Makkal Sakhti a much-used word at assembly PDF Print
Saturday, 24 May 2008 11:24

(The Star) - THE term “Makkal Sakhti” which means people power in Tamil was widely used, especially by the Pakatan Rakyat assemblymen during the proceedings of the state assembly.

Mohd Azmin Ali (Pakatan – Bukit Antarabangsa) had used the term more than five times in his speech in which he said that people's power was behind the change in government in Selangor.

He said people's power must be respected as it reflected the mindset of the people in the state who had used their rights wisely.

“We must thank the “Makkal Sakhti'' movement for giving us this victory and which also contributed to the defeat of the Barisan Nasional government in Selangor,'' he said

Dr Cheah Wing Yin (Pakatan – Damansara Utama) who also attributed Pakatan Rakyat's victory to “Makkal Sakhti'' repeatedly used the term during the question-and-answer session on Thursday.

Cheah even took a dig at Khir, saying that the people became angry because the local authorities were ineffective during the previous government's rule.

Makkal Sakthi was too powerful and that is why we are now ruling,'' he said.

Jennice Lee Ying Ha (Pakatan – Teratai) also used the term during her speech.

With the blessing of the people's power, she said the government was determined to give their best to the voters.

“We owe it to Makkal Sakhti which caused the political tsunami on March 8,'' she said.

written by freedom lover, May 24, 2008 11:31:36
Makkal Sakhti (People Power in English and Kuasa Rakyat in Malay) is the most powerful and only power that can chart the course of the nation! Perhaps the only people on the face of this planet that do not believe in it are the Barisan members! Thats why they have never used the term at all!
written by smpadayachi, May 24, 2008 11:36:48
Yes, sakhti a Sanskrit word for strength, and in Hindi Loghan Ki Sakhti, and in Malay Sakthi Rakyat, and in English People's Strength..and in Chinese?? can some of our Chinese bros & sis please include in Hokkien or Mandrain what is the Chinese meaning please...
written by uncleleow, May 24, 2008 11:46:53
Makkal Sakhti is never in BN vocabulary. They only believe in Corruption and Money Power. To them Rakyat ..they are dogs. When hungry, feed them with some bone or scrap. When BN need their help, they will pat him for awhile, most of the time they will say; shooooh..go away. Dont dirty my hand. This is BN policy especially MCA.
written by Jivathma, May 24, 2008 11:54:43
you UMNO/BN goons Maha-tahi sons better remmember that word. You going to be hearing it more often including when you sit on the opposition benches.
written by K W Waran, May 24, 2008 12:21:51
Besides Makkal Sakthi, there is also a saying in the Tamil Language, directly translated for the benefit of all of MT Community/BR.

What What When When Will Happen
That That Then Then Will

Cheers Folks Wherever You Are and God Bless All.

written by chanatak, May 24, 2008 12:22:34
Will Makkal Sakhti please get registered as a movement and put the final nails into the coffin of Samy Vellu's self enrichment organization called MIC? It is time that Indians be taken out of their state of neglect and be developed as everybody, with more of their poor even be given special status and attention to level the playing field.

Draw them into PR
written by Thamipoh, May 24, 2008 13:08:54
Hi, smpadayachi you ask for it. makkal sakhti = ren min li liang. People strength which can penetrates throught the most sturbborn wall, even the thick head of the umno led goment
written by Thesinner, May 24, 2008 13:18:15
How to use Makkal Toyol?? Toyol now has nothing to show off except his new botox face..
written by smpadayachi, May 24, 2008 13:19:28
Hi Thamipoh..peace with you bro/sis. In the quest for knowledge..learning is never ending process, and something new is always good to know...Thanks & have a great day
written by charli88, May 24, 2008 13:20:45
Yes, Makkal Sakhti ! UMNO/BN created many policies / agreements in the private to make the Rakyat if I may use the word like slave. Don't tell me the gomen don't have RM1 billion to have a toll free road like LDP. It might sound ridiculous suggestion, but if the world top 100 banks give us the list of Malaysian politicians and their family members who have account in their banks. Wow ! I believe hundreds of them or even thousands will have guests from interpol. PR must destroy the UMNO/BN corrupted political culture. The message has to be crystal clear to punish those who have cheated the Rakyat.
written by harryo, May 24, 2008 14:40:40
It is a better local simple phrase popularised by PR. It is jinx for BN to use particularly Sami.
written by Daryl, May 24, 2008 15:04:20
I am pretty sure these two words will be use more often if the PR come to power. But, on the side notes all this MSM are reporting lame stuff about politics. They are just not interested in digging out dirt on so many BN issues that are so controversials and interesting. Wonder what will happen to them if PR really come to power. Are they just going to report sports and world news if PR perform really well after they are in power. But, just like their master they are not too smart and will probably extinct after PR come to power. In the west stupid comments by politicians or controvesials issue would spin all over the place.....
written by HHKim, May 24, 2008 15:26:49
There were a lot of horse feathers from BN in the past, including the current BN under AAB leadership. In fact, he should have gone together with bloody OKT, LKY and Sami. The entire teams are just simply ineffective and too arrogant.
I totally diaagree if some quarters say that they blame UMNO. not AAB. What is the difference? Look at his face, how can he be effective if he still uses ISA on his raayat, don't care two hoods about the present economic situations and allow the corruption cases to go without investigation? He is one PM without direction and vision for the nation.

written by nowinnofee, May 24, 2008 15:48:28
It is interesting to note tat this powerful word has unified Malaysian together irrespective of race, color or creed.....trully indeed Makkal Sakhti..
for all my malaysian bros and sis....for your easy read on this word
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shakti
written by Lim Lim, May 24, 2008 16:07:07
hopefully,the words makkal sakhti n the events that took place on 8-3-08 hav really awaken all malaysian n that the rakyat from all walks of life hav been enlightened to the extent that we are the ones who hold our own destiny!not umno/BN or even PR;we should be able n capable of the right to sack any one who is not efficient,n we can anytime tell on the elected rep's face that enough is enough n high time for he or she to **** off!!we,the rakyat are the boss!!
written by clting08, May 24, 2008 16:50:51
Pakatan Rakyat = Pakatan Makkal Sakti
written by fellow, May 24, 2008 17:03:41
Yeah! Long live Makkal Sakti!
written by Remo, May 24, 2008 18:12:46
Yes, Makkal Sakthi is powerful and effective term. When you use this word in your speech, you really touch one's heart. It is so touching.

I hope the Pakatan Rakyat will continue using this word and also remember that the victory is due to people's power.
written by mikewang, May 24, 2008 18:28:39
I don't know about other states.
But in Penang, the catchphrase responsible for BN defeat was coined by the Gerakan led BN team.

Keep reinventing or, poorly translated into Chinese as, "再转变"
written by Richy, May 24, 2008 18:38:28
There is a difference between fight for power and fight for justice. UMNO and its' alliance fight for power and greed while Makkal Shakti fights for justice. The latter though small in number won because that is how nature works. Nature always favor justice and Justice is with people.
written by devilonpois, May 24, 2008 19:31:03
People Power.

It's glad to hear that after PR won the 5 states 1 federal, many things have been surfaced out...... Hidup Makkal Sakhti威
written by SamBall, May 24, 2008 21:22:39
Wonder what is the equivalent in Kerala? Oops sorry no such thing, la. Perhaps should ask mamaktir (correct name kakaktir)?

People power; I hope it is the same as the in the Philippines where it all started in Asia.
written by president, May 24, 2008 23:37:03
makkal sakthi wishes to all muslims, chinese, indians, ibans, kadazans, and everybody in the country. My hopes is that, we will be united forever. What ever difficulties come our way, lets stand together all brothers and sisters. Thank You.
written by MasterBlaster, May 25, 2008 02:26:46
These words are used just to fan the under-previlege Indians. Higher educated Indians won't even speak their mother tongue language. They speak English among themselves. What ashame...
written by macanhitam, May 25, 2008 04:43:19
Loog zor!

Oh, thats urdu equivalent thou.
written by brahmmah, May 25, 2008 09:37:30
KW Waran, why not give it a colloquial twist thus:
What What When When Will Happen
That That Then Then Will Happeno Happen.

Cheers!
written by omarkhayyam, May 25, 2008 13:39:17
and thru' "makkal sakthi" we will bring the right government into power .... soon