the Raayats' freedom of Cyber democracy at all.

All the while while the internet and cyberspace is gearing up for the onslaught on the sharing, transmitting and revealing of the true political apathy in Malaysia, Pak Lah was actually IGNORANT!!!.

How can you credit a ignorant and sleeping Prime Minister. He woke up too late and is now causing more trouble trying to undo things that is past!!!.

Can we read the scenario like it is and now try to credit a sleeper?

By God's grace, he did not see it coming, otherwise, he would have ensnared The Raayat for another 50 years.

Thank you GOD for your unseen hand in the works.
written by talk3talk4, May 25, 2008 19:56:21
Maybe not by devise but by default AAB have fostered a level of freedom that we fear to even tread on during his predecessor's rule.

Many instances of historical turning points are presided by a tyrant or weakling king/emperor. Hope this will be that turning point in the Malaysian historical timeline.

MAKKAL SAKTHI
written by malgal, May 25, 2008 20:57:49
good on u william good on ya mate - this is from another similar thinking msian. and hey william good to see yr article and we had just talked abt the sorry police state at susie's party saturday he he he its queenie lah
written by bexe, May 25, 2008 23:52:35
The opposition didn't win, UMNO & BN lost. They dropped the laden and slippery ball and PK was just there to pick it up. Their ball is laden with all the controversy: malfeasance, dereliction of duties, grand theft, disregard and disrespectful of people's basic rights, brutality, injustices that borders on lawlessness,etc. The slipperiness comes from their lies, spin, bully, high-handed law enforcements, perversion of justice, as they try to cover up their crimes.
The net did its job to highlight this message, but the underlying rot in the UMNO core is the cause. Badawi has failed because he failed to see this and he failed to address this issue. Will the others who aspire to save UNMO be able to stem this? My answer is no because they (UMNO)are all blind to this one fact. The nation wants a clean and capable government with justice and the rule of law reinstated and enforced. The nation wants people with high ethics and morals. None of those on the UNMO bench qualify.
written by Hakim Joe, May 26, 2008 00:18:08
Look here Singaporean, what are you trying to say? That Pak Lah is akin to Gorbachev? That he voluntarily allowed the Malaysians to vote Opposition and to set about his own downfall? Look, our standard of living is not as high as Singaporeans but we are not all halfwits. The results of the recent elections were brought about by discontent amongst the population of Malaysia, targeting the government. If this government is not brought down on its knees during the recent elections, it would have happen during the next.

You yourself said that you dislike being treated like a 2nd class citizen in S'pore. Tell me...when are your Singaporeans gonna wake up and realise that Mr Lee is no better? Hello, if you care so much about politics in Malaysia, try doing something about the situation in Singapore!!!
written by grant, May 26, 2008 10:16:38
my guess as it is a norm many msians would take PR in sg as sg is the gateway to other countries for them to look for new frontiers
written by DORALL, May 26, 2008 12:28:37
Dear William,

You wrote "William de Cruz is a Malaysian-Indian who left his beloved kampung with his family in 1990, tired of the second-class citizenship he had been forced to endure."

I have lived in Malaysia in my "kampung" in Gombak for 60 years, have any number of relatives in Australia, and can claim to have one ancestor (on my mother's side of the family) having as the First Surveyor General of New South Wales, laid the foundations of the City of Adelaide, but I must admit NEVER to have felt that I am a "second-class citizen" in Malaysia, and "forced" to endure anything. I do NOT have a political party representing my group (the Lain-Lain) in Parliament, or in the Senate), and yet, compared to my cousins whose parents migrated wholesale in the 1950s and 1960s because they said they were "afraid" of what might happen after independence,I have done comparatively BETTER than they have in their adopted country.

I personally do not think migrating because of PUSH factors ("second-class citizen")in Malaysia is a good reason to go anywhere. If you like Australia, for whatever reason (cute koalas, kangaroos, but please never forget the long suffering aboriginals who have seen the white folk steal their land, and now countless other immigrants marginalising them even further in what they consider their "Dream Land") by all means, I suppose, migrate.

But, complaining about feeling like a "second-class citizen" is really a bit too much. If that is really what you felt in the late 1980s, you should have done the RIGHT thing,STAYED and participated in the struggle to build a Malaysia into a nation where no one, irrespective of race, religion, or socio-economic status, would feel "second-class."

Richard Dorall
written by William de Cruz, May 26, 2008 13:36:28
Dear readers,

You can take the boy out of the kampung, but you can never take the kampung out of the boy. I am a Malaysian, and will always be so. I simply referred to a comment made by a Singaporean in Sydney.

And before we start slanging Singaporeans, take pause to consider that maybe, just maybe, the fight for freedom in Singapore is much more difficult and dangerous than it is in Malaysia. You only have to look at the hell that Chee Soon Juan is being forced to live through, to understand how much more difficult it is over there.

And to Richard Dorrall: You are sounding disturbingly like some Malaysians in power who keep telling us what we may feel, what we may do, where we may go, when we may go and why we may go. Do you walk on water?
written by DORALL, May 26, 2008 14:02:11
William,

Do I walk on water? Hmmm, I have never tried that one. If I can, I shall walk over to Australia to check for myself what William Light did to the Aborigines in Adelaide, and see what I can do to rectify things, so that I too may have a place in the Dream Time.

Cheers!

Richard Dorall
written by Raja Gasper, May 26, 2008 15:15:51
I like to comment on De Cruz,that everyone is not the same in spirit.Many non
Malays who live like 2nd Class citizen in Malaysia and yet making a living.

Some go aboard to make a better living standard and off course it is not wrong.

God has given man a free will to choose what he like and dislike and live by
it means and await the final judgement for his deeds and future goodies.

However credit must be given to the person who still live in land of Malaysia
and fight the justice and rights even in dire hard conditions for the better
ment of unselfishness in making malaysia a better nation to stay.

Everyone must understandard that they are the real warriors and victories will
be theirs because God himself dislike those who oppessed and proud themself and
failed to do justice where their's kingdom and the proud empire will be bring
down by the warth of God.No power in the world can save them,if God decided to
finish them because their's nature of destruction and evil ways.
written by Tornado, May 26, 2008 16:19:23
Mahathir is the one how bring Glasnot, with or without he realise. Thank to Grand Old Man.....
written by cruzeiro, May 26, 2008 18:24:35
"The Sunday after the elections, a former Singaporean now living in Sydney likened the Malaysian PM to Mikhail Gorbachev, ...."
"William de Cruz is a Malaysian-Indian who left his beloved kampung with his family in 1990 ....."
========================

"I personally do not think migrating because of PUSH factors ("second-class citizen")in Malaysia is a good reason to go anywhere."

" ........you should have done the RIGHT thing,STAYED and participated in the struggle"

======================

Dear Dorall,
While I agree with your latter reason (under ideal circumstances), dont let the former cloud your judgement.

What do you think compells one to migrate?
It is simply becos they find better opportunities/ life or whatever pleases you elsewhere!
It was for that simple reason that many migrate, and it is probably what drove your ancestors to do the same.

You apparently have done well in the country for your standards - good for you!
Malaysia is indeed still a good place to live and make a living.
However, the "Good" that you have is relative to your ideas, and environment that you are exposed to.

Don't let your "fiery patriotism" cloud your judgement on the "patriotism" of a former Singaporean (or is it Malaysian-Indian)!
You may suggest it, without imposing your values upon them.
-------------------------------

Pssst, William - who's the former Singaporean ........ it isn't you is it?
Hope you're enjoying your first-class citizenship of OZ-land.
written by talk3talk4, May 26, 2008 20:49:19
Dorrall

...NEVER to have felt that I am a "second-class citizen" in Malaysia

now that's surely an incredulous statement!

never felt....boy, how can you not feel it. It is in the face. You not only feel but live a second-class citizenship life albeit not in every aspect but enough to drive out err.. one or two millions Malaysian have migrated.

So Dorrall, what do you know that we don't?
written by malaysia devil, May 26, 2008 22:46:33
Singapore Special Parliament Highlights
read the debates in Singapore Parliament at : http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...apore.html
written by DORALL, May 27, 2008 12:26:33
Dear alk3talk4

You wrote "So Dorrall, what do you know that we don't?"

I KNOW that mine is NOT a second-class citizenship (and neither is yours). And that is enough for me not to go about like dear friend William De Cruz who obviously felt badly in 1990 that he was being "forced to endure" something against his will, and hence felt he had to leave his "kampung" to work overseas (he has not migrated, he still says he is a Malaysian. He is, come to think of it, an expatriate, or a overseas worker).

Being first or second class is all in the MIND, our mind. And the moment we begin to think of ourselves as second, or third, or lower class, we become exactly that, second or lower class, and our enemies have WON, and we have lost the psychological war.

What I do know with absolute certainty is that this country comprising perfectly normal Malays, Chinese Indians, and Others, is being run by SECOND, no, I take that back, THIRD and FOURTH class politicians who are trying their level best to make some Malaysians feel second class citizens by making ridiculous, racist, and bordering on lunatic statements in the mass media they control, and when that does not seem to work, they pull out ceremonial weapons and start waving these in the air.

Jeez. How childish can these wretched ahli politik people get!

Why should we give in to their attempts to make us feel as if we are SECOND (or worse) class citizens? This is OUR country, not theirs (these few who call themselves politicians), and, as far as I am concerned, if they do not like that, for whatever reason, they are the ones who can pack up their bags and MIGRATE to the countries where they have built their "holiday" homes (Perth, is the latest destination, so I gather from the blogs), and where they also have, I would expect, their bank accounts.

I am STAYING here! They can GO!

And, that alk3talk4 is what I know that some other Malaysians apparently "do not know."

Richard Dorall
written by The Iceman, May 27, 2008 13:26:43
Richard Dorall, my sentiments exactly. If you are born Malaysian and do not stay to fight for necessary changes, then it does not qualify you to sit far off and comment on things which we continue to face and strive to change. So WDC stick to things Australian, while we Malaysians do what people like you should have done in the first place -stay and fight.
written by cruzeiro, May 27, 2008 14:37:22
Dorall & Iceman,
Such fiery Malaysian patriotism ...... I'm surprised I never heard your names before this.
Truly Amazing bin Ajaib Singh!

Such shallowness in the interpretation of nationalism is what led to "Ketuanan Melayu" ideology which considers YOU second class!
Should you apply for anything, you are profile according to Race & Religion.
You don't have the same rights - no matter how much you thump your chest in pride!

It isn't about confessing to be second class here - it is about how BTN has programmed minds around you in the civil service to treat you as such, despite your chest thumping patriotism ..... Or knowing that you are numero uno.

If I were a world class whatever, and an idiot comes around acting smart becos he's made my superior for reasons mentioned above, I'd leave as well (just as I left the civil service). You'd may never understand unless you were there or don't have the capacity for it - Period.

Both of you can go on thumping your chest and screaming out that you're first class or that "they are 3rd class", guys - but your reasonings and judgements don't really speak well for you.

Have fun and keep "fighting" just the same ......
written by cruzeiro, May 27, 2008 14:40:49
Typo:-

You'd You may never understand unless ..........
.......... you are profiled according to Race & Religion.
written by DORALL, May 27, 2008 15:22:13
Dear cruzeiro

I would be PROUD to be profiled as a CHRISTIAN Malaysian and, according to my NRIC a "Lain-lain" (whatever that means). If that is what people think of me, GOOD, they may learn something they had not known of before.

You say, "should I apply for anything" I shall be profiled.

Hey, dear friend, I am NOT that stupid to APPLY for anything in the first place, so that means I cannot be profiled! I belong to that group of common-sense, hard working Malaysians, who believe that despite everything that is going on, we CAN, and we WILL make it on our own, and NO thanks to any of them crocodile politicians, from whichever side of the political fence they are currently aligned!

As for "Ketuanan Melayu," who cares what a few idiot politicians loudly proclaim, Ketuanan Melayu has benefited the FEW Umnoputeras (and not even all UMNO members), and the majority of simple, decent Malay-Muslims have NOT benefited from it, or have you NOT noticed. Just look around you at the mak and pak chiks working the whole day often in menial jobs to earn their daily bread.

And, finally, there is NOTHING patriotic about my posts. I do NOT like the word patriotism (and by that I mean "My country, right or wrong", and I most certainly do not think much is right in Malaysia. Much is in fact terribly WRONG, and all caused mainly by politicians who play their ethno-religious mind games for their own glory, and benefit, and NOT even for their race and religion, and least of all for the country they piously claim they represent.

Boy, am I am in one real bad mood today.

Dorall