Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M taken to task for 'moving backwards'

Dr M taken to task for 'moving backwards' PDF Print
Monday, 19 May 2008 10:09

(NST) KOTA KINABALU: Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's play of the race card runs contrary to his idea of a Bangsa Malaysia and Vision 2020.

DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang said it was unhealthy to do so as Malaysians were moving towards the creation of a Bangsa Malaysia.

"Now that we are moving in the direction he set, he cannot go backwards," the Ipoh Timur MP said after launching a Kaamatan celebration at the Tanjung Aru Plaza here yesterday.

He said the general election had shown that voting trends were no longer based on race or religion and that Malaysians wanted to see a free and fair democratic society.

"It has been 50 years since independence.

"We should be Malaysian and not retreat into communal ideas.

"The people are rising above their ethnic stereotypes and voting as Malaysians now.

"It is unhealthy to play the race card now. He should be setting a good example."

Lim was commenting on Dr Mahathir's statement that Malays and their institutions were losing respect and their privileges were being questioned.

Dr Mahathir had said that Malays had become too comfortable with being the "tuan" (master) and were inclined to look for shortcuts, to their detriment.

"The Malays have loosened their grip on political power to the point where non-Malays no longer respect them and their institutions," he had said, adding that everything deemed as Malay privileges had been questioned and challenged by non-Malays.

He had also said the Malays were doing nothing to counter the situation and strengthen their positions.

Malaysian Indian Businessmen president P. Sivakumar said Dr Mahathir should not have talked about communal politics which could hamper unity and the way forward.

He said it was a pity that a politician of his stature had said that non-Malays had questioned the special privileges of Malays.

"Even the Hindu Rights Action Force did not question Malay special privileges.

"They only spoke about temple demolitions and lack of opportunities, besides wanting to narrow the economic disparity."

Sivakumar said Malaysians should be talking about meeting the challenges brought about by globalisation instead of talking about race.

He said it was also wrong for Dr Mahathir to say that Malays were not doing anything to strengthen their position as the community had been in control of Malaysian politics for 50 years.

"The question of tuan (master) does not arise any more as the world got rid of slavery and feudalism a long time ago. In the eyes of God, all men are equal," he said.

Malaysian Punjabi Chamber of Commerce and Industries president Datuk Daljit Singh Dhalliwal said non-Malays were not questioning the rights or special privileges of Malays.

He said they only wanted to know where they stood in terms of power-sharing in the government.

Daljit said the "labelling of people according to race should not be carried out as this does not work any more".

He called on Dr Mahathir to "avoid race politics and to think and treat each Malaysian as a member of Bangsa Malaysia".

He said Sabah and Sarawak had won many seats for the Barisan Nasional, although the parties comprised Malays and non-Malays.

People's Progressive Party Federal Territory chief A. Chandrakumanan was surprised by Dr Mahathir's statement that the special rights of Malays were under seige.

He said no one had questioned Malays rights and privileges as these were protected under the Federal Constitution.

"Moreover, we live in a multi-racial country. We should not aggravate one another over matters which are deemed sensitive.

"Rather, we should work together."

He said as a former prime minister, Dr Mahathir should speak on behalf of all Malaysians, not only the Malays.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by alarcarte, May 19, 2008 10:18:35
Who says Mahathir cannot work together with other Races? He already work together with Vincent Tan and Ananda-man.
written by Ujang, May 19, 2008 10:19:14
Kesimpulan - Mahathir sudah nyanyok. Sekejap dia ingat sekejap dia lupa. Dia selalu kata "Melayu mudah lupa". Sekarang dia sendiri sudah lupa kepada Wawasan 20202.
written by Ujang, May 19, 2008 10:19:55
Sorry, Aku pun lupa 2020 bukan 20202
written by juanglagi, May 19, 2008 10:46:15
ini semua ego Mahathir yg bgtu kuat adn dillema baru dia, tak ada yg dengar dia lagi,
dia mau cuba helah lama dia...RACE CARD lagi, kan baguspake aje MasterCARD?

written by chanatak, May 19, 2008 10:46:24
TDM is stirring racial sentiments. He is hoping for a Malay uprising of sorts that will protect him from being charged in court for the Lingam case

He has managed to get Najib to sympathize with his cause now, after whacking Najib hard over a few weeks. Najib is not too bright and has a thick skull and it took a few weeks.

As we see it, Mahathir is playing a psychological game of fear. He is scared stiff of being charged, so he calls to be charged and in the same breath he threatens to spill the beans and embarass everybody. He hopes that he can save face with this call, and at the same time put enough fear into AAB not to proceed with the case. Najib has indicated his intention to protect TDM saying that it is not necessary for the six to be charged. Najib is the product of cronyism.

TDM should be charged also with sedition.
written by justice4all, May 19, 2008 10:47:28
Just lock this piece of shit up and throw away the key. This is too stupid to even comment on.
written by Mangan, May 19, 2008 10:50:45
Yup, if we ask him a question on who has alleviated Labuan into FT, for sure he won’t remember it too!
written by batsman, May 19, 2008 10:51:44
UMNO leads the way in not respecting Malays and treats them like children and spineless dependents who cannot look after themselves without UMNO. Ketuanan Melayu is just an excuse for Ketuanan UMNO. UMNO is using and manipulating Malays. This is the highest disrespect possible.
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 19, 2008 10:55:26
Any UMNO member will come up with the same tune. No to UMNO. Down with Mahathir, the father of all evils.
written by Toyolbuster, May 19, 2008 11:02:26
This mamak can never be truthful. He is well known now to be a compulsive liar, actor, and an evil beast. When he needed the non-malay's support, he would write about how lazy the malays are,he would promote "bangsa Malaysia",vision 2020 etc. Now that he is losing the umno grip, and getting caught with his pants down in the Lingamgate scandal, he is showing his true color. His statement should read;
"The UMNO have loosened their grip on political power to the point where Malaysians no longer respect them and their institutions," adding that everything deemed as UMNO privileges had been questioned and challenged by all Malaysians."
written by freedom lover, May 19, 2008 11:21:23
Impose stringent laws in Malaysia to severely punish racist elements tempering with racial harmony! Perhaps it is only in Malaysia that individuals go scot free after uttering racist remarks!
written by DOITNOW, May 19, 2008 11:36:47
This is unbecoming of an xPM to play the racial card. His remarks are highly seditious. LKS, please lodge police report.. No action means agreeing with him and condoning his statement. In the aftermath of the GE, his remarks are out of line, meant to incite the Malays and is very self serving.
written by chin, May 19, 2008 11:41:24
Someone should make a police report and have the old man arrested for sedition.
written by renoir, May 19, 2008 11:48:39
It's strange that Anwar's astounding success in helping the Opposition to seize the initiative in multicultural politics doesn't seem to have any effect on Dr.M. Is there any truth to the saying that you can't teach an old dog new tricks? In this case, the new paradigm is clear as daylight not only to Malaysians, but to the world as well. Yet this person seems unable to fathom it. Sad.

Note: AAB is plain lazy but I think is better at grasping the paradigm shift. As RPK correctly pointed out, a bit of activism on the PM's part would be good for his administration.
written by Kyle, May 19, 2008 11:48:42
In an instant, my little respect for this old senile man vanished.
How can a former PM say things like this ?
He set a very bad example. To save his own skin, he is willing to create racial uneasiness among the already not-so-harmony races.
He is toying with us all. From "I don't remember" to "I will reveal all" to "Malays losing grip".
Please shut the f*** up !
written by Chaptokam, May 19, 2008 11:49:56
Dear Pak Lah ,

I am your good friend from Penang who always see you when you are in Penang .

There's a MANIAC on the loose . He has also got a loose trap that keeps on barking non stop . This senile old man is very dangerous as he is mentally very unstable .Can you please lock him up where he deserves preferably in Kamunting . You can use the ISA to charge him since he's undermining National Security and a serious threat to National Unity . Please do so before he causes irrepairable damage to society and country
written by chin, May 19, 2008 11:51:10
The fact is, a country which practises a fair form of democracy would mean that the majority would be the most influential.

The majority are Malays and to this end the Malays would be the most influential in determining national policies even if the PM is a chinese or an indian. Because the PM will need the approval of the majority to be elected.

It is the minority that needs to be protected by constitutional rights, in a democratic government.

What TDM is doing is just to creating a situation that is undemocratic and potential destabilising, just to satisfy his ego. The nations need investment and a major investment like Haliburton will kick start dozens if not hundreds of supporting business in Iskandar and the nation.

It seems that his ego is more important that the stablity and prosperity of the country.
written by ksmaniam, May 19, 2008 12:05:57
I agree with most of the comments and would like say this crafty man is again playing another game with the malays. He is driving up the malays sentiments so that he can escape from the lingam's tape. he has suddenly forgoteen the sedition act to which he has contravened. This man is damn intelligent. He even knows magic tricks ...at least the idea behind it. While the public is watching his present galvanting with the malays he hopes everyone doesn't see his lingam's tape follies. To discover the magic tricks, always look at what the trickster wants to hide and not what he wants to show. look and you will see.
written by Juliejustinng, May 19, 2008 12:13:23
I would strongly urge PR to look into do away with having to fill up forms and application forms with RACE:...... We are MALAYSIANS, we are not Chinese from China or Indians from India or Others from Wherever Land. Our names will identify our ethnic race and religion is our fath. God Bless!
written by ttsan, May 19, 2008 12:18:39
Pity the old man co's he is just don't know what he's talking.He's sounding a false alarm.Racist.
written by Bradcrz, May 19, 2008 12:25:02
THIS SENILE MAMAK WILL NOT WORK ANYONE,HE WILL MAKE USE OF THOSE WHO COMES TO HIM FOR FAVOURS,THOSE VINCENT TANS/ANANDAS CARRY HIS BALLS FOR THEIR MUTUAL BENEFITS..A BORN RACIST,HE SHOULD B LOCKED UP TO END HIS TWILIGHT YEARS BEFORE HE DO MORE HARM TO ALL BORN N BRED MSIANS!!!
written by alarcarte, May 19, 2008 12:53:53
Dia dah ada cetak dua buku series Dellima kan? The Malay Delema dan The New Malay Delima, Series Dellima yang ke tiga akan datang lah. Munkin dia akan ada banyak masa menulis buku baru di Kamunting.
written by smalluncle, May 19, 2008 14:00:34
can we put TDM under ISA?? His speech is cetain to cause racial unrest and put Malaysia in trouble. This, I think is what ISA is supposely for.
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 19, 2008 14:14:59
Lim Kit Siang, this Mamak frightened the life of the non-Malays in the '60s. So he's just returning to his roots. Why ? Because the Malays have finally realised that he is only a Mamak, NOT a Malay ! And so they no longer take any notice of his verbal diarrhea.
written by onmu martin, May 19, 2008 15:09:37
Dr. M will work with anyone including the devil if it benefits him.
written by Navigator, May 19, 2008 15:51:31
I think Amwar is rubbing his hands in glee. The mamak keeps shooting himself in the foot and mouth.

As one writer quoted: The tree is falling but the monkeys are still fighting in the canopy. The urgent issue is not politics but the economy in a time of raging inflation. When oil goes up to USD200 a barrel, everything shrivels up. Monkeys still fighting?

When the Malays cannot afford to buy food, rights have no meaning. Mahthir screwed them with his Protons on easy terms and then raised the tolls so his cronies can scalp them. He took the Malays and everyone for a ride.
written by mgeo, May 19, 2008 17:12:14
Eerie parallels someone noted between Maha Thiruden and Hitler:
1. Pegged the national currency (this was necessary).
2. At public expense, launched (1) a national car, (2) vast system of national highways (3) grandoise buildings (including phallic symbols).
3. Schizophrenically, demonised a segment of the citizens as both inferior and cunning.
4. Wrote a contoversial book.
5. Had a mesmeric effect on people.
written by moqdin, May 19, 2008 20:03:44
im sorry to say that the reason why opposition won so many seats during the 12th GE bce the UMNO member vote for the opposition to show protest to the weak leadership of pak lah,it is not that DSAI is strong bcs he personally is as corrupt as other present UMNO leader during his time. If there is another GE in this few coming months, a lot of the state that BN previously lost will be taken back except maybe for Penang. I personally vote for the opposition but seeing the arrogant comment from the few in this blog,make me realise that they are just the same if not more than what the present umno members was.
written by cancan, May 19, 2008 23:16:20
We do not need anymore fire for our already burning fire.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by Al Ambia, May 19, 2008 23:25:51
Hey mamak,repent while you still have some time left in this world or you ll see you name written down in history as the man who made Malaysia famous for the wrong reason.Remember,all this shit is created by you,so when you go ,take this shit with you!
written by merchant222, May 20, 2008 00:37:03
Old Man's Plan A failed, went into Plan B but can't even go into 2nd gear; now he wants to use Plan C, do like what Razak did, May 13???. But Old Man, you are a little weeny bitty itchy too late cos today is May 20th. Tha2, you can now go to sleep before you end up in the "cellar". Huh? oh yea... sure, we hate you like hell! You RAPIST, CORRUPT, RACIST, padan muka kau sendiri lah!
written by Watcheyes1, May 20, 2008 00:41:22
Ini mamak bukak mulut je Malay..Malay...Malay!!!Racial...Racial..Racial!!Lain tak ada! Hey, what you are saying is all about UMNO. PLease leave the Malays alone.

Damn...He is still living in ICE AGE!!!
written by bmrat, May 20, 2008 00:42:46
Very typical of our PMs - past and present.

When things are ok, they will claim that they are the PM of ALL MALAYSIANS. The fair and non-discriminating PM - the very holy type one lah.

When things screw up, they will say they are there to fight and defend the Malay rights to the end and screw the other races

Conclusion: All PMs of Malaysia are just plain great at bull shitting us.
Why should we buy their bullshit further?