Should we be grateful to Mahathir? PDF Print
Saturday, 24 May 2008 20:47

By S. Ali Mahmud

In my last week article entitled ‘Poor Invalid Dictator’, I encountered a comment about being grateful to Mahathir for all the developments he had brought into the country. As much as I like to agree, I would more incline to agree to disagree.

Before I dwell further, perhaps it is interesting to remind ourselves about how this man by the name of Mahathir remained as the country’s Prime Minister for more than two decades. One must not forget that how this man manipulated the democratic system of this country to ensure that he continues to be the leader of this country for the previous 22 years. Based on my recollection, when he was the president of UMNO, which technically made him president of the National Coalition party and hence the Prime Minister of this country, he barred anyone from challenging the presidency in UMNO. Thus, in reality, this man’s premiership is autocratic in nature and technically speaking, he was not really the leader the people of this country desired.

His appointment as Prime Minister aside, when Mahathir assume the role as the leader of this country, it is his responsibilities then to ensure that he was able to administer this country in accordance to the wishes of the people. Whether or not he did that over the last 22 years of his administration, I would rather all of you be the judge as the facts would speak louder than what I write in this letter. Top that, whether or not we Malaysians should be grateful to him, on personal basis, I would so NO! I do not owe him any gratitude rather I think he ought to be grateful that despite his atrocities during his ‘reign’, the Malaysian public are polite enough to not incarcerate him. In that sense, Mahathir should be grateful to us, fellow Malaysians!

As a matter of fact, we should no longer feel indebted towards our leaders. In a democratic country, leaders are ‘paid employee’ of the citizens of that particular country. They are therefore required to carry out whatever that are mandated to them by their boss. Similar to the concept of company, shareholders are actually the bosses of a company, thus creditors would go after the shareholders when a company is in liquidation and not the management. Management, in the country sense government, are appointed to carry out the administration of the country and ensure that the economy of the country continues to be solvent. To my mind, we should only be grateful towards those who truly deserved. In a political sense, only leaders who uphold justice and do not have personal interest (I know it sounds too ideal but there are still some genuine leaders around) who deserves appreciation. Else, I think we should just view them an employee.

Did Mahathir really develop the country in the real sense? If yes, who really benefited from this development? What real development are we talking about? Let’s examine some aspects of developments and their results under the reign of Mahathir:

o Education- Honestly, how many of you truly think the education system of our country is satisfactory? 50 years ago, those who merely attended school till standard six were able to speak and write both English and Bahasa Melayu well. Today, one who holds a degree is not guaranteed to be able to write properly. In the quest of dignifying the national language, most children today could hardly be fluent in either one of these languages, let alone to articulate them in writing. Beside those who are fortunate to have parents that willing to either spend extra money or time to either send their children to better schools or include additional classes such as tuition, children of those who could less afford become the victim of the education system. Looking through some of the text books and after talking to some, it is evident that the standard of education in our local public schools has deteriorated. The concept of education these days are merely ‘feed and spit’. Students are not taught the concept of think and analyse. There are times even teachers are unable to explain what they taught because they too are lack in the understanding of the subject matter. Thus, how would the process of education be interesting to these young minds? Often I feel sorry for them as I personally feel that if children are taught to learn, to understand, to analyse and to argue a particular subject matter, teaching and learning would be interesting because it should be a ‘two ways interactions’. The mindset of the young learning from the old ought to be set aside because teachers could probably learn from children too. Mahathir’s regime had turned the entire education system upside down. Though not all, but most of the students who studied under his education polices turned to become ‘submissive’ and with that Mahathir attained his objective of having a ‘compliance’ and ‘obedience’ society.

o                                                        Infrastructure- I will not dispute that we have quite an acceptable infrastructures built throughout the nation. However, I wish to highlight that roads which are constructed properly are usually toll roads. Meaning public is and will continue to pay for the construction and the maintenance of these roads. As for the non toll roads, most of them are in quite appalling conditions save and except for the roads at the privilege society’s residential areas. In addition, the toll roads are usually those that linked to residential areas of middle and low income households, adding further financial burden to these groups. The mileage and toll rates would usually cost quite substantially to these households.

o                                                        Buildings development- most Malaysians are proud of the PETRONAS Twin Tower. Mahathir once justified the building of this structure as putting the country’s on the global map. What a juvenile reason! How many of us think that the development of Putrajaya, KLCC and many other buildings are necessary? What happened to structures like Dayabumi and many others that are hardly occupied? In most countries, constructions of buildings are to accommodate the demands but in our country, buildings are built to become white elephants. Worst is the new buildings are usually structurally defect. Leakages seem to be a common problem. How much did the taxpayers pay for all these faulty structures? The man made lakes in Putrajaya, Wetland and Proton are amongst those disastrous projects! The over zealousness of developments factually is to popularise Mahathir and to enrich his cronies. The country’s ecological systems have been destroyed and sacrificed to pave way for the benefits of these ravenous contractors. As a result, the country now has to pay for various forms of natural disasters.

o Social developments- What is the state of our society today? I can give you a few scenarios to ponder. Today, generally, the Malaysian society has turned materialistic, obtuse, self centred, racist, uncouth, arrogance, irresponsible and the list go on and on. Why does the society turn into such? Well, based on my calculation, this is the result of the government socio-political landscape as this would ensure that only the selected few would be empowered to rule the country whilst the mass majority continue to be the helpless citizens. Fears are instilled with the enforcement of draconian legislations such as the Internal Security Act (ISA) to curtail and impede those who speak up and revolt against Mahathir’s system. The absurdity of administration is further evident by our surroundings.  For e.g. the ‘allergy’ of local councils and city halls to the natural plants which resulted in them being ct down and replaced with the fake/plastic trees seemed to be the priority of the local councils and city halls. I am still perplexed if members of these local councils and/or city halls are aware that plastic trees can never produce oxygen or absorb water like the natural tress?

o Economy- This country is blessed with natural resources which could rightly made it another ‘dragon’ of Southeast Asia. Nonetheless, corruptions, unnecessary developments and wrong investments resulted in unnecessary wastage of this country’s income. Ever wonder why our country never seemed to be able to compete with Singaporean economy? Until this very day, I resent the success of Singapore (in a very positive way) as I know if the country is properly managed, we could have been either be as good as if not better than Singapore. This country appears to have all the wrong ingredients for its wealthy management. The employment of obtuse and dim-witted human capitals coupled by a tyrant leaderships definitely result in weak and wasteful economy. In terms of our country’s economic progression, we should turn green eye when our island republic neighbour is able to inject capital into world renowned institutions via its Sovereign Wealth Funds whereas our country’s investment arm is nothing but a mediocre investor. The list of investment by far has yet to impress me as these companies aren’t those that belonged to what I would call ‘A list’ companies. Even the Middle Eastern countries, which are lavish in their spending, are prudent to invest their wealth in worthy investments. Shouldn’t we all ask what happened to the revenues gained from the export of our black gold? We have seen how monies are spent extravagantly by building the ‘tallest’, ‘biggest’, ‘narrowest’ and almost ‘most crooked’ (or any other that would qualify to be in the World Guinness Record) without much considerations whether these would benefit the people of the country. Glamour appears to prevail over the necessity of projects to the public. Too much money has been spent on wasteful projects that purely benefit Mahathir, his cronies, the hand-kissing members of UMNO and gang. Perhaps it is worth to remember that this is the public’s money which neither belongs to Mahathir nor his cronies. Hence spending this money should rightly benefit the entire population of this nation rather than the selected ones.

To continue writing about how much destructions Mahathir had done to this country probably would require me to produce them in entire encyclopaedia’s version. However, the aforementioned are merely the summary of what I am able to think of for time being. The only credit I probably would generously give to Mahathir is his brevity to disagree with the superpower. 

My fellow countrymen, we never owe our leaders anything. We appoint them to serve us and to carry out jobs and mandates that we desire. They are all compensated with decent remunerations and exempted from paying income taxes. That is rewarding enough. If they are not satisfied, perhaps they ought not to offer themselves to be in politics.

Comments (65)Add Comment
written by billykbk, May 24, 2008 20:58:19
Grateful to TDM? You guys must be joking. Anyone who has loving parents, good friends, good relatives and good neighbours would know how to be grateful. The only thing I can do for him is not to wish him bad. That's being grateful to him. Otherwise, I'll definitely curse him!!!!
agree 135
written by HamChak, May 24, 2008 21:02:34
To be fair, why should the Raayat be grateful to him?
After all, he is PAID to do a job, like any CEO of a
company.

Also MaMakThir already got his "REWARDS" and FAME.

His efforts were more than rewarded with all the PERKS already
written by HamChak, May 24, 2008 21:05:16
If in any corporate world; with his type of "MISTAKES",
the Executive would had long been SACKED !!!
written by HamChak, May 24, 2008 21:07:54
MaMakThir should be grateful that the "peoples"
still pay him a FAT PENSION for all the Serious
Mistakes.

If I am in his position, I la TERMALU (Very Shameful la).
written by MasterYoda, May 24, 2008 21:12:37
No we should not. We should be grateful that the Thorn in the Flesh has been removed. now it needs to be discarded...
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 24, 2008 21:14:29
Grateful to Mahathir???? Hah hah ha ha ha... don't make me laugh lah! ha ha ha ..
written by HamChak, May 24, 2008 21:15:08
Again, we as Raayat must take some of the BLAME
for allowing MaMakThir to run this country for so
long and destroying along the way for 22 years.

I will remember MaMakThir as the WORST Prime
Minister of Malaysia. History must record all
his bad deeds.
written by malsia1206, May 24, 2008 21:17:27
If there's any GRATITUDE owing, it has to be due from TDM to the peoples of Malaysia. Not the other way round. He had coerced the rakyat to give him a good 22 years. And now he wants more of his habits. What else could we speak of this man? The goons who are still giving him support are those that need to be fed by him. Not for any other reason at all.
written by freedom lover, May 24, 2008 21:18:28
All political leaders are paid by tax payers money. There are some who have accumulated wealth by enriching themselves and their next of kins. To be grateful to someone who has done more damage than good! To be grateful to someone who has acquired wealth more than necessary! He should be grateful to the people for allowing him to do what he did without questioning!
written by hakuna, May 24, 2008 21:20:19
The story below tells the type of person Mahathir is.

There was a mean Penghulu who gave his kampung folks a hard time throughout his period but one day he fell ill.His illness could not be cured and his days were numbered. He then called all his kampung folks to his house and asked for forgivess but he stated that if they forgave him, they each should hammer a nail to his body so that his soul can rest in peace. After much pleading from him , the folks all agreed to hammer nails into his body and then he died. The next day the Police arrived and arrested all the kampung folks because prior to his death , the Penghulu has written a letter to the Police stating that the kampung folks were planning to kill him by nailing him with nails.

He was a ruthless person all along and always wanted his ways and the same act is being carried out now.
written by TWOG, May 24, 2008 21:20:52
Yes, we should be grateful to Mahathir for opening up our eyes and developing Malaysia to a First World developed status. Malaya and Singapore started on equal footing. Both were ex-British colonies and inherited functioning British administrative machinery and infrastructure. In 22 years, TDM had done the following:

1) Appreciated the Ringgit against the Singapore dollar. It was parity. Now, the Ringgit is worth S$2.37

2) Both MAS and SIA started life as MSA. Now, 36 years later, MAS has become one of the best run airlines in the world, consistently making multi billion profits year after year. Whereas SIA is consistently making losses and had to be bailed out a few times. Even the few years recently when it reported "profits" were due to creative accounting.

3) Both University of Malaya and National University of Singapore were actually the same entity. Now MU is among the top 20 in the world, and NUS is among the top 200 in the world.

4) Now, the per capita GDP (ppp) of Malaysia is US$48,900 while that of Singapore is only US$14,400. https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/my.html

5) Malaysia's foreign reserve is US$157 billion, while Singapore's only US$104.8bn (don't forget that Singapore is a much bigger country and so had the advantage of generating more reserves.)

6) Market value of Malaysia's publicly traded shares is US$382.4 billion versus the US$235.4 billion traded in Singapore.

These are just a sampling of Mahathir's achievements. Don't forget, in all these Singapore has the unfair advantages of abundance of resources - petroleum, rubber, tin, palm oil, and plentiful cheap land.

Oops, something is not quite right here...

smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by sikembangcina, May 24, 2008 21:20:55
S. Ali Mahmud, I would have puke just reading the title of your post. But I agree with the whole Article though. Good point!
written by Motherchell, May 24, 2008 21:26:53
Wonderfully written Ali Mahmud,----------So very true, your annotations and expositions are so painful to hear as its so true as we have all lived in it in the last 50 years. Yes ! nothing to be grateful about TDM ! The breed he has created will take atleast 2 Generations to annul!!!!!
written by MalaysiaBaru, May 24, 2008 21:35:54
Mahmud,

I agree with you 100%. xxx should not be credited with the so-called development that we see today. Actually, Malaysia's CRUDE OIL is the reason behind the so-called development claimed by him. It was just a stroke of luck that oil fields were discovered during his reign and our country suddenly had a windfall from the export of this 'black gold'.

Anybody else could have done it...and achieve much more than what he did!

Just look take a look at the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, Norway and Canada and we'll be put to shame. Want more comparisons? Just look to the south at our little red dot neighbour: They started at the same footing with Malaysia but had no natural resources, they have long achieved the status of a Developed Nation while we are still struggling to stay on track to achieve 2020!
written by mykantree, May 24, 2008 21:43:18
I think S.Ali Mahmud has said it all and very succinctly too.It is UMNO/BN culture to inculcate the idea in the people that they own it to the government for whatever the government dish out to them.Remember the constant reminders from the UMNO/BN politicians that the people should be grateful to the government for what, and may I say,the little that they have?.If UMNO/BN were not the contemptible corrupts that they are, there is absolutely no reason why all Malaysians should not be much much better than how we are now.

There are innumerable countries, who are much less endowed with the natural resources that Malaysia is blessed with, that are way ahead in terms of economic developments,and its people's well being than Malaysia.

S.Ali Mahmud is absolutely correct that it is the ruling politicians who are the ones who should be thankful for the general stupidity of most Malaysians for letting them rule this very rich country for the past 3 decades, and sadly, still blindly allowing them to rob and rape its people and its treasures.
written by myke, May 24, 2008 22:14:41
Grateful for his contribution to all the bad things he practised..?? He did good to the country.??

We were riding on the region's economy boom. If He really did the country good we would not have to go thru all these ills now.
written by Uncorruptible, May 24, 2008 22:15:39
To thank the kartun, I vote we give him a pile of shit every day until he kicks the bucket. And don't any of you dare to object, you hear !!
written by joeawk, May 24, 2008 22:17:16
S Ali Mahmud, you are spot on. That ultra racist old demon fart was a curse on Malaysia. Jus hear what he is still talking about. Forever the malay agenda, forever using the malays to achieve his own selfish and self centred ambition. Forever wanting the malays to live in the past.

UMNO or BN will be wiped out if Pak Lah stand down for another UMNO man. UMNO and BN will have a chance only if Pak Lah and his UMNO Supreme Council Members accept that times has changed and that there must be total transparency otherwise malaysians are not going to accept BN. Reform you must and it must be total reform and there shall br no half way about it like you are prone to.

We see that it is happening. THe AG having the sole authority to prosecute is not what malaysians want or can accept unless the AG is not appointed by the PM or report to the PM but must be appointed by a committee of eminent personality.

Pakatan is waiting in the wing to take over. The choice for UMNO is simple and clear. Stop dreaming about instant riches unless you but TOTO or the welfare lottery.
written by yy88, May 24, 2008 22:18:09
I fully agreed with S,Ali Mahmud, It can't be described any better. Even if we annul the harms and damages that he did to the country and Rakyat for the past 22 years, the future inherited damages are even more alarmning and gigantic.

We may need generations of right minded people and leaders to right the wrongs that were done. Fortunately, all the races of the country, particularly our Malay brethen see through his true colours, and are prepared to give ourselves another hope to national harmony.

written by keris_mudin, May 24, 2008 22:18:40

Senile Old man, MY is very advance compared to
1) Zimbabwe 2) Indonesia 3) Philippines 4) Thailand 5) Timor 6) Vietnam 7) Cambodia smilies/cool.gif Or compared to my old Kampung or 9) Any Kampung if you are from one

Compared to what our competition achieved 1)Singapore 2)Korea 3)Taiwan achieved in the same period - we were left in the dust! And very soon Vietnam may do the same to us! Economics is just one measure, Corruption, Justice, Education systems are the others - all of which they these other countries are also way ahead! We were at about the same level as Singapore when you took over and ahead of Korea and Taiwan - today they are where we can only dream to be in 2050!

We like to demonize Singapore (I too!) - you know what - they took our best brains and built their country so far advance that Vision 2020 is a cruel joke that Singapore achieved 20 years ago! It's a cruel joke for us educated City folks. Because of you we will need to 20200 to catch up with where they are today!

They took our best brains - whilst you took our worst brains, a motor cycle sales man, third rate educated folks to run the Govt and gave away our assets to your third rate educated cronies who run these assets to the ground and then you bail them out making us loose twice!

You are typical of a refugee who has nothing and found sudden power and cannot let go at any cost - that's why you are still in it today! That is the problem with Mamaks and immigrants going into UMNO politics so quickly. I hope AAB would muster the guts you said he is missing - to put you away and throw your family name out of UMNO - before you destroy all of us. 22 years of damage is enough!
written by rakyat101, May 24, 2008 22:58:03
the devil delivered the material world, in return for the souls and the spirit of Malaysian, this is TDM.
written by SocratesI, May 24, 2008 23:00:34

How can we be grateful to a despicable, autocratic, dictatorial, arrogant, unscrupulous, scumbag, scoundrel, pariah of a DESPOT ??!!

He plundered Malaysia and he "fortified" his position so that he could rule us for 22 years, and he decimated the Judiciary when they stood up to this f*cking b*stard.

Perhaps I should show Maha-Shithead (@Maha Zalim) my eternal gratitude by spitting on him until he drowns in my spit (Lim Keng Yaik, your assistance is sorely needed here, as this spraying saliva is your only forte !!), and watering the plants on his grave by p*ssing on them !

That is what I owe him and if all of you feel strongly about this, you can join me in honouring him this way, by flooding his gravesite with spit and urine ...

written by loosecannon, May 24, 2008 23:20:22
Absolutely not! Why should we when during his reign billions were wasted on useless projects or channeled to his family and cronies when it should have been used to improve our lives. He is the creator of APs which bilked billions more from us public joes just to make a few of his cronies filty rich, so rich that they go to work in helicopters while the rest of us have to suffer. It's plainly stealing the poor to give to the rich. The list of his misdeeds is endless.
written by junjun40, May 25, 2008 00:05:37
From Malaysiakini:

Dr Mahathir Mohamad has warned of possible unrest in multi-racial Malaysia, accusing his successor, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, of failing to assert his authority.

Looks like he is going to pull a fast one as in Operation Lallang...typical scenario...

He **** the chinese, indian and non-UMNO BN component parties when he give speech in their general assemblies...Bet you almost every assemblies during his 22 year tenure as PM. It is now time to f him..

This country will probably take 3 generations to recover from his misdeeds, I am is first generation, my children second generation, his children the third...

What a joke.
written by Daryl, May 25, 2008 00:15:07
People like TAR yes we are grateful for bringing our Malaysia. Dr M. I will probably give him the good that he brought for the coutry but his legacy is filled with controversies and now petty squabbles inserted with racial tones and instigations. So, he need to shutup or his legacies will become a Malaysia most famous WHINNER..
written by Spear Bing, May 25, 2008 00:17:19
The THORN in the flesh even though it has been removed, will always a remain a thorn continously pricking and making a nuisance out of every situation.

This larger-than-life THORN will not hesitate and in fact always fight back in rapid response to his contemporaries's comments just to redeem his egoic stance.

Strange and what a pathetic THORN that he has become. Instead of mellowing in maturity of thoughts and accumulation of wisdom, this THORN is throwing out his tantrums at other smaller thorns in the corridors of power.

This THORN really sucks!

written by jchew, May 25, 2008 00:43:36
"Should we be grateful to Mahathir?" Kepala otak!

RPK is one of the rakyat Malaysian who earns the respect.

Mahathir created lots of bloodsuckers and lanun2 and he is onre of them! Put him on trial and exposed more of his partners in crime in MIC/MCA and Gerakan as well.
written by Windchime, May 25, 2008 00:46:48
I totally agree with you, Sdr S. Ali Mahmud. You have pointed out well in your article. One thing is for sure, your analysis on Singapore and Malaysia has certainly is certainly true. Once upon a time, our 1 Ringgit was equal to 1 Singapore $. But today, the Singapore $ is worth more than twice the value of our RM. And they have done so without the richness and the natural resources that our country is blessed with. So, what went wrong? The answer as you put it - Dr. M. He is now going down in history as a man who has turned our country upside down. It is sad, as we, the Malaysians and our younger generations will now have to pay the price for generations to come to fix the untold damages that he has created including dividing the society, judiciary, etc as you have pointed out in your article.
written by benny loh, May 25, 2008 00:48:20
For this...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...an-dr.html
written by myvoice, May 25, 2008 00:48:23
why? for creating racial disorder? for creating NEP? for sucking rakyat $$$$? for making separation between malays, chinese, indians in national schools? for the white elephant project? for playing racial cards? for his big mouth? for his sifat "muda lupa"? for the F1 circuit? for sponsoring the F1 with millions of rakyat $$$$$ ....pergilah.
written by Solitaire, May 25, 2008 00:51:48
MalaysiaBaru,

What is the relevance of Canada & Norway with Malaysia.Maybe you've been there on short tour?
written by charli88, May 25, 2008 00:56:51
Oh Yes ! We should be grateful to TDM. Let's wish long live TDM, so he can witness what's happening for Malaysia in the next 5 yrs. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Arubin, May 25, 2008 01:05:34
There wasn't a single decent Prime Minister after Tunku Abdul Rahman. Simple as that really.

Only title which Mahathir deserves is 'Bapa Pembaziran'. I don't think any Prime Minister in any other democratic country (autocratic as well for that matter) has wasted as much money as he did in his time in power.
written by shan, May 25, 2008 01:13:27
He is a ****ing selfcentred egoist bastard.,My kids could have done a better job developing the nations given the resources smilies/angry.gif
written by JustAMalaysian, May 25, 2008 01:25:48
Grateful to a recalcitrant who systematically rape the country for 22 years and enriching his family, friends and cronies in the process?

You got to be kidding!

God only knows how many years it will take to undo the damage and destruction caused by this megamaniac.

www.b.log.my
written by shan, May 25, 2008 01:37:34
Dear InEffetive,I did not vote for him in the last 15 years, did you?If you did,then you should also take the blame in breeding such a egoist gomen.If you did not vote for him, the its the election comission to be blamed because the allowed the votes to be rigged,,But if you want to know the gospel truth, then its votes rigging,poor kampung folk who are not exposed to the outside world,the indians in the plantations and the chinese bussinessmen "for fear of losing the comforts of doing bizzness in bn gomen country.

Alot of chinese bussinessman are so contented with what they have and will not rock the boat.even in the last election,you go and check,since the voting slips are numbered,BN's non malay voted were the chinese corperate votes.,..,4 Out of 5 of my chinese friends who run public listed companies voted for BN,.,..out of fear.,.,.So we did not vote for him volunteryly,.,.,Anyway at one time we had what you call a GUIDED DEMOCRACY.

But whatever it is he managed to stay in power by instilling fear into people,., smilies/cheesy.gif
written by ukmywl, May 25, 2008 01:43:55
dear Mr InEffective or should call you Mr Pro-Mahathir,
"Everyone here saw physical progress, physical investments, enjoyed the benefits of physical infrastructure. Basic necessities of the nation got done."

The above are what you can still enjoy now and you should enjoy it since you think Mahathir did it for you.. BUT to me, those twin tower, and mega projects & etc.. are no difference from "an asian penis trying to wear an european condom". Mahathir has been very ambitious no doubt but i think he is not very realistic. Who cares you have the tallest building? after all, there will be someone else buiding a taller one. Why not putting in all the efforts into building up the nation harmony all these 22 years?? OLD IDIOT and should call you BAPAK of RACIST *******.

When Korea was facing economy crisis some years ago, the goverment asked the nation to contribute GOLD in order rebuilt the country's economy. And in turns, I was shocked to see in a documentary than the Korean contributed generously. Look at Korea now vs Malaysia... Do you think Malaysian will ever contribute any gold??? I guess.. most not even willing to contribute PISANG... Thanks to the Mahathir leadership all these years.

Perhaps you should start thinking what will happen when the goverment money runs out and petronas runs out of petrol... This country will turn caos when people live in poverty and jobless. Brother, start thinking for your children.

Why only people start to realise now? I guess people like RPK should be given the credit for bringing in so much awareness to the whole nation.

Wake up my friend....
written by MasterBlaster, May 25, 2008 01:50:35
If Malaysia ever goes into another economic plunge we should elect you to be the CEO of Malaysia. During that time the whole country can see you shit in your pants!!!
written by jting, May 25, 2008 03:11:13
I dont agree if anyone says TDM is the worst PM in our history, the current sleepy hollow PM is worst. Doesnt know any shit...
written by daliman, May 25, 2008 03:26:41
dear writer, S. Ali Mahmud,

noted. what about the present PM's leadership? the ever rising rate right to the basics of our daily food consumptions? the sedition act? the ISA still? etc...etc?
u going to put up another comment later after DSAB's retirement too?

go with the flow man. baru bangun ke?
written by InEffective, May 25, 2008 08:39:52
I accept and will take ownership of the blame of supporting (overtly or tacitly) the racial nationalism platform of governance - i was not aware (stupidly) of the crimes i was committing (and the pressure and injustice i was enabling) by condoning racial governance structure. My awakening occurred last Oct.

And most importantly, for the simply reason that my children will pay a massive price in their future environment if we continue the path of strategic racial division and exclusion - my agenda is clear.

So here is what i am doing now - i am (straight up) rejecting and ejecting any family members, any friends and relatives, any business partner, work colleagues, any suppliers from my life (and from my family) who support/belong to any member of the BN coalition - those politicians creating racial exclusion for their self-interests and relevance. I am dishing back strategic exclusion - none of the above will secure or obtain my friendship, my support and help, my guidance, or my affiliation... i will ensure that to be a racist (or even tacitly support for racism) in Malaysia will incur a cost.

I don't believe in talk or words or venting of views - i am not here to be right, smart, or all-knowing.
I believe only in observable, measurable, performance and behavior.
written by rockli, May 25, 2008 08:50:06
Well said,
I fully agree if Mahathir had done a good job, we would be ahead of Singapore, and even Taiwan.
Corruption, abuse of power, cronyisms, good for nothing projects, wastage, etc have taken a toll on our beloved country.
No BN govt can undone all these - a change in the Federal adm. is totally necessary.
Vote for BN/Umno will inadvertently continue all these evils, probably even worse.

written by gctham, May 25, 2008 08:57:13
Malaysia has been mismanage over the last few decades. It should much better than it is now. Due to all the uncontrolled corrupt practices we are losing out to the world by day.we are not longer competitive as the world borderless.
written by hibiscus22, May 25, 2008 09:12:27
Grateful, hell no. Our country has been managed wrongly and with the attitude that we all can see existing UMNO power struggle, there are nothing but self serving/cronies interest.Our rakyat must wake up and realise what has gone wrong.
written by Juliejustinng, May 25, 2008 10:30:14
I could not have agreed more especially in Education. Ask anyone born before 1960s (MCE & SC)the person will be able to tell you the history of the world, (English, Roman, American. China, India, Malaya & Malaysia etc.....) and study the beautiful Enlgish Literature and Yes write and speak good English and Malay (National Language)but now even the Malaysian History is not completely covered. The Englsih that they speak ...morden lah and could not care less for the grammar...so they say. However, sad or happy to say Singapore is now in the same situation, too much empahsis on Mandarin...English is getting poor.
written by Spear Bing, May 25, 2008 11:13:41
Dear Juliejustinng,

More than what you mentioned on matters relating to the Malaysian Education policy and the level of English during the 60s.

We had to learn English Literature on William Shakespeare's classical plays e.g. Julius Ceasar, Macbeth, Merchant of Venice, Taming of the Shrew, etc.

Other English Literature syllabi based on textbooks like - All Men are Brothers - By Albert Schweitzer, Death of A Salesman by Authur Miller, My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell and many others.

Our standard of English during those years was equivalent to that of the current post-graduate and even Doctorate level!

Sadly, all these English 'gems' have now disappeared from English subjects now taught in the Malaysian schools.

Not surprised that even Malaysian MBA graduates currently can hardly construct a commendable level of proper english sentence, let alone communicating fluently.
written by padma suryawan, May 25, 2008 11:17:25
Hi AliMahmud,a good article.thank you.
written by mwrmmg, May 25, 2008 11:47:46
Level of english is not a real issue,cos we are malaysian. sure some can't speak proper english but you cant blame the education system. but our education system did produce professionals, some got enrolled to overseas universities.
Even those whom had studied overseas still cant speak proper english. still want to blame mahathir? education policy does not require one to know everything about shakespeare. That was during british rule. Cant expect every single malaysian to be excellent in English. Not all british are excellent in english either. Of course, there are other subjects too.

How many of us here did not go to universities?
written by slash n burn, May 25, 2008 14:31:58
S. Ali Mahmud, very good article indeed. I hope thats your real name cos theres one crazy evil Tai Mamut in Sarawak. Well, the only time im grateful to TDM is when he is his graveyard.
written by NasiKandar, May 25, 2008 16:36:27
The infamous quote : "1st class infrastructures with 3rd class mentality" that is happening on this Boleh Land. Guess who was the main culprit who started all with all money wasting mega projects which mostly turned out to be white elephants. The tallest in the world, the longest teh tarik in the world, the biggest........the cheapskate publicity goes on and on .Eh........entah lah, semua boleh......sampai nail bulan pun boleh
written by stchin, May 25, 2008 19:09:33
" Hey ! YOU, step down or we won't go back to umno ! " commanded by Cheta father & son sdn bhd.
written by stchin, May 25, 2008 19:16:31
The mighty living GOD has blessed us with tin, rubber, oilpalm & now 'black gold' (us$ 123/= a barrel, WOW!) but where has the MONEY gone to !? OH yes, i know : spent on Rm 340/= ordinary screwdriver each x ....., Rm5700/= carjack each x .....& ......more...more....!!
written by mgeo, May 25, 2008 20:09:22
"Local boy makes good in Malaysia" was the joyous headline in a Kerala newspaper when you-know-who dropped out of sight for a couple of days during a visit to India. I point this out not because a non-Malay should not be the PM but because this man was grinding his racist boot into our faces from as far back as 1969 and earlier.
Some of the other oil-producing nations, especially Norway and Kuwait, have carefully invested their wealth locally and abroad for their future.
written by malaysia devil, May 26, 2008 22:48:32
Singapore Special Parliament Highlights
read the debates in Singapore Parliament at : http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...apore.html