Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Another Forgettable and Wasteful IAP meeting

Another Forgettable and Wasteful IAP meeting PDF Print
Monday, 19 May 2008 02:55

Ladies and gentlemen, especially those who are new media savvy, what do you know about Malaysian International Advisory Panel (IAP)?

Its 11th annual meeting was held recently and the only news I read so far:
Abdullah Wants IAP Members To Look Into Food Production and
The Best IAP Meeting Thus Far, Says Abdullah.

Well, every year, either Mahathir or Pak Lah would claim without any substantial facts, the best IAP meeting so far! Best for whom?

In anyway, do you know what is IAP?

According to the IAP web site:

When the vision to accelerate the development and expansion of Malaysia‘s ICT industry first arose a little over a decade ago, the world’s pre-eminent industry icons were sought after and consulted to lend their expertise.

Many responded, and soon this grouping of world ICT titans was assembled into an elite circle. Thus, the MSC Malaysia International Advisory Panel (IAP) was born. January 16, 1997 was the day the world’s most influential ICT leaders, thinkers and researchers gathered and inaugurated the MSC-IAP at Stanford University, USA.
MSC Malaysia was conceived as a vision of purpose and goals, but it required the impetus to move forward. The MSC Malaysia IAP provided this through invaluable counsel in the form of direction, strategies and actionable ideas.

From this noble mission initiated under Mahathir for his MSC's 'Malaysia's gift to the world' and over the years since 1997, I would like to pose a question to the organizers, do we as Malaysians, especially ICT wannabes get the benefits form these so-called meeting of world's most influential ICT leaders, thinkers and researchers.

It is not only about our money which was spent from 1997 to fly these world's most influential ICT leaders, thinkers and researchers to the event, but also on the real benefits for our local IT industry, in ringgit and sen.  
Read More here

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by cubi76, May 19, 2008 06:18:46
The MSC success lies not in the direction... it lies in the implementation...

The thinkers and researchers might point to you the direction for Malaysia to go, but it's YOU who make the move. They might draw up the masterplan or blueprint for you to follow, but it's YOU who would follow and implement it.

So who to blame? Does the government care at all if the project succeed?

I wonder where's the direction of Malaysia. First industrial and FDI, then heavy industries and automobile, then ICT, MSC, Biotech, Petrol Hub, Education Hub, Halal Hub, now Agriculture....

So many grand plans. So many ambitious directions. Have they heard of comparative and competitive advantage of the nation?

Dont blame the IAP panel. Dont blame others. Pointing finger leads you nowhere. And it aint a good habit. The success depends on OURSELVES.

If we're good enough, do we need the advice from others? Or instead we are the ones to give advice?

Be wise.
written by bexe, May 19, 2008 06:44:21
Well the vision was like most of Dr M's, he was again ahead of his time. He stole the march with this initiative on all opur Asian neighbors. I think he even caught LKY lead-footed. Even Bill Gates was quoted to have his breath taken away with the vision and the initial implementation. The commitment and speed of the physical development was very impressive.
Ya we seem to be able to do that well but we fall short when it comes to any intellectual development and we fall to con men rather than the actual intellects. We were cheated billions by Dr M's appointed hero from the Middle East.
Back to the big picture. Why do we always fail come implementation? Because of the people we put in charge. We do not pick the people by merit rather by cronyism. We put old civil servants who for one are computer illiterate
and second are brain-dead, in charge? How do you expect him to soak up all the wonderful knowledge that this elite panel have to offer?
Then they bring in our most well known IT manager who worked for a big multinational computer company. wow great credentials! You know what he is? He isn't the savvy IT genius. He is the guy who went and got the Government contracts. I suppose we can guess what that job entails. certainly not IT. Very basic business, Malaysian style. You know what I mean.
So can we blame him for failing to deliver as well?
Then you put AAB in the midst of even the second stringers in the IT world. Its like putting a kindergarten kid with a prominent and successful professor. That professor wouldn't know how to teach the kid and the kid won't have the mental capacity to absorb the lesson.
Furthermore, this manager from a prominent IT Company isn't even a manager. Only a salesman to the government. So can we expect him to manage this complex job? This is no ordinary job. It entails having the wherewithall to develop intellect (not bricks & mortar but brains) in the leading edges of technology and then making them economically viable. That is a challenge not for normal people with technological expertise & business savvy. It is a job for an exceptional person. Until we get that right, the initiative or the vision will never see the light of day despite the many billions we spend.
BTW, I know for a fact that broadband services was not available in Cyberjaya for a long time. maybe not even today. If we can't even provide that, how are we to lead the world in IT??
written by RitchieLow, May 19, 2008 09:11:26
"substantial facts" in not what our current federal government knows or is comfortable with probably by design if not by ignorance. That is why we are still considered to be of 3rd world mentality.
written by RichPoon, May 19, 2008 09:49:34
it is just another of the government's talk-fest....all talk, no action....like the civil service....civil servants always attending meetings and seldom at their desks to serve the raykat!
written by BennyG, May 19, 2008 17:14:28
"The Best IAP Meeting Thus Far", Says Abdullah

So what yardstick was Abdullah using to measure "the best IAP meeting"?

For a brainstorming session to be the best so far meant that there were a few very good suggestions that could be implemented and make Malaysia succeed in ICT. So what was/were the bright ideas????
written by mgeo, May 19, 2008 17:30:13
MSC = Cyberjaya = Putrajaya = Bukit Jalil = real estate scams.

For the last 10 years or so, in any other industry where work can be done through PCs and phones, you can employ anyone from any country without requiring them to come over. So what we get are cheaper operations like call centres (with pooly paid staff travelling to the middle of nowhere) and over-ambitious projects (because there was insufficient opposition in committees) like "paperless hospitals".
written by Ujang, May 19, 2008 19:10:53
Kualiti pegawai kerajaaan adalah kelangsungan dari pemimpin yang memimpin negara. Jika pemimpin tidak ada kualiti, pegawai-pegawai itu pun tidak ada kualiti. Jadi kita perlu pilih pemimpin yang bertaraf dunia. Adakah?
written by kooiseng, May 19, 2008 20:06:34
Why bother to talk! Just implement what needs to be done. Typical Malaysian(UMNO) way - all hot air but no implementation. They need a non Malay to implement their ideas(if any). TMNet had to join up with DIGI to utilise their fibre optic cable. The problem is they are afraid to start anything new. Always afraid because they have never started anything on their own. That's the effect of the NEP for you.
written by sarawakian, May 19, 2008 21:20:30
how has Cyberjaya and all this grand events benefited the education industry? how has the school syllabus been shaped to include findings and recommendations from these events?

children in primary school now spend about an hour or two in a week in computer labs of government schools due to shortage of hardware. the billions spent on Cyberjaya (which is manned by imported Indian nationals) could have been used to provide one computer per child in schools.

in terms of software, malaysia is so immersed in proprietary software. there is barely any initiative by the government to adopt open source software. any attempts to promote that is seriously undermined. in the end, our children are taught to be software operators instead of innovators. we depend solely on one platform of operating system and are at a loss when faced with anything else.

written by pengembara, May 19, 2008 21:28:11
Many years ago when I was asked about the MSC, I stated that it was nothing much then a construction project. Construction because it enriches all the well-connected developers and that is what Malaysian companies are good at, yes, not even maintenance.

As other writers stated, MSC was a great concept and way forward but we lost our way due to its implementation. To that kudos to Tun M for his vision but boo's to him for its execution.

To drive the MSC there six or seven 'killer apps'. Instead of having open tenders and open systems (where all participants are encouraged and enabled), everything went through direct nego and cronyism. Yes, another scheme to rip off money from the country - way before the Middle-East hero who ripped off hundreds of millions.

There was supposed to be transfer of technology for some of those that took up. Instead we took the usual 'ali-baba' and trading way out. Why bother to invest and build for tomorrow when all they care off is today and spending money.

Anyone care to remember Telemedicine fiasco? Just to name one. Another initiative - intelligent manufacturing - the budget was almost 90% used up for construction before the systems could be implemented.

One important aspect that was neglected was developing and retaining our human resource - read "Racial quota". I do not need to elaborate further about this key component to the success implementation including pushing the country towards a 'knowledge based economy'.

Yes, we lost our edge to other countries even we had at least a 10 year's head start.

Yes, the initiative that was supposed to move us from a labour-intensive based country (assembling, kitting, etc) to knowledge based was lost. Factories shifted overseas and jobs lost while the intiatives in MSC and other areas (Kulim, etc) did not deliver the replacement jobs.

One major hope is to improve the level of our education. Do we see it forthcoming? For our and our future generation sake, I surely hope so.

Peace
written by mgeo, May 20, 2008 00:41:44
MSC = Cyberjaya = Putrajaya = Bukit Jalil = real estate scams.
For the last 10 years or so, in any industry where work can be done through PCs and phones (not just in IT), you can employ anyone from any country. So why should IT co's set up shop here?
What we get are cheaper operations like call centres (with pooly paid staff travelling to the middle of nowhere) and over-ambitious projects (because there was insufficient opposition in committees) like "telemedicine"/"paperless hospitals".