Discontinue racist policies, says Rafidah PDF Print
Saturday, 24 May 2008 11:00

(The Star) - MALAYSIA will be the big loser if the people continue to practise racist policies, said Wanita Umno chief Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz in an interview with Sin Chew Daily.

“The Government or government-linked companies should give opportunities to Malaysians based on merit, and not on race. This will increase competitiveness,” she said.

Rafidah did not refute claims that some Malay officers carried out their duties based on ethnicity and skin colour, and this also happened in Chinese and Indian companies.

“The policies are workable, it's only the officials who implement them with prejudice,” she said.

On talk that MCA ministers did not dare fight for the community’s rights during Cabinet meetings, Rafidah said it was a wrong perception.

She said that in her 27 years in the Government, she had not seen any MCA minister who did not fight for the community.

“Maybe some people do not like MCA ministers who are low key and practise internal negotiations. But they are like Umno ministers who fight for the country and the people.

“The MCA ministers always fight for their community's rights in the Cabinet. This is also why I respect them,” she said, adding that leaders should be able to bring out important issues and make suggestions without creating any tension.

When asked whether she would retire soon, Rafidah said: “I still am not ready to say goodbye to politics. I will not leave politics unless my supporters give up on me.”

Comments (56)Add Comment
written by steviewonger, May 24, 2008 11:15:40
at last, the fat lady sings but out of tune. quote,“The MCA ministers always fight for their community's rights in the Cabinet. This is also why I respect them,” . respect my foot, give those mca-putras some APs then they keep quiet. what is there to shout about in the cabinet when the APs are already in the pocket! what shame the fat lady dare to speak out.
agree 115
written by freedom lover, May 24, 2008 11:23:11
It is good to see finally Ms. Rafidah echoing Malaysian Malaysia! One word of advice though, there is no need for MCA and MIC to fight for the rights of Chinese and Indians. It should be the duty of the government to provide for all the races in Malaysia!
written by MasterYoda, May 24, 2008 11:25:23
In the banks, they have systems that score an applicant.
Race factor is also taken in, as which race is best, good and worst paymaster.
Then there is gender factor. Normaly women top men as better paymaster.
(hence the women's credit cards)...men dont have that.

After that is Industry factor as it certainly adds weight to outcome of the loan applicant.

Different banks will internalu black list different indsutries from time to time. For examples, if a majority of a defaulters come from say school teachers... then these segment of people will be internal blacklisted or the requirements for made stricter.

But segments keep changing from time to time... never the same .

Sadly our malaysian policies have been consistant in discrimainiating between the races...
Maybe we sould implement a scoring system that does not need BIAS human interferences... a that is a MERIT system. Let the computer do the work, minus the race.
written by malsia1206, May 24, 2008 11:25:56
What a cheeky statement from the fat lady. Have you forgooten the good old AP days under your patronage of TDM and the current PM? Taking the rakyat to swallow your new tune? Have you changed the spots and stripes in your body?
written by smpadayachi, May 24, 2008 11:30:06
Wah pandai betul yer makcik peti ais.. dgn kasut tumit tinggi yg pecah belah tue..and your tangisan buaya..and you saying..Oh no..please stay now you're changing the tune? Masyarakat India diKuala Kangsar, Perak never seen a day light when you're representing, and what do you know of racist policies? You're the chief of racist policy, and now changing the song? Oh..peti ais...keep the trap shut before the peti ais that is left open will start having the stinking smell like yourself.
written by KKchan, May 24, 2008 11:31:11
Is that an admisson that BN policy was racist? Thought BN had also denied that their policy was in any way shape or form racist. Start with AP allocation. No non Bumi has been given any APs. Not racist? Tender them out. Get revenue for the Government.
written by Jan, May 24, 2008 11:33:28
Rafidah, you would be more credible if this was said before the elections.
For this country to continue racist policies we will slowly but surely be strangled to death.
If UMNO had run this country from Independence on an equitable basis we would easily be equal if not better than Singapore, wait, Singapore wouldn't have left in the first place and Pulau Batu Puteh wouldn't even be an issue. Not only that the Malays would be a much stronger race, competitive and hardworking not to mention there will be greater harmony among all races. But why this is not the case, who's to blame if not UMNO?
written by jimfish, May 24, 2008 11:39:28
The is one good reason why she is supporting the discontinue of racist policies. She no longer has the authorities to grant APs and benefit from there, that's why she has nothing to lose. Do u guys think she will say something like this if she is still the MITI???
written by apa jadi, May 24, 2008 11:47:02
...she had not seen any MCA minister who did not fight for the community....But they are like Umno ministers who fight for the country and the people.

Hey, Are u sure that UMNO fight for the country and people? You can really lie. Also, if the BN has all the people in the country in their mind, there should not be one MCA fighting for their community, MIC for Indians...

I still remember in one of your speech in the AP issue, you said that you "help the Malays to grab back the monopoly from the Chinese with issuing of AP"(something like that). What made you change your mind on getting out of the race divide? Or you are trying to play the race card yourself, since you know the interview will be read by the Chinese community?
written by Kuku Burung, May 24, 2008 11:48:13
The good ol' Rafi needs contracts lah to sustain her luxurious appetite. So where else couls she go but to those Chinese tawkes? No one from UMNO is going to listen to you when you are out. So better curry favour the tawkes lah.
written by apa jadi, May 24, 2008 11:51:33
Btw, I was told that she was born Chinese, adopted by a Malay. Is that true? Anyone?
written by ilovepakatan, May 24, 2008 11:53:48
Ha. She joins a bunch who only found their voice after election. Before that, they were dumbfounded by their fortunes.
written by Dominic, May 24, 2008 12:01:32
Why of a sudden you try to talk sense ? Isnt it not too late. What about the AP issue? What was your stand when your collegues advocate rascialism ? Was it real tears when you hugged TDM the moment he said he was stepping down as PM ? Hard to be convinced !!!
written by Jan, May 24, 2008 12:01:47
I was told that she was born Chinese, adopted by a Malay. Is that true?....
---------------------------------
My goodness there's hardly any trace of Chineseness on her face. Where did you hear that from?
written by smpadayachi, May 24, 2008 12:07:49
I doubt it the fat cow badan mcm peti ais was born as Chinese and got adopted by a Malay couple. Kalau mempunyai penafisiran utk maklumat nie..org Cina pun tak suka ambik ank yg begitu kejam tuer. She does not look Chinese, but an old bag, that rattles as though she's still in twenties. How now FAT COW?? She's meanest b@tch, and there's no once of compassion and caring for this power, and money hungry pig, that growls like a sow in heat. All she know is ringgit & sen in her eyes, and I bet who her mattress and anything she sleeps on it must be laid with ringgit bills all over, so that she can say..Oh..Oh..Oh duit duit..itulah tuhan aku.
written by technoboy, May 24, 2008 12:11:46
RAfidah, so if MCA ministers have fought, then the result did not tell, are you saying that MCA can fight and have fought, BUT UMNO don't give a DAMN, then we are very clearly seeing the racist policy of UMNO.
written by cheekhiaw, May 24, 2008 12:15:29
Incredible. They all seem to be seeing the light after being pushed from rich authority to poor irrelevance...
written by sickofitall, May 24, 2008 12:26:41
Wow! Cool! Glad you found your conscinece while clearing out your office...must have been lost somewhere amongst the clutter
written by chanatak, May 24, 2008 12:38:12
OK Rafidah. We believe you. Now let us hear you putting up a motion against all racist policies during the next parliament sitting. Do it openly on these issues : -

1) Government jobs
2) Promotion in government jobs
3) University admission
4) Government Contracts and issue of APs
5) Scholarships
6) Construction of places of religious worship

We are looking forward to your transformed performance. WOW! A New Rafidah. A New UMNO!

The Rakyat will surely support you 100%
written by padhma, May 24, 2008 12:43:53
Oh, now she relises that there are racist policies in Malaysia. What took her so long? Left her brain somewhere else?
written by lamakawan, May 24, 2008 12:46:27
Do not tell lies. The era of hypocracy for you is over. Because you were not allowed to contest in last elections you are not sweet talking good about mca or mic or what. How many APs went to other people other than your umno members?
written by u chen, May 24, 2008 13:04:22
Sad that we need race-based political parties to "fight for our rights' when they should already be there in the first place. If there was no discrimination to begin with, then race-based parties would have been irrelevant from day one smilies/sad.gif
written by Eskay Lim, May 24, 2008 13:08:44
Dear AP Queen,
The common people of Malaysia do not, YES do not practise racist policies. It's the Umnoputras who advocate & practise these racist policies in order to have control & loyalty over their party members.
How can the ordinary people play racial politics?
In fact we are being played, by the people like you, through the Ketuanan, NEP, PSD scholarships, pre-U classes, job opprtunities etc..etc.etc.
So please point your dirty finger at yourself.
written by devious17, May 24, 2008 14:08:50
rAPidah, on one hand you urge umno/bn to drop racist p[olicy but on the other hand you highlighted mca ministers helping the chinese community (you insinuated) why? why not highlight umno helping the indians and chinese, mca the malays and indians , the mic for the malays and chinese and BN for all????

WHY?

If you umnoputras are sincere, open up umno for non malays , now that's non racist!!!!! smilies/wink.gif
written by asianguy, May 24, 2008 14:11:14
Well, Rafidah, look in the mirror first. Perhaps you should get your own party to begin showing a good example, because UMNO is the number 1 racist party in Malaysia.
written by partiotic, May 24, 2008 14:29:47
Hi! Rafidah you are a very mature politician. I think you are right, who ever mention of racial matter should be put in jail. Who ever talk of racial matter are people who want to destroy Malaysia. Rafidah Pakatan Rakyat is the answer to non racial coalition.
written by pulaiman, May 24, 2008 14:34:06
she s going for broke she wants to challenge najib for the deputy presidency of umno or who knows the president itself. how else to get more AP s to provide for the bumiputras.
written by islandjoe, May 24, 2008 14:37:54
1st of all, WHO are the people you are referring to? You've managed to actually say nothing of significance. Policies are not workable if there is room for individuals to put a racial slant on it. The fact of the matter is the policies are implemented by cronies and those with self-interest, not people qualified to be there. If you are a crony with no accountability, then you do what you want: THAT is the 1st policy of BN that filters down to all.
written by harryo, May 24, 2008 14:42:47
See who is speaking!!
written by disgruntled, May 24, 2008 14:48:56
At last the AP queen has spoken. This is the best tip from the horses mouth. All these while the gomen has been practising racist policies. I hope you have come to your senses and now realise racialism will not take you far. This is the reason that the oppositon won so overwhelmingly without any efforts. If not for some cheating you and your cohorts will have to eat sand, literally.
written by jganasan, May 24, 2008 15:12:37
Hey Rafidah A/P (and I don't mean anak perempuan)Aziz
Don't simply pretend to be a non racist. I suuuue you man for defaming your character
written by mgeo, May 24, 2008 15:39:17
She was left undisturbed for 2 decades (longer than Maha Thief?) to hand out something much bigger than APs. Remember share issues reserved under NEP?

Other than Malays and one case of Indians (MIC), I don't know who else benefitted. OSA?
written by HHKim, May 24, 2008 15:46:01
This doggie Ralidah is trying to talk good as though she is a non-racial advocate. She ought to know herself better than anybody else. As a former minister, she did not care about equal opportunities for all races, APs were given to all UMNO top people, while MCA and Gerakan are looking with the tongues and saliva dripping!! My contention is damn simple: If you ever advocate this principle of non-racial, you should have done it when you were in BN as minister by addressing all the wrong doings - may be including by telling these useless MCA OKT and Gerakan LKY to do better jobs, rather than just follows orders like pariah dogs. This is what we the raayat cannot swallow and thus, end up with the biggest mandate to silent BN government.

Now that you are not in government, and powerless like dogs OKT & LKY, boleh cakap banyak, tapi taada guna lagi. May I humbly suggest you shut up and allow the new law makers and new teams to run the show.
written by HHKim, May 24, 2008 15:51:51
Frankly for Malaysia to prosper and grow in the international arena, the follwoing people must leave the politics for good:

1. AAB
2. Lajib
3. Hishab mudin
4. Ali Rutam of Malacca
5. MCA
6. Gerakan
7. MIC

I am pretty sure all the raayat in Malaysia do agree with these proposal.
written by mob1900, May 24, 2008 16:05:09

Change of wind direction ain't gonne douse off the Hell-fire, Nenek Pidah. infact it will burn more furiously.
written by johanssm, May 24, 2008 16:25:15
i have to be rude on this one .
Since when this racist fat old cow with lipstick and jewelery have a change of heart? rapidah was the same fat cow that told the international business people that umno's nep and melayu policies will not be change and will never bows to internal and external pressures.
Or now that she lost her APs she now speaks as if shes from PR and starts to lick our balls . No thanks .
written by Navigator, May 24, 2008 16:55:48
Mahathir's departure paves the way for UMNO to become a multi-national party. If the racists in UMNO do not see the writing on the wall, they are history. PR will walk all over them.
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 24, 2008 17:11:18
I just don't trust anything that comes out of any UMNO members. They always switch tunes. Rafidah's tune changed because UMNO/BN lost miserably and when they get back what the have lost they'll replay the old tunes. That has been going on for ages. The truth is they never learn from their mistakes.
written by cancan, May 24, 2008 17:11:48
This election is doing miracles to the country.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by fellow, May 24, 2008 17:14:57
Wow, man... Rafidah said that?! I think the press must have misquoted her... Or was it someone else who said it?
written by shiokguy, May 24, 2008 17:36:48
What a paradox!
First she talk about the need to discontinue the racist policies.

But then she fall into racial politic again on MCA fighting for the community or UMNO fight for Malay community.

When can we have a non racial political climate? Please look into Proportional Representation (PR)

Link (PR)http://shiokguy.********.com/2...ation.html

written by shan, May 24, 2008 17:36:48
This Fat Slut wants to open her mouth to let you know is around and available..Since the death of her SIL, and the situation Naza is in and the on going interpol investigation,she is hitting in her baju kurung,for fear of her assets being frozen.,

This bitch once told Magerette albright of USA that she is not worth 2 cents,how I bet my last 2 cents,she is cooking up to tell off Scotland Yard that she is Untoucheable.,.You know how????? All the luxury cars are bought mainly by the chinese and she wants to be in the good books of chinese hoping that the chinese will support here in terms of backdated taxes,to be paid for the cars brought in using cloned APs in her SIL's company.,

Hello Fat Bitch,alot of Umno cronies too have bought these cars.,.In fact Kerismuddin has 2 BMW X5 and Indians too have these cars,WE ARE GOING TO BURY YOU IS YOU DON'T CABUT TO YOUR RUMAH TO JUAL KICHAP..,.FAHAM TAK??????

Hello bitch smilies/grin.gif
written by Kuku Burung, May 24, 2008 17:40:04
Kak Rafi just came out from IJN with a new heart. Long live Kak Rafi. Kak Rafi for PM, Kak Rafi for PM....koh, koh, koh...I think I have vomited some blood.
written by peace lover, May 24, 2008 17:54:30
Hello seladang!! Are you talking?? People practicing racist policies?? Who are these people you are talking about? YOU?? and your UMNO colleagues??

Masuk balik ke dalam kandang kau tu... AND KEEP YOUR BLOODY MOUTH SHUT...
written by lamakawan, May 24, 2008 18:11:06
" DISCONTINUE RACIST POLICIES', you are absolutely right. Even only you had advised your members like Najis, Bodowi. krisbudin before the elections, you wouldn"t have to appear in this blog to appeal for its discontinuance. I share pity for you and your running dog friends in umno. selamat jalan.
written by kevinD, May 24, 2008 18:25:04
THE BITCH HAS SPOKEN!!!!! TOO LATE , NOT SINCERELY!!!!! AP QUEEN BITCH!!!! SHE CANT RETIRE COZ SHE WONT COST MUCH AS A WHORE!!!!
written by miwaki, May 24, 2008 18:37:34
If our government is competent,racists would have automatically disappeared since racists can't survive in such environment.Incompetent minister such as Rafidah has to rely on APs to enrich her cronies and family as she has no clue at all as to how to make million legally.
written by A MI, May 24, 2008 18:49:04
oh puhlease. Look who is talking. Save your talk for your cronies. Rafidah, you are one of the biggest racist alive! Shut up already!!!!!!!!!!
written by RFernandez, May 24, 2008 20:40:41
Gee the fat cow finally found some sense to speak up, but wait, who is she to mention this when she practiced racism herself?
written by Areyaar, May 24, 2008 20:51:40
I do not believe this woman is being sincere at all. If memory serves correctly, she has never been known to fight for the underdog. She is clever and knows which side of her bread to butter. Do not underestimate her. If memory serves correctly, some years back, when she was (mistakenly or unfortunately, take your pick), invited to speak at a forum regarding women’s rights after yet another bigotted bill was passed, she had the audacity to tell all the women present (the event was organized by a women’s organization and the audience were largely women), not to politicize the issue. I mean, there she was, at an event that was organized to speak about the injustices suffered by women, and instead of showing any empathy for her own gender, she had the damned cheek to suggest that women should just shut up and quietly and timidly accept the discrimination being heaped upon them. What does this attitude say about her as a person and as a human being?

Again, if memory serves correctly, she has not done anything for women’s rights or for the downtrodden in general. Now she talks about racial equality?? HAH!!

Some people look for whatever political mileage they can get and wherever they can get it. Self-serving is the word.
written by goman2k3, May 24, 2008 23:32:54
Finally some big fat shot admitted that UMNO and the government is practising racism for the last 50 years. If PKR take over the government the s a very good chance of ending racism in this country.
written by InEffective, May 25, 2008 00:45:13
Please (for the sake of your children), don't fall for what they say, but what they do.
Only believe when you can see observable, measurable, and verifiable performance.

Politicians (especially the racists ones) are great at saying one thing, but doing another.

if, and only if, they deliver, shall we the rakyat believe.
written by Windchime, May 25, 2008 00:56:09
Walk the talk!
written by ukmywl, May 25, 2008 01:03:28
I wonder if she ever contributed to the statement 'Mandikan keris dengan darah Cina' during those annoying UMNO assembly? If not, even by just clapping her hand or smile or NOT putting in any attempt to stop the bloody hell statement is sinful and racist. This is a desperate attempt to win back votes.
What have the Chinese done to those who made that statement? MF!!!!
written by Francis, May 25, 2008 01:43:08
Hello aunty Rafidah, If the MCA ministers fought for the Chinese, ho did the number of Chinese schools diminished in numbers. If the MIC ministers fought for the Indians, Hindraf would not have existed. Khir Toyo would not have demolished the temples and places of worship, Hishamuddin would have funded Tamil schools. Khairy would not have asked Hisham when the kris will be used.
Barisan Nasional would not have lost its majority if it had considered the Indians and the Chinese as citizens of Malaysia. UMNO treated the Indian and Chinese ministers with disrespect and issued gag orders.

written by bunian, May 25, 2008 06:30:31
Dear Fat Lady,
Your 27 years in the Government is nothing to brag about when it was 27 years of participating, aiding and abetting in the plunder of the country for personal gain!!!!