Kudos to rakyat or government for royal commission's findings PDF Print
Wednesday, 21 May 2008 03:56

It is only most unfortunate then that public funds have to be spent, valuable time consumed and resources exhausted to get to this point and only to re-affirm the suspicions of the man in the street.

By J. D. Lovrenciear

The government should be commended for its morally right decision in making the Royal Commission's report on the Lingam Tape public and without further dribbles.

Likewise, the royal commission members should be commended for their courage, determination and ethical ground as they have surmounted the pressures of the day and presented their perspectives without fear or favor.

In the wake of this most shocking revelation garnered from the tabled report, what surfaces is the fact that the public perception of the Malaysian judiciary was spot on all these while.

It is only most unfortunate then that public funds have to be spent, valuable time consumed and resources exhausted to get to this point and only to re-affirm the suspicions of the man in the street.

One wonders, if the rakyat and their resolute representatives had not  persevered, what would become of the rigged and tainted pinnacle of justice - the judiciary.

As such, the government and all those who hold or held office as guardians of this nation's well being must take the rap for their oversight, undersight and no sight of the gross wrong doings that were sealed into place all these years.

The man in the street reasons:

- As elected Representatives was it not your moral obligation to uphold justice, practice and ensure as well a corrupt free governance?

- Being in power, why was it not you the elected leaders who raised the curtain to reveal the sordid state of affairs but it had to take the humble rakyat to cry foul for so long?

- And when the rakyat did raise the matters at numerous venues and through various avenues, why did you our elected Representatives who proclaimed to be our leaders take so long to get the truth out?

This brings us to the next junction of this nation's history: Will the government of the day learn from its gross mistakes and take the bull by the horn in cleaning up our political landscape that is riddled with all sorts of perceived corruption?

Or will the rakyat have to marshal in solidarity for results again?

Hopefully the government under the leadership of our PM will seize the opportunities that arise from crises and restore this nation to its glorious yesteryear's.

And should the government continue to keep its snail's pace, it would be as good as a gross failure to tackle and resolve the punctured misdeeds that are destroying this nation.

The journey has not begun. The AG must act decisively then, given the report from the royal commission.

written by steve, May 21, 2008 04:04:57
Guess what - when thieves, crooks, conmen fall out with each other, the public gets to see the truth. We knew this all along. Only the BN morons believed their own lies thinking that the public believed their rhetoric.
written by JUST, May 21, 2008 04:53:45
GOD spares no evils! The truth will prevail!
Justice will be served...... one way or another!
Evils will subject to eternity of God’s retribution!
written by goman2k3, May 21, 2008 06:44:12
When one stays too long at the top, a dictatorship is being created. Look at Nelson Mendela he hands over after a term. In US it is only 2 terms and even Putin has 2 terms as President.
The next proposal for changes in the consttuition is to limit to a 2 terms rule for any PM, a max of 10 years
written by goman2k3, May 21, 2008 06:51:06
We should thanks Abdullah for appointing the RC and to the members of the RC for doing a good job without fear or favour. We can not trust the AG from his past record and the stupid comment he made earlier about "monologue" on the Lingam's tape. He look so stupid now with no Otak.
written by Ken Liew, May 21, 2008 08:13:54
AS I've always said. The public should know where our money went.

If an investor have no authority to know where his money invested to, will he invest willingly???

There are too many things that the old government did without letting the public know, This is a Democracy Country or not??? When government are keeping so many secrets.

That's why the public has tired on the old government system.
written by miwaki, May 21, 2008 08:24:13
When you have elected a corrupt government,this is the price you have to pay.So please open youe eyes and ears and ensure the next government you elect is clean and righteous.Human beings nowadays are not afraid of god anymore,when they have the power,they consider themselves god.
written by ksmaniam, May 21, 2008 08:41:41
Even I will buy a copy just to prove that. I Can say money well spent 1million times and still I would not be fed up. money well spent. Kudos to the commission. In the line up to this commission, of course RPK stands first and PRU12 is second but the commission will definitely be there too...as being one of the landmark in the malaysian modern history. Bravo to this brave people. I saleute you all.
written by Counterpointer, May 21, 2008 08:47:19
WHOA!

Before we start lavishing the praises on the gomen, we have to see what kind of concrete actions are they going to take to root out the problem.

Remember the IPCMC?

All the recommendations completely ignored and left for dead.

Let's put a very simple gauge for their performance. If they can get that ToonDOGM convicted and sentenced to a jail term at least that of Anwar's, we can start giving them some praises.
written by temenggong, May 21, 2008 10:33:16
It is not the govt but the royal commission should be commended for no holds barred investigation and their clear and damning report. It took me by surprise. It has somewhat reinstilled some hope that the judiciary may be saved, that there are still some people who are willing to stand up and speak out.
written by InEffective, May 21, 2008 12:08:53
yes - encouraging signs.

But less us ensure that the implementation follows through - i've heard our administration has some challenges with implementation and delivery that seems to be quite long-running.

And we should be supportive, and reward good behavior - so folks please offer up some appreciation....
written by cllim123, May 21, 2008 16:25:15
Those fellas, Tuns, Tan Sri, Tengku and Dato all should be charged with perjury first before the commission for lying under oath. Investigations by ACA and police and AG can be done later when these are replaced with new members or new system to combat corruption. For now ACA, AG and police are all tainted, and surely cannot find evidence even if its under their nose.
written by malaysia devil, May 26, 2008 22:57:21
Singapore Special Parliament Highlights
read the debates in Singapore Parliament at : http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...apore.html