Param: Detain Dr M under ISA PDF Print
Saturday, 24 May 2008 11:02

(The Star) - Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad should be detained under the Internal Security Act, former UN rapporteur Datuk Param Cumaraswamy said.

He said Dr Mahathir’s public speech on May 17 in Johor Baru bordered on sedition. Dr Mahathir had allegedly used words with racial overtones in his speech.

Param said going by the reason for detaining 106 people during Operasi Lallang, when it was said they had indulged in “race-baiting” which threatened the majority of Malaysians, then surely the same criteria could now be applied to Dr Mahathir for apparently “resorting to racial tactics”.

He said while he was opposed to the use of the ISA, the principle of equality should require the Government to consider detaining Dr Mahathir before he did further damage.

“A dose of his own medicine which he administered to the 106 in 1987 should be in order to rehabilitate him in Kamunting,” he said.

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, May 24, 2008 11:11:52
Yes, tangkap dia! Let him rot at Kamunting.
But that Bodoh-wi mana mahu tangkap Mahathir.
agree 122
written by partiotic, May 24, 2008 11:16:33
He is trying to gain support by instigating racial sentiment.He is not a patriot of Malaysia. He does not love our country. He is very selfish.This type of people should be put to jail under ISA.
agree 123
written by smpadayachi, May 24, 2008 11:23:38
This is the best news that came out all this week, and what did I say..arrest him and charge him for inciting racial violence under his very own medicine the sedition act aka ISA.
written by DatoSeri, May 24, 2008 11:31:44
I strongly believe the BN/UMNO would not even think of this, and would not do it to its leaderssimply because that will definitely enrage many of the UMNO supporters -- asking trouble and UMNO would collapse in no time!
written by MasterYoda, May 24, 2008 11:36:18
no need la...

just slip arsenic into the daily food....
written by chanatak, May 24, 2008 11:38:43
Totally agree. We have been calling for that. Let us see BN being fair with its use of ISA. Koh Tsu Koon says BN must ensure it is not used for suppressing opposition only. Let AAB have the guts to use it against the Tun who is stirring up racial divide again just to satisfy his personal vendetta.

written by ilovepakatan, May 24, 2008 11:44:11

source: http://bolehjokes.********.com/

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by FFT, May 24, 2008 11:44:58
Dr Mahathir had allegedly used words with racial overtones in his speech.

written by Jivathma, May 24, 2008 11:47:46
Mahathir knows Badawi and Police only pick up on ordinary citizens.
written by The Iceman, May 24, 2008 11:50:09
ISA is only for use against non-UMNO people and their supporters. Fat chance they are going to invoke this law against the man who perfected it to an art.
written by apa jadi, May 24, 2008 11:56:26
He said while he was opposed to the use of the ISA, the principle of equality should require the Government to consider detaining Dr Mahathir before he did further damage.

“A dose of his own medicine which he administered to the 106 in 1987 should be in order to rehabilitate him in Kamunting,” he said.

I was about to comment this when I read the title. You have said it all I wanted say.

Let him has his own medicine. Abolish ISA once he repents and say he has enough of his own dose.
written by FFT, May 24, 2008 11:57:23
MasterYoda,

That's the easy way out.

Mahathir should be tried by the crooked judiciary he put in place, but this time under the influence of the "4th Floor".
written by Jan, May 24, 2008 12:10:58
They should put TDM under house arrest for all the seditious speeches he made recently. He wouldn't last a day if put in Kamunting and that could spark a revolution among his die-hard supporters.
written by lamakawan, May 24, 2008 12:27:46
Detain Dr. Mahathir under the ISA before they abolish ISA. Have you Umnoputra's got the guts to rally the rakyat to file a police report to detain mahathir under the ISA for all the seditious remarks he had made since after the last general elections? Please speak up if you are not hypocrites. And stop arresting law abiding citizens like the Hindraf members or whoever is a loyal and innocent citizen. You are scum of the earth umnoputras if you dont file a report to arrest the guilty ones.
written by cheekhiaw, May 24, 2008 12:36:21
What is sedition for a man willing to sacrifice others' blood to solve his dilemma?
written by gctham, May 24, 2008 12:36:42
The old man has lost his mind and he is digging his own grave of shame
written by SUV, May 24, 2008 13:04:06
caya cpkong param!
written by Kopi37, May 24, 2008 13:27:29
TDM is resorting to the old tactic of inciting the Malay sentiments and capture the racists' supports, liked what was done by his predecessor TAR! It is more than selfish but a dangerous act to break up unity in our Country and create another blood shed disaster worser that the Sichuan earthquake to devastate and hinder the progress of the Nation! He should learn from the former President of Taiwan, for the sake of the Nation as a whole, he should dilute all his feel of vendetta with AAB and work out a solution, putting the welfare of the Country in the forefront, dissolve his personal grudge with the PM! He should reduce his level of egoism since he is being replaced and shut outside the door of the ruling administration! He should not behave like he is still the kingpin but rather a respectable adviser or mentor, like Lee Kuan Yew, may only help the appreciation of his value being a doyen and veteran of UMNO! By his character, TDM chose to behave like Sadam Hussain and still in his sub-conscious mind, he continues to aspire himself as the supremo and taking the leaderships in power for granted! He will die with this belief!...............

All we know of the fact is TDM will be enjoying his impunity for as long as he lives during the reign of AAB for AAB may not has the boldness and guts like TAR to put Harun Idris into custody despite he was the de-facto kingpin of the then umno youth! AAB needs to emulate himself an iron man in order to stop the turmoil and risks of National security and stability caused by an unpatriotic rival; or lives in his meditation style with swollen head to continue entertain TDM's clamour for revenge!!! Until Karma takes its course, his rival is reduced to ash!.........................
written by indianputra, May 24, 2008 13:28:15
Hello Param.. TDM is a TUN!!!! and a TUN cannot be charged or taken to court. First the Agung has to remove the TUNship before you can prosecute TDM..
written by me_in, May 24, 2008 13:35:55
Mana da undang undang kata TUN tak bolih didakwa dimahkamah.
Apa? pangKat TUN lebih besar dari Sultan dan Agong kah.
We are all against ISA so NO TO ISA but charge him in court for sedition.
written by Adriftboat, May 24, 2008 13:44:42
I agree that he should be charged under ISA and send him to Jail. Let him ponder over what he had done for the years of unfairness he lashed at the people...what goes around comes around..since he did it to others, let him taste back his own medicine......revenge is sweet as the saying goes.....:-)
Also to take away his TUNship becuase he dont deserve that honor.....
written by Thamipoh, May 24, 2008 13:46:27
Don't use ISA on nobody, let us be consistent with our goal i.e. to abolish it in totallity. Just sue that good for nothing in any court of law. The evidences are overwhelming.
written by Arubin, May 24, 2008 13:53:37
written by Cash Money, May 24, 2008 14:07:11
Let the Rakyat decide, initiate a referendum.
written by Baronshah, May 24, 2008 14:22:00
Quote..
“A dose of his own medicine which he administered to the 106 in 1987 should be in order to rehabilitate him in Kamunting,”

Any place like Kamunting or any amount of his own medicine would ever rehabilitate this old die hard dictator.
Charge him in open court and castrate him in Kajang or Sg. Buloh together with the other common detainees. Then he will get the taste of his own medicine which he has been prescribing to the others for 22 years. Thick skinned.

regards and GOD bless all
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 24, 2008 14:23:00
He should be executed by firing-squad and his family to bear the cost of the bullets. His ball-headed son should be castrated.
written by disgruntled, May 24, 2008 14:23:43
If Tun cannot be charged, then we are in for more trouble ahead. This agitator is going to set the pot boiling, especially when he knows he is going to be trialled regarding the Lingam tapes and he will try all means to get off the hook before trial for lingam tapes. Will the agong please help the rakyat out before this old man drag every one into the sea.
written by HeeHaw, May 24, 2008 14:36:04
Disagree strongly. The ISA is a bad law. Using something which is inherently wrong to achieve one's objectives is wrong, and to suggest using this bad law is reprehensible. Shame on you, Param, you have shown you are just another vindictive old man yourself (i.e. an *******). Much as I feel Mahatir has many sins to answer for, I would not want to use any underhand method to get him....dirty tactics are a Mahatir characteristic, but if we allow ourselves to use such dirty tactics, then we have become as dirty as the person we are accusing.
written by harryo, May 24, 2008 14:42:09
PM will have no guts to do that, I assure you.
written by allmenarebrothers, May 24, 2008 15:07:08
Most of us believe in Karma or that Retribution is best left to the Almighty God. For all the evil deeds he had done Karma would certainly work its wondrous ways through to him and his family.
The Good God works with true justice, fairness, grace and mercy through His mysterious ways. Mahathir is no exception in the eyes of the Almighty.
In God We Praise. In God We Trust.
written by aiyomanaboleh, May 24, 2008 15:10:10
Is he trying to resurrect the ghosts of 69?

I see some parallels with 69. Dangerous gameplan but I think Malaysians are more mature now.
written by Lim Lim, May 24, 2008 15:24:24
his departure from umno infact is a relief;this toon should hav been put behind bars for more than a thousand times on all the evil deeds he hav done n screwed up the nation n the rakyat...he is a racist n facist super hypocritical machine on road show!!
written by binkah1, May 24, 2008 15:49:10
The BN Government should act now before further damage is done. Dont tell me that there are 2 sets of laws in this country; one for the poor rakyat and another for the rich and the famous....comeon AAB, IGP..time to walk the talk
written by binkah1, May 24, 2008 15:51:13
Like what our DPM said, "UMNO perlu berani" now is the time for some real action against TDM who has done so much damage to UMNO of late.
written by mob1900, May 24, 2008 15:55:38

Maybe Che Det is shoring up support for Pak Lah? Seems like he's making himself look bad so Pak Lah could appear like a saint. Still, whatever they're both selling we ain't buying.
written by apanama, May 24, 2008 16:17:14
BODOHWI LIVES UP TO HIS NAME. INSTEAD OF FIRING PUKIMAMAK, HE LETS THE SHIT QUIT AND THREATENED THE COUNTRY. INSTEAD OF SENDING HIM TO JAIL, HE WENT TO SLEEP.
written by apanama, May 24, 2008 16:18:45
mamakpukimak, soon the rakyat will stone you to near-death. and let you stay near death, until the last person in malaysia that you have victimized spit on you. then you can go.
written by sonofman0, May 24, 2008 16:49:01
Dear Datuk Param,

You say that you are opposed to the use of the ISA, yet you want Dr Mahathir to be detained under the ISA. You do not want the ISA but you want it applied to one individual!

How imaginative! What a novel idea! An ISA with an ON and OFF switch! ON for Dr Mahathir and OFF for the rest of us.

Do you or do you not want the ISA to be abolished? If you do, there can be no exceptions.
Throw away the pack of cigarettes. Don't say, "Let me smoke one more cigarette before I quit smoking".

Sometimes vengeance has a way of masquerading as justice! We must not allow our emotions to get the better of us.

written by Kuku Burung, May 24, 2008 16:54:13
Please people, do not allow ISA be used to any person, including Mahathir. It is a bad and inhumane law, if we use the ISA against him, we are no better than him. Report him to the police for sedition. Let the police summons him to police station to be questioned. Charge him for the wrong he has done. Put him in prison if he is found guilty. Do not give him a special privilege as prisoner of the state. THAT SHOULD BE WHAT THE RAKYAT WANT. A fair deal; but no ISA!
written by cancan, May 24, 2008 17:09:43
We do not need anymore fire in our already burning fire.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.com/
written by nesen, May 24, 2008 18:23:15
dear param
Having been a keen follower of your struggles over the judiciary affairs
over the years and an ardent admirer of yours I must say how deeply disappointed I am to read of your suggestion to use the ISA on TDM
Are we no better than him..?
The end never justifies the means...
written by lamakawan, May 24, 2008 18:23:37
If we cant get him arrested for sedition, then we might as well shut up. No point wasting our time on this fragile old man. Leave him alone to continue his gossipping until his final breath.
written by kevinD, May 24, 2008 18:28:05
WHO IS GOING TO ARREST THE MAMAK??? DOLAH??!!! HES HAS NO BALLS LAH !!! HE ONLY ACTS ON DEFENSELESS PEOPLE LIKE THE HINDRAF HEROES!!! TYPICAL UMNO MALAY PARIAH ATTITUDE!!!! WHY IS KERISMUDIN NOT DETAINED!!!!????
written by miwaki, May 24, 2008 18:30:26
We do not ISA on Mahathir,just bundle and drag him to our court and prosecute him for sedition and put him into Sg.Buloh prison together with murderers of Altantuya.Who said we need ISA ?
written by shiokguy, May 24, 2008 18:41:48
Frankly by all mean if he is guilty!
What go around will come around!
I always belief in it..

Any police report against him so far?

http://shiokguy.********.com/
written by ganbing, May 24, 2008 18:42:02
Dr. Mamak is at it again. Read malaysiakni today (24/5),

"Dr M warns of unrest amid political turmoil"

Quote:
Dr Mahathir Mohamad has warned of possible unrest in multi-racial Malaysia, accusing his successor, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, of failing to assert his authority.

"Now we are seeing the different races making demands on the government, which they perceive as a weak government," the former premier told reporters in Tokyo yesterday.

He said "extremists" among different communities had begun to voice their opposition and make unfair demands on the government, trying to "divide rather than unite."

unquote

Can anybody doubt how dangerous this man is? He will sacrifice the whole country for his own selfish ends.
written by sarawakian, May 24, 2008 19:28:15
this is terrible. on one hand, we want to abolish the ISA and now we want Mahathir to be arrested under ISA? if what he said was seditious, just use the Seditions Act against him.

ABOLISH ISA, free the detainees or charge them in court. No one else should be held under this law.

written by Uncorruptible, May 24, 2008 19:33:38
I MOST STRONGLY protest detaining mahakock under the hallowed ISA. It would look back on the ISA ! The correct thing to do to kartun mahakock is to lock him up in a windowless strong room in Tanjong Rambutan, and throw away the key.
written by red1, May 24, 2008 19:41:51
To detain him is to make him even stronger in the eyes of the rakyat, as a non-dictator. ISA is a tool of political machiavelism. Well, anyway, Pak Lah is not known to be that cruel. So do not expect him to do so. Wait till Anwar becomes PM, only then is it more plausible. But then ISA would have been repealed.

Redhuan D. Oon
http://padi-malaysia.********.com/
written by bradwell_estate, May 24, 2008 20:22:02
can anybody post Dr. M full speech? i like to know what this guy said! smilies/angry.gif
written by HamChak, May 24, 2008 20:52:45
Badawi, we challenge you to ISA and lock up
that MaMakThir and that Mad-dhias Dog of his.

Tetapi, You Badawi as PM, You mana BERANI?
You only Berani ISA Hindraf saja.

Must ISA MaMak's son also and Krisimmuddin.
written by temenggong, May 24, 2008 21:50:06
Post elections, many malaysians are suddenly morally just citizens fighting for fairplay.

This is encouraging.
written by 1eyecls, May 24, 2008 22:57:41
why not now tun write a book called:the UMNO's dilemma?

"orang-2 melayu akan hilang kuasa klu bandar iskandar diduduki orang-2 singapore dan dari negara china!"

have you extremed hypocrite forgotten your slogan:prosper thy neighbours?

are you out of your mind?
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 24, 2008 23:08:17
If we want Mahathir to be detained under ISA.... then we are no better than him. In fact that will make us even worse than him. How could you wish a terrible law which you yourself opposed to towards others? In all matters, please be fair. NO TO ISA PLEASE!
written by eisham, May 25, 2008 08:03:49
param ni rakyat malaysia ke rakyat india ha?