Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DAP chairman gets death threat and bullet in his office

DAP chairman gets death threat and bullet in his office PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Wednesday, 21 May 2008 08:53

(The Straits Times) - PROMINENT lawyer and opposition leader Karpal Singh yesterday lodged a police report after receiving a death threat at his law firm, Bernama news agency reported.

CHILLING WARNING: The note warns Mr Singh not to speak out against Malay rights and sultans' constitutional powers. -- PHOTO: SIN CHEW DAILY/ASIA NEWS NETWORK

A bullet was delivered to him with a note warning him against raising the controversial issues of Malay rights and the constitutional powers of the sultans.

The note, written in Bahasa Malaysia, said: 'If you don't stop, this bullet will be lodged in your forehead.'

It added that this was a 'first warning', online newspaper Malaysiakini reported.

Mr Singh is the chairman of the opposition Democratic Action Party (DAP) and a Member of Parliament.

He is being investigated by the police for sedition and for allegedly insulting one of the country's nine sultans.

He sparked an uproar when he claimed recently that Perak's Sultan Azlan Shah had acted beyond his authority by interfering with the transfer of a religious official.

Two weeks ago, Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi had said the police should investigate Mr Singh for making comments that have upset many people and are 'seditious and insulting' to the sultan.

Mr Singh denied being disrespectful to the sultan and insisted he would not retract his remarks.

The criminal lawyer has had 20 police reports lodged against him in the past few weeks due to his remark on the sultan, and over his criticisms of a speech by the Regent of Kelantan on Malay rights last month.

At the police station where he lodged a report over the death threat, Mr Singh told reporters that the envelope was hand-delivered to his receptionist at 12.30pm yesterday, Malaysiakini reported.

'The man was wearing a helmet and he had his visors drawn down. He left hurriedly,' he said.

Police have confirmed that the bullet enclosed in the envelope was a 9mm one.

The wheelchair-bound politician said he had no clue who the culprits were.

'It is difficult for me to say, but based on the wording of the note, it appears to have political motives,' he said.

He said he would consider asking for police protection.

written by grant, May 21, 2008 09:00:45
are we still living in a very uncivilized country? or is it the people who are uncivilized?
Votes: +17
written by grant, May 21, 2008 09:03:10
so a bengali cant raise issues or voice his concern on the malay rights... which means a malay can question and voice his concern over the malay rights.. isnt the message telling us that?
Votes: +25
written by glock17, May 21, 2008 09:04:32
I think we have a psycho nutcase running around loosely threatening our country democracy. This mentally unstable dude is an example or racist-corruptive ideology politics that are at work.

I urged PRDM quickly catch this culprit and put him to jail or better hang him.

Glock17
Votes: +18
written by non partisan, May 21, 2008 09:06:44
not surprised.. 9mm bullet is nothing compared to c4..
Votes: +15
written by technoboy, May 21, 2008 09:12:54
The result of relentless attacks by UMNO, Utusan and Berita Harian, all racists. These people will not stop at anything to stir up racial hatred to protect their political survival, UMNO's trademark.
Votes: +19
written by chaiksyn, May 21, 2008 09:17:42
Yes, this is the result of NEP! They can say anything they want, they can even send you bullet to threaten your life!
Votes: +17
written by tano, May 21, 2008 09:30:16
can u people stop bickering about this ketuanan melayu? how sure are you the bullet was sent by a malay? remember wag the dog? u always talk about the malays not being sensitive to the non-malays but your behaviour showed that u are not sensitive to the malays. all of us under great pressure here so stop being racist for once!!!
Votes: -8
written by Malaysiaputra, May 21, 2008 09:32:33
Where did this 9 mm bullet come from ?. Definitely cannot be from the underworld who are not interested in politics of this kind. Is it from some politicians who have handgun using this type of bullet ?. Is it from the members of the police force ?. Is it from the military sources ?.
Votes: +16
written by hemlock, May 21, 2008 09:42:12
This is TOO MUCH! smilies/angry.gif Get ready for another great brain drain from Bolehland...
Votes: +4
written by Tlau, May 21, 2008 09:49:29
Yes, PDRM ought to do a thorough investigation on who actually sent the bullets. Ordinary folks would not have a gun and bullets. It must be either the underworld who have no interest in politics , rich businessmen whom Karpal have not offended in his speech or the politicians who are championing their ketuaan Melayu pretending to be very loyal to the Sultans. This is most obviously politically motivated using the royalty as an excuse.

This shows that we are now living in a country where you cannot afford to offend the ruling gomen or you may be shot. Am I right to say that? Is there still law in our country? And where is PDRM? Do not be surprise that the PDRM will take years to investigate this matter and finally it will be settled as dust. INI MALAYSIA BOLEH !!!!
Votes: +14
written by kingelvis, May 21, 2008 09:56:55
Can melayu question Bengali rights then? Seriously, all this has been instigated by bodowi.. when don't do well in elections bring up racial issues..Umno has had lots of practice here. Master ***** has been their guru after all!
Votes: +10
written by cwy, May 21, 2008 10:19:57
Nyata sekali UMNO ini membela Pembunuh!
Votes: +3
written by gorshan, May 21, 2008 10:21:15
karpal singh is not a bengali. he is punjabi. only a stupid f**k cant tell the differences smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
Votes: +11
written by ralverd, May 21, 2008 10:28:00
More third-world mentality. What's so special with Ketuanan Melayu? What's wrong with giving every other Malaysian the same rights and privileges? Karpal has his right to voice opinions, so respect it.

Read more at http://www.ralverd.com (WARNING: EXPLICIT LANGUAGE)
Votes: +11
written by harryo, May 21, 2008 10:36:08
Are we going back to the jungle life?
Votes: +5
written by wag the dog, May 21, 2008 10:53:58
MIC Rebranding - Heading for Failure

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.
Votes: -1
written by peace, May 21, 2008 10:54:27
If non malay question about the malay right, they will send a bullet to you as a warning. What is next melayu, cina and india? This is really a FUK UP country with FUK UP people and gomen mentality. Every day talk about RACE and RELIGION which will never ending! Racial harmony? What a laughing stock to the outside world!
Votes: +6
written by tommymuka, May 21, 2008 11:20:01
Don't worry Karpal, we are your shield.They cannot do anything.
They cannot accept thier lost and this work of racist b--stard
Votes: +6
written by pkler, May 21, 2008 11:21:06
No one's looking to kill anyone else. This is probably all politics, maybe done to ratchet up tensions along communal lines. Probably part 2 of a plot to destabilise the opposition, part 1 being the 'bombing' of the DAP office. It could have been done by anyone, not necessarily by malay groups so lets not cast aspersions at any race or religion. Idiots and extremists are found among all races, religions, and groups. Osama (Muslim), Bush (Christian), Stalin (atheist), Hanson (Caucasian), Louis Farrakhan (African American), Idi Amin (African), the BJP Hindu nationalists in India, Mahathir (crazed madman!!!).

This is the time for everyone to keep cool. We should have the right to speak our mind but Karpal's constant statements are very unhelpful (though the sultan one I thought was fine and not at all controversial). Freedom of speech comes with responsibilities, let us not abuse it. I'm not talking about censorship, but about thinking things through before opening one's mouth. If after thinking, you still think it is best to make controversial statements, I stand by you.

I'm not sure all of us are thinking properly before opening our mouths, and responsible politicians need to be more cognisant of this than us normal joes.
Votes: +2
written by InEffective, May 21, 2008 11:38:02
only cowards and bullies would resort to such actions - fear and intimidation.

cannot compete and win in politics on merit or democratic way - shows the capability and talent of those behind this act.
Votes: +7
written by grant, May 21, 2008 12:02:28
tano, there is no comment sayin that the bullet was sent by a malay? why like kera kena belacan?
Votes: +1
written by Dominic, May 21, 2008 13:18:27
Yb Karpal, just be careful for you never know whats gonna happen next. Lots of lunatic and trigger happy courtesy of our inefficient PDRM. Get the service of professional if need be. Do not take chances.
written by chanatak, May 21, 2008 15:24:51
Observation #1 : Sikap pengecut - only UMNO goons who are religionless in their hearts, cowards who hide behind the shadows of corrupted law enforcement would stoop so low.

Observation #1: The police investigations will take a long time to reveal nothing. If Najib gets a threat like that, investigations will reveal the perpetrator very quickly.

Conclusion : we are dealing with a premeditated intimidation of the oppositon here. Guess who the hidden hands belong to?
written by zaman maklumat, May 21, 2008 15:43:55
written by tano, May 21, 2008 | 09:30:16

can u people stop bickering about this ketuanan melayu? how sure are you the bullet was sent by a malay? remember wag the dog? u always talk about the malays not being sensitive to the non-malays but your behaviour showed that u are not sensitive to the malays. all of us under great pressure here so stop being racist for once!!!

Totally agree with you nano. for all we know it could be some Chinese racist pig or Indian extremist doing it to heat up the racial sentiment and putting the blame on the malays. some of you people here talk about racism but you yourself have racist tendencies. Non Malays are capable of being racists too you know just like the Malays.
Votes: +0
written by zaman maklumat, May 21, 2008 15:46:47
written by pkler, May 21, 2008 | 11:21:06

No one's looking to kill anyone else. This is probably all politics, maybe done to ratchet up tensions along communal lines. Probably part 2 of a plot to destabilise the opposition, part 1 being the 'bombing' of the DAP office. It could have been done by anyone, not necessarily by malay groups so lets not cast aspersions at any race or religion. Idiots and extremists are found among all races, religions, and groups. Osama (Muslim), Bush (Christian), Stalin (atheist), Hanson (Caucasian), Louis Farrakhan (African American), Idi Amin (African), the BJP Hindu nationalists in India, Mahathir (crazed madman!!!).

Well said PKLER!!!!!
written by peace, May 21, 2008 15:54:29
At least GEORGE BUSH never use the religion name when he goes for war and not like OSAMA or SADDAM or others always shouting to the religion when killing the innocent citizens.

For you guys information, it doesn't mean that if he is a WHITE MAN, he is a christian. In Australia, the christian population only 20-30% and the rest are free thinker. This is not like in malaysia the malay are by default a muslim.

Like in this case, it can be a political plot but it can be also done by some GILA BABI.
Votes: +3
written by MasterBlaster, May 21, 2008 17:24:52
Call them Benggali, Punjabi or Sick (Sikh), they're all the same minorities lawyers that talk big. They think they so smart than others. What's so scary? Opt to wearing metal-chained nets as a bullet proof turbans for protection from now on!
written by Negarakuku, May 21, 2008 20:24:18

HAHA...govt said no islamic terrorist in malaysia. now got malay terrorist..hahah smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif

this is what umno is all about !!!!!!!!!!!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.