Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Man-in-demand Najib plays it cool

Man-in-demand Najib plays it cool PDF Print
Saturday, 24 May 2008 10:55

Part 2 of The Malaysian Insider's peek into Umno's inner sanctum of power following Dr Mahathir's resignation

A survey conducted by the government recently shows that most Malaysians blame Umno’s arrogance and not Abdullah leadership for Barisan Nasional’s poor performance in Election 2008.

The Malaysian Insider 

najib

Everyone, it seems, wants a piece of Najib. — Bernama pic

It seems that everyone wants a piece of him. Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi needs his support to stay on as president of Umno. Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad needs his support to force Abdullah out of office before the party elections in December. Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin needs a signal from him before deciding on his running mate for the party elections.

Yes, Datuk Seri Najib Razak appears to be holding the whip hand. And for now his position is clear. He will be the loyal number two in party and will not move to push out Abdullah’s, preferring instead to wait for the orderly transfer of power under the succession plan.

His supporters told The Malaysian Insider that he does see any benefit of forcing his way to the top, noting that any power grab could send Umno into further turmoil and make it easier for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and the Pakatan Rakyat to mine the instability and prompt crossovers from Barisan Nasional.

Under the succession plan, Abdullah will hand over power to Najib in 2010. There is a possibility that the timetable could be moved forward if the situation on the ground becomes untenable and there is an exodus of party members to the Opposition.

But Najib is not going to press Abdullah for a faster hand over date. He may have done so if Dr Mahathir’s quit gambit had forced droves of Malaysians to surrender their party membership. Najib also knows that the problems the ruling party faces will not disappear with a leadership change.

A survey conducted by the government recently shows that most Malaysians blame Umno’s arrogance and not Abdullah leadership for Barisan Nasional’s poor performance in Election 2008.

But will Najib be tempted by the constant prodding from Dr Mahathir, a politician he has great affection for?

In recent days he has told some party members that Dr Mahathir’s only interest appears to be in ousting Abdullah and supporting who will be amenable to setting up a council of advisers. Presumably, Dr Mahathir will be part of this council and will effectively run the party and country from behind the scenes.

Such a council is not acceptable to Najib or Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, the former finance minister who has offered himself as a candidate for the party president’s position. Still, Dr Mahathir is going to hammer away at Najib’s conscience and get him to disengage from Abdullah. Yesterday, he took the deputy prime minister for a trip down memory lane.

"If we look back at history, Tun Razak did not agree with Dato Onn Jaafar to open up Umno to other races. To Tun Razak, his disagreement did not mean he was being disloyal to Umno.

"The same goes when in 1969, the Alliance did not perform well in the elections and many criticised Tunku Abdul Rahman. Razak was clearly sympathetic towards his critics, including me'," he told reporters at a press conference in Tokyo, where he is attending the Nikkei Conference.

Dr Mahathir said he had one question to ask Najib.

"I want to ask him whether he is loyal to the party or president? I just want to remind him of the Onn and Tunku cases where his father was clearly disloyal to the party leader. If Najib wants to say those who are not loyal to the president is also against the party, I want to remind Najib of what his father did back then," he said.

Najib’s supporters argued that while many Umno members criticised Tunku Abdul Rahman and blamed him for the May 13 incident, there was no rush to force him out of office like what Dr Mahathir is doing to Abdullah now. Tun Razak did not lead a campaign of hate against Tunku Abdul Rahman.

They also said that apart from Dr Mahathir, no one displayed acrimony towards the father of Malaysia’s independence. Also, arguably, the situation today is not as grave as the one in 1969 where there were race riots, killings and a breakdown of law and order in urban areas.

From discussions he has had with party members and friends, there is little doubt that Najib is troubled about Dr Mahathir’s decision to quit Umno. But it is also clear that his affection for the man will not affect any decision he makes about his political future.

He is still content to wait for his turn to become party president and prime minister. Only a major upheaval in Umno will cause him to change his tactics and allegiance. But it is not a risk-free strategy.

Anwar has said that considers Najib an easy target.

"I hope they pick him as their next leader so I can fight him rather than the others you mentioned. There are all those controversial defence contracts and all the issues dating back to the time when he was Menteri Besar of Pahang," he said in an interview with Asia Inc.

For Najib, it makes tactical sense taking on Anwar with the full backing of the party rather than with a divided Umno in tow.

Next: Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Bigjoe99, May 24, 2008 11:02:48
Having Najib takes over quickly would only delay any real revival of UMNO/BN. Its covering the problem with new actors on a stage. The actors are not better or have a better plan. Fresh new actors with no baggage would give breathing room to act BUT Najib comes with incredible baggage and could make things worst than actually improve situation.
written by The Iceman, May 24, 2008 11:38:05
Change in leadership is not the solution. The rantings of an old man is pitiful to watch. He should just fade away into the sunset. More importantly the PR led state govt leaders should start delivering on their election promises and not just critisise the previous administration. Equally the previous govts should be more mature and not just say that if PR is not happy just cancel the ongoing projects.Greater political maturity is needed by all.
written by jchew, May 24, 2008 11:44:09
The whole word is watching C4 gang!
written by FFT, May 24, 2008 11:51:07
BOOM!

written by Jan, May 24, 2008 12:06:57
He may be in demand among the UMNOputras but can you say the same among the millions of Malaysians? We can't afford to have Rose Mah to be the defacto PM.
written by technoboy, May 24, 2008 12:18:40
Hmmm, Malaysia is damn with this guy as PM.
written by LACOBRA, May 24, 2008 14:05:30
He sure is in demand for both Hang & AAB. Anwar may have a problem there, if Najib becomes the leader he wouldn't be running his office from the Putrajaya PM's office but he will be hiding in his acquired military armory.
written by islandjoe, May 24, 2008 14:40:46
Everyone wants a piece of Najib? I hear in Mongolian construction sites, if you want more pieces you just blow them up. Problem solved. More pieces to go around! It's called the C4 solution.
written by Lim Lim, May 24, 2008 15:16:15
this is perculiar,none of their ex-presidents except abdul razak who departed suddenly;finished off as umno member of cos with mahathir jus included!...n they are proclaiming umno is great????????this is the point for ponder.
written by coalminecanary, May 24, 2008 15:28:51
frankly speaking, what has this fler done to the country that he deserved to be the next PM? cos he is his papa son? i don't see any quality at all in this najib.
can somebody please tell me?
written by zviivz, May 24, 2008 15:48:00
AAB is holding MrC4Man's balls. If he decides to betray him, then he will squeeze his balls harder. Common, it sounds like AAB has enough evidences to send him behind bars if he decides to bail out. Stay loyal or face the music.
written by SamBall, May 24, 2008 16:23:38
AAB ke, C4 Najib ke, Badawi ke; all from the same mold and cut from the same cloth; racist politicians, racist bastards; playing the race & religion car when it suits them. "Never believe what a politician says, and only believe half of what you see". AAB is no better, just study his background, and you will understand; mudah lupa 16 tahun mentee mamaktir ka? Pick someone based on merit like Singapore (sorry lost your islands; tapi jangan marah; win some lose some eh).
written by tikuih, May 24, 2008 16:43:53
the mere mention of najis C4 and the look of his pig-eyed cunning face is enough to make our blood boil. he's got tons of scum baggage still uninvestigated. najis the next prime minister? mother of all horrors!!!
written by cancan, May 24, 2008 17:18:57
Lets take a break from politics.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 24, 2008 17:19:23
Don't be too sure that Najib will have the chance to move to the top post. With Altantuya haunting him perhaps he'll be out in no time. Let's see the next episode when Raja Petra comes to court. Don't tell us that the two goons who blew Altantuya up were out of their mind. The real puppet master will surface.
written by binkah1, May 24, 2008 18:36:47
Seems that after the election, the rakyat is all forgotten and their view never taken into accounts by politicians. What sort of world is this?? If it is not for the rakyat's vote, where would they be??
written by jeya, May 24, 2008 19:35:33
smilies/cool.gif!
I have a very uncomfortable question!
Where is my ol'friend's original wife{ yang asal, yang tulin}?
For if{ & that's a big if} , I am to select{ pls do not forget that the People's
Power is of 10 on the recter{ rectum???} scale}my ol'friend for the post of Rt.Hon.Prime Minister of Malaysia, this is what he needs to be be viz: Right & Honourable {conjunctive not disjunctive}
The Soul of a person that we "trust" must be clean & clear - he is allowed to make a little money on the side,provided the People are looked after FIRST!
How many cars do u need?
How many handbags does yr wife need?
How many watches can yr hand hold?
How many times do u need to be treated as a king?
The soul is reflected in yr face & body language!
Please do not consider us fools!
written by nasilemak, May 24, 2008 20:11:52
They say when you marry a man, you marry his family.

Does the same maxim hold true for that of leaders? MOST CERTAINLY SO.

We don't just get the leader; it would appear we almost ALWAYS get the entire f**king clan (and then SOME!)

To think we are dead worried we have a near comatose leader; what will happen when we get a Dynamite Leader like Najib and an even more Dynamite First Lady like Rosmah?

Did I just say "dynamite"? Sorry slip of the keyboard. I mean dynamic!
written by benny loh, May 24, 2008 22:02:01
I think...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...trick.html
written by SocratesI, May 24, 2008 22:42:41

Eh ?? i thought Ros-p*kimah is the Deputy PM and going to be the next PM ?? Najis is only the cuckold husband. Me, I am going to invest in C4 in these turbulent and troubled economic times !! Ros-p*kimah & Najis bound to use lots of C4 to celebrate and also to clear the way for them to take over the PM post next ...

C4 is the best commodity to invest in, in Malaysia !!! Favourite commodity for our existing DPM and spouse !!

written by joeawk, May 24, 2008 23:21:19
Najib takes over, BN MPs will cross over and Pakatan will form the Federal govt. That cannot be disputed. Najib will be the last UMNO PM of Malaysia and UMNO will have to wait another 50 years to claim back the PMship. It is all written in the book of Malaysia.
written by InEffective, May 25, 2008 00:51:00
If you are not in his circle of cronies, you will be subsidizing this politician's greed and habits.

A great future of servitude awaits your children if we end up with this politician as a national leader. Beware the imminent pain this guy will inflict - choose wisely.
written by InEffective, May 25, 2008 00:51:00
If you are not in his circle of cronies, you will be subsidizing this politician's greed and habits.

A great future of servitude awaits your children if we end up with this politician as a national leader. Beware the imminent pain this guy will inflict - choose wisely.
written by Limang, May 25, 2008 02:17:41
Hey, guys, Mr. C4 is a non-achiever and non-performer all his life. He gives the appearance of a well-read person but when he speaks, he is about 10 years behind time, not to mention the fact that he says the most idotic things. A commmon description among the Chinese about him is: A BUMBLING IDIOT! A fool could do better than him. Name me one thing he has done that truly memorable and make him an outstanding person? Can't, isn't it? He is clearly a glory-seeker, racist and hypocrite through and through. Let's get rid of him - spread the word around: Mr C4 will destroy Malaysia for his stupidity and cowardice and his fatty bum bum wife!
written by Moshiach, May 25, 2008 02:20:12
hey everybody, want to know the truth? go to http://iskandar1zulkarnain.********.com and open your eyes! thank you so much for you support!
written by Taiping60, May 25, 2008 11:26:01
If he become the PM of Malaysia, I pray very hard what said in RPT about the mongolian case and submarine deal were not true otherwise, I cannot imagine what Malaysia would be like.

Not sure what are legal and what consider illegal. Oh God, please watch over us.
written by letsbefair, May 25, 2008 12:14:35
Due to Mahathir abuse of the power of PM which makes whoever in that seat TOO POWERFUL! Being the country CEO means he can almost literally do anything! Thus the person in this seat would not want to resign and would do anything to hold on to power!!
The Altantuya murder trial will go on indefinitely to make Najib behave himself I suspect... smilies/cheesy.gif. It doesn't matter who becomes PM. An angel can become a devil with that kind of power that comes with the job.

Mahathir stepped down because others want to move up. He overstayed his welcome. He put in the weakest person in power hoping to control him from behind but too bad.... Anyway I believe he will still be a "thorn in the flesh" to his immediate succesor even if it was not AAB. All this have to do with money and power.
written by PAKRAK, May 26, 2008 02:33:03
Extracts from AS THEY PLAY THE FINAL CURTAIN
"He (Umno veteran) also wanted to see whether he can kowtim me, and the issue is my latest article concerning Rosmah phoning the Sultan and scolding him about my article linking her and Najib to the Altantuya murder.
Just a public apology without any sincerity from the short and stubby baboon for having the audacity of telling off and scolding the Sultan of Selangor? Do you think HRH the Sultan of Selangor will accept all this crap?
written by PAKRAK, May 26, 2008 02:39:14
Contd:
Two options 1.Kena buang negeri to Kamunting for good
2.Cut into twenty-one pieces to feed crocodiles and Anacondas.
First of all, what has the innocent Sultan got to do with murderers of Altantuya? Who does she think she is just because her womaniser husband is DPM and she starts throwing her weight around? I don't think Jeanne Abdullah will dare to arm-twist or have verbal diarrohea with royalties. I would'nt be surprised if the shorty baboon is capable of doing the same to the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong.
written by PAKRAK, May 26, 2008 02:43:55
Contd:
For crying out loud, who is going to make a report? Can we get the same 19 goons/nincompooks who made the report against Karpal and now she can get away scott-free. She is a creature... a monster to be precise of the first degree. Najib Mongolia is so naive, stupid and blind...
written by PAKRAK, May 26, 2008 02:47:01
Contd:
he must be mesmerised by her regular blow jobs and be under her spell with Nasi Kangkang stuffed down his throat and shorty baboon is assured of getting a good and satisfying lick job every night without fail. To Hell with the both of them!
written by Su Dhanoa, May 26, 2008 14:14:02
If a man with so many skeletons in the closet (currently) can still be nominated to become the PM of a Country - then May God Save Us when he is the PM - what do you all think that he/his half will be capable of doing to this Nation. Its just unthinkable !!!!

MAY GOD SAVE US FROM THIS EVEIL AMONG US!!