Balkis spent RM279,000 on clothes for members and spouses for sporting event PDF Print
Saturday, 24 May 2008 10:02

(The Sun) - Balkis, the Wives of Selangor State Assemblymen and MPs Charity and Welfare Organisation, spent RM158,000 on clothes for its members to wear to a sporting event and RM121,000 on similar apparel for their spouses of members of the state assembly.

This "questionable" spending was in the list of expenditures that Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim read out to the Assembly yesterday, in answer to two questions on Balkis from Lau Weng San (DAP-Kampung Tunku) and Dr Shafie Abu Bakar (PAS-Bangi).

These clothes were bought Galeri Balkis Sdn Bhd. Other expenditures pertained to the organising of charity events.

He also told the assembly how much state investment arms and companies like PKNS, Kumpulan Darul Ehsan Bhd and Permodalan Negeri Selangor Bhd (PNSB) had contributed to Balkis.

Abdul Khalid also said PNSB had contributed a total RM5,186,948 to Balkis.

The accounts of PNSB showed the company forked out RM50,000 for the officiating of Kompleks Wawasan Balkis and a majilis korban, and another RM50,000 for orphans.

Another Balkis charity programme cost RM250,000, while RM49,000 went for souvenirs, RM22,000 for Ramadan contribution, RM250,000 for a Deepavali and Hari Raya programme, RM100 for uniforms, RM30,000 for food, and RM36,000 for souvenirs for VVIPs.

Abdul Khalid said he would not use the word dissolution on Balkis as the application for dissolution of the society has yet to be approved.

"Whatever action we take on the matter should be done in a proper manner because the people involved should be given a fair chance to respond to the queries that have been raised. One thing is clear, the state government will not continue with land allocation to Balkis for the purpose of transfer to bodies which are not part of the state government. And we do not consider Bakti as a state government organisation," Abdul Khalid said.

Abdul Khalid earlier announced that a Special Select Committee for competency, transparency and accountability will be set up to address misuse of funds.

He said among its first probes would be on the expenditures of Balkis and the usage of the whole RM29 million allocation for 2008 for state assemblymen within the first two months of this year.

Speaking to reporters after the morning session of the state assembly sitting today, he said the assembly will move a motion to set up this committee which will be made up of five or six members.

"Four of the members will be from the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) and the rest form the opposition (Barisan Nasional)," he said.

The people involved will be called up to meet with the committee and the state assembly has the power to compel their attendance to extract information on the usage of funds and expenditure of people and organizations concerned, he said.

It was revealed that 90.16% of the RM29,544,000million allocation to state assemblymen for 2008 was spent before March.

Abdul Khalid said the allocation which was used up within the first two months of the year was no small matter.

"We have of course given more allocations for the new state assemblymen; however we pity the Rakyat because they have missed out of the earlier funds supplied for their benefit," he said.

Former mentri besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo said: "There is no misuse of funds in Balkis."

All the monies concerned have been transferred to Bakti (the Federal equivalent of Balkis) and chanelled towards supporting the schools, he said.

The Registrar of Societies (ROS) will get back to them within the 30-day period and this matter is not up to the state government but the ROS, he added while reiterating that the 70% mandate needed to disband the organistion had been obtained.

"It is up to the Pakatan Rakyat to set up their own wives of assemblyment and parliamentarian organisation, so that they can compete with the Barisan Nasional (BN) wives and state assemblymen association," Mohd Khir said.

Commenting on the RM29 million expenditure by BN state assemblymen within the first two months of this year, Mohd Khir said: "The allocation had been given to non-governmental organisations, places of worship, social organisations and to carry out programmes as per the applications made.

"This allocation was used for the Rakyat, but now the impression being given is that it had been used up by the state assemblymen themselves."

Mohd Khir also complained that the PR government was doing the exact same thing they had complained about before. "The allocation given now is only for the PR assemblymen but when we did this they complained. Now they are doing the same things we did before."

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Oldmantalks, May 24, 2008 10:25:22
These accusations and counter-accusations by the former ex-MB can be easily resolved. Like TDM, give the ex-MB his day in court.
written by ladasiber, May 24, 2008 10:25:39
Kenapa siToyol tu yang jawab? Apa hak dia untuk menjawab? Di tu ahli Balkis ke?Laporkan saja kepada polis supaya sibini Toyol tu dibawa ke muka pangadilan.

Memang betul keimanan tidak boleh diwarisi dari seorang ayah. SiToyol ni memang seumpama kisah Nabi Allah Noh as. Ayahnya beriman tetapi anaknya tidak.

Dulu masa kes penyapu, pandai dia minta nas-nas yang mengatakan penyapu tu sesuatu yang tidak elok dibuat hadiah. Sekarang ni ada tak nas-nas yang mengatakan duit balkis tu boleh diperlakukan macam duit mak bapak korang.
written by Arubin, May 24, 2008 10:36:56
"This allocation was used for the Rakyat, but now the impression being given is that it had been used up by the state assemblymen themselves."

Talk is cheap. Prove it. I do not expect the PR government to have to do so because YOU took all documentation with you when you left.

Mohd Khir also complained that the PR government was doing the exact same thing they had complained about before. "The allocation given now is only for the PR assemblymen but when we did this they complained. Now they are doing the same things we did before."

Yeah, right...you mean whatever pennies you guys left behind of what was supposed to last for a year...
written by uncleleow, May 24, 2008 10:59:38
Shame them and send them to jail.
written by joseph81, May 24, 2008 11:00:47
Again ACA is sleeping ZZZZZZ
written by partiotic, May 24, 2008 11:26:32
Yes Pakatan Rakyat government you have done a good job. Check whether the pricing is right, if not according to market value. It is amounting to cheating. CBT, if convicted should be put them in Jail.The tukang gigi is so scare, he criticise the Pakatan Rakyat government for digging into their wrong doing. RP continune to dig.The rakyat of Malaysia has confident in PR.
written by KKchan, May 24, 2008 11:27:21
Mohd Khir, the pot calling the kettle black? PR Government can give allocations to BN ADUNs if BN Government also give allocations to PR ADUNs and MPs. Simple right? Isn't that the way? After all the money is taxpayers' and by witholding allocations the party in power is just punishing its own supporters who happened to be in the minority (sometimes very slim minority!).
written by chanatak, May 24, 2008 12:09:19
Former mentri besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo said: "There is no misuse of funds in Balkis."

Spoken like a true thief. Why so?

Many many years ago, I had the opportunity to fellowship with a group of people who do all kinds of things to financial organizations. And in one case, I questioned them if they don't feel any conscience about cheating money. Their reply?

"Cheating? No, no. You are so naive. We are not cheating anyone. The financial institutions are the cheats. The banks cheat the poor, the insurance cheat the unfortunate. We are only taking back what they owe society!"

See? Thieves do not think thieving is thieving. They justify themselves

Khir Toyol thinks as a true thief. Spoken like a true thief. No conscience at all - UMNO style

written by Chuan, May 24, 2008 12:34:49
While the Balkis episode plays on, we the Rakyat need to be aware of one thing- that ACA does not work for the Rakyat for they've not carried out what they've been set out to do.

It's very clear that ACA is not an effective anti corruption agency. We need to vote them out too.
written by chaiksyn, May 24, 2008 13:09:08
Si Toyol ni Pondan kot! Why is he doing all the talking? His wife is a dumber ke? One thing is for sure...they are both greedy!
written by asianguy, May 24, 2008 14:17:28
Balkis, the Wives of Selangor State Assemblymen and MPs Charity and Welfare Organisation, spent RM158,000 on clothes for its members to wear to a sporting event and RM121,000 on similar apparel for their spouses of members of the state assembly.

Guess Khir is saying that the above is charity - after all, "charity begins at home", so give the money to its members first!
written by SL Chan, May 24, 2008 14:31:30

Toyol!!!

You brady idiot...Dont just say it..Prove it and dont talk cock!!! Enough of all your cock stories..YOU REALLY GET INTO RAKYAT NERVES!!! Honestly i have spoken to many people and it seem most of them hate you of what you have done..call you all kind of nick names and curse you..You already in deep shit and you are still think you are right and cant accept the fact that you have alreaday loose...
written by Lim Lim, May 24, 2008 14:39:09
husbands rob while wives cheat !!
written by Rohani Hitam, May 24, 2008 14:53:10
Little or nothing is done to the Auditor General's report on misuse of government funds. And now new "pekong" began to appear and this is only a tip of the iceberg.
What hope we have when the PM is sleeping and only wake up to protect his position as the PM and UMNO's president. All the corrupt practices and misuses emm to about to diappear under the carpet. Allowing these goons to remain is to bury their misdeeds. The raayat should by noe realise that they have been taken for a joyride by the plunderers of the nation's wealth. Should these BN goons remain until September this year we are finished. These goons will device another method to disguise their misdeeds,and it is no cheaper that what they have plundered.
written by Rohani Hitam, May 24, 2008 15:00:16
Khir Toyo and his wife used public and charitable funds like their own piggy bank. The removal of files from his/her office is a clear indication of attempts to conceal their misdeeds. The ACA waits for instruction that will never come. Knowing AAB weaknesses, justice is not available. The only hope is to get rid of the useless head, just like a gangrine that will eat up your body. Malaysia is heading towards another disaster of immeasurable proportion with little hope of recovery.
written by Rohani Hitam, May 24, 2008 15:07:22
I worked in Singapore for a short period of time and is enough to feel ashamed of what our leaders and their cronies are doing. Singapore leaders can walk tall with high asteems. The leaders are not corrupted and their wives are not spendtrift. They don't built castles nor their wives display their wealth, neither make use of charitable funds for their own interests. We are ashamed of ourselves that not only BN corruptors steal public money but their wives pilfer charitable funds.
written by Thamipoh, May 24, 2008 15:15:11
Toyou was just putting up a brave front, in actual fact he is trembling inside. Using lies to coverup the truth is in vain. The truth is more powerful than he can imagine. In the end the truth will prevail and will punish the liars and brandish them into the darkest dungeon.
written by future, May 24, 2008 15:23:50
They are not charitable organization but 'Millionaire Club' whereby
membership by invitation only.
written by Taikohtai, May 24, 2008 17:12:37
Actually they are doing us all a favour. These wives need all the pretty clothes to cover their HIDEOUS appearances lah. Plenty of make-up, plenty of perfume as they stink lah. Some are so over weight that you can't even call them fat but obese.
Now how many dare to show their faces in public these days and talk cock?
written by BennyG, May 24, 2008 18:01:35
Could we have the ex-office bearers photos posted here so that we could pelt them with eggs if we see them in Selangor?

Btw, did anyone realise that none of the ex-BN representatives is defending ex-Balkis office bearers except Khir????
written by 3nity, May 24, 2008 18:27:07
Someone please tell me why do I have to pay taxes? Or at least so much in taxes? The wastage is high, the need never seems to be satisfied, the fat cat always seems to want more. Waste not, want not. However time and time again, the belief that easy come, easier go is better so long as I am on the receiving end seems to be the call of the day. Sigh.
written by gctham, May 24, 2008 19:21:27
Ku Li did admit that UMNo have too many buaya darat. this was very very true. they are many hantu hisap darah too. they are many many more. our nation is going to be ruin by all these idiots if all these corrupt practices are not stop in time.

All those in power have total lost sight, include the retired old man still thinking along the racial line of politic. how dumb one may be they will see what is happening. it is very sickening indeed.

the idiot head still have the chick to defense all those spending, even the Sultan of Selangor is getting up set by their wastefulness spending on money meant for the people.

written by temanmu, May 24, 2008 19:28:51
MPs & DUNs need charity clothes... tak malu!

written by shamadz72, May 24, 2008 21:01:35
Wow... I don't know some people can wear Giorgio Armani shirts for sports smilies/smiley.gif

written by acks160, May 24, 2008 21:11:48
Wives drape themselves in designer goods with money that should be spent on wheelchairs and needy, sick children. The husbands ransack their offices and try to destroy every shred of evidence linking them to misappropriation of government funds (I loved the picture they had in Sin Chew where the staff all started looking at the ceiling and buat bodoh while all around them was evidence of their nonsense, freaking hilarious). I think my dog would be a more righteous politician than this bunch of animals. We know he won't steal from the Rakyat and do harm to his constituents and our nation's coffers!

When my father was treasurer for a certain MCA branch, he questioned the claims made by his fellow politicians during the run-up to elections. Because he did not conform to their embezzling and thieving ways, he was sacked from his position. Twenty years has elapsed and these bastards are still pinching like nobody's business. BN is seriously pathetic. If this were China, I'm sure we all know how thieving officials are taken care of...
written by SiHangChai, May 24, 2008 21:23:26
these balkis are ah-soo, makcik,nenek, housewives with no sense of thinking making use of good monies for good cause. ACA should come in and arrest these people. Balkis members should learn how to run charity organisation and not, rich and riches club. Things like sport attires for self and sppouse who come from own pocket instead of club fund.
written by Uncorruptible, May 24, 2008 22:01:59
Mohd Khir also complained that the PR government was doing the exact same thing they had complained about before.

Does a taste of your own medicine taste good kir ???????
written by raven1958, May 24, 2008 22:57:43
Mahathir let this Indon into Selangor and see what happened.....you see Mahathir.....this is why people want to forget you like bad bad dream........one of the first things the PR has to do when they come to power is kick Musa from the police and flush the ACA into the toilet.....dont even keep one guy there.....just get a new bunch that will be independant in parliment and most important of all has some principles....Toyo, wife and co has stolen so much and bloody IGP still keeps quiet....what a disgrace.....
written by raven1958, May 24, 2008 23:10:49
Can someone name all the members in Balkis here so that readers can identify and perhaps have a chance to spit at them if they are seen at the Curve or Midvalley Megamall......
written by teohpg, May 25, 2008 00:08:16
nama pun TOYOL, apa boleh dia buat baik? celaka punya anak hantu toyol... smilies/tongue.gif
written by belljar, May 25, 2008 00:36:30
The accounts of PNSB showed the company forked out RM50,000 for the officiating of Kompleks Wawasan Balkis and a majilis korban, and another RM50,000 for orphans.Another Balkis charity programme cost RM250,000, while RM49,000 went for souvenirs, RM22,000 for Ramadan contribution, RM250,000 for a Deepavali and Hari Raya programme, RM100 for uniforms, RM30,000 for food, and RM36,000 for souvenirs for VVIPs. spent RM158,000 on clothes for its members to wear to a sporting event and RM121,000 on similar apparel for their spouses of members of the state assembly.

WHAT THE %^&#!!!!!!!

I bet Toyo's plastic surgery and botox came from BALKIS too! Some many people die everyday, why can't it be him and his kampung mari tak sedar diri punya betina!!!
written by belljar, May 25, 2008 00:39:52
i should really consider working abroad and pay my INCOME TAX abroad!! BAYAR KAT SINGAPOREAN GOV pun better than paying blood sucking useless gov like Malaysia!!!
written by mykantree, May 25, 2008 01:21:40
If I am not mistaken a police report has been made on this matter.What has the police done so far?.
written by myvoice, May 25, 2008 01:40:04
toyol....kalu gua adalah lu, gua cipat-cipat gali lubang dan tanam sindiri, tak tau malu ka, masi boleh cakap talak ambik wang lakyat, apa punya cakap, suma olang Selangor dan Sultan pun sudah tau, lagi mau cakap talak ambik ... pergi mati la lu, ta lak guna punya olang
written by omarkhayyam, May 25, 2008 07:48:47
and the shameless toyol wife has d cheek to contest it out in public smilies/smiley.gif

it amazes me how UMNO managed to breed such a thick skin black heart bunch of cronies