Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sian PM calls for calm after Pedra Branca ruling

M'sian PM calls for calm after Pedra Branca ruling PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Sunday, 25 May 2008 13:19

PRIME Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has urged Malaysians to remain calm over an international court ruling awarding sovereignty of a disputed island to Singapore, news reports said on Saturday.

'Any discussion to be held or action to be taken with Singapore must be done in a peaceful manner and with understanding from both sides,' Datuk Seri Abdullah was quoted as saying by The Star daily.

Aides travelling with Datuk Seri Abdullah could not immediately be contacted.

The International Court of Justice on Friday gave Singapore ownership of a 0.8 hectare island off the southern tip of peninsula Malaysia that houses a strategic lighthouse.

The island, at the eastern entrance to the Singapore Strait, is listed on most maps as Pedra Branca but is known by Malaysia as Pulau Batu Puteh. It lies about 65 kilometres from Singapore, but only 10 kilometres off the Malaysian coast.

The two former British colonies were united in 1963, but split amid bitter political discord two years later. Their usually cordial ties occasionally still turn testy.

Datuk Seri Abdullah said he plans to meet with the sultan of Malaysia's southernmost Johor state to explain the outcome, The Star reported.

'There will be people who will be emotional, especially in Johor,' Datuk Seri Abdullah reportedly said.

In its ruling, the UN court gave Malaysia ownership of a smaller, uninhabited rock cluster. Sovereignty over a third tiny island, in overlapping territorial waters, should be decided by the two countries themselves, the court said.

The dispute erupted after Malaysia published a map in 1979 referring to the lighthouse island as its territory for the first time in modern history. The two countries agreed in 2003 to submit the case to the UN court.

The court ruled in favour of Singapore's argument that it had exercised sovereign powers over the rock since the lighthouse opened in 1851, with no protest from Malaysia until 30 years ago. Singapore operates the lighthouse. -- AP

written by shissun, May 25, 2008 13:29:26
Dude, we all are calm. Look like you and your goons are not. Still looking for hole to exit? Hey, take a shover and dig your own hole.
Votes: +25
written by omarkhayyam, May 25, 2008 13:29:53
Dollah,

try promoting "ketuanan" melayu in ICJ ..... they may reconsider their decision after the factsmilies/smiley.gif

Votes: +18
written by padhma, May 25, 2008 13:32:34
Hahaha, is he delusional? Everyone is calm! Only some goons in his camp will make big noise about the judgement. Just take the defeat as a lesson. Well, enough of your drama.
Votes: +10
written by tikuih, May 25, 2008 13:32:49
another excellent example of ketuanan melayu that breeds laziness, incompetency, stupidity, narrow-mindedness, tidak apa attitude, fanaticism and arrogance that make our contry the laughing stock of the world..
Votes: +25
written by Kuku Burung, May 25, 2008 13:37:50
This Pulau Batu Puteh issue has taught us a painful lesson -- don't play-play with Singapore. To me the decision based on a single piece of letter is too simplistic. My logic is that, if my garden was used by my neighbour for planting vegetables, my son scribbles a note a said that "go ahead and use it, as I have no intention of using it." In the eye of ICJ, due to my "inactive attitude", it carries weight to even award my neighbour with that piece of my garden. My 3-cent thought.
Votes: +6
written by tikuih, May 25, 2008 13:38:11
as usual, aab will run around to explain his bloopers but does not know what he is talking about.

remember the ear-squat case when aab sent a top-level delegation to china to apologise before checking the fact that the girl was actually a local malay girl. that was big-time stupidity and a serious dent to his image. the making-a-fool-of-himself saga continues to this day...
Votes: +13
written by malsia1206, May 25, 2008 13:38:41
The PM's call is in order. Malaysia has to respect and accept the ICJ decision in accordance with internation norms. Given that the ruling smacks a sense of embarrassment for the country, the people must rise to the occasion and get over it without any ill-consequence. The laws had taken due process and we were a willing party to subscribe to the arrangement. Let's get on with other priorities and charter the course and direction diligently.
Votes: +4
written by Kuku Burung, May 25, 2008 13:39:47
So please be very careful when dealing with Singapore, especially about Iskandar Malaysia venture. If we don't, the noose is slowly closing on us. Soon it will be a judgment by ICJ that Malaysia belongs to Singapore.
Votes: -6
written by temanmu, May 25, 2008 13:44:37
Our own mistake ... what to do?

We got Sipadan, we lot PBP... that's all!
Votes: +3
written by daliman, May 25, 2008 13:49:49
both leaders play golf together-gether.
lots of investments flows in by sporean
msm controlled by sporean
johor's biggest playmate under rmk9, sporean
we lost bt puteh
paklah's foreign policy = look south

we the people = smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif
umNO & bn = smilies/grin.gif
4th floor boys = smilies/wink.gif
aab = smilies/cool.gif
Votes: +4
written by mypanida, May 25, 2008 14:07:32
we don't mind losing to a better prepared opponent but we are really pissed off when the side that represented us were comprised of 3rd rate LOYAR BURUK that could get any appointments on their own merits.
Votes: +9
written by Sword of Justice, May 25, 2008 14:16:19
Frankly I dont give a damn on what happen to this pulau we lost. Maybe its better SIngapore got it. We have 13 staes to worry about in which the Govt cant even begin to make it a better place and we want to worry about some rocks that may hold vital minerals etc etc , so what. I urge the govt to concentrate on what we have now and make it a better place. Have better and fair education policies, less crime, better control on rising costs and the list can go on and on. If the govt don know how, emulate Singapore and maybe in future they can win court battles in ICJ. Its sad we dont have Lingam's judges in ICJ otherwise we may have won.
Votes: +7
written by FFT, May 25, 2008 14:18:25
PRIME Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has urged Malaysians to remain calm over an international court ruling awarding sovereignty of a disputed island to Singapore, news reports said on Saturday.

In other words, follow the leader.

Votes: +26
written by mypanida, May 25, 2008 14:24:44
'There will be people who will be emotional, especially in Johor,' Datuk Seri Abdullah reportedly said.

======================================================= ====================

sorry, mate.....way passed that stage of being emotional....sigh...

smilies/cry.gif WAAAAHHH....GIMME BACK MY SINGAPORE......BOO..HOO..HOO smilies/cry.gif
written by cynical cynic, May 25, 2008 14:52:51
I am sincerely sad because now the rights of the Malays in Pulau Batu Puteh is no longer protected by the New Economic Policy. The Malays will be marginalised and in the end the island will be completely dominated by Chinese traders and settlers.

What the government must do now, is to ensure that the rights of the remaining Malays on the Middle Rocks are protected at all costs. The first move is to ensure that proper infrastructure is built on the island, to address the issue of extreme flooding that the island's inhabitants have been suffering for decades.

Only with these initiatives, we are going to justify all the unnecessary costs and fuss that the government had been pouring into the issue. In the end ,we don't want our citizens to say things like "I don't give a damn about an unhabited piece of rock when some people cannot even get a decent salary in the mainland". How about that for a thought?
written by vineeth menon, May 25, 2008 15:11:44
cynical cynic !! Are you talking about this island? "A small rock visible only at low tide "
Votes: +8
written by activepro, May 25, 2008 15:27:10
it's better s'pore have the island since they build the light house.moreover,I believe most msian would agree with me that Sin navy would do a better job in keeping the area secure from foreign enemies.If the island were to go to msia,would u be surprised that our navy or police would treat it as their rest house or fishing retreat. KETUALAN TULIN
Votes: +9
written by abzy, May 25, 2008 15:33:12
We lost thats it,
the case has not been in court for mere this abdullah penggal but for few decades now..
while Singapore gathered the Best Team available to fight the case we can took it very lightly and didnt even bothered to hire the best in business.. only relying in Local guys..
That Small Pulau is so strategic that the small island can have a constant monitor in eastern side of johor and if thier radar is powerful enough can reach the southern tip of Sarawak..
anyway Congrats Singapore you manage to win what was us through rightful legal means its our fault that we cant protect what was ours..
i wonder if ICJ acted in fair and sqaure manner without interference of the Uncle Sam guys..
any of you guys just by looking at the map can see that sg is no where near the picture.. kalau Indon mintak maybe masuk akal jugak sebab dekat...
We allowed sg to bulit and maintain a Light House in batu Putih and now with our slight oversight that can claim Ownership..
My Point is my fellow Malaysia , My fellow Johorean,
will the Singaporean one day say few decades from now claim the ownership of bandar Iskandar after most of the property is bought by them.
my Suggestion is if the Singaporean wants some Land to expand and have offices fine.. Let us build all and they are allowed only to rent, like being donme in Arab State..
Lets ponder over it.
wsalam
Votes: +1
written by budakindia, May 25, 2008 15:57:22
what happened to the ketuanan melayu which umno propogates? Those judges in ICJ just don't see that? smilies/grin.gif You better ask Hisham to start waving the keris and shout racial slogans during the session! They may gave the island back to us! smilies/cheesy.gif
Votes: +7
written by capcomangel, May 25, 2008 18:14:17
thats is how gomen teach citizen continue thats stupid.they are unresponsible just like pru12 did.many trouble create and people to keep silense.
Votes: +0
written by Kathy, May 25, 2008 19:13:19
My dearest PM,
Before I leap up and down with excitement can you please explain to me the significance of this little white rock called Pedra Branca? Until then, do not worry for I shall remain calm as I don't really know what to get excited about.
Yours truly
A citizen
Votes: +2
written by miwaki, May 25, 2008 19:49:31
Dude,we don't care who take Pedra Branca,I don't have a business there.What is there to shout about ? Some said win-win situation !Keep sleeping.
written by howiseveryone, May 25, 2008 23:01:51
errr.... who's not calm? i think only you and those that are too arrogant to accept the fact that SGP took the island with only 3 reasons while we with 200 years of history proof on the table could only take back a pile of stones. you are just playing the emotional card to get sympathy and divert attention.
written by hiro, May 25, 2008 23:35:29
Ag's son, spliced photo, Malaysian government's legal research... all did them in. That's fair and square. That's meritocracy. Nobody's pissed at Singapore. If at all, they are pissed at the Malaysian government for being inept.
written by fireduck, May 26, 2008 01:18:47
Uncle, we are calm. We are cool. We are so cool that we piss ice cubes. Pedra what? Most Malaysians and even Johoreans cannot find that little piece of rock. There is nothing to get excited about. If anyone is not 'calm' then most probably they are from your Youth wing. Might want to check with your SIL.

Didn't your govt say that we will respect the ICJ's decision, whatever it may be? But for losing our sovereignty, I think the AG must take full responsibility for it, and quit!
Votes: +1
written by kc respect, May 26, 2008 10:21:22
I wonder how much money has gone to the sea over a pile of rocks?? Najis was tring to make himself look grand & big by asking people not to go the Middle Rock, I mean, WhoTF would want to go there in the first place which required the DPM to issue such warning. Think they are more important issues to address on the "huge & long" rock called Malaysia.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.