Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Yong airs Sabahans’ grievances

Yong airs Sabahans’ grievances PDF Print
Sunday, 18 May 2008 09:42

A shift in position by Sabah Barisan Nasional leaders is causing ripples in the country’s political arena. Among the more vocal of the leaders is former Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Yong Teck Lee. The 50-year-old Sabah Progressive Party president speaks to Sunday Star on why they are making their stand clear.

By MUGUNTAN VANAR, THE STAR

Your meeting earlier this week (May 13) with Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is seen as a move by the Prime Minister to head off any possible crossovers by restless Sabah MPs. What did the Prime Minister tell you?

A: My discussion with the PM was cordial and friendly. The PM reaffirmed his commitment to the matters that have been brought to his attention before. I mentioned that the answers given by his Cabinet Ministers in Parliament (in the current session) are not satisfactory because they are noncommittal.

On my part, I made it clear that the Barisan leadership should not rule out the possibility of a crossover of MPs in the future because the issues raised by the MPs are real and affect the daily lives of the people. The window of opportunity is limited.

Q: Do you expect something substantial to come out of it?

A: No, I do not expect anything substantial. But I still hope to see some progress or express commitment to address the many issues.

We keenly await the answers to be given by the ministers in Parliament in the coming week to see if there is positive response from the Government.

Q: What are the key issues that SAPP is

raising for the Federal Government to resolve?

A: The key issues are illegal immigrants, unfair taxes such as the Cooking Oil Subsidy Scheme, imprudent extension of federal laws to Sabah that are costly to the state, political autonomy, closure of JPPS, recognition of the special status of the High Court in Sabah and Sarawak, development and so on. Details are found in the SAPP website www.sapp.org.my.

Q: You spoke about Petronas oil royalty where you have supported the building of the Sabah-Labuan bridge instead of Penang’s second bridge. You have also highlighted issues of double taxation of oil palm. Can you elaborate?

A: We see that the Labuan bridge is a necessary infrastructure project that will benefit Labuan and southern Sabah such as Beaufort, Sipitang and nearby Sarawak districts. Labuan’s international airport can serve this region.

The physical integration of the Labuan economy to the mainland would bring much growth and opportunities to the whole region.

As for the Cooking Oil Subsidy Scheme, it was implemented on Jan 1, 2007 as a response to the shortage of cooking oil last year.

Millers were unwilling to produce more cooking oil because of price control on the item.

Millers prefer to produce CPO and other products because of higher profitability.

Profiteers, hoarders and smugglers took advantage of the shortage and low prices. The Government should have penalised these culprits instead of the planters.

The term “double taxation” came about because of the Sabah state sales tax that oil palm people also pay to the state.

Since the Federal Government pays for the fuel subsidy and padi subsidy, it is only right that the Federal Government also pay for the cooking oil subsidy.

Why penalise the oil palm planters? Since Sabah pays for almost 70% of this subsidy, it means 10% of the population (Malaysians in Sabah) subsidises 70% of the cooking oil in the country.

This is an unfair tax.

Q: Your demands for political autonomy from the Federal Government has raised eyebrows as some even associate it to Sabah’s status in the federation. Tell us what you mean by political autonomy?

A: Political autonomy is not sovereignty. Political autonomy means that the people in Sabah should be able to determine their own political status, participation and elect their own state government.

The Chief Minister should be based on the state elections instead of the current practice of appointment by the federal leadership, that is, the PM.

We can learn from Perlis and Terengganu.

To us, political autonomy also means not having Sabah MPs and potential candidates losing their dignity to kowtow to machais (henchmen) of central leaders in lobbying to be election candidates.

An example is when Sabah Umno leaders had to camp in KL to lobby for candidacy or to oust an incumbent chief minister, because they are all appointed by KL, not selected by the people.

Q: What sort of political scenario is SAPP looking at for Sabah?

A: We want to see the political scenario for Sabah as one that will be determined by state-based parties. National parties may exercise their right to participate in state and parliamentary elections in the state but should not force the state-based parties to share seats with them or the national coalition such as Barisan.

Q: You gave an August deadline for Kuala Lumpur to meet Sabah demands. Is such a stand realistic? Some see it as a political psy-war being played out by Sabah MPs and parties. Do you see it that way?

A: The August deadline is practical and realistic because some of the issues are easily within the capability of the Government to solve.

As for longer term matters like security, the Government must show political will and determination to act. Matters like illegal immigration are the basic duty of the Government. There should be no need for political pressure to get the Government to act.

The Government has failed miserably on this score. People are getting fed up. After August, the nation will be busy with other things such as the fasting month, Hari Raya and Umno elections. By September, the national media and the country as a whole would have gotten tired of the Sabah issues. We (Sabah) will be forgotten again.

For instance, the national media were rarely keen on the issues affecting the people in Sabah. Only when the speculation of “crossovers” surfaced did the national media become interested in Sabah – because the “crossovers” would affect the national government.

If not, the national media is not interested about Sabah issues.

Some may see this as a political psy-war. I don’t know. But the issues are real. People are serious.

Q: If a situation arises where you are unable to obtain the concessions for the state, what will your next move be? Does pulling out of Barisan constitute one of your options?

A: If we are unable to achieve results after this window of opportunity has closed, then either we become subservient to the federal establishment again like in the last few decades or else the situation will explode. Explosion means that the mainstream Barisan people will have no control over the political process. Opposition parties, NGOs and people power of some sort might emerge. This is because people might lose hope in the Barisan political process. By then, whatever SAPP does is not relevant to the political process. Whether SAPP or some other component party pulls out or not is no longer important.

Q: Your party has only two MPs and four assemblymen. Do you think you make a difference? What can be achieved?

A: In terms of numbers, SAPP with two MPs and four assemblymen makes no difference. This two by four box is too small to rock the boat.

Q: Why is Sabah the only state making its voice heard louder than, say Sarawak, which has similar issues and concerns? Are Sarawak MPs doing it more subtly?

A: Sarawak has a closely-knit leadership. The CM there is all-powerful. But their feelings and aspirations are similar to Sabah. They will wait for the easterly wind to blow before they make known their feelings.

Q: Have you met Parti Keadilan Rakyat adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim or his intermediaries? If no, why is this talk of crossover so hot?

A: You do not need a meeting with Opposition leaders for talk of “crossover” to become hot because the underlying causes are the real issues facing Sabah and the people.

Comments (55)Add Comment
written by RitchieLow, May 18, 2008 09:54:29
This guy is progressive looking and all the issues raised are genuine. If change need be, change must. Stop dilly dallying, do the right thing before the wind blows the opportunity away.
written by benny loh, May 18, 2008 09:58:09
voicing out state issues...
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...-sini.html
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 18, 2008 10:13:53
First and foremost Datuk Yong, the present Fed leaders doesn't care one cent about our illegal immigrant problem. Can't you see that UMNO is using these illegals to their advantage? What makes you think they will "resolve" this serious Sabah "cancer" if in the 1st place these illegal Pilaks and Indons are helping them win elections after elections. UMNO will dilly-dally these issues for sure. You can bet your bottom dollar on that.

What the people of Sabah wants is IMMEDIATE RESPONSE by this KL leaders... we don't want to wait till August... or till 16 September. WE WANT SOMETHING CONCRETE TO BE DONE NOW!

The people of Sabah are really fed up with all this... as we can no longer be subservient to Govertnment that doesn't care and doesn't listen to the people's grouses.... THINGS MAY EXPLODE of which i hope and pray will not come to that. But the people's patience is running thin... better act fast.
written by indianputra, May 18, 2008 10:20:32
The people in Sabah and Sarawak were stupid to vote for BN in the last elections when ALL of them knew that they were being treated as second class states by the Government over the past several decades. The excuse that the Rakyat of Sabah and Sarawak voted for the 'home grown' parties in the last GE sounds the utter stupidity of the people. Come on lah!! look at your bread and butter FIRST... That is important. See what the other states in Malaysia did.. They gave a drubbing for the BN...BECAUSE THEY KNEW AND CARED FOR THE NATION

And now I see the so called 'kingmakers' belittling and demanding things from BN.. WHY THE HELL DID YOU ALL NOT REALIZE IT DURING THE LAST GE??

There is only ONE solution. JOIN PR immediately. Throw out BN and then you will see progress in Sabah and Sarawak. If you can't do it.. JUST SHUT UP!!
written by DannyLoHH, May 18, 2008 10:30:13
Datuk Yong Teck Li is one person that really know the political situation in Sabah. In the 1994 Sabah State Election, he pulled out from PBS and formed SAPP before the election started... it was a one of the most brilliant political move in his political career that saw him rise to the post of Sabah Chief Minister. Here, he is leveraging on the current political situation in Malaysia and who knows what he has planned for SAPP and his own political career behind closed doors.

In my opinion, unless Pak Lah promised a senator position with real power to wield for him in the Parliament, I don't see that he could be appeased by mere symbolic gesture and the usual rhetorics that PM is committed to the issues raised by Sabah MPs.

The reason that Datuk Yong have not moved his SAPP party from BN to opposition to me is clear:
1) SAPP is too small to effect any momentum for a mass exodus of Sabahan MPs from BN.
2) The political situation in Sabah have not reached the "tipping point" that both he and the opposition have hoped for.
3) He is still leaving his option open, which in my view, is the best political strategy for both himself and SAPP, to attain whatever he and his party is set out to achieve.

Datuk Yong is not a happy man, he has been denied of candidacy for election under the BN banner for a long time already. His political career is currently in cold storage. His only bargaining chip is that SAPP, the party under his leadership still command a significant respect and support from the urban folks in Sabah and that the party is still loyal to him. And this bargaining chip of his is dwindling. But a man of his brilliant would not go away quietly, and yet again, I see that he has seized the opportunity and by being vocal at the right time (which is now), he might have had successfully re-launched his political career.
written by zhanyiyi, May 18, 2008 10:37:53
Dear YB YTL, I would propose the following in order that we really think as Malaysians. It is your constitutional right to complain about the 50 years of robbery and rape on Sahahans. The deeper root of the problem is that there are 3 classes co citizens:
1. 1st and ultra-class: UMNOPUTRAS
2. 2nd class Peninsular Malaysians who had enough of the UMNOPUTRAS
3. 3rd class Sabahans and Sarawakians who now know the whole racist truth
about NEP which they got nothing at all for the last 50 years.
4. All the money for last 50 years go to one type of BUMIPUTRAS called
UMNOPUTRAS. And they spent and spent like no body's business.
So YB, you must fight like us on the Peninsular, and if you don't fight you will become a beggar for what is rightfully yours to be shared.
written by borneopeteliew, May 18, 2008 10:48:05
Yong Teck Lee used the Pendatangs to win his Likas seat and now see who is talking about the illegal issue. You are such a fraud Yong Teck Lee. Infact during your time when you were Chief Minister you even gave Sabah State Award and was Special Guest to Sabah State Government to this Nur Musuari The MORO HERO who is now languishing somewhere in the prison in Manila for trying to overthrow the legitimate Cory Government.

You are an opportunist and a fraud who had undermine Sabah and Sabahans by working with the Abu Sayaf Terrorist and for this you should be hanged upside down by your balls from the highest tree in KK.
written by cwy, May 18, 2008 10:49:35
Lim Kheng Aik said that all of you are 'beggars' to UMNO
in BN government!
Just leave BN if you still have self-respect!
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 18, 2008 10:52:43
Indianputra wrote:
The people in Sabah and Sarawak were stupid to vote for BN in the last elections when ALL of them knew that they were being treated as second class states by the Government over the past several decades. The excuse that the Rakyat of Sabah and Sarawak voted for the 'home grown' parties in the last GE sounds the utter stupidity of the people.

This is a classic example of an arrogant Semenanjung who is ignorant about Sabah. You don't know shit about what is actually happening here. Before you point your finger on innocent Sabahans, please do some research. Don't call us stupid. Never do that! Before you guys gave that "drubbing" to BN, we Sabahans have already knock downed mighty BN onced while you Semenanjungs all are still licking BN's ass. The REAL people of Sabah were never defeated by BN. Did you know about the delineation of our electoral boundries to suit UMNO's agenda? Did you know about the project IC (yes Indianputra... all this shit came from Semenanjung!)... have you ever encountered any Pilaks there in Semenanjung? Damn you! Don't you ever blame genuine Sabahans for this "cancer". We are the victims of KL leaders immoral political maneuvering.

Maybe justice will be done eventually.... these illegals who obtained Mykads through the back door will eventually infiltrate Semenanjung. They will go there, work there.... and the most wonderful thing... their status is BUMIPUTERA! Yes... "intant" BUMIPUTERA. Unlike you indianputera.... You have been a Malaysian all your life... and these people only arrived in Malaysian shores yesterday and already they are Bumiputera. How do you like that indianputera? So maybe there is justice after all. So, don't simply point your fingers at Sabahans.... this "shit" we are facing will eventually reach Semenanjung's shore.
written by DannyLoHH, May 18, 2008 10:53:58
Actually, the problem in Sabah is not that there were no provisions given from the Federal Government. It was just not enough to feed the greed of the "katak" there. With the inception of UMNO Sabah, the situation has become worse. Rumors has it that UMNO Sabah is hording all the gravy of the gravy train, not even crumbs were spared. Under UMNO Sabah, they have many grand construction projects that doesn't benefit the Sabah folks on the street. And along with these grand projects, come the "gravy", and rumor has it that the gravy only flow to UMNO Sabah Chief.
written by mei yen, May 18, 2008 11:01:39

We want new elections! Fresh election!
We want things done the right way!

written by Milo, May 18, 2008 11:08:58
Datuk Yong, I respect your openness and courage. But I urge you to be a proactive agent of change rather than a beggar. The BN has had their chance over the 50 years. Up to now, they are still dragging their feet. In the hearts of the people, we all want to kick out the rapers of the country. Be with the people. That's my advice.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 18, 2008 11:42:16
In anyway you look at it, you were STUPID in your voting agenda during the last GE.

Did the genuine Sabahans went ALL OUT to vote for BN... or did the postal votes...the pilaks..the indons did it for us? This is where your ignorance of the whole situation is so telling. You think you are clever by calling Sabahans stupid? Wahh.. you are sooooo proud that you gave BN a mighty drubbing.... like i said while you are still licking theirs ass, Sabahans have already kicked their butt.... and it got us into deeper shit. However... when things are down already.... it cannot go deeper.... things might explode. Don't bee too proud on your recent drubbing of BN and don't be too quick to assume that we Sabahans love to lick BN's ass. You guys have been doing that for over 50 years. The right moment will eventually come, then you'll know about our "stupidity" as you put it bluntly.
written by pkler, May 18, 2008 11:58:58
indianputra, you have succeeded in alienating us from supporting PR-one must admit and learn from one's mistakes, but yous how no ability to understand that reality. Hence, you do your cause more damage than good.

Well done Pangkis Pangazou-indian putera copied and pasted his same message on another matter and i attacked him there so perhaps more people in the west can see our opinions and understand that the key to gaining our support is by showing us some respect and not be condescending towards us.

Indianputera-you are passionate. Channel it properly. To win arguments you must first know the facts. If youc ontinue arguing your fantasies, then go join BN-they are peddling fantasies too.
written by harmanamri, May 18, 2008 12:25:23
Indianputera, I suspect you are an UMNO goon, trying to make PR and genuine PR supporters look bad to Sabahans. The Sabahans in Parliament have been elected to represent Sabahans. Leave it to them to decide how best to serve the people they represent: either to join PR or to remain in BN but extracting concessions from KL. Certainly they know better than any Peninsular Malaysian.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 18, 2008 13:04:45
I concur with pkler. This indianputra is doing just the opposite. Please don't play your reverse psychology on us and don't show your "superior than thou" attitude towards Sabahans.

Do you think that your PR de facto leader is a saint and has a halo on his head? Firstly, he should acknowledge his infamous role in the betrayal of Sabahans' mandate way back in '94 and apologize openly to all Sabahans. Sabahans were fighting a lone battle against the might of BN back then while all Semenanjungs were busy licking BN's ass. If indianputra and the likes were not in slumber land back then, we could have seen the political tsunami happening way back in the 90's.... but no... you guys were quite comfortable watching Sabahans go it alone against the mighty BN. And now... you seem to be soooo proud that you did a drubbing to BN while Sabahans (...and Sarawakians) "did nothing" to help you kick BN's ass. If you only know what is playing in our minds right now and if you only feel a pinch of the sentiments of the people of Sabah.. then i think you would not be calling us stupid.
written by pkler, May 18, 2008 13:09:41
Forget indianputera Pangkis Pangazou, if he chooses not to learn, but our job on this site is to inform, and not alienate though it seems that is what we end up doing-so be it I suppose if he chooses not to learn. I hope for every 1 like him there's 10 who read what we have to say and agree. I hope...

I support PR-I just worry that the culture and mentality of Malaysians have not actually changed. We used to watch people carry Mahathir on a pedestal-now I see many people carry Anwar on one, as if he can do no wrong.

1994 I will never forget, and until Anwar explains his role in it, people like you and I will choose to be suspicious of him. It's up to him to explain himself, but he chooses not to. I wonder why?
written by lynn, May 18, 2008 13:25:28
Pangkis Pangazou, pkler, your real enemies are not indianputra or others here. Pls focus on yr problem, that is, in helping PR to form new federal gov't, can Sabah see a new dawn? Sabahans must negotiate with PR & state your conditions, agree in writing. I doubt badawi can help you people with the illegals problem. This illegals problem is so huge, maybe it can only be solved at gunpoint, brute force & bloodshed.

I think Sabahans have a huge & insurmountable problem. This bn gov't definitely must go. The main culprits to bn's grip on the state are the illegals who gave umno 24 out of 25 seats in Sabah. All of them must go; Sabahans who are natives of Sabah, this is your state and your land, you decide who stays & who leaves.
written by pkler, May 18, 2008 13:53:34
Lynn,

It is a bit hard to argue that indianputera is my friend and ally when he constantly belittles Sabahans and clearly shows no knowledge or interest in our circumstances. We will not blindly support PR as he seems to be doing. The world is not governed by black or white, good or evil. It is far more complex than that.

We know what our problems are, and an influx of $$$ from PR will not fix that. Our politicians and institutions are inherently corrupt. We need a massive influx of funds to fix our education and infrastructure for starters. How much of this $$$ do you think will go into the pockets of PR's new Sabah politicians, and how much will go to the people remain to be seen. There is no way they will agree to join up without Anwar agreeing to turn a blind eye to that. And of course he will, for he wants to gain power. He should know; he helped bring UMNO to Sabah, and he oversaw the dirtiest election in Malaysian history (1994 Sabah state election).

We do not believe that a change of govt will make us any better off-we certainly hope so, but a govt led by Anwar worries us-he rode roughshod on our democratic rights in 1994, and for all his talk of reformasi has never once apologised or even acknowledged what he did. Much better that we all get a fresh mandate, but Anwar certainly knows how to play the katak game. He played a major part in getting PBS assemblymen to jump to BN 3 weeks after the 1994 state election.

He cared nothing for democracy and human rights then. Maybe he has changed, but I reserve the right to give him only conditional support. Those like you who ask us to support PR are preaching to the converted-we hate the BN!! You don't have to convince me, that is for sure. But those like indianputera who choose to see the world in simplistic terms worry us-for if a mass of PR people think like him, then we'll just be exchanging one colonial power for another.
written by aryn, May 18, 2008 14:34:59
Yong Teck Lee, you're the one who betrayed Sabah to kiss Umno/BN arse in the 1990. You're supportive of Umno's entry into Sabah too so what nonsense you're talking about now?

Trying to be champion are you? Go redeem yourself then we'll believe you.

written by mgeo, May 18, 2008 14:44:07
Many Sabahans (23%) are facing acute poverty, as recognized by UNDP. Yet the word poverty does not feature in this interview at all. That's a clue to what this is really about.
written by pkler, May 18, 2008 14:48:32
YTL cares nothing for Sabahans, only himself. He suitably enriched himelf when PBS was in power, again when he was a kingmaker in BN-now that SAPP is being marginalised, he has become our lion once more. Go shave your sideburns off first, then I'll believe you!
written by Limpas_Lagi, May 18, 2008 16:36:28
I think Indianputra is dreaming here or NEVER been to SABAH before, do come to Sabah and see for yourself what is happening before you give comments ya..

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

http://www.contemporary-malaysia.********.com/
written by willwin, May 18, 2008 17:59:07
sabah is facing serious dilemma:

you hate umno;

you are suspicious of DSAI / PR;

and you can't trust your own politicians....

God bless sabah!!!!
written by willwin, May 18, 2008 18:27:25
so, may be Pangkis Pangazou & pkler can tell us what's the best option for sabahans now?? status quo??

i for sure will think the better option now is to let sabahans to run their won state instead of umno.... which means to crossover to PR, so the sabahan politicians can run the state. just pray that even tho they are corrupt, they will still do something better for the sabahans... until some upcoming, clean leaders surface....??????
written by Milo, May 18, 2008 19:07:10
Dear pkler,

I think most people understand the difficulty facing the Sabah people. People like indianputera probably express their views out of frustration that PR cannot take over sooner because the MPs from Sabah has not move yet, but be assured those are not the views of the majority.

As for your conditional support of PR, may I suggest that ALL support for any political party should be conditional at ALL times! This is logical because all political parties are all run by HUMANS - who can change with a change of circumstances.

Having said that, I still urge you to learn to trust in full if you want to be effective in making real changes to your people. Trust is by its very nature based on "confidence" and "uncertainty". The 'confidence' arises from the facts we already know and after weighing the pros & cons, and the 'uncertainties' are from the nature of the future which we can never know for sure. The PR under the leadership of DSAI rightly deserve a chance to rule, just as the BN has lost their moral rights to rule because it has been shown beyond a shadow of a doubt that they have abused its powers most of the past decades and still continue to do so till today. If the PR fail us, and the BN changed for the better, we can always revert our stand.

Let's work together for change to take place first.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 18, 2008 20:07:36
pkler wrote:
Anwar worries us-he rode roughshod on our democratic rights in 1994, and for all his talk of reformasi has never once apologised or even acknowledged what he did.

Yes, DSAI never apologised for that shameful chapter of Sabah history. Sabahans have never forgotten. Maybe he is a changed man now but at least he must acknowledge his mistakes and apologize not only to Sabahans but to ALL Malaysians for that was a crime against democracy and a blatant betrayal of Sabahans' mandate.

And to lynn, it is quite hard for me to accept indianputra as my friend when he is saying that my people are stupid.... i am stupid. But don't get me wrong.... in fact most people like indianputra got us figured out all wrong... WE HATE BN! more than you think and that is an understatement. But like pkler, i do have a conditional support for PR (esp DSAI). Yes, this is a dilemma really. To me it is a choice between two evils.... presently, PR is the lesser one. My support is for the lesser one. I agree, BN have to go.
written by legaleagle, May 18, 2008 21:03:45
Boy, this borneopeteliew guy who commented above must have some really bad blood with YTL, or is he by nature such a vulgar person? As you Chinese use to say, has he stepped on your tail or what?

Always trying to use such American expressions everywhere as 'hanged upside down by your balls from the highest tree'. No imagination, no originality, just having a grudge to grind with YTL and expound your vulgarity here, trying to sound educated but conveyed the opposite, when we are trying to discuss the political situation, and see how changes can be made for the better for all of us.
written by chaiksyn, May 18, 2008 22:18:48
DSAI,

Don't you ever give face to this 2 headed snake by the name of Yong TL.
written by kingelvis, May 18, 2008 22:42:04
You people are holding all of us back. Join Anwar and gang and JOLLY!! Together we can screw UMNO.
written by kingelvis, May 18, 2008 22:43:06
Lets SODOMISE UMNO!!!
written by carlitos, May 18, 2008 23:33:13
Sabah is finished. We are now a minority in our own place. Sarawak, don't let Malaya take over your immigration. They will do exactly like what they do in Sabah. We have 1 million more "citizen" than Sarawak when in 1970, Sarawak have more population than Sabah. Where do you think the 1 million extra population comes from? Sabah now have 3 million population. Sarawak 2 million. We started together at (800k) Sarawak, 700k (Sabah) in 1970.

A Malayan heading Sarawak immigration will do like they did in Sabah, Give myKads to their relatives from Indonesia and Philipines. Protect that post at all cost.
written by borneopeteliew, May 19, 2008 01:38:46
Yes smartarse legaleagle, another Malayan lawyer trying to justify for Yong Teck Lee with his responses and like all other Malayans you try to portray you are soooo smart and better than the chinese and Sabahans.
written by Namolos, May 19, 2008 01:40:40
Well..looks like this bankrupt? Dtk Ambross [crook?] is back cooking up something with his old partner in [crime?] ''Dtk Yong ''[Botak} again like old times sake.

This Botak[ and few others] met up recently with Dtk Anwar in S'pore and Hong Hong/Macau...to discuss...[not Sabah curry fish head]..but ...''Who to HEAD'' the next Government.

Ofcourse...$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.00 was discussed...but in retention formate...meaning, to be paid in kind later...vide projects[oil money]..etc.

Now, my question to BOTAK is: for you and Ambross..how much is enought?...where are your Loyalty?..Loyalty to the Original people of Sabah or Selves?...shame on you....you should have spoken out much earlier when Sabahans needed you most..and not now, when YOU most needed the Sabahans to support you instead.

You know know it...you and your Sapp and other non muslim's BN Party will be finish come next election..thats why you are screaming out loud like a Hero for now..dont just scream...JUST DO THE RIGHT THING...JUST DO IT...shit..dont just talk....[talking about crocodile tears..this is the reverse].
written by borneopeteliew, May 19, 2008 02:37:03
Namolos, you said

"This Botak[ and few others][not Sabah curry fish head" you meant Krishnan Curry Fish Head? He! He! He!
written by Limang, May 19, 2008 02:57:03
I agree with all those who called Sabahans and Sarawakians stupid for voting for BN. After 50 years and then the last 20 years taking over Sabah, pillaging their wealth and women, they still vote for BN - these follish people deserved to be suckers!

Mr. Yong, you only talk but no action. You, Pairin, Chong, Raymond, Jeffrey, Dompok, etc. are all foolish leaders, in the views of West Malaysians. You have sold your people and state away to the devil UMNO/BN.

Ask yourself: when you can rule and be king, why do you want to give away your rights to a greedy, racist and bigotted party like UMNO? Now after 20 years, you realise the mistake, like Sarawak? It is too late, brothers. If you dare to rebel, Bodowi will put you all under ISA! His police and soliders are all around you guys. Tell me, who is holding the guns - you or West Malaysians. You all deserve to be charged for treason by your own people!

So unless you dare to take the risk and make whatever sacrifices, just shut out and be a docile servant, grateful to your UMNO godfather for whatever crumps you get. Beggars can't choose, remember?

However, there is still a small window of opportunity to make amends - JOIN PR AND DEMAND FOR FULL AUTONOMY!
written by pkler, May 19, 2008 08:07:14
We do support PR, believe it or not. We hate BN. We just want to ensure PR does not screw us, as it might well do by accepting all our corrupt assemblymen. What makes you think they will suddenly become pious and care about the people? Do you think they will jump out of the goodness of their heart?-the fear is they'll jump for precisely the same reason they did the first place; to line their pockets. There is no doubt in my mind Anwar is willing to sacrifice the rights and welfare of Sabahans to get into power-and by giving the Sabah politicians what they want (legitimacy and money) he'll do just that, because he'll go soft on them, so all that extra revenue flowing into the state will end up in the hands of the few and the expense of the majority. So by granting us our rights and not ensuring it is properly implemented, we are back at square one.

What then? That's why we find it hard to be so enthusiastic of PR, not to mention that the PR leaders in Sabah keep squabbling among themselves.
written by carlitos, May 19, 2008 08:07:23
Limang,

those people are finished lah, only reason SAPP want to jump (Yong party) is when they did a postmortem. The only reason they all survived was DAP and PKR Sabah was stupid enough to break up the votes.

They lose more than 80% of local support of voters in their areas. They win through 20 % ignorant locals the extra 1 million indon/filipina with MyKad and postal votes.

So they feel, it's either get the best now from Barisan Najis/ jump to Pakatan Rakyat or perish next election. This is what one of the SAPP leader said. By the way SAPP stand for Saya Anak PTI party.

PTI = Pendatang Tanpa Izin.
written by pkler, May 19, 2008 08:54:07
written by willwin, May 18, 2008 | 17:59:07

sabah is facing serious dilemma:

you hate umno;

you are suspicious of DSAI / PR;

and you can't trust your own politicians....

God bless sabah!!!!

Fantastically surmised!!! It is a dilemma....I have no answer to your statement, but I personally support PR, just that I am suspicious of their real intent in Sabah by working with our corrupt politicians. Push comes to shove, PR it is along with our corrupt leaders.

written by willwin, May 18, 2008 | 18:27:25

so, may be Pangkis Pangazou & pkler can tell us what's the best option for sabahans now?? status quo??

i for sure will think the better option now is to let sabahans to run their won state instead of umno.... which means to crossover to PR, so the sabahan politicians can run the state. just pray that even tho they are corrupt, they will still do something better for the sabahans... until some upcoming, clean leaders surface....??????

I tend to agree that is the most likely outcome-as for clean leaders in the future-that depends on whether PR can impose a fundamental change in the mindset of the politicians in Sabah. I suspect not since I believe they are buying them over in the 1st place. But in general I agree that Sabahans get the politicians that we deserve-we keep falling for their lies, time and again, even when we know they are probably up to no good. The system is so corrupt that practically anyone who goes into politics to change the system ends up becoming part of it.
written by Milo, May 19, 2008 12:32:16
pkler: We do support PR, believe it or not. We hate BN. We just want to ensure PR does not screw us, as it might well do by accepting all our corrupt assemblymen. What makes you think they will suddenly become pious and care about the people?
------------------------------

Be real about the choices you have - It is either to let BN rule or let PR rule! Your so call "corrupt assemblymen" are either with the BN or the PR - they won't dissapear just because you keep complain about their flawed character or say you distrust them. If they stay with BN - BN rules! If they cross over - PR rules!

You are neither here or there with your stand if you say you support PR and than at the same time distrust them because of the assemblymen who may cross over are corrupt. This is the nature of politics an such platforms are NOT operated by pious priests, monks and mullahs.

The BIG PICTURE is to FOCUS changing the country's leadership FIRST, then to talk of how to wipe out corruption and other ills. Get the priority right!
written by peace, May 19, 2008 12:46:02
Tan Sri Chong KT should be the CM of Sabah. He is the only "cleaner and can be trusted" leader to lead Sabah to a higher level.

Come on Sabahans, beside CKT, the others CM all are BIG CROCODILE and do nothing much to really help to get rid of the root cause of Sabah problem which is the ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS issue.

We need to solve this issue immediately if not .... the local will suffer.
written by Rhan, May 19, 2008 13:37:51
The big picture is to educate the voters that we can change the leadership with out vote, not via jump here jump there, this will lead to no end of problem. The decisive factor is performance, not big talk.

For an example, some new MB work very hard to improve the living of their people, we should give credit. While some other MB busy transfer out people who go against them on matter not that important (from point of view when rice price is double up) and don’t even dare to say no when confronted, and rely on one old man to justify his action base on interpretation of law, this kind of MB need closed scrutinized to ensure he perform. Otherwise, kick him out.

Btw, this Anwar haven’t say sorry to us on what he did during his tenure as education minister, don’t ask me to forget unless you people forget Mahathir in the first place.
written by pkler, May 19, 2008 14:47:23
Btw, this Anwar haven’t say sorry to us on what he did during his tenure as education minister, don’t ask me to forget unless you people forget Mahathir in the first place

I'm unsure if I understand your statement, but if I understand you right in somehow saying it's okay that Anwar does not apologise then I must respectfully disagree. I'm certainly not forgetting mahathir, that's for sure. Why should I? He sent anwar over to sabah to do his donkey work! But mahathir's not pretending to be our friend.

Be real about the choices you have - It is either to let BN rule or let PR rule!

Here we go again-life is black or white, good or evil. Nothing in between. You know, if you think about it, Sabah does have a choice. Who says we must choose? As Ghapur threatened to do, the Sabah pollies can form a separate party and allocate support as seen fit. No need to be part of BN or PR. Unless BN or PR combine, Sabah will then forevermore be the kingmaker.

You are neither here or there with your stand if you say you support PR and than at the same time distrust them because of the assemblymen who may cross over are corrupt. This is the nature of politics an such platforms are NOT operated by pious priests, monks and mullahs

I conditionally support PR-why, is that wrong? Many people voted PR in the last election because they were sick and tired of BN, not necessarily because they supported PR. Their support is also conditional and is wont to change next time around if PR does not perform-Lim Guan Eng keeps trying to remind us of that. Why can't I be suspicious of PR? PAS and DAP leaders can't even seem to sing from the same hymm sheet and Anwar is prancing up and down trying to get kataks to jump. Very credible...

The BIG PICTURE is to FOCUS changing the country's leadership FIRST, then to talk of how to wipe out corruption and other ills. Get the priority right!

And once the leadership changes, these ills can be addressed? Or perhaps the new leaders will be comfortable with the trappings of power and forget to make the requisite changes? Look at Khalid Ibrahim-what has he been up to since becoming MB? Jackshit, that's what. We can tackle ills like corruption now by constantly pressuring the powers that be-already BN has taken half-hearted mesures to tackle certain issues like Limgamgate for example-it has happened without a change of govt, but the threat of a chnage of govt. I will not suspend my right to be critical of PR and support them at the same time-they need a vigilant public to keep them on their toes.
written by Milo, May 19, 2008 15:33:35
Rhan,

1. On performance, I agree totally. But BN is not performing and getting worst...are they not?

2. We assume the voters need the changing and hence the education. In Sabah case, the are poster votes issue and illegals voting, so how does educating the voters will change anything I don't know.

3. I am not in favour of jumping here and there just as I am not in favour of having a civil war to change the government. But my preference is NOT a priority - restoring Malaysia to a potentially better government is. UMNO/BN, we can all agree is rotten to the core and there is no chance to dislodge them until NOW. It seems to me, jumping ship is a much lessor evil of the two, especially if, PR could have won anyway if the election has been fair. At least we do not have to resort to civil war to change the government like in some countries.

4. As for Anwar not apologising, I agree to the extend that he should apologise (as my family is as much a victim as those people in Sabah)...but I put national agenda above this consirable trival issue (in comparison). To me this is a clear cut priority issue, which hopefully, the following parable will help to illustrate: "...there is this story of a man who was shot with a poison arrow by an unknown person for unknown reason. Instead of healing the wound and neutralising the poison first, he is more keen to go after the person who shot him and find the reason he was shot. He finally found the person after a long chase, but died there staring at the "enemy" and finding out that it was his childhood friend who accidently shot him."

To me, the past cannot be change, but the future can. While we can accuse these politicians for the blindness, selfishness and wrongness, and did not put the interest of people at heart - we have to ask ourselves, are we putting the priorities right blinded by our own thirst of something of lesser priorities and thus jeopardizing something more important. This is a chance of lifetime to make a real change. We can focus on going after DSAI and lose this chance of a lifetime. Which is wiser, you decide.
written by Milo, May 19, 2008 16:06:43
pkler: Sabah can stay as king maker by forming a party and not joining either side...
--------------------------------------

Even if Sabah does, it still has to decide who to make "King". It is still either PR or BN! Yes, in a two-party system, it is either black or white - otherwise, it is NOT a two-party system.
written by nesen, May 19, 2008 18:03:07
my dear dear fellow malaysians in Sabah
we love you all.
Pl ignore the rantings of some of the clever wise men in our midst.
At times when i visit sabah and walk the streets of sabah i dream of what might have been in semenanjung...
Semenanjungites Please do not be so condescending after we sabotaged the first PBS government..
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 19, 2008 18:41:36
peace wrote: "Tan Sri Chong KT should be the CM of Sabah. He is the only "cleaner and can be trusted" leader to lead Sabah to a higher level".
You are 100% correct in that statement..but sad to notice, even he seem to have given up on Sabah politics which is really futile given that outsiders have been GIVEN Mykad to OUTNUMBERED the real Sabahans. Everybody can proposed all sorts of remedies (notably like joining the PKR) but we all know NONE of the Sabah MPs are interested in anything else but themselves. Sabah long standing issues are nothing new and if any of the present day Sabah MPs had genuinely wanted to solve that problem, they would had done that during USNO, BERJAYA, PBS, and now Sabah UMNO time. And not surprisingly, most of the present MPs are from these political parties at one time or another.
That Yong and other MPs who are making a big issues to the PM now is to use the SCARE TACTIC to EXTRACT what they want from the PM. Sabah well being is nowhere in their mind. Just plain old political capitalization on UMNO Semanjung weaknesses.
written by Tom n Jerry, May 20, 2008 08:02:12
i fully agree with the majority that we should move out of the bungalow to a terrace house if there is no room for manouvre in the bungalow!In a terrace house sometimes we may be blessed with good neighbours!It could turn out to be a blessing in disguise!Food for thought! smilies/grin.gif
written by Rhan, May 20, 2008 23:13:43
Milo

You are a rational thinker. I therefore no objection on what you wrote.

My point is, we must from time to time remind the politician of what they did in the pass, as in the case of the keris welding cousin and, I try no to apply double standard.

written by khongja, May 21, 2008 10:29:59
Never ,never believe in this guy Yong.He is one of the biggest fake in this world.He sold out PBS and his good friend Pairin just because he was offered loads of money by TDM.NOW HE TELLS US ANOTHER STORY !
You discard this fakes and throw them to the dogs! A dog he is to describe such shallow worms.
written by peace, May 21, 2008 11:08:59
Pairin also a LOSER when PBS was in power for 10 years in Sabah and within this 10 years Sabah become the poorest in malaysia and in terms of development, sarawak has caught up with sabah during the 10 years PBS ruling. Non of our CMs are capable except Tan Sri CKK. Got it?
written by peace, May 21, 2008 11:09:09
Pairin also a LOSER when PBS was in power for 10 years in Sabah and within this 10 years Sabah become the poorest in malaysia and in terms of development, sarawak has caught up with sabah during the 10 years PBS ruling. Non of our CMs are capable except Tan Sri CKK. Got it?
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 21, 2008 12:17:00
Well, to that Yong and his goons of Sabah MPs, now support our DAP Adviser (Tun) Lim's motion for the setting up of a Royal Commission of Inquiry into the long-standing problem of illegal immigrants in Sabah. By supporting that motion, it would show your sincerity in wishing to solve that problem and that you corrupted people are not after that 20% increase in oil royalty for Sabah.
And YES INDEED, if the PKR ever comes into power, the FIRST and RIGHT thing that they should do for the people of Sabah is to install Tan Sri Chong KT as the Chief Minister of Sabah.