Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dewan Rakyat: AirAsia owes MAHB RM100mil

Dewan Rakyat: AirAsia owes MAHB RM100mil PDF Print
Wednesday, 21 May 2008 16:18

(The Star) - Low-cost carrier AirAsia owes Malaysia Airport Holdings Berhad (MAHB) more than RM100mil for its use of airports in the country, said Transport Minister Datuk Ong Tee Keat.

He said AirAsia owed MAHB RM110.36mil since 2002 until March 31.

The minister who was replying to matters raised during winding up the debate on the motion of thanks on the royal address, said AirAsia felt that the rates were "too high" and had appealed for the amount to be reduced.

“AirAsia did not agree with the outstanding balance and had asked for a lower rate, so the matter has been forwarded to the Finance Ministry," he told Wee Choo Keong (PKR – Wangsa Maju).

He said the debts included RM5.4mil that the low cost carrier owed when it was operating the Rural Air Services (RAS) in Sabah and Sarawak.

Ong also clarified that the Government had never marginalized said Malaysia Airlines.

Women, Family and Community Development Minister Datuk Dr Ng Yen Yen said scheduled welfare aid would be paid to the needy on the 5th of every month, while the approval for welfare support could be obtained within two weeks.

She said the Community Welfare Department (JKM) is taking steps to improve the delivery system.

The department would reduce bureaucracy and conduct a scheduled review of the aid delivery system, she said in her reply.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by Tornado, May 21, 2008 17:00:00
Patut si tonik bengang kat si dris jala....dah la jalan kena potong, utang tak settle lagi...

gomen tak buat keje ka? Banyak tu....
written by Arubin, May 21, 2008 17:03:06
Tony Tony Tony...and to think people all thought so highly of you as an entrepreneur.

Why don't you just suck it up and admit that your low low ticket prices are the result of ripping off MAS while using your political contacts to cushion you from the repercussions?

Just pay up, Tony. or MAS might decide to bill you for those planes that you were supposed to have leased only but ended up cannibalizing for spare parts.
written by GaryK, May 21, 2008 17:10:02
Arubin! Since when people ever think highly of this Tony? Can you possibly think he can just come out from no where with all the $$$ MILLIONS $$$....
written by POKKU, May 21, 2008 17:15:18
MAHB berbelanja begitu besar sehingga membuat terminal asing untuk Air Asia tapi ternyata kini telah menanggung hutang sehingga melebihi RM100 juta bagi kos penggunaan lapangan terbang.

Mungkin berita ini timbul kerana orang di belakang Air Asia tidak lagi berada dalam buku baik (Good Book) kerajaan yang ada sekarang.

Mungkinkah syarikat yang mengistiharkan keuntungan besar setiap tahun enggan membayar hutangnya dan mungkinkah MAHB boleh menerima keadaan ini tanpa ada tekanan dari mana-mana pihak? Kos MAHB untuk membina LCT menelan belanja berjuta ringgit semata-mata untuk kegunaan Air Asia sedangkan terminal yang sedia ada masih dalam tahap under capacity, siapakah yang begitu influential yang boleh mempengaruhi MAHB dalam hal ini?

Wah, banyak soalan woi .. macam mana mau jawab???
written by Don Corleone, May 21, 2008 17:18:33
Tony Fernandez is a true capitalist in the Mahathir-style. First, owe the government as much money as is possible. The problem then becomes the government's, not AirAsia. Second, scream loudly and claim that your rival has been given too many perks, so you need some of your own. Third, protect yourself with people who have all the right connections like Kalimullah and Lim Kian Onn so that whatever you are doing gets the right "spin" in the mainstream press.

We must take our hats off to Tony Fernandez for making hay while the sun shines.
written by droyanperak, May 21, 2008 17:28:07
My one sen worth again.
TF is a contradiction, an anomaly; mebbe a con-sultan?

There is no such thing as a free lunch, let alone RM0.00 travel!!!! Somewhere along the way you get ripped!!!
Anything that is cheap is not good, anything good is not cheap: and I live with these 2 simple rules.
written by Long Man, May 21, 2008 17:32:29
and why this said that government never help airasia?....
written by Don Corleone, May 21, 2008 17:36:23
The process with which we as taxpayers get screwed is simply awesome. When Tajuddin Ramli screwed MAS, he was bailed out by Daim and Mahathir at RM 8 per share, when the market price was less than RM 4 per share. Then MAS transfers all its hard assets to PMB, a Khazanah company, so that Khazanah can continue to provide federal guarantees on aircraft financings. Along came AirAsia, who lobbied for the use of Subang, but got a brand new LCCT terminal instead. Who paid for this new terminal ? The Government. Now AirAsia doesn't want to pay MAHB landing fees. MAS should also not stop paying landing fees so that it can boost its bottom line. Why be so stupid ?

This is the typical modus operandi of those who are connected to the politicians. Owe the government money, then appeal for reduction. Same case with the late Nasimuddin of NAZA who's relatives are still appealing for reduction of import duties imposed on their cars.
written by donplay, May 21, 2008 17:42:19
This is a private sector matter. Both companies, AA & MAHB are listed.

Why does Parliament care?

Why not then disclose moneys owed by all politicians and their private companies to banks, like Nawawi, Tengku Adnan etc etc
written by uncleleow, May 21, 2008 18:01:41
Aiyo, Tony, you are typical la.

"AirAsia did not agree with the outstanding balance and had asked for a lower rate" Please, how can Tony become so pariah, as if he doesnt know the cost. After using the facility then only complain expensive. Analogy, Ask prositute for service, job jone, buttock shiver already, then negotiate for better price. What type of people is he. Just because the SIL and PM's son is his partner, he can do what he like.
written by Don Corleone, May 21, 2008 18:20:50
uncleleow:

How do you know this isn't exactly Tony's style when he visits such places ? Test drive first, pay later.
written by libau, May 21, 2008 18:31:44
Mana perginya tax yang charge kat penumpang tu tony?
Hang tak bayar gomen rupanya ya..ni kir mencuri duit rakyat dah ni...
written by Maggie, May 21, 2008 19:11:25
I used to critise MAS on why they never sell the empty seats cheaply , maybe then there is no competition. Its great that now, it has awaken to the concept of filling the planes even at lower prices bcos seats are not like LV bags that you can keep if you cant sell.
That, we have to thank AA for "forcing" MAS to be competitive.
However, I have never likes AA's ways of doing businesses. Running on the tarmac to the plane so that one can get a seat with his or her family reminded me of Vietnam war.
Even handicapped or old people now have to pay $$$ to be able to go up the plane first nowadays. Thats against our culture of politeness to elderly. Why cant they just issue tickets with seat numbers? Maybe TF like to see "refugees" running up the planes from his office. I was caught in the rain at Gold Coast airport and no umbrellas was provided. I had to look for used newspapers to cover myself and got wet.
Last year, I took AA 7 times and 7 times delayed. No apologies or even food except RM8 voucher.What can you get for that miserable amount at airport?
I thought we are moving forward with times but with AA, we are moving backwards in whatever we learn or experienced. I really hated the "Vietnam war" rush.
written by yipck, May 21, 2008 19:29:35
Tony previously has been many time asing the government to allow them to reuse the old Subang Airport. But the government is so smart to spend more money on LCCT and now the money issue arrise... Why need to built another LCCT when the old subang Airport are more feasible? IF its not another money making round in LCCT, why would Government want to built it?

Singapore is building their new LCCT terminal ONLY After they have analyze the traffic volume and projected growth, only they approved for new LCCT terminal.

While the the new LCCT terminal takes time to complete, they just extend the current airport to cater for the Low budget airline growth without wasting much money.

The result is increase capacity, efficiency, and with lower expenditure.

We should thank Airasia, else today MAS would not offer free seat. Competition is good as it benefits the customer, which is the us.

written by omarkhayyam, May 21, 2008 20:00:51
Tony ....

i luv u my man,

tell us d secret to screw UMNO coffers and get a datukship in the process...

written by Don Corleone, May 21, 2008 20:16:30
It ain't UMNO coffers Tony's screwing with ! It's the taxpayers' money !
written by PASOK, May 21, 2008 20:18:05

Who is behind Tony Fernandez?
I think this will be revealed in the next few days.

If you can't wait I can tell you it is none other than AAB and family.
Anyway let's wait for DSAI to reveal the details.

written by Chialat, May 21, 2008 20:46:22
If we feel that the airport tax is too high, can we just not pay??
written by KKchan, May 21, 2008 21:32:40
I want to know if MAS is also owing MAHB any money. I want to know also what makes TF thinks he can demand airport rates be lowered because HE felt they were too high. MAHB should just take him to court or not allow his planes to use the airports. What arrogance! Notwithstanding the fact that he has done a service to the flying public, I sometimes feel he is getting too big for his shoes.
written by Sabahfan, May 21, 2008 22:34:46
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Success story konon, all liars and bullshiters, this is the rot now we have in malazutland...

By the way, the low cost zero fares means no money for MAH.. ha ha ha ha

what a bllody shit.
written by Watcheyes1, May 21, 2008 23:11:47
Whay bring this matter to Dewan Rakyat??? Bring the matter to AAB house!
written by droyanperak, May 21, 2008 23:35:20
To put into perspective, what does come into one's mind when one is faced with a competitively cheaper operator, as opposed to a premium full service one. How about operational standards, safety standards, maintenance standards, quality management system, staff competency and logistical standards? Obviously in all fields they are not top notched. Personally I wouldn't want to put my beloved family at risk with AA.
Have a look at the alternative AA site [url= http://airasiaannus.********.c...*****.com/
written by cartman26, May 21, 2008 23:49:59
toni toni...just admit it...that u are Hairy's running boy...we will understand your situation and probably not ask for your head...come on everyone knows that you are making money partly by ripping of MAS...
written by partiotic, May 21, 2008 23:50:03
Dear DSAI please take over the country as soon as possible. The rakyat is very sick to know about all this problem. BN no cure, they can run the country they are not capable.
written by Democrats, May 21, 2008 23:59:44
If this is true, i'm really shocked.

smilies/shocked.gif I don't pay credit card minimum payment 100 for 2 months also cannot use already, this bugger don't pay airport 100 million since 2002 can still land.

MAHB is Khazanah, i.e. gomen, i.e. peoples money. Plus we pay our airport tax in advance for 3 month even before going to use its facilities. AA can use the fund and spin it round and round before paying, still don't pay.

MAHB can just put a "no landing sign for AA....." better still, get sammy to erect a toll in mid air to block AA, make sure the pay cash money before landing.....
written by The Truth Seeker, May 22, 2008 00:09:58
HA HA I ALSO CAN BUY MAS OR ITS AIRCRAFT WITHOUT PAYING GOVERMENT,
NEVERMIND FINANCE 2 WOULD BE OK WITH THAT, AS KALI AND HIM ARE BUDDY BUDDY.
WONDER HOW THIS GUY CAN GET INFO BEFORE CABINET MEETING FOR LINGGAM CASE, SHOULD HE BE CHARGED????
written by Edwin Choo, May 22, 2008 00:40:07
Those who say, that politicians should butt out on discussing this issue in Parliament can go an F*ck Off. This is a matter of national security and national integrity.

Air Asia is a bloody scam. All low cost carriers are blood suckers. Its not a generalisation. Its the truth. They don't care about the well being and safety of the passengers. They are rarely on time and very irresponsible. They are deceiving and tricky. Just look at how much they con the public into thinking that fares are cheap. What the f*ck!!! After adding all bullshit surcharges, it comes back to square one. Then you start questioning yourself why in the first place did you not fly with MAS.

Tony, Tony, Tony .... Now everyone knows you're a scam artist.
written by gundohing, May 22, 2008 07:12:38
Owied 100 million? They will get away with it. Mark my word. With Khairy and Pak Lah's family interests in it, you can be sure that these outstanding millions will be 'negotiated' and discounted 90% and the balance will be paid in installments.
written by Don Corleone, May 22, 2008 07:41:41
The unethical practice of cancelling flights on the pretext of "technical" problems when the real reason is a lack of passengers has to be stopped. The cheaper the fare, the higher the chances of a flight being cancelled with no reason given, except that you can go "on the next flight". According to flight statistics, AirAsia has the highest cancellation rate of all regional airlines, budget or full-service.
written by sydput, May 22, 2008 10:50:48
without tony, there would be no low fares. Did tony ask for LCCT, which MAHB built? he only asked for subang airport terminal 1, which was demolished by MAHB, reported around RM100million, half of it in consultant fees.
You should ask why MAHB built the LCCT in KLIA and KK in the first place, when tony only wanted a place to park his planes, and a nice platform(like the old subang airport) in which passengers can walk into existing airport to exit/enter via the main gates.
written by Sean E, May 22, 2008 17:11:26
Tony has also helped Sabah to export some of the ex-illegal immigrants (from the Southern Philippines and Indonesia) to Peninsula Malaysia.

Hey, these people got genuine IC (not faked one), thanks to Project IC.
written by future, May 22, 2008 18:13:58
In business negative report is not good for any
organization no matter how good you are.
written by sydput, May 22, 2008 18:22:53
why don't dewan rakyat enquired MAHB why it cost RM100million to demolish the old terminal 1 building.
written by sydput, May 22, 2008 18:23:33
and the reason why it had to be demolished