FACE TO FACE: Shamsul Amri Baharuddin PDF Print
Sunday, 06 January 2008 10:59
About 50 universities in the THES 2007 list of the top 200 don’t use English as their medium of instruction. They use Japanese, Mandarin, Dutch, French, Spanish, German and Russian. In THES 2006 ranking, UKM and UM, both using Malay as their medium of instruction, were in the top 200.

Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob is a trained lawyer and Malaysian political commentator. He writes for numerous international newspapers and online journals as well as hosts Face to Face, an interview segment of Malaysian/regional issues and personalities hosted on Malaysia Today. He also serves as Foreign Correspondent for foreign news organisations.

Shamsul Amri Baharuddin is a professor of social anthropology and, formerly, Director [1999-2007], the Institute of the Malay World & Civilization (ATMA), and Founding Director [Oct.2003 - Jan. 2007), Institute of Occidental Studies (IKON), and, currently, Founding Director [since Oct. 2007],- Institute of  Ethnic  Studies (KITA), Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, (UKM). He is known among Malaysian academia and political pundits as a man who speaks his mind. Not one to mince his words, he is acknowledged as an Occidentalist par excellence among international circles. Face to Face asks the pointed questions to get his plain-spoken answers.

Q1. The issue of the use of the English language as a medium of instruction in Science and Maths is contentious again. Any wonder that our universities are not even ranked within the top 200 in the world ranking released by Times Higher Education Supplement (THES)? Care to comment?

I think we should separate the English language issue from the THES 2007 ranking.

About 50 universities in the THES 2007 list of the top 200 don’t use English as their medium of instruction. They use Japanese, Mandarin, Dutch, French, Spanish, German and Russian. In THES 2006 ranking, UKM and UM, both using Malay as their medium of instruction, were in the top 200. So, I believe there are other reasons as to why these two Malaysian universities aren’t in the top 200 of the THES 2007 list, certainly not because of the English language factor.

The recent public concern about the English language issue relates, most likely, directly to the general poor performance of our schoolchildren, especially, in the national stream schools, at the primary and secondary level. Some observers say that this is temporary. However, without doubt, education is still the single most important vehicle for Malaysians to achieve social mobility. Malaysian parents would be very concerned if their children don’t perform hence they have a bleak future.

Q2. Mukhriz Mahathir pointed out that it is not the issue of learning English but in fact it is the pursuit to master the sciences and technology. Do you agree?

I don’t agree. It’s a totally misinformed opinion.

How has the Russian been able to send their astronauts to space? How has the French been able to send their satellites into space, one after another, for a decade? Both don’t use English. In fact, ironically, we have had the help of both the Russian and the French, not from the English-speaking American (of NASA fame), in our space program.

It’s a myth that scientific knowledge could be acquired and master only in English. I feel we all have been duped to believe that it is so.

Nonetheless, it is true that English has become a hegemonic global language of communication. Perhaps we should have taught English literature, or a selected social science or the arts subject to be fully taught in English. Lots more hope there.

Q3: Allegations of the apparent lack of meritocracy in local universities hint at the underlying racial tendentiousness. What is your view?

Since the late 1990s, meritocracy has been the main principle used to select new entrants to local universities.

The issue was not about meritocracy but about the extremely stiff competition to get into the ‘elite’ faculties, such as medicine and dentistry.

The fact that the predominantly bumiputera students from the exclusive pre-university classes have also been allocated places into these ‘elite’ faculties, along with those who have taken the more open STPM exams, invited the perception amongst disgruntled parents that there exists a ‘selected’ meritocracy into these ‘elite’ faculties. There has been no complaint about meritocracy not implemented in the selection of new entrants to local universities in other faculties.

It reflects more of the general public out-moded perception that if their children aren’t doctors and dentists they can’t make money. Ask the accountants, the IT grads and the lawyers, am sure they would disagree!

Q4: The Malaysians of non-Malay descent seem to want a re-write of the social contract agreed upon at the time of independence. Is this realistic or justified?

Theoretically, any legal contract could be rescinded if the parties involved agree.

Unfortunately or fortunately, depending on which side of the fence one belongs, our Federal Constitution, although it is a legal document, it is generally not perceived as such. It has been perceived a ‘social contract’ between the different ethnic groups in this country.  This is due to the specific historical-structural circumstances involved in the construction of our Constitution.

If we were to change any part of it, it has to be done in the Parliament. It seems only the multi-ethnic BN could do this, currently enjoying an overwhelming majority in the Upper and Lower Houses of our Parliament. If the component parties within BN don’t initiate it, nobody else could do it from outside, even how realistic or justified.

Q5: Delving into the issue of the definition of a Malay. Today it seems that many Yellow races, Caucasian races, or of Arab descent are accepted as a Malay. This is a peculiarity as far as the definition of race is concerned. Please elaborate…

The term Malay during the pre-colonial era was an inclusive category. Islam wasn’t the main criteria. Embracing the Malay culture was central in the making of the Malay as a social category. Loyalty to the Raja (keRAJAan = polity of the RAJA) was another. Every Malay then has been the subject of the RAJA (a Sanskrit and not Arabic word). To be proficient in the Malay language was thought as another important element or identity indicator.

However, upon the arrival of the British, which, in turn, had introduced the Census in the 1870s, the term ‘Malay and Other Natives’ became exclusive. Indeed, for the purposes of labelling, every Malay was deemed to be a Mohammedan. If an Orang Asli were to be a Muslim, most likely he/she would be classified as a Malay, if not he/she remains an Orang Asli. We know of the great difference in terms of social position that exists today between these two groups.

Whether the term Malay is inclusive or exclusive isn’t really significant. It is when being ‘a Malay’ entitles one to get economic advantage, political privilege and so on, I think, that’s when the term Malay, and who they constitute, became contested.  The issue may not be about Malay and not-Malay, it could also be what advantages come with being a Malay or non-Malay. The issue is broader than simply about ethnicity.

Q6: Has the right Honourable Prime Minister lived up to your expectations?

This is a totally subjective question which warrants a subjective answer. Hence I would like to take a comparative viewpoint that is open to contestation, and I welcome that.

In the first four years of Tun Mahathir as a prime minister he had his share of success and challenges. Our present Prime Minister has had his, too, in the last four years. 

I don’t expect very much from Tun Mahathir in his first four years as a Prime Minister then and so, too, from our present Prime Minister.

Others may have much more expectations than what I have. I respect that. However, we are entitled to our subjective opinions. There is no one standard measure, anyway.

Q7: The Deputy Prime Minister, Najib Razak appears to be in the forefront of the Rakyat’s consciousness. The local broadsheets feature him regularly. Is this an implicit signal of Najib Razak’s imminent rise as PM?

I don’t think the Rakyat of Malaysia has much say about Datuk Seri Najib’s future. It is the 2,500 delegates at the UMNO General Assembly who have the final say. If they endorse him as Deputy UMNO President in the next UMNO elections then he remains to be the Deputy Prime Minister.

However, whether Najib likes it or not, or Malaysians like it or not, the incumbent UMNO President-cum-Prime Minister has the final say. Tun Mahathir had four DPMs.  So, what’s new?

Q8: To your mind, is there any one ethnic group in Malaysia that can be deemed as a second-class citizen?

It’s a perception issue, highly subjective and politically a highly-charged and contested category. Usually, it is the result of self-identification, justified or otherwise.

There are advantaged and disadvantaged groups in every ethnic category in this country. If the disadvantaged is perceived as a second-class citizen, then the spread is across ethnic.  

Some may want to use ‘the victimized group’ not ‘second-class citizen.’ Name calling never ends!

Q9: The Malaysian Chinese abhor the Muslim-Malay led Government on a host of issues. Do you believe that this community has legitimate concerns or are they just ungrateful as alleged by UMNO leaders?

I always worry when we homogenise the highly divided ethnic groups in Malaysia. When we do that we are walking straight into a chauvinistic trap. It is too convenient and too easy to say that “the Malaysian Chinese abhor the Malay-Muslim led Government on a host of hot issues.”

We do know that there as many Chinese who abhor and who enjoy the Malay-Muslim led Government. We also know that many Malays who themselves abhor the present Malay-Muslim-led BN government.

So, we do this question or argument takes is to? Indeed, into a cul-de-sac. But I am not denying that people have all sorts of grievances, justified or otherwise. Some expressed in ethnic idioms others not.   

Q10: Has Anwar Ibrahim had any effect at all on the electoral mood? What message would you deliver to Anwar Ibrahim ahead of national elections?

Many observers, again depending on which side of the fence they belong, have judged Anwar Ibrahim either negatively or positively.

The negative viewpoint suggests that Anwar is only interested in achieving his ultimate personal ambition, that is, to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia. He is said to be doing everything he could to achieve it, including willing to destabilize the country so that he could present himself as the messiah who could bring back peace.

The positive viewpoint suggests that Anwar is a global statesman who has strong first-class global political network built before he joined the government, improved in leaps and bounds when he was in the government, and still keeps one. It is suggested that he could do a lot for the country if he is given the chance to be Malaysia’s ambassador-at-large because his charm, network and also charisma would serve well for Malaysia, both on the economic and political front, especially, on the subject of Islam and the Muslims.

Whatever one thinks of him, Anwar has proven in the 1999 general elections that he can lead an alternative coalition of multi-ethnic political parties, appropriately named “Barisan Alternatif.” Leading a “Barisan Bersih” for 2008 is not the same. Why not? In the public perception and idiom “where got politician bersih?”

Q11: What is your assessment for the next elections?

Taking into consideration a number of factors, it is most unlikely BN, as the incumbent ruling coalition, would lose its two-third majority in Dewan Rakyat. Admittedly, it is a bit tough for them to repeat the same record level of success that they enjoyed in 2004 elections this time around. Even some people in UMNO seemed to be talking about this.

Besides, the ‘feel good’ factor that was attributed to Abdullah Badawi isn’t there anymore.

Q12: What is your hope for the new year of 2008?

Malaysia will continue to thrive economically but not without the expected difficulties in view of the fluctuating global economy and the slowing down of the troubled US economy. Without doubt, Malaysia is harvesting the fruit of its long-term investment in R&D to achieve a high level of economic development with science and technology as its knowledge base. Billions have been invested in the S&T-based R&D.

The other pillar of Malaysia’s success thus far is its relative political stability. However, it has not seriously invested in the shirt- and long-term R&D of this fundamental aspect of its resilience and robust existence. The knowledge base of this endeavour is the social science, humanities and the arts. 

The establishment of the National Science Council which has successfully identified the niche areas in S&T that, in turn, has contributed handsomely to our economic development should be matched with the setting up of a separate National Social Science Council. This Council would be able to list the niche areas in solidarity-making efforts beneficial to Malaysia and recommend generous funding to be given to each. This is one important method in creating a sustainable political stability in this country.

Malaysia has its National Economic Action Council (NEAC), why can’t Malaysia have a National Integration Action Council (NIAC), asks someone?

My cheeky answer was perhaps Malaysia prefers the social scientists to continue to play the prescriptive “Bomba and Penyelamat” role instead of the more preventive role of the “sprinklers” that we now find in all the new buildings in Malaysia today!  

ARCHIVES

Face To Face: Raja Petra Kamarudin

Face to Face: Marina Mahathir

Face to Face: Anwar Ibrahim

Face to Face: Dr. Syed Ali Tawfik Al-Attas

Face to Face: John Berthelsen

Face to Face: Tricia Yeoh 

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by surgeffect, January 06, 2008 11:44:07
"It’s a myth that scientific knowledge could be acquired and master only in English. I feel we all have been duped to believe that it is so."

I can't seem to bring myself to agree with this statement no matter how I look at it. Yes, it is true that many nations have developed using their own language may it be English or Russian or Chinese and so on. However, living in a globalised world that is dominantly run by the English language as a major means of communication, many books of knowledge are written in English.

This is due to the fact that these countries are able to use their own language because they have developed alongside historical events. They developed then and there when it all happened. We, have to live in the shadow as a nation that is developing to reach this playing field.

Thus, we may have no choice to study a lot of things in a foreign language especially English. How is one to read the works of Stephen Hawking, of Lord Denning, and so many others if they do not understand the means of the communication itself? We must come to terms that we do not have such a choice in today's world.
written by temenggong, January 06, 2008 11:55:16
He is ignoring the russian, french ,chinese, japanese, german, etc., literary backup, traditions, history, and social environment that produces educational and scientific excellence. Malay and the muslim world does not have that. His reasoning is naive.

The doctor from the Institute of the Malay World & Civilization and Institute of Ethnic Studies (KITA), Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia - should leave his shell and enter the businessworld to see the relevance of malay. It is complete domination by english! He will find himself disorientated.

'Selective meritocracy' is what the people are complaining about. Selective meritocracy is no meritocracy! Bring back the old 'O' Level MCE and you'll find 70% of the students not even passing, non malays included!!

But the drop in excellence standards is not just low calibre students but primarily due to low quality lecturers and low standards in curriculam, low passing rate and 'assisted' passing. Almost the entire varsity staff has to be replaced. Lets be honest about this. Until such time the malay is going to be mediocre.

Graduates from these universities don't do well because they are ill equipped and cannot perform, have little communicative skills, do not have the drive to learn and excel, rather want easy jobs. Sorry, I can't pay even RM900 for a 4 -year IT graduate from UKM in my design company BECAUSE they just cannot do the job! They don't know the different file formats for instance; they have heard about it, they have read something vaguely about it, but they just cannot do it without assistance.

This is 2008 and if the malay elite is still in denial over this, then there is no hope for our educational system.
written by krising1, January 06, 2008 12:46:31
Someone should question the high failure rate amongst the non-Malays in the CLP exams. This is being very unfair to the youth of this country. They spent time and money to become a lawyer and their progress in life is thwarted by this Certificate of Legal Practice exams. This is marginalisation.It is about time we removed this obstacle if the government wants to ensure that the minorities are not marginalised.
written by indianputra, January 06, 2008 13:51:31
This guy is not giving a straight answer to any one of the questions. He is definitely a BN goon.. Why the hell did MT ever interview a biased person like this guy,. He disappoints me no matter what his credentials are!!!
written by GermanMachine, January 06, 2008 14:40:20
Why is this chap chosen as the personality for FACE TO FACE? Because of his many association with some "what-ya-call-'em" institutes or foundations, most unheard of anyway. I don't see him "answering" any question. Everything is "subjective", everything is GREY - no black or white. This interview wasted the storage space in MT's server. BTW, He MINCED HIS WORDS. Sorry Imran.
written by zimbabwe, January 06, 2008 16:29:34
Shamsul's assertions are misplaced at best and downright evil at worst. There is no steep tradition of learning in Malaysia nor the concomitant broad and sustained expenditure into R&D and the academia. Russia for example has had sustained State backing during the Soviet era plus unrelenting social pressure in the post Soviet era.

I have always enjoyed a wry smile whenever I read reports from the Star that the Malay language is being promoted across the world, seeking to make it the lingua franca for trade, commerce and international discourse.

Let me just say that Bahasa Malaysia is only over 400 years old, has borrowed heavily from other languages in order to modernise itself and is basically useless overseas. It is good only within Malaysia and have cosmetic value when spoken in any other country. That is the brutal reality.

People in South-East Asia are kept behind because of their inability to learn, speak, read and write English. There are no other way to put. The Malay language is useless in deepening the R&D industry as well as trying to push Malaysia up the value chain.

The languages that count these days would be English and Mandarin. The reasons are pretty obvious.

If you keep the general population away from having a good command of the English language, you consigned them to perpetual poverty and extend the rule of the current coalition.

Isn't it ironic that Shamsul whom you would expect to want the people of Malaysia grow in wisdom is espousing the self-defeating philosophy that would see the majority of Malaysian graduates trapped in a cycle of vicious unemployment and underemployment.
written by Mr Smith, January 06, 2008 16:31:53
"He is known among Malaysian academia and political pundits as a man who speaks his mind. Not one to mince his words, he is acknowledged as an Occidentalist par excellence among international circles."
Bull shit!!!
This interview has exposed him to be diametrically opposed to the above description. Can't you see him mincing his words and evading the truth.
Is he an UMNO member?
Face to Face will lose its luster if it gets such shady characters in future. This guy has devalued Face to Face.
written by wongnoball, January 06, 2008 17:01:08
Meritocracy = Masstrickcracy
Social contract = Malay supremacy
Qualification = Kulitfication

God bless Malaysia !!!!
written by aiyomanaboleh, January 06, 2008 17:45:43
"It’s a myth that scientific knowledge could be acquired and master only in English. I feel we all have been duped to believe that it is so."

Aiya sometimes I think the more educated one is the more one loses his common sense. Just follow what the advance nation has achieved. Learn the advance nation language be it english, french, russian, chinese etc and move on from there. No need to reinvent the wheel. Of course English is not the only language of knowledge but since we have roots in that language why not take advantage of it. We have already made the mistake discarding the language once and we cannot afford another mistake. Sometimes it is better to be aware of our shotcomings rather than boast about our successes.
Aiya so plain to see also cannot see.
written by Vineeth Menon, January 06, 2008 18:53:27
RPK, MM & DSAI face to Face was better because they answered to the question.

Shamsul Amri Baharuddin answered few questions properly. Some others not.
We know that it depends on which side of the fence we are standing.
It was the personal view what is being asked without out diverting the question.
May be i didn't get the message in the answers properly.. smilies/grin.gif
written by talk3talk4, January 06, 2008 19:49:40
It's obvious which side of the fence he is on.
written by Dreamlander, January 06, 2008 20:10:31
Granted that the MEDIUM of INSTRUCTION in the THES top universities need not be English. However, we must all bear in mind that when the scientists write their computer programs, all must be in English. Although the vocabulary used is not large, it is the logical sequencing that determine whether the program is good or otherwise.
written by Dreamlander, January 06, 2008 20:25:11
In the first four years of Tun Mahathir as a prime minister he had his share of success and challenges. Our present Prime Minister has had his, too, in the last four years.

I don’t expect very much from Tun Mahathir in his first four years as a Prime Minister then and so, too, from our present Prime Minister.

What Prof. Shamsul did not consider is the "backdrop" to the first 4 years of the reigns of both prime ministers. TDM became PM in 1981 and AAB in 2004. Malaysia is a vastly different "country" in 1981 when compared to 2004. Therefore the comparison should be made against these two "backdrops".
written by notsosmart, January 07, 2008 02:23:14
Shamsul is totally wrong. We still need English for our science and technology education. Don't compare with country like Russia, Italy, Germany...etc. These are developed countries where their technological marvel started hundreds of years ahead of us. They have more scientist, inventor, innovator, and philosopher, written in their own language, produced more research papers and books than we add up our local university thesis papers. Go to their major university library. Comparing them is like a sundry shop to a hypermarket.

We have no choice but to learn English, German, Russian, French..so that we could access to their technological and science research papers, books and documents. Some are even archived in CD's. Shamsul should stop fooling the rakyat than Bahasa Malaysia is equally good in teaching science and technology.
written by surgeffect, January 07, 2008 07:20:07
By the way, I forgot to mention... I know of an educated man who used to work as a translator in the language faculty of some local universities. I can confirm, many books, have been translated from english to malay just to fit and help the students. This seems too troublesome and time consuming. We should not look at this as a permanent practice, but a shameful one. If we were to read these texts, let them be in their original language, as how it was meant to be. With no disrespect to anyone, translation would require interpretation and interpretation of one word could mean differently to another person other than the translator him/her self.
written by ahmed, January 07, 2008 09:26:51
I'm just wasting my time reading this interview. He prone to make sweeping statements without any substantive evidences to support it. He tries to get clever with his words but I'm far from being impress..
written by lokenpal, January 07, 2008 10:26:46
notsosmart has a smart point made!!
written by Sutha, January 07, 2008 12:43:45
Why equate the malay language with those of long civilisations? Definitely Malay is not a language of knowledge nor technology. In addition, words are heavily taken from other languages like Arab, Hindi, Tamil, English etc. (Even the alphabets are taken and not own). Why talk of the 200 top Universities. Anywhere, it is Garbage In Garbage Out, immaterial how mediocre the processing system is.

We do not seem to excel with readily knowledge available in the established english language, which has been used here for centuries. Why reinvent the wheel in a fast changing world?

Meritocracy can set in only when all race-based quotas are thrown out, all appplicant have sat for the same entry requirement examination and there is no interference in its marking system, and the mentora are colour-blind.

As for Second Class Citizen issue, there is no such thing right now. But only third and fourth. After a few centuries, should there be any political awakening of the Orang Aslis, they may rise to fit in the vacancy later.

Hoping the Bolehland does not metamorphosise into Bodohland
written by ahmadbadrul40, January 07, 2008 18:53:29
Shamsul Amri Baharuddin a typical Malay academician who is lost in the real world. That is why Malay will never be a progressive race due to majority of Malay intellectuals and academician thinking like he does. He is still a Malay supremacist and still do not believe in meritocracy.

This guy is still dreaming when he said "Without doubt, Malaysia is harvesting the fruit of its long-term investment in R&D to achieve a high level of economic development with science and technology as its knowledge base."

Where the fark is the fruit of R&D. There is no R&D. There is huge discrimination against non-Malays in universities. Therefore no talents are investing their energy and hope in local Universities let alone any R&D institution.
written by mikewang, January 07, 2008 20:22:02
Look at it this way.
When Cambridge Examinations Syndicate was running our Overseas School Certificate and Higher School Certificate, few students could get excellent grades and the examinations were able to separate the good from the very good.

Today, the examinations run by our own syndicate can't, at least not at the SPM level, and we end up awarding so many A's that a good student very often end up getting the same grades as the top students.

To deny top students and giving their places to merely good students is meritocracy, Ala-Malaysia.
Equating Matriculation to STPM with skewed correlation is institutional gross dishonesty.

So who are you cheating ?
written by wongnoball, January 07, 2008 21:00:42
R&D means Rob and Distribute lah !!!! One of a Malaysian style.
written by alibaba fly kite, January 07, 2008 21:21:37
Shamsul Amri Baharuddin INI BUKAN JANTAN. THE WAY HE ANSWER THE QUESTION OLEDI TELL WHAT TYPE A PERSON HE IS? SEE THE WAY HE MADE A COMPARISON BETWEEN TUN MAHATIR AND AAB? HALLO !! TUN MAHATIR IS A POLITICAL SURVIVOR !! OK, FAHAM!! SAYA SEORANG CINA, TAHU MENULIS BAHASA MELAYU. KAMU SEBAGAI MELAYU, KAMU TAHU TAK MENULIS BAHASA CINA. TUHAN MEMANG ADIL. YOU ARE LUCKY TO BE BORN AS A MALAY, THAT IS WHY YOU ARE STILL SITTING IN THIS POSITION. smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Rasputin, January 08, 2008 11:28:31
Alibaba fly kite cakap manyak correct, Amri drink samsu cuma sapu guyu atas roti. Skimming the surface analysis with jaga periuk nasi answers lacking convincing substances and sounding like TV3suku news.
written by inspirasi, January 09, 2008 02:28:58
let me apologise but ive read this interview 3 times now and i must confess...I STILL DONT KNOW WHAT THIS GUY IS TALKING ABOUT!!!!

is he from the same planet?

and he represents the academia? sacre bleu!!!

i hope he got onto Face to Face by Occident haha..

ps. was this interview carried out in English?

pps. i wonder how par excellence he would be in international circles if he only communicated in malay..

ppps. i wonder how our cosmonaut communicated with the rest of the crew...in malay?
written by Leon, January 09, 2008 11:26:28
Wrong! Compared to Russian, Dutch, Japanese, French, Chinese etc., the Malay language a severely lacking in quality literature. That's why our students are often found wanting when it comes to pursue of higher education. We have miserably little collection of textbooks in Malay, and we have ever-so-limited command over English to use English textbooks, the next best alternative. Now, you see the desperation among students? Here, I would like you to take a look to our dear neighbour, Indonesia. They have a fledgling translation industry going on for some time now. If I have not got my information wrong, they translate about 800-1000 book titles a year, not only limited to textbooks, but also classical and contemporary writings. Lets compare to Malaysia, how many publishers can you name who dare to embark on such a business move? Apart from DBP, who is failing miserably doing the job, who else? Unless we can rectify this problem, our higher education system will be forever in the doldrums.
written by KopiO, January 09, 2008 20:54:50
If there is real meritocracy, why the double-track system--STPM for non-bumis; Matriculation for Bumis? The mere existence of Matriculation is an undeniable proof about the practice of double standard in enrolment of students into local universities.

Shamsul Amri Baharuddin, care to explain the justifications for Matriculation?
written by wongnoball, January 09, 2008 23:51:05
Dear KopiO,

Matriculation in Malaysia means Mass-trick-culation. Just like Qualification means Kulitfication lah.
I think you must be a young punk, just out from your school, right ?????
written by Rasputin, January 10, 2008 07:25:18
Matrikulasi...manipulasi...tongkatmarikasi.. all aims and formulated for the same Mass Trick Calculation for commercial jingle "Kami Mesti Pilih" ameno.
written by densemy, January 12, 2008 14:16:42
obfuscate |ˈäbfəˌskāt|
verb [ trans. ]
render obscure, unclear, or unintelligible : the spelling changes will deform some familiar words and obfuscate their etymological origins.
• bewilder (someone) : it is more likely to obfuscate people than enlighten them.

This reminds me of that other F to F with Dr. Syed Ali Tawfik Al-Attas

Are all Malay Academics of this calibre???
written by KopiO, January 13, 2008 00:11:31
Wongnoball,
Read my posting carefully. It seems that your question to me reveals your ignorance about the real reason why I asked Shamsul Amri Baharuddin the question.
written by wongnoball, January 13, 2008 17:23:01
Dear KopiO,
Actually I just don't want you to waste time to expect any genuine or rational explaination from this type of low mentality people. The whole country is in the rot is because there is NO JUSTICE in the system.
I am sorry if I ever hurt your feeling. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Kataha, January 15, 2008 08:19:03
Shamsul knows the whole system is rotten. But then for survival, he says the right things and heads the wrong institutes. Poor Shamsul, he has lost much credibility in recent years.
written by InEffective, January 16, 2008 11:51:44
One does need the help of blinders and imaginations of false paradise to salvage whatever self-esteem this Professor hopes to sustain.

Good luck to those who are being influenced and trained by these type of academics.
written by SotPlug, January 17, 2008 07:41:16
Well, what can I say. So this is the standard of a 'well-known' Malaysian personality. Frankly, looking at those answers, he have no personality to speak of. Go back to school.
written by myke, January 21, 2008 11:27:22
Wasted my time reading his views...most are not answered and derailed.

Asked why Malaysian U are not in the top 200 he answered all other than reasons. Or he dare not answer that we have a poor education system.?
written by myke, January 21, 2008 11:30:17
He is part of the reasons our U is not even within a reasonable ranking.
written by Cindra Kasih, January 27, 2008 02:40:01
I was from UKM & U was my Proff 12 years ago. Shame on U.!! If U got no ball to critic or give proper answer, pls don't come to the interview. BIKIN MALU UKM AJA!!!
written by nubie, January 31, 2008 02:26:20
what is he on about?? neither here nor there and he is suppose to speak his mind?? what mind??