Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Samy Vellu, Nijhar lock horns over Jumbo's expulsion

Samy Vellu, Nijhar lock horns over Jumbo's expulsion PDF Print
Sunday, 18 May 2008 16:16

(NST) - The MIC central working committee meeting yesterday was a stormy affair when party president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and vice-president Tan Sri K.S. Nijhar were involved in a heated row.

As reporters waited outside the meeting room at the MIC headquarters, the doors flung open and a visibly upset Nijhar stormed out, slamming the door behind him.

A visibly upset MIC vice-president Tan Sri K.S. Nijhar storming out of the meeting yesterday.

He was overheard shouting: "I never knew you to be such a cruel man. How can you simply sack a man?"

Nijhar walked away in a huff, refusing to answer questions from reporters.

At a press conference immediately after the row, Samy Vellu was asked about Nijhar's outburst.
The party president simply replied: "That's his problem (dia punya hal, dia punya pasal). This is a party where people have the right to argue and discuss."

It was later learnt that Nijhar was upset with the expulsion of former Kapar division chairman S. Subramaniam, better known as Jumbo Maniam.

Subramaniam later confirmed he had been expelled, but told the New Straits Times he did not know the real reason for his sacking.

He suspected it was because of his statement in the Tamil daily Malaysian Nanban where he had questioned the accounts of the Asian Institute of Medicine, Science and Technology (Aimst) University.

"First, I was asked to explain why I questioned the accounts. Then I received a letter from the MIC headquarters yesterday informing me that I had been sacked from the party," he said.

At the press conference, Samy Vellu also spoke on the rebranding of the party where he said the MIC had come up with a new tagline "A New Generation Party" but would maintain its theme "MIC Cares".

Among the changes that it will bring under the rebranding exercise are a new logo, a new party song and new uniforms for the women, youth and puteri wings.

Samy Vellu said they would also ensure that 50 per cent of MIC members comprised youth.

Other changes include the establishment of a call centre that will be manned by two or three university graduates and launching of the MIC portal which will replace the previous website.

He said the re-branding exercise was necessary as the party needed a new approach to serve the community.

"If we do not keep up with the times, we may become irrelevant," he said, adding that these changes would be presented at the MIC's 62nd general assembly in July.

Asked about the leadership, Samy Vellu said: "We are re-branding the party now and the party will know when to rebrand the leadership."

On a another matter, Samy Vellu was asked if he was approached by Pakatan Rakyat to switch sides.

Initially he did not want to comment but when pressed further, the veteran politician said: "MIC will be with Barisan Nasional through thick and thin and has no intention to go anywhere."

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by EvilWolf, May 18, 2008 16:21:01
Who cares what happens in MIC? MIC is a defunct party consisting of politically bankrupt individuals that call themselves 'leaders'. MIC is of no relevance to anyone.
written by RFernandez, May 18, 2008 16:23:24
MIC/BN you already have become irrelevant together with UMNO. There is no room for racial or religious politics, There are no Tamils, Hindus or Tamil Christians, nor Punjabis. Who do you represent really MIC, Indians or Malaysians? Stop this racial and religious lines of politics. Real change can only happen when you stop think along these lines.

Sudah lah first step you have to do is sack Samy Vellu and his cronies, next step out of BN and support PKR then maybe you will be seen as relevant to begin with.
written by raven1958, May 18, 2008 16:28:05
Nijhar....wyou and the rest of the guys there deserve what you r getting.....for not having the principles to stand up for your community.....but it doesnt matter now......for the community has now become Malaysian.....and the MIC thankfully has become completely irrelevant..........no funeral rites please........because the day MIC is dissolved will be the day of great joy for ALL Malaysians......
written by zviivz, May 18, 2008 16:58:22
" ... MIC had come up with a new tagline "A New Generation Party" .."

Dei .. what about new party president as well? Time for you to go also la ...
written by Malaysiaputra, May 18, 2008 17:02:10
Watch it Nijhar, you defy this MIC demi-god , you will suffer the same fate as his former assistant Dato Subra, that's for sure. So pack your backs.
written by Sidq, May 18, 2008 17:05:23
Padan muka Abdul Rashid. Perkara ini sepatutnya menjadi pengajaran kepada KSN, semua KSU, Ketua Ketua Jabatan dan pegawai pegawai kanan kerajaan.
written by fireduck, May 18, 2008 17:07:53
On a another matter, Samy Vellu was asked if he was approached by Pakatan Rakyat to switch sides.

The reporter(s) who asked that, must be joking with tongue-in-cheek.

Who would want to invite SemiValue in Pakatan Rakyat? That would be political suicide. He couldn't answer initially because he was never asked. Nobody in his right mind in the PR would even come close to Semi.

written by freedom lover, May 18, 2008 17:12:04
Mr Samy Vellu, I am sorry I have been critical of you for a long time! Today I am on you side. Fight and quarrel with many MIC members as possible. At least do this job properly. Ultimately I want you to stand alone and fight for the Indians of this country!
written by padhma, May 18, 2008 17:42:51
I wonder if Samy reads the electronic media or is he still stuck to the so called mainstream media...According to the BN and the gang, the electronic media played an influential part in the elections outcome, that being said, it is about time those clowns start reading the electronic media. If Samy was reading the electronic media, by now he would have know the people's sentiments. Most people don't want him anymore. Hey Samy, you lost in the elections. People just don't want you and your MIC anymore. Wich part of people don't want you and you MIC don't you understand?Malaysians don't need you and in particular the Indian community has had enough of you. So what are you trying to prove?People are not going to believe in the rubbish that you have to say and do. It is over Samy. Just go away. Maybe the ethnic indian community were ignorant in the past, so you could have fooled them, but now things are slowly changing. Most people who have their thinking caps on do not respect MIC and its gang. For the thinkers, MIC is a lame party. It does not suite the taste of the thinkers. No self respecting person would accept your ledearship. In the kingdom of the blind, the one eye jack is the king. That is exactly where you fit in Samy. You have no respect whatsoever in the thinking community. As for the rest of the MIC members, they would not be respected as they are in favour of you. It is about time MIC members leave MIC. Well, MIC members are nothing more than a congregation of narrow minded fools, but its no harm trying to broaden your mind. Just try and I assure you it is much better. Get out of the nutshell that you people are living in. Thinking is a very good exercise. Try it!
written by futureman, May 18, 2008 17:43:32
Nijar has no respect. this is what you get when you discard your race and religion. He is extermly embrassed to be called a Sikh or a Punjabi. That is why he uses Nijar and not his real name Kripal Singh. Poodah you slime. You and Samy Vellu have been sleeping in the same bed under the same blanket naked, fiddling with each others private parts. Both you are Pooftahs. Now Samy Vellu has a new partner and you are jelouse. Hahaha I spit on you Nijar
written by harryo, May 18, 2008 18:49:21
If MIC members have guts, resign enmasse and join PKR or DAP now.
written by kurangfaham, May 18, 2008 19:05:16
MIC please gulung tikar beberapa segara yang mingkin. Nanti lu tunggu lama nanti ini Orang India akan lupa MIC, sekarang pun orang India sudah tak mahu ambil kisah dengan apa apa tindakan MIC ambil. itu orang orang pimimpin dalam MIC pun sudah takada apa apa keberanian menentang itu MIC presiden aneh Semi Value.
written by belljar, May 18, 2008 19:13:49
At the press conference, Samy Vellu also spoke on the rebranding of the party where he said the MIC had come up with a new tagline "A New Generation Party" but would maintain its theme "MIC Cares".

smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Fcuking idiots....which PR company they uselah dey??
written by othman hitam, May 18, 2008 19:18:14
Dei Samy..I thought the beating that you and your party took in the last election has taught you a lesson. Obviously not given your above action. I guess old habits die hard. Once a dictator always a dictator, even after your party is almost dead
written by MrHot, May 18, 2008 19:30:47
MIC ???? SAMY VELLU ???

What & Who is that !!??

Something NEW from outer space....????

Can someone please enlighten me....????
written by KARMANNGHIA, May 18, 2008 19:39:53
MIC, K-E-Y, M O U S E.

what a joke MIC, just go quietly.
written by apanama, May 18, 2008 20:22:12
mickey mouse/

samy vellu has been so cruel for 70 fukcing years. ks njhar. you worked with him for 35 of those fukcing years. don't tell me you don't know he's so cruel.
you better quit the party and resign also lah.

IT'S A S(T)INKING SHIP.
written by malaysian2008, May 18, 2008 20:47:27
At the press conference, Samy Vellu also spoke on the rebranding [/b}of the party where he said the MIC had come up with a new tagline "A New Generation Party" but would maintain its theme "MIC Cares".

what rebrading ? still the the same samy vellu, how can MIC be rebranding? yeah may be re brand : "samy congress" smilies/grin.gif
written by macaufan, May 18, 2008 22:04:19
Y SemiValue sack Jumbo Maniam? it's 1 of SemiV 'rebranding MIC' exercise ! nex.... there'll b more to b sack by SemiV & it's oso SemiV 'rebranding' exercise !

at d end of d day...MIC : SemiV & SemiV : MIC.

it's all due to SemiV of hardwork in this 'rebranding' exercise, all MIC members has been sack by SemiV for d sick of his 'rebranding-MIC'.

hahahahahaaaa so MIC i9s a one-man show party ! smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by omarkhayyam, May 18, 2008 22:55:53
oh god this moron again .....oooh why ....whyyyyyy

written by bunian, May 18, 2008 23:06:55
This picture of Nijhar storming out of the MIC meeting is a realistic portrayal of Lat's cartoon where an Indian guy, obviously beat up, was asked where from and his answer: MIC meeting. Priceless!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif

I think Lat had a crystal ball back then, to look to the future and put pen to paper so accurately!
written by jeevy, May 19, 2008 00:18:48
"If we do not keep up with the times, we may become irrelevant," ...you and MIC are already irrelevant, you moronic idiot!!!!!!!...
written by schizonoid, May 19, 2008 00:34:33
internal fighting.Good.Keep going.
written by MasterYoda, May 19, 2008 00:59:56
MIC is piece of shit,
can't even take the heat,
go to the corner and take a sit,
if you don't want then you can split.... smilies/shocked.gif
written by Blackjacket, May 19, 2008 15:27:05
Dei Samy Velu you dont exsit, you are already dead and buried in the last GE. As long as you are in the MIC, on indians will come to you.
written by treeman1957, May 19, 2008 15:41:36
"A rose is a rose by any other name"..........."re-inventing" by outward signs and symbols, whilst remaining the same inside will not trick any Indian!!! Samy will probably also use this to make more money for himself and his cronies.....printing logos, flags etc.
written by mypanida, May 19, 2008 17:50:09
MIC = Meeting In Chaos

and Pakatan needs MIC like Mukhriz needs a comb.
written by Hakim Joe, May 19, 2008 23:06:24
You fellas in MIC should stand up be counted, but what do you do? How in the world can you allow SV to dominate and threaten you? Kick the sob out and you can rule yourself!!! Whoops! Wrong blog...keep it up boys! The more you fight amongst yourself, the better it is! Oi! Jumbo... you need a job?
written by Watcheyes1, May 20, 2008 00:59:17
HA!!! MIC IS STILL ALIVE??? GUA INGAT SUDAH LAMA DITELAN ZAMAN!!!
written by Watcheyes1, May 20, 2008 01:03:04
THESE GUYS SHOULD BE GIVEN THE BEST INDIAN POLITICIAN ACTOR AWARD!! PODAH!!!