Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Opposition state govts share platfom to attract investors

Opposition state govts share platfom to attract investors PDF Print
Thursday, 22 May 2008 12:50

For the first time, three opposition state chief ministers shared the same platform to promote Selangor, Perak and Penang to potential investors on the last day of the World Congress on Information Technology (WCIT) here today.

Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim together with Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin took about 15 minutes each to describe the investment incentives, potential and advantages in their respective states.

Lim, who described Penang as an "ICT jewel in the making", said the state will continue to build on new niche areas to expand its core competencies.

"We want more high technology and high value-added investments, and are upgrading our supply chain and capability," he said.

The state, Lim said, was also evolving into a logistics hub under the Northern Corridor Economic Region (NCER), which encompasses Perlis, Kedah, Penang and the north of Perak.

He also took the opportunity to promote Penang's competency, accountability and transparency government, in short the "CAT government".

Mohammad Nizar said Perak was changing from "tin mines to MIND industry", with MIND being an acronym for multimedia, information and communications technology (ICT) outsourcing, new media, and research, development and design.

He said at Perak's MSC Malaysia Cybercenter@Meru Raya, located in Jelapang, near Ipoh and covering an area of about 85 hectares, a RM40 million Perak Techno-Trade Centre has been built to serve the communications infrastructure needs of investors setting up operations there.

He added that Dubai-based Spacetoon International Ltd, a leading global player in the animation industry, will start production there by July 2008.

Abdul Khalid said besides providing various facilities and amenities for the ICT industry, Selangor was also able to offer a pleasant living environment.

"Selangor is already home to a number of thriving ICT companies," he said.

written by libau, May 22, 2008 12:55:19
Good move...Lets show the BN gomen, we dont need them anymore...
Rule BN out...
written by smpadayachi, May 22, 2008 12:57:12
This is absolutely music to the ears, and please keep up the spirit and the beat at all the times, it clearly shows how forging hands together will form strong cohesive bond that nobody can break. This is what everybody wants, and please don't stop keep going until everybody feels they're part of the social fabric. We owe these to ourselves, and there's no way turning back. Investors are looking any place to find perfect condition to nourish their energy, and this the most suitable networking when everyone work together. Good job..and keep it moving.
written by technoboy, May 22, 2008 13:01:56
It makes sense for Pakatan states to cooperate and work together to overcome BN's sabotage at all levels of government. Keep going, the rakyat knows who is doing what and come next GE, our little "cross" on the ballot would ultimately count. Let BN dogs fight for whatever shit that is left over after March 08, 2008.
written by WHC2268, May 22, 2008 13:10:20
Pakatan Rakyat states must work together to achieve its goal and develop its states. This is to counter BN's resistance in their respective states.

Make sure you keep the BN out of these 5 states in the next general elections.

blog: http://viktorwong-dapbagan.********.com
written by Sagaladoola, May 22, 2008 13:19:35
Finally some good news.... RPK, seems like someone has heed your advice

written by DanDan, May 22, 2008 14:04:33
It's music to the ears. PR will show the way. See how the Chief Minister and Menteris Besar from 3 different parties working together as ONE is a great achievement. Keep it up guys. smilies/smiley.gif
written by ibabonma, May 22, 2008 14:09:31
The Pakatan States have not hit the 100 days ruling trails, yet they look so experience in state government managements and this send shivers into UMNO/BN spine.
written by EYFF, May 22, 2008 14:28:01
To really attract the investors all they need to do is to announce that in the 4 States under their control the investor do not have to give 35% free share to the local crocodiles!

To retain the existing investors all they need to do is to investigate and return all the free shares that were given previously to the old crocodiles!
written by expat70, May 22, 2008 14:38:09

I was born in Ipoh but worked and live in a few overseas countries now. I return to Ipoh during the festive seasons to renew family ties and catch up with old friends. Ipoh is always in my blood and I will always speak fondly about the city.

In the past 25 years at least, Ipoh had been neglected for one reason or another. I have noticed a slow decay of the once upon a time a very prosperous and internationally known city to a now "sleepy town". When I spoke often very fondly of Ipoh to friends and foreigners investors about investment potential of this great city, the answers that I got was always the same " ... but, but Ipoh is a sleepy and retirement town". Who would invest in such a place?? Although there is some truth in that statement, I do see lots of potentials in Perak state, especially my beloved Ipoh city.

To encourage the business travellers and tourists to look at Ipoh as an important destination, I think, we must think out of the box. Firstly the transport infra-structure must be improved. Secondly we must be more aggressive in promoting the state and the city.

In my opinion the airport in Ipoh should be reopened with flights linking to places like Singapore, Bangkok, Shenzhen, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching, HMC or even to Jakarta. These are business and tourist destinations.

Ipoh has abundant natural resources such as forestry, beautiful limestone hills and caves, old tin mines, sea side resorts like Lumut and Pangkor island etc. which should be brought back to the forefront and re-looked. Not forgetting our very famous Tambun pomelos and Mengalembu ground nuts.

In northern Perak we have the enormous water body in Grik, we have Maxwell Hill resort on the Bintang range. Along the Main Range, there is a potential hill station which is over 6000m above MSL which we can exploit as another destination which can rival Cameron Highlands and Genting Highlands.

To me, Ipoh do not need to compete with Penang and the Klang Vlley in terms of investment. Ipoh or Perak state has its strength. We should maximise this strength in order to overcome any weaknesses. Maybe Ipoh do not need heavy industries. Or maybe Ipoh can move into the industries like education, health care and R&D given the beautiful setting in the state. Ipoh can be a Oxford or Cambridge city of the UK – any why not?/ I think we need to think out of the box and be more imaginative and selective in our planning for Perak in general and Ipoh in particular.

Let’s make Visit Ipoh Year 2008!!

written by K W Waran, May 22, 2008 14:55:00

That's the right step forward in complementing each other rather than engaging in a competition to see who is more "terra/Terror". This would ensure that the environment and the system employed becomes more "Business Friendly".

Now, that terminology brings to my mind the keynote speech by non-other than YAB DSAI, at the CLSA Corporate Access Forum in Singapore, 20th May 2008. I don't wish to take up space here to regurgitate what that speech was about.

Those of you who had not had the opportunity can access that speech at either anwaribrahimblog.com or the website of Sdr. Din Merican, the "honourable" reluctant DJ Blogger. YAB DSAI spoke his mind that touched on almost all the key issues pertaining/affecting to Malaysia.

Personally and frankly, YB LGE, Penang CM, should rephrase the abbreviation of a "CAT" Government to an "ACT" Government. I do not wish to describe the characteristics of a cat, stray or pets. Most of us know them only too well. Sorry cat lovers, no offence meant here.

written by kenny, May 22, 2008 16:39:47
K W Waran, very much agreed. The new state governments should be applauded for being proactive and standing together. Indeed, this is the least they must do to overcome the devious intentions of the Federal authorities.

And yes, your idea of rephrasing LGE's "CAT" to an "ACT" Government sounds great too. If LGE agrees, I hope he would make use of an occasion to announce to Penangites and Malaysians that the "CAT" would be further improved upon to "ACT" for the people's progress.

By the way, I'm wondering if LGE's "CAT" was motivated by Deng Xiao Peng's highly successful "black or white cat". If that's the case, I don't know if "ACT" would sound a little combative and impatient in comparison. Since this is your "ACT", I suggest you try an email to LGE on this, bro' K W Waran.
written by Fernz, May 22, 2008 18:05:33
Whoever takes over must remember what the people want. Even if the government can't help them, it's okay. Above all, they want a government which will not disturb them.

Umno and the BN disturb the people too much. Hence, it's not surprising they lost so badly in the last GE.

In Sabah, before 1985, Harris Salleh and Berjaya were a pain in the neck. Hence, the people got rid of them and voted for PBS. Earlier, Mustapha and Usno were a pain in the neck and the people got rid of them by voting for Berjaya. Harris only behaved himself during his first term. After that, the power got to his head and he ran amok.

Between Badawi and Mahathir, the latter disturbs the people too much. There are many who feel like strangling him to death.

http://fernzjoeFernandez.********.com
written by Hockchew, May 22, 2008 18:31:11
TDM only promote Langkawi becos he can milk it. Therefore no need to promote Ipoh. Look at LRT in the KL, most bypass the densely populated area. Bypass major shopping centre. How to succeed if you have alterior motives?
written by cancan, May 22, 2008 19:40:22
Please do not scrap the Penang ferry service as it is part of Penang's heritage.
It can be revived and successful again.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by Catharsis, May 22, 2008 20:49:23
FELLAS .....TIME TO WALK THE TALK AND SHOW RESULTS - SO LESS OF SPIN WOULD BE A STEP IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION
written by partiotic, May 23, 2008 08:42:23
All lot of investor from oversea will come to invest in Penang, Perak, Selangor, because no more red tape. Last time under BN government it's difficult to get things done. A lot of "Ah chee, Ah chor".

I have feet back from business community that thinks are moving fast in Perak government department.