DBKL playing politics and its action unreasonable, inhumane! PDF Print
Thursday, 22 May 2008 21:55

The photographs above show the inhumane attitude of the officers of Jabatan Perancang and Jabatan Penguatkuasaan of DBKL. DBKL took drastic actions against the hawkers at Taman Desa Setapak.

I would like to thank one of the hawkers for sending these photographs to me.

I have seen notices from Jabatan Perancang pertaining to this matter and I knew that this matter had been outstanding for many years. I have seen a letter signed by the previous MP of Wangsa Maju (Datuk Yew Teong Look) asking for extension of time for him to resolve the matter. Unfortunately this matter was not resolved.

Last week (17-05-2008) a hawker called me and told me that he had received a notice from Jabatan Perancang and
he and other affected hawkers had been warned by the MCA leaders of Section 2 not to call me until Jabatan Perancang take action on 21-05-08 (today). However, after having read the notice I went to the affected area with the hawkers to have a look. I immediately called Datuk Hj Salleh, the Ketua Pengarah of DBKL, and asked him to postpone the demolition action until the end of this month so that I can meet up and discuss this matter with affected hawkers with the view to find a solution. Datuk Salleh kindly agreed. So I informed two of the affected hawkers accordingly.

Read More Here 

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by MrHot, May 22, 2008 22:13:01
Itulah DBKL and most of our civil servants' attitude !!!
Dear Pakatan Rakyat's leader, dip deep into their heads shady & corrupt practice of selling licences from "massage parlors",night entertainment, "foot reflexology parlor",and many others, you name it I have it, If you need some hard evident ask RPK for my email...As the saying goes when you hit the heads the tail will be tamed !!!! Poohrah DBKL...!!!
written by droyanperak, May 22, 2008 22:13:52
If, oh I only wish, I was the Mayor of KL. I would certainly without any reservations, sack these scumbags for INSUBORDINATION and institute criminal investigation and punitive action against them. They are a disgrace to the administration, in general; and to our Motherland specifically. I am truly ashamed of these privileged scum of the soil!!
written by joeawk, May 22, 2008 22:25:54
get him out if he is nad for K.L. Send him away in his own dump truck. Don't give him face, ask him to go, go now.
written by cartman26, May 22, 2008 22:26:55
We must be patient...wait for DSAI to strike at the appropriate time...and then lets see what those goons have to say...lets wait for the right time to skin them
written by miracle, May 22, 2008 22:28:16
well .. these kind of scenarios happened since long long time ago but noone dare to voice out.. at last now .. never too late i hope ..
written by kent chong, May 22, 2008 22:36:24
Again.. chinese malaysian being discriminate from malay
written by lynn, May 22, 2008 22:39:24
All these DBKL fellas, they are just low-grade government servants. None of them are professionals. A professional man will not get "emotional" on the job. They are all in vengeance mode! Stupid ignorant bastards.
written by Alonso, May 22, 2008 22:46:22
DBKL@UMNO. Saya orang Melayu PKR. Saya ada berniaga burger di Wangsa Melawati. Pada 10/5/08 DBKL ada buat operasi dan mengangkat stall saya. Tapi itu restoran UMNO (lesen stall aje) tepi traffic light dia tak de kacau pun. Actually itu business banyak bahayakan customers kalau ada kenderaan terbabas. Skrg baru ada kecil2 punya accident aje. Orang bawa kereta pun susah mau keluar masuk itu jalan Wangsa Melawati.

I think if the MCA guys operate a stall sure DBKL dare not disturb. The same if you people can see many Malay stalls still operating in Section2 Wangsa Maju, I'll bet they are UMNO people. These are all politic maaa.... To WCK, lawan tetap lawan.
written by tanwi, May 22, 2008 23:25:42
Personally, i think the action taken by DBKL is fine IF the practice is done consistently where all UNLICENSED hawkers are forcibly asked to go if they do not heed to persistent ISSUED warnings. There are many entrepreneurs who pay rent and license fee etc to set up legitimite stalls in destined areas and will incorporate the costs into the food they sell but are cut short by the illegal hawkers as they have lower pricing due to lower costs.

Cmon this is Malaysia, the hawkers will just setup in another place. We have to look at this in an overall perspective.
written by datukbendahara69, May 23, 2008 00:10:13
[qoute]written by kent chong, May 22, 2008 | 22:36:24

Again.. chinese malaysian being discriminate from malay
Mr. Kent Chong. It is unfortunate that those DBKL people were happened to be majority Malays. However, that does not mean all Malays share the same sentiment except UMNO Malays.
written by Godfather, May 23, 2008 00:55:25
The stalls concerned even though illegal are not SMACK in the centre of the road but situated at the side of the shops as of a corner lot.

Prices of food & quality is good and affordable for Wangsa Majurians.

We have to think about our fellow neighbours who do not earn much but look forward to a warm meal. The hawkers some of them have been operational for almost 16 years.

Please note this is not only happening in Desa Setapak but in Taman Setapak where the once a week pasar malam is closed after more than twenty over years.

Bandaraya STOP politicizing. If they have such a BIG TROOP why can't they also be friendly in approach like get together to fight crimes!

Remember Nurul, TAR student who were murdered are all from our neighborhood!

Wangsa Majurians let's look forward & build a wall of defence for the place we love.

Let's get together & contribute towards time & efforts in making Wangsa Maju better than other neighborhoods that we can be proud of.

Remember that Bandaraya staff are all paid by tax-payers! We are the Bosses & NOT them.

It is high time that they have to change their mentality!. After they have resigned & retired, they are only ordinary folks.

Little Feudal Warlords! Sometimes it amused me to see these uniformed men who walked into bona-fide coffee shops & walk to the back to take their monthly " tips " from the owners! Sometimes toilet trips at coffee shops can be a learning experience.
written by Ali Cordoba, May 23, 2008 06:35:36
An operation by MPAJ thugs in Taman Kosas, Ampang last week showed that nothing has changed with the new State Government. The MPAJ thugs visited many households, banging on their doors like jail wardens would do to jailbirds, some even mistreating the owners for not paying their quit rent in time.

When will the state gomen disband these thugs and review the quit rent conditions - such as sealing people houses if they dont pay? In this modern age, applying British colonial or Roman type of laws is futile since the Pakatan Rakyat may find itself being wiped out too in the next General Elections!

Yours truly
written by Ali Cordoba, May 23, 2008 06:40:16
The authorities must come of age. It is the small biznes that make the overall economy look good. Attacking them and bullying them in the name of 'developed nation' or ISO nation is not going to help the country at all. The people (masyarakat) needs the small peddlars, traders, hawkers to survive in their daily battles. The tauke2 politik must understand that. I wonder what Anwar is doing with his rhetorics about Malaysia but not looking into the small things (for him maybe small things) that matters most to the people?
written by gctham, May 23, 2008 07:44:03
Those idiots are just running dogs and will not change its altitude easily.
written by Zym Zym, May 23, 2008 07:51:25
Anyone has rotten eggs to spare me? I currently have 20 rotten eggs and when the time is right and the government changed hand, I would go on a witch-hunting rampage. This is no joke!
written by Ordinary Rakyat, May 23, 2008 08:18:03
Time for PR to walk the talk. PR promised to bring back local council election in their GE promise. Bring back local council elections.
written by Counterpointer, May 23, 2008 08:40:18
Of course these a**eh@les will deny that it political revenge, but a message to BN :

You will never ever get back those votes from those affected hawkers and their patrons, remember that !
written by wongnoball, May 23, 2008 09:13:16
Dear YB Wee,

The by-election of your constituency is on the way.
That is why they are purposely trying all the ways to sabotage you lah.
Please take care, my dear friend.
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by dmh1871, May 23, 2008 11:09:15
similar action was taken by MUAR local government where the enforcement officer all of them Malay also demolish stalls operated by malay hawkers and yet I dont see this being highlighted here or people cry of discrimination. i wonder why why, why, why, why
written by alan cheong, May 23, 2008 11:35:12
dbkl = dasar bangsat kelab lanun, duniawi bangsat kuala lumpur
written by kevinD, May 23, 2008 15:29:56
STUPIDITY !!!!