ACA to look for new evidence on relationship PDF Print
Tuesday, 20 May 2008 13:43

(NST) - The Anti-Corruption Agency will study the Royal Commission of Inquiry's report on the Lingam video clip to look for new evidence on the relationship between the lawyer and former chief justice Tun Mohd Eusoff Chin.

ACA deputy director-general Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamed said they would study the report.

"There was an earlier investigation that was closed. I do not know why. But if that is the recommendation of the commission, we will have to study the report."

The commission in its report recommended that the ACA re-open investigations on the New Zealand holiday that Datuk V.K. Lingam and Eusoff's families took together in December 1994.

The commission had noted that an earlier investigation into this holiday was closed by former Attorney-General, the late Tan Sri Mohtar Abdullah.
Mohtar in November 2000 had announced that there was no case against Eusoff for alleged misconduct.

He said there had been a "full-scale investigation" by the Attorney-General's Chambers, police and ACA into a photograph showing Eusoff and Lingam holidaying together in New Zealand.

Eusoff had been heading a panel to hear an appeal case for businessman Tan Sri Vincent Tan, who was represented by Lingam.

The royal commission also recommended that the ACA investigate a number of judges who allegedly received gifts from Lingam.
written by chanatak, May 20, 2008 13:51:36
"There was an earlier investigation that was closed. I do not know why

So go and find out why. Then charge all those people who cause the investigation to be stopped. Then we will know you are really Anti Corruption Agency, not Ada Corruption Agency
written by jchew, May 20, 2008 13:51:56
Don't be fooled by anak kutty ini, dia nak create havouc dan lanun2nya boleh melindung mamak ini sampai mati.
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 20, 2008 13:54:08
There seem to be a lot of "Royal Commission" to this and that in Malaysia these days...But really, are these "Royal Commission" really that impartial and fair? So far, their actions left a lot to be desired and my confidence in their system is still very low…somewhat on par with the Election commission!
written by joemss, May 20, 2008 14:06:35
"He said there had been a "full-scale investigation" by the Attorney-General's Chambers, police and ACA into a photograph showing Eusoff and Lingam holidaying together in New Zealand."

A full scale investigation had been done but no case to answer. The Royal Commission did not consist of any investigators yet they find that there is a case to answer. What is the point of having the ACA? Blind investigators or take orders to report whether there is a case to answer? Even the ACA Deputy Director General does not have the record why the investigation was closed and I just wonder how many files were closed without him knowing why?

I do not think we need the ACA or MCAC anymore, I suggest we sub-contract it to ICAC Hong Kong or any other foreign bureau of investigation which may be cheaper to run. No need to pay gaji if there is no case.

written by Thesinner, May 20, 2008 14:10:26
May I suggest to have another "Royal Commission" on PETRONAS account as to how the income from our petroleum and gas been spent during TDM's era till 2007.
written by cheemengwong, May 20, 2008 14:14:50
Royal Commission...

My mother not so educated says there are no Royal Commissions only Loyal commission.

what she meant was commission paid loyally to the napoleans weekly. You see she is a hawker.
written by islandjoe, May 20, 2008 14:16:12
Oh come on.....Stop wasting our time NST. It's a BN tool just like yourself! Nothing happens at the ACA, and nothing gets reported unless you get the green light from the Overlords. Why don't you report on the list of outstanding cases and police reports on high profile individuals? You're ever ready to do so when it's an opposition party member.
written by slash n burn, May 20, 2008 14:16:39
worse than child molester!
written by joseph81, May 20, 2008 14:18:38
"There was an earlier investigation that was closed. I do not know why

Was the investigation officer name Chah Lay Choo ?
That explain everything
written by ibabonma, May 20, 2008 14:19:45
The commission had noted that an earlier investigation into this holiday was closed by former Attorney-General, the late Tan Sri Mohtar Abdullah. Mokhtar in November 2000 had announced that there was no case against Eusoff for alleged misconduct.

Believe me, it happened to someone, I was told, his brain had swollened and never shrink back to its original size and all the while they covered his top with ‘plastic shield’! A-fathihah.
written by uncleleow, May 20, 2008 14:20:16
Before ACA look at new evidence, kindly please get a mirror and look at it. ACA is as corrupt as the rest of gomen agency. Please dont play play. Now only look at evidence. How objective can you be? Porah...lah.
written by GP328, May 20, 2008 14:31:38
ACA only 'look'. DPM already issued the verdict...no prosecution.
written by Lostsoul12, May 20, 2008 14:54:39
"There was an earlier investigation that was closed. I do not know why. But if that is the recommendation of the commission, we will have to study the report."

You do not know why or you pretend you don't know why? Malaysia is going no where with all the corruptions! Corruption in police force and even in ACA. They not only ask for duit kopi from rakyat, they even ask duit kopi from internal.
written by Don Corleone, May 20, 2008 15:32:59
...investigate what ? These people are already in London, spending a few hours each day at casinos there, throwing money at the roulette table. Investigate how to extradite people should be your priority. Haul them back for questioning.
written by macaufan, May 20, 2008 15:50:06
ACA u don know y d Lingam-Eusoff cases was close & no charge by AG Moktar?
come on lah ACA,
don make ur dept so naive & treat ur Rakyat soooooooo stupid !
ACA, AG, Juduaciary & Polis r all umno regime lap-dogs ! faham?
written by longjaafar, May 20, 2008 16:12:44
The very sad part is that the ACA can investigate all it wants, but the AG has the final say whether to proceed or not. It is inconceivable that the ACA believed that the whole trip was a "coincidence". If they did, then the whole organisation has to be revamped.
written by malsia1206, May 20, 2008 17:49:59
ACA staffs' salaries are funded from the country's coffers which in turned are sourced from the rakyat's taxes. I wonder whether these staffs are 'on the take' from the very people whom they are supposed to investigate or because the power-to-be exert a strong influenec on their so-called independence and impartiality. Next to the Polis and AG, the ACA is one Federal Department that smell and carries a very strong stigma of leaning on the high almighty walking on the corridors of power. They prosecute only when ther's a political overtone to carry weight for the ruling Government. They sure know where to sit where the pasture is greener.
written by Catharsis, May 20, 2008 18:48:16
............."There was an earlier investigation that was closed. I do not know why.................

HELLO ABANG Abu Kassim IF YOU REALLY DO NOT KNOW WHAT WAS THE REASON(S) FOR THE FILE TO BE CLOSED YOU SHOULD RESIGN FROM YOU RPOSITION AND GIVE YOUR JOB TO A BETTER PERSON WHO KNOWS WHAT IS GOING ON AND WHAT IS EXPECTED IN HIGH PROFILE CASE LIKE THIS............

SHAME ON YOU- EVEN A FOOL IS THOUGHT WISE............

written by Debbie, May 20, 2008 19:28:54
HERE WE GO ROUND THE MULBERRY BUSH.............THIS IS REALLY SICKENING.
SO WHAT NOW PAKATAN RAKYAT? SHALL WE JUST SWALLOW THIS SHIT?

SHALOM smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by mikewang, May 20, 2008 19:49:41
Who close the last investigation ?
On what ground ?

Perhaps we need a Royal Commission of Inquiry to investigate the workings of ACA first before we can allow ACA to re-begin any investigation on Lingamgate.
written by donplay, May 20, 2008 20:33:18
Even if the guy confessed, th eoso Corrup Assoc would NFA the file unless he was from the opposition
written by Motherchell, May 20, 2008 20:46:21
""""""There was an earlier investigation that was closed. I do not know why """""

1)In a factory , if a supervisor ,engineer , or Manager says he does not know why ?
the persons are either demoted , sacked , as there will be production losses , quality problems , as that month the company's target cannot be met.

2) If an engineer or an architect says he does not know why in the morning meetings --- , either the bridge or some constriction fails , and the company makes losses , and the persons involved may be pushed to the back office .

3) If a doctor operates and he says he dopes not know why , either the patient dies , or the doc is charged for negligence or incompetence.

So we can go on and on in this working world about efficiency and work done , this is what makes companies show profits and Institutions display professionalism. These are the ones we call" blue chip" or "world renown ".

Here we have a guy in Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamed who is to take care of justice in the Land . A person who has the guts to say so to the Nation.

Its time the 50 year old disease is remedied, and a wake up call is put in place , not with alarm bells , but with a whip to get the heads to roll.

This will give them the message of how one should be productive , not sit there for govt loans and benefits!!!!!!!!!!!
written by Motherchell, May 20, 2008 21:01:23
apologies -- typo---3) If a doctor operates and he says he dopes does not know why , ...........
written by CVL, May 20, 2008 22:09:20
This one is easy - our friend Badawi always, almost all the time, says " I do not know; tak tahu" as if this is the grandest thing to say. So this ACA guy is just doing what many Malaysian do- follow what the boss do; if its ok for him its ok for me too sort of mind set. How else does corruption pervade from peon to corridors of powers?
written by Watcheyes1, May 20, 2008 23:02:31
BN Style;

2008: We will study the case....
2009: We are still studying the case....
2010: We will continue to study the case...
2011: What case???

CISS PODAH!!!

ACA DON'T LOOK BUT SEE!!!
written by miwaki, May 21, 2008 08:44:19
When one is incompetent,the easiest thing to say is "don't know why".In Malaysia,high ranking officials can say anything they like without any repercussion from the PM.They know their boss is weak and incompetent as well.Everybody has a field day with incompetent boss around.